We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service of the restaurant staff”
Review of El Mouradi Skanes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Mouradi Skanes
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The staff of the restaurant was not professional and the restaurant seems to be a market. The service was not good and the staff was not smiling at all. The staff of reception were helpfull and available.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lion38fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 700 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay 02/06/2013-09/06/2013 ok so we got a very good cheap deal on this and I guess you get what you pay for, the food was the same pretty much every day and we lived on pizza and chips, but having said that on our last day we went to ali's bar up the road in the safari centre and it was amazing if I had known we would of prob just ate there all week it's very good value and Ali himself is a very lovely person defo recommended!!! As for the beach? Well that was shocking the sea is not clear and the beach is full of rubbish which they clean every morning then dump it back in the sea :o/ you were constantly pestered on the beach as the same around the pool although they get hint after a while! The animation team are amazing they work so hard yet don't pester for tips, as for the waiters well ours only worked 4-12 a day so wasn't like the animation team but they expect tips!! The room was lovely and clean everyday although a couple of times we put the do not disturb sign out yet the maid continued to knock and even entered!! And waking us up defeats the whole do not disturb sign, we went there for a relaxing holiday and that's what we got so I am happy but I would not recommend this hotel. There is a lot of Germans/Russians/French which are rude!! I don't think I would even return to tunisia it's dirty and people are rude.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Arrived back on Saturday after a fantastic week at this hotel with a friend.

Upon arrival at 11pm we checked in quickly and were shown our room (647). Room was spotless and huge. Could of maybe done with a little modernising but nothing worth complaining about.

The staff at the hotel were all amazing. The waiters and chefs couldn't of been more helpful and friendly. The maids left us petals most days and the rooms stayed spotless. Animation staff tried to get you involved with the dancing, shows and pool games etc but a polite no and they would leave you alone. The pool boys were also great, they spoke very good English and one of them at the quieter pool came and spoke to us everyday.

The food here was amazing, we found there to be plenty of choice everyday and never went hungry. Our favourites were the omelettes in the morning.

We found that there were only a handful of English guests staying in the hotel but found the majority of people very friendly and chatty.

All in all I had a fantastic relaxing holiday at the el mouradi skanes hotel and would love visit again. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alice2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Arrived home yesterday (1/6/13) and am already missing the sunshine and the lovely Tunisian people.

Was a bit nervous about going here after reading some of the reviews but I'm glad I went. Yes the hotel could do with some modernisation BUT its extremely clean and well maintained in my opinion.

Ok lets get down to it lol on arrival at 11pm the welcome we received was second to none, the reception staff are first point of contact and I was impressed.

The room we were in (641) was bloody huge - yes it could of done with being more modern but it was spotless which is more important than having all up to date furniture, the maids left us flowers on our first day and the room was kept spotless for the whole week, clean bedding and towels every day.

The pool was amazing, spotlessly clean, the staff at the pool bar were more than happy to bring drinks over for my daughter and I, the staff work so hard constantly tidying up around the pool side its unbelievable.

The guys that organise the trips were great - friendly but not pushy - we said no to 2 of the trips we were offered and they accepted it straight away but still chatted to us when they saw us - we did 2 of the trips offered - the pirate boat which we enjoyed but would of preferred it if we weren't the only brits on the boat, the other trip was the camel riding - if you go here go see Fritz and do it - its great fun and we thoroughly enjoyed it :) the other trip we did was through our rep Merdhi to the wildlife park and Zulu evening - was good but a bit expensive.

Hotel food - this is a subject that I usually have a good moan about with all inclusive but I can honestly say the food was lovely, lots of traditional Tunisian dishes to try, plenty of choice - you won't go hungry - my daughter can be fussy but even she loved the food. As for the waiters they are just great - can't say a bad word about them.

Best advice I can give is tip the maids on a daily basis 2TD minimum (that's about 75p) and your waiter in restaurant the same as they work long hours and they work hard to make sure you enjoy your visit - our rep told us they do rely on the tips to get a decent living as they only earn about £150 a month.

All in all it was a fantastic week for my daughter and I and we are hoping to return later in the year or early next year.

Forgot to mention the 1 downside - there is a lot of Germans here and SOME not all were plain rude to other guests and sometimes the staff!!! The minority that were like this were not a good representation for Germany.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank boxermad72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Been here almost a week and the hotel is basic. It might have been a four star back in the nineties but definitely not a 4 star lucky if it's rated a 3 star. The food is catered mostly for Germans and the staff have a lot more time for other nationalities than British. When you are lying at the pool you are constantly pestered by the hotel staff trying to sell you tours and even when you are sleeping they wake you up and this happens all day ( up to ten times). The only good thing about the hotel is it's facilities with a private beach and lovely pools. The rooms are basic and hotel is clean but for what we paid for this hotel we should have went to port el kantaoui where the hotels are of better class as I have stayed in other el mouradi hotels .

Room Tip: Just an overall tip for all rooms their is no air conditioning until July and august as this is gove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Plus:
* service ok (although waiters and barmen ARE fishing for tips to make additional money)
* rooms clean, housekeeping very good
* checkout time flexible if your plane leaves after 1200
* enough peace and quiet to read a book at the poolside during off season (multiple pools!)

Minus:
* maintenance is poor: furniture rather old, cracked seats, sauna nice but floors very dirty, pool area old and broken beds (etc)
* food ok (healthy salad stuff), nothing really inspirational. Lots of bad calories, watery wine.
* not the greatest audience to have a party (public nor facilities)

Long story short: not too luxury but ok. Food not revolutionary but including beer and wine. If you take a good (last minute) deal for 8-12 days to read a book on the pool side and don't expect wealthy luxury it's ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is on very nice location, so it will take 10-15 min by local transport to get from hotel to Sous or Monastir, I would also recommend walk throw Skanes, local place, and visit to market, just 10 minutes from airport.
Rooms are clean and spacious.
Food is great.
Stuff is very communicative and helpful, very friendly people are Tunisians.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
2.7 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#14 of 43 in Monastir
1,194 reviews
1.9 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#10 of 43 in Monastir
351 reviews
7.9 mi away
Marina Cap Monastir Apart'hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#9 of 43 in Monastir
1,311 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,265 reviews
7.7 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Skanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Skanes

Address: | Zone Touristique Skanes, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#11 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#13 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: $30 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Skanes 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Mouradi Skanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Skanes Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing