We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so good i go back in 2 days!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed May 3, 2007

i went in march and it was absolutely amazing frtom start to finish. everyone is so friendly and you just cant go anywhere without a smile and hello. the men are lovely despite what people think, they may like english girls but they wouldnt do anthing to you! i made friends with lots of them and could sit in their shops or whatever and chat for ages. im 19 and i went alone, so if i can do it and want to go again surely anyone could, as everyone said theyd never dare go anywere alone!

the food is not too good but i am a fussy eater and was happy with salad, chips and i tried afew things i didnt know what they were. li also admit i was shocked to see veal out there and the amount of english people eating it- do we have no humanity!!!!!!!! but the lasagne is lush!

the animation team is soooooo lovely, they are a laugh from day to night, and i have been asked to bring them manythings this time from england, they love our country!

if you see a guy opposite reception on a book stall its momo (short for mohammed) he is the loveliest guy in the world, bless him say hello and buy a book from him as nobody ever does.

i have to go now anywya, and pack, i am so excited i keep ringing the dj and momo to tell them im coming back. they are excited too! so have fun out there, and hopefully youll want to go back too!

if you want to contact me for any reason- i have quite a knowledge out there now (this is my 3rd time) please dont hesitate- plus i have contact to tunisians for anything at any time!



  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mumadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,059)
There are newer reviews for Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,141 - 3,147 of 4,059 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2007

Its ok, the staff were fine but the food was average. Met some cool people and went to a fooball match with a staff member - (english crowds do not have passsion compared to this lot). There were too mant girld on the take and the lads a bit too wheeler dealer for me. The quality of the leather is hit and miss, well worth shopping around. The card system for the drink is a pain and there are too many chavs for my liking. What out when the Germans and French arrive en-masse as the hotel is split into three section by country - the Germans get their own bar so you have to share with the french which is not a problem but it can get crowded at times.
The trips to the town by taxi are cheap - try to stick woth the same taxi driver every time for better rates and dont sell your girl friend.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank Simplesimon999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

We arrived at the sahara beach hotel on 22nd April we had booked online through direct holidays. On arrival we were immediately greeted by friendly helpful staff. We were given a hand with our cases and we were then given a drink and directed to the lounge area to fill out some paperwork. After this we had our ID cards produced (we were staying all inclusive) We were then given our key... the head chap behind reception saw that we were a couple and decided to give us a better room. The room was lovely, 5th floor facing out towards the pool area and beach ...this gave us a really excellent view every morning and set each day off to a good start. The cleaners were polite and efficient we gave a couple of small tips during the week as we were really happy with how the room was cleaned and tidied everyday.

The meals were really nice with a good selection of foods each day. i really think they try hard at the sahara to cater for everyone considering there were a good mixture of people staying there (mainly english, german and french). The waiters speak all 3 languages and they work really hard to please you. Our waiters were brilliant and even on the few days that the weather wasnt as good they still kept us entertained. They do like to be tipped at the end of your stay but to be fair they work hard and quite long hours so i didnt mind too much.

The pool area is again really nice. The pools are cleaned every morning (i observed this from my balcony) there are lovely gardened areas that you can walk through too. The pictures are exactly the same as the actual place for once! The sun loungers are free and you even get a foam mattress thingy to make it more comfortable. The young lads that carry them out dont expect too much, some days i didnt tip at all.

The hotel grounds go on to the beach where there are loads more sun loungers and a bar that serves snacks all day ( this is all free on all inclusive) they do really nice kebabs and pizzas if you cant be bothered to go back into the hotel to get lunch.

There are loads of things to do for the kids (sports, horse riding, crazy golf, mini club and a zoo!) The childrens entertainment team called 'animation' are really good and provide lots of activities for the kids to get involved in ( adults can do some of the activities too ...like darts and table tennis competitions) There's also excellent entertainment at night for all ages. There are quite a few bars inside the hotel as well as a nightclub.

when you are out and about at the towns and markets (there are various places to visit (sahline, monastir, sousse etc) you do get the shop men trying to get you to buy things you dont need but its quite entertaining. just haggle and barter them down to the lowest prices for anything you do want. Just use your common sense and dont get baffled by the change in currency. You will hear them saying things like 'come on my friend ...its cheap as chips' or 'asda price'. They do take no for an answer though but you just have to be firm. At the end of the day its a relatively poor country and they are trying to make a living.

I cant believe after i booked to go Tunisia everyone kept telling me how awful it was because it was one of the best resorts i have visited. Lots of the people staying there that i chatted to have been going back there time and time again. I cant sing the hotels praises enough...for the price we paid it was top quality and i cant wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ClaireAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

this hotel is out of this world and it really does look like the pictures in brochures, its great for kids, has 3 massive swimming pools, kids clubs, a big entertainment area for on a night outside all the entertainment is really good.
the food is good and puddings are great.
its right on the beach and theres a beach bar which serves drinks and chips/hot dogs/ pizzas etc and if your all inclusive this is free for you, theres also a bar shaped as a ship on the beach this is nice but not included in all inclusive.
theres a zoo next to the hotel grounds which also has a good kids play area in it, the zoo is part of the hotel and is 5 dinars in so about £3.00, theres tennis courts, mini golf that are free, the centre of skanes isnt too far away so you can get a taxi there always waiting outside the hotel or if you want to see the resort go on the noddy train it stops outside the hotel and is a few dinars.
take euros to tunisiaas the exchange is good and tunisian currency is restricted
the rooms here are very nice and cleaned every day
hope this helps you

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank lpidcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

Stayed here from 1st to 8th of April. First time in Tunisia and first all inclusive in a long while.

Staff were helpful and obliging on the whole. Asked for a higher room with a better view and were given one two hours later. Explored the hotel while we waited. The hotel is near the airport but plane noise was not an issue.

Many of the negative points made by others were partly true but it depends on your expectations.

Weather was poor first few days but only really one and a half days. Weather isn't gauranteed anywhere. Can have good weather at home and bad abroad. Was warm enough to take children to the beach- what a holiday is about.

Food was repetitiive - but ok for a week. Once outside of the resorts it can be seen that it is a realtively poor country. The food put on was probably the best you could expect from what was available.
Tried Tunisian soup, Bric and tangine as well as filling up on pizza chips etc. Waiters perhaps could be hit and miss but ours was very good. A small tip daily of 80p meant we got double drinks bought instead of waiting ages for service - is this much on the cost of a holiday compared to their wages. A Tunisian teacher earned only £100 month. How much do you think a waiter earned?

Most of the Hotel was clean. I used the inddor pool same week as somene who said it was grubby. I had no problem with this pool and it was a welcome respite when the wind made the outside pool too cold. Outdoor pools are cold even in the height of summer not really a vaid complaint for the first week in April.
Pool toilets were very dirty one day and although this is down to cleaners also due to the public who wouldn't dream of leaving their home toilet in that state.

Outdor pools were great for kids shallow enough that you could watch with them having arm bands.

There were a couple of shops in the hotel selling all the basics. The stall sellers are generally harmless, they are only trying to earn a living after all. A no was all that was needed they did not hound you. The photographer is worth a try, took lots of photos and no committment to buy after seeing the pictures later on. Then they were only £2 each.

A phone call home was only about 3 dinars (1.20) for a 5 minute call using the payphones near reception. Do not use room phones, apparently £5 a minute!

Mosquito's a problem. I had 103 bites and my wife 70. fortunately they left my daughter alone. Couldn't see many in the hotel. Most were outside in the crazy golf shade under the trees. Most bites in room at night but i must admit didn't have on the wall killer. Not everyone was bitten - obviosly found me tasty.

Towels were taken in morning and bought back in afternoon but you didn't need them all changing at once so could save a towel for lunchtime shower. Obviously only had enough to take wash and then replace.

Evening entertainment great for our 4 year old and OK up to 8/9 Same disco songs but they got to learn the moves. Entertainment room was very smokey. As a non- smoker was prepared to put up with it but still way behind Uk laws.

Was all inclusive and they would give you bottled water. Have basic spirits but don't ecpect Bailley's, cocktails etc. Some understood doubles but others chose to act as if they did'n't. Drank far more Coke than I wanted to trying to get holiday merry!

You have a chance to have one free meal in the el campo pizza restaurant as an all inclusive guest. Don't bother, it is the same food as the main restaurant and a lot slower service. Do not be lured in by the menu qoutside, it is different for those not paying!

Went into Monastir they are pushey at selling but a polite no thankyou is all you need. You are under no obligation to buy so just make it clear. I found a reply to hello or talk of the weather ...but i don't want your goods - was beter than just trying to blank them. This tended to make them more annoyed because you haven't even given them the time of day.

El jem Amphitheatre was great - an early start if you visit on the half day trip - two hours each way. but better preserved than the colosseum in Rome.

Tranfer distance from the airport is very short. Only £3.20 taxi
Don't bother with £25 transfer through travel operator. Now I know how close might work out cheaper to buy flights and book direct with the hotel through website. Might come back again - not as bad as some had said. Could go somewhere else and get much worse. Better the devil you know - and with better weather and less bites would have a much better holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank welikethesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

My Husband and I together with our two children aged 15 and 12 have just returned from the Iberostar Sahara Beach after what was supposed to be a fun, relaxing weeks break. We stayed there from 1st - 8th April.

We booked over the internet with 1st choice, the whole process was trouble free, the flight out was only 20 minutes late, and again trouble free.

We arrived at in Tunisia at around 10am and our transfer to the hotel was good, good start to our holiday we thought.

The booking in process at the hotel was a bit lengthy, more forms to fill in, had to have a photo taken and given an id card as we were staying All Inclusive. The weather on that Sunday was good.

We were taken to our rooms (2 adjoining), we found the rooms small, but clean, though there were no towels, we really could have done with a shower after such an early morning start in the UK, apparently the towels are brought to your room in the afternoon?

We then went to explore the hotel, it is large, three tower blocks with shops, restaurant, Pizzaria (not on the all inclusive), and some bars. We ventured outside and the pool areas were really nice, as was the beach, plenty of sunbeds to choose from, there is always someone there ready to get the sunbeds and cushions for you, but they do seem to expect a tip even if they have just moved your sunbed a few inches! Don't get me wrong, I know they rely on tips, and I don't have a problem with tipping, provided they have actually done something!

Hotel in itself was ok, but the service was awful ! We were allocated a table and a waiter for the duration on our visit, he appeared very friendly, perhaps too friendly sometimes, but customer service was not one of his talents. Most days we had to clear our own plates away before getting dessert, we waited ages before getting the drinks we ordered on arrival. Somedays we only had three place settings instead of four, on two occasions someone had eaten at our table before us, and the table had not been cleared. With regard to the food, I am not a fussy eater at all, but I really struggled to find something interesting to eat every day. The menu was almost identical each and every day, with chips, pizza, omlettes, beef stew or beef curry, turkey cooked in various ways, stewed vegetables etc, etc. Our kids were ok, they lived on pizza, chips or pasta. My husband is a vegetarian, and at times he really struggled to find food that he was able to eat, other than pizza, chips or pasta. We have holidayed All Inclusive a number of times now, and I can honestly say this was the worst buffet selection we have come across.

The bars were no different as far as customer service was concerned. The bar staff were very impatient with people who did not order their drinks straight away, if you were still trying to decied what to drink they got very agitated, hurrying you along and snatching your cards out of your hands. The beer taps were on the opposite side of the bar to where you ordered your drinks, therefore when you ordered a beer with soft drinks or spirits, your soft drinks / spirits were placed in front of you, then you had to go down the other end of the bar to fetch your beer, fighting your way through the line of customers, because thats where they left it , they never brought it to you. We are a landlady and landlord of a pub, so customer service is extremely important to us, this just frustrated us every time, and was so unnecessary. The tables in the bars were never wiped clean, just had the empty glasses cleared away.

Our daughter was the only one who used the indoor pool, and she said it was grubby, I cannot comment on it because we didn't venture in there.

The games room was an accident waiting to happen, sure it had lots of things for the kids to do, but there were lots of wires on the floors around the machines, not tucked away out of sight, potential trip hazzards with the dozens of kids running around, my daugter got an electric shock from one machine on two occasions.

The public toilets in the hotel were an absolute disgrace, for two days in one of the ladies, there was a toilet seat missing, for the whole 7 days there was a cistern top missing, so you had to flush the toilet by putting your hand onto a piece of plastic in the cistern and pulling it. They smelt awful, one block in particular opposite the games room, smelt of raw sewage every day. It wasn't a pleasant experience.

We did a few trips during our stay, we did the camel caravan, that was good fun, the zoo and zulu night, again very good afternoon, (except for the thunder storm) and night entertainment.

We also visited the amphitheatre at El Djem, this was a facinating place to visit and well worth it.

Other things that spoilt the holiday for us, were ignorant English people, taking over a bar area where we were watching the BBC world news, they just came in took over a load of seats and changed the TV channel looking for football, without even asking if we minded! The parents who let their children run riot, climbing over tables, running around screaming all the time, knocking into tables and spilling drinks. People smoking in areas where no smoking signs are evident. All in all, not a pleasant experience. It didn't help that the weather was pretty bad for 3 days of our holiday, freezing cold gale force winds, heavy rain, thunder storms. Role on the next holiday, need another one to get over this.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Teeaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2007

hi just back last sat night after one week all inclusive my husband and 2 kids 9 and 4 gained loads of weight as pancakes are served with
every meal. weather too cold to swim outdoors but indoor pool nice. kids had a great time my little guy adored the music which stopped at 11, the market sellers by the restauant are very pushy but very nice to my kids always called them by name some people might find them to friendly. if you have money and want good jewlery go to the gold shop in hotel and ask to see spin rings we got them as wedding bands as i had lost mine but also got them for the boys. to change from half board to allinclusive is 25 dinar perperson per day. all inclusive finishes at 12 at night but rememer u dont have to drink just coffee the hot choclate was to beautiful. entertainment was very good they practice every day for show at night..weather was sunny but a bit windy. to change money in hotel was easy. we all got tatoos but have got itch and sore since comeing home. kids got sick on last night but i wouldnt blame the food the youngest has been sick with a viral infection since coming home. hope u find this helpful email me if you have question enjoy your hoilday.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0.3 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#14 of 43 in Monastir
1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#10 of 43 in Monastir
345 reviews
5.7 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#15 of 43 in Monastir
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#5 of 43 in Monastir
2,250 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caribbean World Monastir
Caribbean World Monastir
#18 of 43 in Monastir
448 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort

Address: Route Touristique Dkhila, Monastir 5000, Tunisia (Formerly Sahara Beach Hotel)
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#6 Family Hotel in Monastir
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: $69 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1042
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Monastir and approx 12 km from Sousse (Skanes - Tunisia). Broad, fine sandy beach. 22.000 sq m of gardens. A childrens paradise. Short transfer. Plenty of action and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Beach Hotel Monastir
Iberostar Hotel Sahara Beach
Iberostar Hotel Monastir
Sahara Beach Hotel Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing