We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chavs & Chips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed October 14, 2006

My wife, daughter & I have just returned to Blighty from this concentration camp.
This is by far the worst holiday experience we have ever had.


If any travel guide tells you that this dump is 15 minutes from the airport, ignore it !! It is 5 minutes by camel at the most, and you can spend 14 evenings sat on your balcony watching planes landing & taking off - every 4 minutes on busy days!!


Bedrooms
The rooms are small - 3 of us crammed into a double room, no room to even walk past the bed when the wardrobe is open. There was snot, blood and God knows what decorating our "cell". Whilst taking a bath you can hear the conversation in the next bathroom, and after your neighbour's have spent the evening in the nightclub, awoken you to arguments at 3.00 a.m. you can hear their sexual activities.
Our room was dirty & not cleaned once during our stay - sure they change the bed linen & replace the towels - having first dipped them in oil or sweat from the kitchen - they stink!!

Reception
The staff are rude, couldn't care less that you are on holiday.
At any time of day you can walk through the reception area and be greeted by the sight of a drunken slob, asleep with sick covering him, or her. Ask the reception staff to move them as this is advertised as a family resort and you'll be told that you've got more chance of finding a toilet that isn't blocked in this hotel.

Restaurant / Beach bars
On a plus side our waiter was helpful. However on his days or mornings off, the other waiters were incredibly rude. They would take wine glasses, cutlery, napkins from our table and give them to their guests leaving us to scavenge them off other tables.
The fact that we lived on melon, omelettes & pancakes for 14 days should give you an indication that the food was dire.
The all inclusive package is a joke. You can only get a half at the bar unless you tip the barman and then you can have a pint. You spend every evening queueing and will probably have had 2 pints by the end of the evening, served sometimes in paper cups - what quality!!

If you are a chav, enjoy chips with every meal, then you will have a great time here.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ihatechavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,174 - 3,180 of 4,072 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2006

My boyfriend and I have just returned from the Sahara Beach and wanted to do a review as we had read other reivews before we left and we really nervious about going there.

Ok, the lobby and the Skanes Bar could do with a refurb but the staff were lovely, the rooms were clean and the food and drink were plentiful - if a little samey after two weeks! The Hotel is a bit out of the way but the Taxis are cheap enough if you want to get around.

The grounds were fantastic and we spent all our time at the 'Relaxation Pool' and did just that - the jacuzzi was a nice touch.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and, after all, if you pay for the 3* Hotel then don't expect a 5*!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Sharon-N-Phillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

Returned from all inclusive holiday at Sahara Beach Hotel, Tunisia few weeks ago now, overall had a good holiday but it was nice to get home.

Arrived at the airport late evening, a bonus is the hotel was only 5 mins drive away from Monastir Airport. Travelled to the hotel and arrived to a busy reception and had to complete some forms (just what we wanted to do after travelling since early that morning!). Once the forms were completed we went to the room, our cases were brought up later.

The room was basic but very clean we had a fantastic view over all pools and the sea, spent loads of time on the balcony. There was no tv, radio or fridge in the room. Because of airport rules we were told we were not allowed to take stereo onto plane making it very quiet for the time we spent in the room, especially getting ready for dinner. If i returned to this hotel i would defo take some form of music!

The food was lovely and there was always plenty of it. My boyfriend is very fussy with food but he lived off burgers, pizza and omelette's all week, pizzas and omelette's always cooked fresh for you while you wait. I was i little more daring and tried different types of food which was very nice. The waiter was great, had drinks ready for us when we arrived in the restaurant - couple of dinars a night helped with this, it definately makes a difference.

During the day it was great, convenient for the beach and 3 great pools, the weather was boiling so the days flew by whilst we were trying to top up our tans! We didnt go on many excursions, we went Quad Biking which was a couple of hours out and about, I didnt think i would like it but it was great. Well recommended.

One of the down sides was the night times, once we had eaten there wasnt much to do. We are not really interested in the entertainment and all other bars were so quiet - there was no music or anything in any of the other bars. There was a disco there which whenever we went was VERY quiet! I struggled to find a drink i liked, tried a bit of everything but that was just me being fussy!

You cannot take Dinar's in or out of the country so they must be spent at the airport before going to departures - we had lots left, tried to change it back but they were out of GBP - so we had to find things to buy to spend the last of our money!

I hope this review is useful,i feel the hotel is mainly for families with children but we did have a good holiday - and came home with a great tan!! All the staff were very friendly and service was great. Just a shame about the night times which was a let down.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MinnieMouse83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2006

Just got back from sahara beech hotel if your one of the moaning british that want fish and chips dont go to this hotel go to blackpool or benidorm.The food was exerlant something for all pasta,chicken,rice,chips,fresh omeletes,roast beef,so i can not understand why people moan about the food it is a muslim country after all. The entertainment is ok but you get what you pay for you wont get a west end show but the children love it.The pools are geat three masive pool one quite for the boring ones,one for the kids and a livley one for the fun loving with kiki the entertaining but slightly mad entertainer he was my cup of tea but possibly to loud for some.The kids club was great my daughter neaver usually goes but they come to you and encourager them to go twice a day 10 to 12 then 3 to 5 she loved it she is 5.I dont know what it would be like in hi season i probely not go because there would be about 3000 then maybe to busy but out of school holidays great i dont usually go away from beach or pool anyway dont listern to the moanng mini's its ok

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitkatkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2006

My fiancee and I stayed here from 13th - 21st sept. On arrival we werent very impressed by the look of the hotel but the grounds more than made up for it. There are 3 beautiful pools, one at the top near the bar, the rockery pool which is just below it and links onto the baby pool, and the activities pool. They were beautiful.

Because we chose to have a selection of everything, every time we went to the restaurant, the food became a little repetitive but that was our own fault. Snacks were great, local alcohol wasnt very nice so mainly we stuck to beer and wine which was! For soft drinks they have coca cola, sprite and fanta which is good. The waiters are very friendly and try to learn your names and your drinks so giving them a tip is nice, 1 or 2 dinars is plenty and its only about 80p.

The hotel has its own entertainment staff who do pool side activities during the day but also put on shows on the evening like grease, michael jackson etc so they are loads of fun!

The locals will pester you to sell you things but you must be prepared to haggle or you'll get charged at least 5 times the amount its worth. Especially if you go into the medinas.

BEWARE of people trying to give you things on the beach as 'presents' because they do expect money for them and will blatantly go into your purse or wallet for the money themselves. These arent hotel staff however and are just there to make money.

The hotel also has its own little strip of shops with a jewellers, shoes shop, bag shop, photo developing and snack shop that sells drinks, cigarettes, junk food and souvenirs so if you are intimidated by the medina as we were then you dont have to go there for presents.

Overall we had a wonderful time there, and other couples we met who stayed at other 4* hotels said it sounded better than theirs. We would definately go back and recommend it to anyone. Hope this review helps :)

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank animal_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Was really worried about staying here after the terrible reviews we read, in fact we tryed to cancel but could not, but was so glad when we got to out hotel, the Hotel is old and is a bit tired looking, our room was small, but we were only in there to sleep!, outside was wonderfull the pools are very large and spotless, the beach was kept clean also, plenty of watersports and the cheapest I have ever come across. The people seem rude but once you get them talking they come out of themselves, the food was brilliant and everynight there were plenty of choice, not so good for vegetarians. All in All we had a great holiday and would definately go back at this time of year, also very hot, BUT there is not alot to do at night apart from the entertainment, take a pack of cards.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Ive just come back from sahara beach hotel after spending a week with friends(girls holiday) i was a bit dissapointed when we arrived as the porters were grabbing our suitcases from us and guiding us to the lounge for a welcome drink and having to fill in a form,but after finding out that their wages are a joke i now realise they need the tips to survive ,which is understandable .After unpacking and having a look around it seemed an awful lot better,our view from our room was beautiful and made me feel alot better about everything,the rooms was cleaner than i thought they would be ,at the end of the day you havn't got to live there it's just somewhere to put your head down of a night.as for the waiters i personally thought they were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you,people only treat you how you treat them!the pool is very nice and all three are very clean ,the barstaff however can be quite rude (but we were warned ramadam was going on at the time of our stay so they was hungry and got moody with guests so i'll let them off with that haha!As for the entertainment staff they made everyone happy and kept the children busy and loved all of them .The nightclub is a dump but it's only somewhere to dance and have a drink, meet new people etc.if you do visit the sahara beach hotel beware of kiki cos he loves the ladies but in my opinion i think they all love him too,you can't dislike him he's mad.Our rep Sarah was very friendly and very helpful,The micheal jackson show was brilliant we all really enjoyed that,The karaoke was a little bit boring some of the guests needed to be taken to one side and just be told 'YOU CAN'T SING' but it's a laugh! The food is a bit dissapointing but i'm not complaining 'cos i lost some weight which done me good.If you need a taxi make sure you agree a price b4 you set off and if you are all girls they will try and chat you up but that isn't tunisian men thats just men! Book taxi's with reception ! I didn't visit the zoo because i get a bit choked up seeing animals uncared for,after seeing the horses in sousse looking underfed it didn't fancy it ,you will see loads of cats around but they get fed well as all the guests feed them from their balcony's so if you do go to sahara beach hotel plz do so! There are plenty of picture's on the website to look at and all of them are genuine ,I would just like to add i had a great time loved it would consider going back ,if you do go have a great holiday! and you will get a great tan believe me i'm usually a milk bottle!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank pooni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0.3 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#14 of 43 in Monastir
1,194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#10 of 43 in Monastir
351 reviews
1.9 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#3 of 43 in Monastir
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#9 of 43 in Monastir
1,311 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,267 reviews
6 mi away
Delphin El Habib
Delphin El Habib
#13 of 43 in Monastir
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort

Address: Route Touristique Dkhila, Monastir 5000, Tunisia (Formerly Sahara Beach Hotel)
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monastir
#6 Family Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: $65 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1042
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Monastir and approx 12 km from Sousse ( Skanes - Tunisia). Broad, fine sandy beach. 22.000 Sq. M of gardens. A childrens paradise. Short transfer. Plenty of action and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Beach Hotel Monastir
Iberostar Hotel Sahara Beach
Iberostar Hotel Monastir
Sahara Beach Hotel Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing