We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AS HONEST AS I CAN BE”
Review of El Mouradi Skanes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Mouradi Skanes
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed April 13, 2012

ROOM
Immaculate. We had a twin with an extra child bed. TV was as reviewed previously on TripAdvisor, so we were prepared and took our own digibox and RF cable. Once the digibox was reprogrammed we got extra channels, including BFBS (British Forces from Malta) and AFN (American Forces from Sicily). This was handy if you wanted to go to your room for a snooze and watch Friends, Simpsons, Corrie and a decent film. The bathroom was clean, but the tap was a bit dodgy.

DRINKS
I'm not really a vodka drinker and I heard complaints about the taste of it, but the wine was fine - think of the wine box you get from ASDA or TESCO - that's what you get. That's what I drink at home so it was fine for me. Orange Juice was proper orange juice, and Coke and Fanta was the real thing - until the machine broke and you got Rolacola, but that was only occasionally. Beer was the same as San Miguel or Cruzcampo in Spain.

BREAKFAST
Freshly made pancakes covered in chocolate or omelettes made while you wait were the best on offer, Lots of cereals and croissants, cheese? eggs, fruit.

LUNCH/DINNER
Massive selection, try the Tunisian speciality. To be honest, it did become a bit repetitive.

POOL SNACK BAR
Pizzas. Nuff said

POOL
Fun pool on the beach side of the hotel - lovely place to plant yourself for the afternoon - but watch out for the bridge if its wet - its really slippy. Massive pool around the back - not used when we were there.

INTERNET
Internot more like. No Wifi. Two computers in reception (one of which didn't work ever and the other only worked sometimes). Here's a TOP TIP. You have to pay 8TD for 1 hour (£3.50). Use this code EIMQMA. it's the over-ride code so you don't have to pay.

AIRHOCKEY
There are two machines that will annoy you for the duration of your stay. When it is quiet, and nobody is looking, put 1TD (45p) in, take the plastic puck and fling it in the sea. That'll ensure you don't hear that annoying ping ping noise all night.

OUT AND ABOUT
the Go Karting is brilliant. About 3TD in a taxi.
Monastir is worth a visit - the Medina is where you get the bargains

FURTHER AFIELD
We hired a car and went to ENFIDHA COMMONWEALTH WAR CEMETERY, about an hour's drive, but really, really worth the visit. The least we could do - to pay our respects as we passed by.

RECOMMENDATIONS FOR TRAVELLERS
As all-inclusive guests you are allowed one evening meal in the Al-a-Carte restaurant. Book it for the Saturday evening meal. Here's why. When hotels are not at full capacity, local Tunisians are entitled to use the facilities (some deal done following the revolution). So, if the hotel is nice and quiet on a Friday, it'll be rammed on Saturday night. Time to avoid the serve-yourself restaurant.

SUGGESTED IMPROVEMENTS (If El Mouradi bosses read this)
Make the main atrium lounge a non-smoking area. Sort out Wifi.

Room Tip: Second Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DALEAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 699 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

Animation team- fantastic. Food- basic, cold, and the same food repeated every lunch and evening. The hotel fills with locals on a Friday until Monday and the food in the restaurant was eaten out of the serving dishes directly ( no utensils used). The staff did not know what to do. The room was clean and a very good size, however we had workmen on our balony and outside of our room from 7.45 each day until 4 pm, the main reception area/ bar iris was filled with smoke which ou smelt in your room. The pool area has up to 10 workmen painting and rendering the outside of the hotel. The beach is scruffy, filled with rubbish as the local people have no sense of responsibility for their surroundings. The indoor pool was cloudy (albeit warm) and lots of human hair floating around, and was not cleaned once during our 10 day stay. We travel all over the world and this is a poor standard hotel- it would be a 2/3 star max anywhere else. For a cheap/ basic week in the sun with low expectations and standards then this place is for you- personally I would travel elsewhere!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are huge, request one away from the Iris bar and one certainly which has had all buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VirtuesO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Wanted a lazy week in the sun and got exactly that! Excellent staff, enjoyed the spa travel package make that your first stop! Rooms basic but clean, fantastic food, loads of space for everyone by the pool, beach small but nice, exterior of hotel currently being re-painted, great for an indulgent week in pleasant surroundings

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2303dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We were greeted by the hotel manager as reception was extemely busy.Having read the reviews on this site, we expressed our concerns to.him. We found the hotel very clean, staff very friendly and the food although a little bland was good.There was ample choice and catered for everyone.We had the all-inclusive package and like in a previous review we tipped well.Staff couldnt do enough for you. The hotel is situated in the middle of no-where so if you are looking for an all action holiday you would be better off booking in the Sousse area.The view from our room wasnt that great but it was quiet and comfortable.Entertainment wasnt that great but we met with a good crowd and had a fantastic time. The exterior of the hotel was being painted during our stay,The furniture was a bit out-dated in the rooms but nevertheless was clean and comfortable. A 52 bus just outside takes you to Sousse for less than 25p where you can visit the Market but they run every 30mins.(Bendybus) not suitable for disabled. Taxi avalable too but they dont drop you all the way.Various excursions via the hotel for around £20 a head. We stayed for 7 nights but wanted to stay a bit longer.We would go back to Tunisia but in a more busier area.Incidently Monastir airport is 10mins away,EnFida 1hour away and Tunis airport 2 1/2 hours away so choose wisely.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyAnn2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

i have given this hotel a 4 and feel that its a far mark- i read all the reviews before leaving and can honestly say its no where near as bad as they have said!! ok so will honest...

didnt enjoy 1 hour transfer from enfidha airport as i was tired so better to fly to monistir 10 min in a cab away from this hotel.

on arrival staff were pleasant,offered cold drink, this hotel is massive and very very clean but could do with a lick of paint. didnt see any bugs, nothing ever smelt bad in our rooms. our room was basic, comfy bed, fridges, shower and toilet seperate-but run the water in bath for 5 min first as with all bath water over there it comes out a funny colour at first then runs clear.

staff are so friendly and do not stop around the clock, constantly serving you. its a muslim country so dont expect all the lastest and labelled alcaholic drinks but theres more than enough to choose from. wine is nice, beer is very good, vodka is lethal lol, and bouka their local drink is lovely, tastes like sambucca. great coffees, teas, softs drinks.cocktails available all day.

all inc drinks are served from 9am til 12am and there is a disco that serves drinks but u have to pay for them after 12!

food is so good and so much to choose from, i cant understand what the fuss is about. u pay £250-300 for 1 week all inc for flights and acc, i expected to be a lot worse by the reviews i read,

salad bar is fresh full of everything from olives, salad, pastas, all fresh. then the usual 4 types of potatoes, always at lease 3 meats, 2 soups, 2 stews, hot pasta dishes, fresh steak,fish, fresh fruit, deserts, ice creams, cakes biscuits...the list is endless! what more could u want, just a shame not so many traditional tunisian dishes.

weather was picking up from the 16th march and it was gorgeous! reached 23/24. but during colder weather there is an indoor heated pool, spa facilities, pool, games area, 4 bars, internet.
you can get a bus for 50p to sousse which is 15 min away, its a nice place to visit, has a marina very pretty cheap food which is yummy.

excursions worth doing are the al zahrah sound and light show,i loved this. well worth 62dinar which is about 28 pound.

hiddens costs....1 dinar (50p) to use sun lounger mats, 25dinar safety dep key, towels 20 dinar dep, 1 dinar for bottled water for room.

we got a free bday cake on my bday.

do be careful when buying things from markets, learn to haggle first, what they ask for offer 1 third to them, they will rip u off,

taxi from hotel to sousse should be no more that 6 dinar
taxi to monastir is 8 dinar, visit a place that looks like the taj mahal, the tomb of the first president lies there, its free to look about and the architecture is amazing,

animation group for kids and family is great, they are all hyper active and constantly happy and make massive effort yo talk to everyone, sunshine rep mehdi isbrill and very honest lol

overall i couldnt really fault this place, its a shame ppl rate it so low. we enjoyed ourselves and met up with a group of different people total of 12 and all said they would go back again so that says something,

go with an open mind and dont expect a palace, you get what you pay and this hotel makes the most of what it has to the hightest standards.

enjoy

Room Tip: as for pool view which looks on to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank janan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We booked this all inclusive holiday three weeks before and were surprised at how cheap it was for a 4* hotel (£275 per person, including flights, for a week).

Having read some of the reviews below a couple of days before we departed (on 7 March) we were concerned about what we were about to experience. That said, we did try and go with an open mind albeit with fairly low expectations.

When we arrived the weather was cold (around 13 degrees) and rainy. However, this was not to dampen our spirits and we looked forward to seeing the hotel. On arrival, our first impressions were good with the receptionists friendly and the reception area large and clean. We were greeted with a fruit based cocktail and invited to have lunch. The food was hot and tasty and the waiters continually topped up our drinks (which continued throughout the holiday).

Having checked into our room, we were pleased to find that it was clean and that the heating was working. We slept well throughout our holiday and the rooms were cleaned to a good standard on a daily basis.

I can honestly say that our only complaint during the holiday was the weather as we were to experience quite a large storm two days into our stay. We found all the staff to be friendly and enjoyed the food and drink which was on offer (particularly the local red wine, the quality of which was surprisingly high).

For anyone looking to travel at this time of year I would recommend that you pack some warm clothing and a board game or pack of cards (which we did).

All in all, we really enjoyed our week's break and would certainly recommend to anyone who is looking for a cheap holiday and is not too fussy (a comment which does not seem to apply to many of those who have left reviews before me!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank R0nn0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Went here for 1 week an couldn't wait to get home.
We checked in easily at el mouradi skanes and after the flight decided to nap, room was cold but we managed to work the heating and found the spare blankets. After less then 5mins i picked up an awful smell, the blanket smelt like i was laying in bed with a sweaty tunisian man, obviously hadn't been washed, cleanliness was not top priority around the room at all.
The food was terrible, we like to think we can try anything, and aren't fussy eaters, but we lived on bread for the whole week. I've never came back from a holiday before and had people tell me how slim i looked and how much weight i had lost, but this happened as we ended up eating nothing as everything was terrible, cold and watery with no flavour. The alcohol that was available as part of the all inclusive package was watered down and limited to only vodka and a tunisian liquor made from Dates, which was vile, and beer. If you wanted anything else you had to pay for it. Even fresh orange juice wasn't avaiable to you without a fee.
We ventured out of the hotel to see if we could find somewhere to get something decent to eat, but the hotel is situated in quite a secluded area. There are a couple of cafe bars, they sell food but nothing amazing. One called West Side was beautiful and snazzy on the eyes but they didn't have half the things on the menu, only pancakes, they didn't sell alcohol other then beer. The other Cafe is called Safari and you can get a better selection of drinks as it doubles as local nightlife.
The hotel entertainment spent the majority of the time being cancelled last minute rather then entertaining guests. Out of 7 nights only 2 nights of entertainment. The disco on site was down in the basement and the smell from the toilet there was horrendous, you could not get all inclusive drinks in there you had to pay and you could not take drinks from the bar upstairs down with you, so it was another way to scam money from you.
The members of staff were hit and miss, they were at times plesant but god forbid if you went to the bar when they had lit up a cigarette, you could clearly see them as they watched you wait until they were ready to get you a drink.
The hotel is classed as a 4* resort, i was aware that places in tunisia aren't always up to our standards but i wouldn't even give the resort 1*. When walking around the resort it needs some work. I felt sorry for the families staying with children, there was nothing for them to do. I myself was bored but the sun was shining so atleast i could sunbathe with a good book.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chani n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
2.7 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#14 of 43 in Monastir
1,193 reviews
7.7 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
509 reviews
1.9 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#10 of 43 in Monastir
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Marina Cap Monastir Apart'hotel
8.2 mi away
Monastir Center Hotel
Monastir Center Hotel
#41 of 43 in Monastir
232 reviews
4.3 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#9 of 43 in Monastir
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Skanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Skanes

Address: | Zone Touristique Skanes, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#11 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#12 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: $35 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Skanes 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Mouradi Skanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Skanes Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing