We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Miramar Pirate's Gate
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Warning! If you don't want to swim in the sewage and be surrounded by swarms of flies, do not go to this hotel!
First day on the beach, we were surprised by the color of the sea water. It was brown green with a strange smell. Never see such color in the other parts of the Mediterranean Sea (Spain, Italy, Turkey). Hotel staff explained that this color and smell is because of the sea weed. In fact you can see lots of sea weed laying around on the shore line and we bought this explanation for a while. After 3-4 days we discovered that hotel located beside huge open air sewage treatment facilities (if you can say so because sewage water is kept in the huge shallow lakes and I doubt if its treated in any way). Dirty water then is damped to the sea, so we have smell and unusual sea color. Also the whole set up attracts squadrons of fiies attacking you when you trying to have a meal outside. Very, very unpleasant. Please note that dirty water and smell not all the time there, sometimes its more or less bearable. We noticed that locals do not swim there (there is abandoned hotel and beach near by).
As for hotel itself it is dilapidated run down place, hotel had seen a better times, some facilities are shut down (restaurant by the spa, bbq area and cafe by the beach), renovation obviously was not done for a long time. Hotel territory is quite pleasant and well kept, rooms and meals are good, we stayed on half board and have no complaints about quality of food or service (if you tip, of coarse). Spa center is good though, but be aware spa pool is not free for the hotel guests (20 euro pp per visit). Spa staff explained that they are separate company and have nothing to do with the hotel.
In general, hotel is bearable, three star minus, ok for the budget holiday. BUT! because of the proximity to sewage lakes it is not enjoyable to stay there in any way. In fact I do not recommend to stay in any hotel near the town of Skanes.
Tour operator Thomas Cook was not helpful, did not offer any reasonable alternatives or refunds after we complained about hotel location and all problems associated with it.
Finally, after one week we escaped to another hotel near airport, were water was azur blue and no flies or smell, lost one week money but did not regret it for a second.
As a general observation, Tunisia sanitary norms are very low, dirty towns, flies, open sewage, not recommended for travel with small children.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bo55ykot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Miramar Pirate's Gate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 259 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2010

Gorgeous rooms overlooking the sea. Simply decorated, with very comfy beds. Staff was friendly. Great beach and spa. Quiet place to relax. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nnmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Just spent 10 days half board at the Royal Mirimar Thalasso with my husband. We booked completely last minute and got a fantastic rate. However after checking a few reviews were sceptical about the hotel. Upon arrival we were allocated our room quickly, which was from previous hotel stays huge. There were only two of us but we had room for another two adults easily. The room was dated, but clean and the cleaners came every day to change the towels/bins and sweep the floor. The only issue we had with the room was that the toilet leaked. We asked for this to be dealt with, which is was, but then a few days later it reoccured. The water was from the cistern, which was moped up by the maid every day.
The food, we found to be very reasonable. The breakfast was repetitve, with only an omlette - with no meat option, given as freshly cooked in front of you. Quite often there was quite a queue, so we stuck with the other options. There were however, fresh croissants and choc du pain and rolls replenished throughout. For dinner we found the food to generally very good and with a great variety for half board. For our 10 day stay we did not have the same dinner options twice. Dessert was usually a very nice selection of cakes. Neither my husband or myself were ill or felt rough from the food. The restaurant staff were usually friendly and happy to help, except for the odd one who clearly couldnt be bothered. We were disgruntled by the fact that you had to pay £1.50 for 2L bottle of water, which we saw as a necessity in a hot climate and also with a meal. The drinks were a let down for us, the choice is limited and if you dont drink beer add up very quickly. Try the Tunisian version if there is one for the spirits. Small note the bar staff are not experienced at making cocktails, this is very evident. That aside, they were very friendly and happy to chat.
The entertainment team work very hard to present a variation of entertainment to amuse all visitors with different age ranges and back grounds. Whilst there, we saw some very good shows. They are great dancers and always try and include you in as much as possible. However as a young couple we felt very let down by the night life - there was a nightclub across the road which starts at 11pm-4am. Its ok, the best we experienced during our stay but the music was slightly repetitive in its genre. Due to visitiing whilst off season, it was quiet in the hotel nightclub most nights after 11pm and quickly became boring. Would have been fine if your in a group of people where you can entertain yourselves and have a laugh - here is where you need to make your own entertainment or be happy to plod off to your room to watch tv or take a taxi into Sousse. There is one english channel that werent too bad and bbc news unless your german, russian or french.
The outside pool area is sufficient, but uncared for in general. You can see where there has been some movement/erosion of stairs down to the beach and edge of the patio area - which if you had small children or difficulty with mobility would be worry. The beach was clean and the water was clear and pleasant. The outside pool was freezing, but clean. Swam several times init for a laugh.The inside pool is quite small, but sufficient again. The slide is humerous - a token for children. There is a spa on site, which we never used, but did look very nice inside and clean and had a large indoor swimming pool and small gym room.
Overall we thought the staff were helpful and friendly in general, the hotel was dated and been left uncared for, its in serious need of an update. It was simple and reasonable for the price we paid. The food was good, the entertainment ok, lack of nightlife and isolated area made it a little worse. Quite simply the holiday was what we made it, we just chilled out by the pool and lazed around which was fine. There are other options to go do trips and travel to Sousse, Monisteer etc.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClifSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

The hotel is very poor, It could be 1 star in Uk. Food is Ok and suprisingly varied. Thomas Crooks sell as 4 star platinum which disappoined anyone that was there. The hotel has almost no facilities and is miles from anywhere.. In summer it could be ok for lounging on the sunbed but don't expect any reasonable entertainment or night life. As said by others on this site there is only one tacky english speaking channel on the TV, the rest german etc. The rooms are threadbare but do have good beds. Staff are willing but cleaning usualy means "pushing dirt around". If you go.. go in summer, make your own entertainment.. do not under any circumstances take children

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfoxjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

My friend and I have just got back from a weeks stay at this hotel in Skanes and we were pleased to be back home!. We had booked this last minute over the internet! We have been to Tunisia several times before, but not to this area. The hotel was awful. The first room we were given stank of stale cigerettes and hadn't been cleaned so we went down to reception to ask for another. Luckily we had saw the best member of staff we encountered on our entire stay - 'Fatiuh' who gave us a larger and marginally cleaner room without any fuss.
The hotel has certainly seen better days, which wouldn't be so bad if it was clean! I have not stayed in such a filthy hotel in my life.
The restaurant was something else! the waiting staff that worked in the morning didn't even wear clean clothes, I kid you not, stained dirty trousers, filthy shirts - so we knew at this point it wasn't going to be good. The variety was dull and limited. Dinner wasn't much better, although the waiting staff had marginally cleaner clothes on! The food looked better than it tasted. The only good night was Friday when they did 'Tunisian night'. The food was local and tasty.
The hotel has a large number of French guests and a smattering of other nationalities, english, Irish, german, eastern european etc.
My friend who speaks fluent german spoke to a german couple who explained that this hotel USED to be the best in the area until the owner died 3 years ago and that his children had no interest in the hotel so had let it fall into a state of disrepair.
The staff with the exception of the fore mentioned receptionist were lazy & disinterested in the hotel and guests. Service was definately not on the agenda.
The hotel has a big problem, corrosion, it's falling away into the sea!. After a storm one night part of a paving area holding an arch up had fallen into the sea! Also part of the jetty that takes you to a seated bar/restaurant area was washed away - and left like that for the remainder of our stay..
Having just looked at the Thomas Cook brochure I am shocked at their description of this hotel - it's very misleading!
Forget the rep services - the rep that covers this area has been in her job for a very long time - and it showed. She was only interested in guests that purchased overly expensive trips/tours with her, other than that she didn't have the time of day for her guests!
The beach is awful, we attempted to go for a long leisurely walk on day 2 and came across 5 hypodermic needles along with numerous other unsavoury items along the shore line. Two of the needles were still attached and uncovered, which we removed, which makes you wonder where the others were - in the sand or sea??
The beaches in the old Hammamet area are far better and worth the extra travel time.
As a foot note, rumour is that this hotel is being sold soon so either it will improve or it will be a quick lick of paint and carry on as before?? I for one will not be going back. There are far better hotels in Tunisia.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olive62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I went to this hotel for a week with my friend. We chose this hotel as a last minute holiday as it looked quite nice. The picture in the brochure does not do it justice, especially the pool area & the view which is gorgeous.

I have been to tunisia before but the room was better than any of the others I have stayed in & we had a very comfortable sleep every night.

We went half board but only ate in the resturant on 4 occasions (breakfast 3 times), so we dont know how varied the food. I enjoyed the breakfast though!

The best part of this hotel is definatley the entertainment team. They are fantastic and we didnt stop laughing all week especially Belil sooooooooo funny, Oiel (DJ) & Lamia is an angel we wanted to bring them home with us!

I cant wait to go back to see everyone again, we both cried all the way home. We found some friends while we were there & will definatley be staying in touch.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverpool2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

This hotel was excellent... I truly can’t understand some of the complaints that people have made! The hotel is on the smaller side, which means there is always a space at the beach or at the pool (inside or outside), that said there are still plenty of people around.
Hotel Facilities: - Our room was excellent, very big, nice shower, lovely comfortable bed, good (small) TV with English channels, not a great view though... but can’t be fussy, oh and the air con was a brilliant. The hotel has a lovely outdoor pool, although on the small(ish) side it is perfectly adequate and well maintained. There is also a private hotel beach, which is nice however does tend to get a tad covered in seaweed at times but is perfectly adequate (the better beaches are in Monistar and Sousse), the beach also has many sea sport activities. The hotel has a beautiful indoor pool; tennis courts a crazy golf course, pool tables (for a fee) and table tennis. There is also a disco each evening. There are four bars two inside, one outside and one on a pontoon approx 100 metres out to sea (amazing)

Additionally as mentioned by someone else the animation team are great and will always try to entertain you or engage you in a sport or game. The prices in the hotel are a tad steep a bottle of water is 3TD and crisps 4TD (as examples) whereas if you just go into the main street (a 2 min walk) water is 0.8TD and crisps 1.5TD. Additionally there is a lovely small coffee bar that serves excellent food and drinks very cheap (for example an 11” pizza for 4TD) just up the road.
The hotel is in Skanes which is approximately 7km from Monistar and 10km from Sousse. It is on the main bus route to both places with a bus ticket costing 0.8TD (Tunisian Dinar) each way, which is about 35p. There are many taxi’s and horse and carriages around too, and these will cost approx 10TD each way (approx £4.50). The location opinion differs depending on what you want from your holiday, if you want a quiet ho9liday in a beautiful hotel this is perfect for you, however if you wish to have a lively hotel I’d perhaps look elsewhere as this is a very quiet resort.
Food: - I noticed before I went that some people complained about the food in the hotel, I found it to be excellent, each night was different with a mix of English foods, med’ foods and Tunisian foods with some amazing deserts and plenty of fruit all the time!!!

My advice would be to go to one of the set price shops (there are two in the resort) get the prices there first and then haggle people down to those prices or less in the other shops.
Anyway... in summary I found this hotel a complete delight, I would recommend it to anyone (well not people looking for a drunken lively holiday) but anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in the sun, with lovely staff and great facilities

Thanks for a great holiday Miramar

WARNING: - be aware of people putting, what I would call white rags on your head, they charge for the privilege and a lot too!!! We were caught on our first day within the first hour and paid as we didn’t really have a clue what was happening (they’re everywhere on the hotel beach, in the towns etc etc). Avoid eye contact with people if you don’t want to buy from them, just walk buy and leave, because trust me if they get you in the shop it’s hard to get out again without buying something.

EXCURSIONS: While we were in tunisia we completed two excursions (the sahara explorer which was 170TD approx £80 which was amazing, once in a lifetime experience for two days and id advise anyone to do. and a trip to Tunis, Carthage and Sid Bou Said which was 79TD approx £35 which again id advise people to do)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan_meyrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mezri
Mezri
#33 of 43 in Monastir
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caribbean World Monastir
Caribbean World Monastir
#18 of 43 in Monastir
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Delphin El Habib
Delphin El Habib
#16 of 43 in Monastir
944 reviews
0.0 mi away
Houda Skanes
Houda Skanes
#31 of 43 in Monastir
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Helya Beach & Spa
Helya Beach & Spa
#13 of 43 in Monastir
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Pirate's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Pirate's Gate

Address: Route Dkhila, Monastir 5000, Tunisia (Formerly Royal Miramar Thalassa)
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: $32 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Otel so you can book your Miramar Pirate's Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Miramar Thalassa Hotel Monastir
Royal Miramar Thalassa Monastir
Hotel Royal Miramar Thalassa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing