We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Miramar Pirate's Gate
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
manchester , england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

We were very pleased with our room (R6) on the ground floor. nice and large with seperate bathroom and toilet, Bathroom had shower and a tub. We had tv but could only find one english channel which showed csi miama ect, but wasnt a problem as we were not in the room that long. Nice big beds which were 2 singles pushed together, I think they were attatched as we didnt fall down the middle!. maid service every day with clean towels every day. Also air conditioning. Staff at the hotel were fab, very friendly. Food, well always found something to eat but some strange things on the menu, such as rice pudding for breakfast! Not a lot of English guests, lots of French, German, Dutch and a few from Ireland. lots of trips to do outside the hotel. Trips with rep or the locals. We did one with rep and 2 with the local boys. Both as good as each other. Not too much hassle, once you said no they left you alone, we had no problem. Also there is a fixed price shop down the road that has everything, and the prices are reasonable. We went to Sousse and PEK with a local taxi driver for a reasonable price. Set a price before you set off. Ours came back and picked us up. All in all a good hotel for a good price. O one more thing Skanes does not have much nightlife so you have to rely on the hotel for your entertainment. The entertinment at this hotel was average but they did their best.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pootytang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    87
    47
    50
    35
See reviews for
51
93
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

had a very enjoyable stay, very relaxing holiday, staff very friendly and helpful, and would promtly go again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

Skanes is a small, quiet resort centered around your hotel. The Royal Miramar could do with a facelift but it is kept clean and tidy by an excellent team of friendly and helpful staff. If you enjoy a complete rest, sun and sea with varied Tunisian food, this would suit you. If you want British food - stay in Britain. The entertainment was excellent for children but they do need to re-think the evening entertainment for adults. I do not think this hotel lives up to its 4* status but is a good 3*. All in all we enjoyed our week.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed here in September last year after booking a last minute deal. Having never been to Tunisia we were a little unsure what to expect but it was so great we have just been back for our second visit (although to a different location). The hotel was lovely with big spacious rooms that were clean. There was a TV with a few english channels. The food was fine - you just need to be adventurous and try local cuisine! Perfectly situated on the beach which was cleaned daily. The hotel staff were friendly and polite with the exception of the reception staff who were a little stand-offish. Evening entertainment was fun but slightly repetitive (lots of dancing) but the entertainers work so hard day or night. You do have to pay for sunbeds (about 50p a day or £1 if you have a mattress) but this stops sunbed reserving and is cheap enough that it does not affect your holiday! There is not much outside the hotel in terms of shops or entertainment but we knew this in advance and were prepared.
To summarise this was a lovely hotel and we would definately recommend it

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l_thomas81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

Well we stayed in this hotel for the sixth year and we had a great time, we arrived in November and departed in February. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are cleaned every day and the towels are changed daily, all of the staff are brilliant and will go out of their way to help you if you need it. While we were there we had a problem with a fire and this caused all of the power to be cut off and no heating BUT the management and staff worked very hard to put things right we were with out electricity for some six hours and heating for 24 hours there were people there who caused a stink thinking that they would not get any hot dinner but they worried for nothing because dinner was served hot to every one and it was only 15 min later than normal and as a thank you the management gave every one in the hotel a free lunch the next day.. The entertainment team worked hard to keep every one happy and most of the people who were there had a good time it does not matter where you go there is always going to be some one who wants to moan so that they can get a refund from their holiday company. As to the beach at the back where the sea is undermining the foundations of some of the bungalows and the retaining wall this is an act of nature and so it could not be stopped and to prop it all up would cost thousands of pounds and I do not think that any firm in England would even go through the expense of this. If you want a good relaxing holiday with plenty of rest and a few laughs along the way this is a great hotel for it but if you want loads of shops and night life then this is not for you. My wife and I would always keep returning to this hotel but for the fact there have been so many moans which have been unjustified the hotel has been taken off of some long stay holiday firms so we are now having great difficulty getting back there. I have written a letter to Thomas Cook complaining about some of the people who were moaning and most of them were egged on by the rep of all people because if she moved people to another hotel she got commission from the move. When we saw some of the people who had been moved on the plan on the way home they had regretted moving because it was a case of out of the frying pan and into the fire. If you want a truthful account of this hotel email me and I will answer any questions that you have.
Steve and Pat Brown Room 10

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveandpatSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

I've just returned from the Royal Miramar Thalassa after a lovely 1 week holiday with my family. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions of course, but mine is that anyone that gives this hotel 2 out of ten must generally be used to a level of 5 star luxury with which I'm unfamiliar. It's definitely four star, and the food is of a good standard with a good choice for both breakfast and dinner. Bear in mind that the guests appear to be a mix of mainly British, French and German, and the food choices available reflect these tastes, so if you don't feel like you're on holiday unless each day starts with a full English, you may be disappointed.
The grounds are beautiful and the hotel looks charming and elegant, although a little faded in places. There was some sprucing up going on while we were staying, in readiness for mid/high season, including the beach area getting cleaned up. The outdoor salt water pool is very clean, although probably too cold for splashing around in - great for a proper swim though. Both of my kids loved the heated indoor pool, the outdoor five-a-side football pitch and the mini golf (all free). There's also a free kids club from 3.00-5.00, but it only started towards the end of the week, so it probably doesn't run in the low season.
We had a quiet room for four overlooking the beach, with the kids having separate single beds in two alcoves. The rooms are clean and charming, but certainly not luxurious. Two things that are definitely not four star are the budget loo roll and soaps/shampoo. Unless you had a room very near to the nightclub/disco, I think you'd get a pretty good night's sleep, and the hotel is far enough from the airport for there to be any noise from aircraft.
If you expect to walk out of your hotel to find a plethora of bars, restaurants, nightclubs and shops, Skanes may not be for you. It's a strip of hotels along the beach with one or two things behind. We were happy to have a quiet holiday, so it didn't bother us, and taxis are cheap if you want to go to Sousse or Monastir for shopping/night life. There's also a bus stop just a short walk from the hotel. The resort area of Sousse towards Port Kantoui looked to be the place to go for night life. Behind the hotel is the Safari Shopping Centre, with a couple of restaurants and the Folla Shopping Centre, with a large selection of gifts and souvenirs. Both have marked prices, which are about the same as you'd probably end up paying in the medinas of Sousse or Monastir unless you're an expert haggler.
If you enjoy spending time with each other as a family or couple on holiday, and don't expect too much night life, then I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Tips: Monastir market on a Saturday & Sousse market on a Sunday. we found a good cabbie called Mohammed (Renault Scenic, cab number 298), who was happy to take us to Monastir market, wait for us, drive us somewhere for lunch, wait again, take us into Monastir and wait while we did some sightseeing, and then back to the hotel for 30 Dinar (15 quid). He was keen to take us to leather shops/"genuine Berber house", but didn't push this once we made clear we were not interested.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justinandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

This hotel is very nice with spacious bedroom, pleasant, accommodating staff, and copious buffet dinners and breakfasts offering the widest choice. Holiday marred only by the filthy state of the sea in the immediate area throughout our two week stay preventing any bathing. That apart, we enjoyed a perfectly relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Centralwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#6 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Cap Monastir Aparthotel
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#4 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#13 of 43 in Monastir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.0 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#11 of 43 in Monastir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Pirate's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Pirate's Gate

Property: Miramar Pirate's Gate
Address: Route Dkhila, Monastir 5000, Tunisia (Formerly Royal Miramar Thalassa)
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Miramar Pirate's Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Miramar Thalassa Hotel Monastir
Royal Miramar Thalassa Monastir
Hotel Royal Miramar Thalassa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing