We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not listen to bad reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do not listen to bad reviews”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

On our last night here and all I can say is fabulous!! We arrived at about 2am and were checked in by a friendly member of staff who spoke French Arabic as well as English, handed a drink by another member of staff and had our bags sorted by another! The rooms are no more or less to be expected just what you need for sleeping and showering. Cleaned frequently and any queries answered by any member of staff! Lovely pools, beach, staff, and trips on offer. Food- something for everyone! Whether it be a Tunisian Classic well worth trying or just chips burgers and pizza (a must try) there was something for everyone, our waiter was as friendly and helpful as one could wish for and some people complaining about tips do not realise how appreciative these people are for a simple 1dinar.. About 37p at this time. Drinks brought readily, tables dressed every meal. I can imagine that in the height of summer that this hotel does get extremely busy however this is not the hotels fault as they do try to deal with any issues that arise.
Now for the best bit of my time in Tunisia the Sahara explorer trip!! A must for those who want an eye opening experience to how some people live along with some amazing sight seeing and a knowledgeable tour guide! For about £80 it is a 2 day trip staying in a 4* hotel overnight with food included in the price and you get to see 80%of Tunisia. I would not recommend for children however as they are long busy days! I'm not sure what everyone was complaining about with drink measures, be friendly to the bar staff and you get about half spirit to mixer! Just remember some people are rude to waiters and staff so can not expect the amazing service as we did, the kids aqua park and animation I think made this holiday so special for families so much effort was put in by all and whatever time or day it was no one could by more helpful! all in all this was a fabulous holiday and would be returning next year, maybe in summer to experience it. I have not tried the daring and cheap water sports on offer at the beach however for those thrill seekers I would definitely recommend

Room Tip: Pool or beach view are both fabulous! Most of the time there is little noise however this is not hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 73Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    1,483
    704
    310
    309
See reviews for
1,979
907
61
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived at the Sahara Beach Resort for a weeks stay from Wednesday 2nd October, We arrived at the hotel at approx 2 in the morning, and were greeted by 2 friendly members of staff who came outside and took our cases in for us. As we checked in another member of staff came over with a welcome drink for us, we were then shown to our rooms, which was a family room with interconnecting doors. Throughout the holiday nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff. The bedrooms were more than adequate, very clean and tidy, all had a balcony and a large bathroom and the room also had air conditioning. We had the same cleaner every day, who was a lovely friendly man, who greeted us with a smile and a cuddle, and the rooms were always immaculate on our return. We were given a table in the main restaurant and this was our table for the week, we also had our own waiter, a lovely man who brought our drinks to our table without even being asked, as he knew what we liked to drink. The restaurant staff were all friendly, and there was more than enough choice for everyone, there was a different menu every night, and the food was always well cooked and enjoyable. During the day there was burgers, pizzas, chips, pasta, salads and ice cream from the pool bars and beach bar and endless supplys of soft drinks, slushes and alcohol. The pools are amazing, you can always find a sunbed and it has its own water park, which considering its all free, you dont expect anything this good from a 3star hotel. The highlight of our holiday has to be the entertainment team, we travelled with our two daughters aged 15 and 18 and from the first day we arrived they were never short of anything to do. They were encouraged tto join in with the pool activities, water gymnastics, zumba, yoga, table tennis, darts, beach volleyball, the activities were endless, the team were absolutely amazing, they worked endless hours, and were always happy and ensured we were happy. The entertainment on a night was first class, wether indoor or outdoor, but the star of the show for us was MOMO, what a totally loveable, kind, funny man. He is known as the crazy one, always happy, always smiling, always dancing and singing uuhh uuhh lol. We all loved him he is so nice and always took time out to come and sit and talk to us and got the girls involved in the activities. We cant wait to go back and see him again. If you are looking for a cheap 3 star all inclusive holiday with 5 star qualities, then the Sahara Beach is definately the place to go, we wouldnt hesitate to book up again, thank you everyone for a fantastic holiday. PS We miss you MOMO.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank juliep310769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Was abit in 2 minds about Tunisia , but I must say I would go back tomorrow . The Sahara beach is a great complex has it all in 1 place , water park , swimming pools approx 6 & sea front . Water sports on beach , jet ski's , boat with various pull alongs water skiing , paragliding ,banana ,settee etc , spent nearly every afternoon there .
There is plenty of bars, shops etc . Main restaurant is very large & you get your own table so need to rush for meals to find table , set waiters look after you .
Rooms very basic but cleaned every day , we had joining rooms as was 6 of us , only down side could of done with small fridge . Maid very good & friendly .
We were put of by some reviews before we went , but every 1 has there own opinion .
I would recommend this complex to any 1 , we are looking to go back next year .
Very cheap stuff to buy , even on beach , guys selling cigarettes , always think the worst me , but they were real & cheap lol
There was some great things on at nite at main stage area , great entertainment team .

Plenty of life guards on duty on all pools , could go on & on . All in all great place , everything in 1 place .

Highly recommend !!!!!

Weather was very warm , even the few cloudy days we had , but that didn't stop you been around pools, beach or water park . Was approx 29/30 nearly every day . Which ain't bad in October .

Room Tip: I had rooms facing water park , east facing I think lol lovely view across pools , water park &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank peter227059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My partner and I have just returned home from 7 nights at the sahara beach hotel and can honestly say it's the only place I've been to where i didn't want to leave. This hotel has some bad comments and I really cannot understand why, from the moment we got there the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels and bedding. There was plenty of choice of food which was excellent and freshly cooked and prepared, pizzas and omelettes where made infront of you with a choice of toppings etc. plenty of choices of drinks which were served all day and night at all of the bars and they certainly weren't watered down or shy with the measures as people had previously commented. The pools, gardens and beach were beautifully kept and staff brought mattresses for the loungers as required. There is so much to do for everyone from water sports, quad excursions, horse riding etc, all of which are extremely cheap and well worth the money. Mini golf, tennis, archery and other on site sports are completely free and can be used as often as wanted. I cannot fault this hotel at all and would recommend it to anyone and will definitely be returning next year. Thank you sahara beach for an amazing holiday from start to finish, such a lovely hotel with lovely staff. 10/10

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Amandacurren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I come back from Sahara Beach just last week and it was my second time there and it was just as good as the first time I went. I went we some of my family members and we all had such a good time. the rooms are decent and were always cleaned daily. The food was is good and caters for many different tastes, there was always something for us to have, at the pool and beach bar and the inside restaurant. The entertainment was always good, even when it rained and everyone had to go to the inside show bar, the animation team did all they could to get as many people as possible in there. All the animation team are extremely friendly and really made the holiday that extra bit better, aswell as the hotel staff and bar staff which were always happy. I couldn't ask for a better holiday. The people who are complaining clearly expected a lot more of a 3* hotel. There was the water leak while I was there but the staff did all they could to sort everything, and kept cleaning up any water that went on the floor so no one was to get hurt. Overall it was an amazing holiday and would love to go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paige L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arbroath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

my husband and I arrived on 2nd october staying for a week no problems with clea.liness or staff. problems were having no hot water for three days any time we enquired about it it was getti.g sorted later that day we were never told about any refund only found out about this by speaking to someone on plane. whilst we were there we had rain a couple of days and when we went for tea the rain was coming through the roof onto the table and chairs whem we asked to beoved were told all other tables were taken this two things spoilt a otherwise good holiday would maybe go back to yunisia but not to sahara beach.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcgregor246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsbqt, Quality Manager at Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you fr your reviewer, We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. we would like to point out the following comments:
Concerning the cut off of the water, it was a technical issue due to the Broken lines and cables from the central, and we have put All Our Best Efforts as you have seen. with an apology and many other measures.
Best regards
Quality Manager, Myriam
hotel@saharabeach.com.tn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I can't believe that people actually give this hotel negative reviews. We were also there when the water was leaking and I can honestly say it was NOT SMELLY!!!! There was a lot of water but the staff were very quick to clear it up and worked relentlessly emptying buckets and sweeping away water. The water did go cold for a few hours but that was all, and to be honest it was quite refreshing having a cold shower after baking in the sun all day. How some people can say it was "distressing" is beyond me, and to claim compensation for this just says it all to me about the type of people they really are. It was a leak, it happens, get over it!

Anyway enough about other people's reviews, we simply had a ball. The hotel is huge, I believe the biggest in the area, there are three blocks all linked on the ground floor. On arrival we were shown in to one of the bars and given a drink, we were then given our all inclusive bands and then our room numbers. Our room wasn't ready on arrival but we had a wander around, went for lunch then got our room. Yes they are a bit dated but very clean and have everything you should need.

The dining room is huge, there are two food stations, one on either side and there are live cooking stations which do fresh pizzas, pastas, kids meals such as chicken nuggets and sausages and they even did spaghetti bolognese on a couple of nights, there's also the crepe station and ice-cream served by a lovely little old man. ("It's banana!!!" - sorry private joke) The food is a mix of european, british and tunisian with something different to try at every meal. Breakfast is not full english which was OK for us. We enjoyed the different types of eggs that were available including the fresh omelettes made to order, there is a selection of bread, both lovely fresh loaves to cut yourself and sliced bread for toasting, cheese, meat, salad, jams, cereal etc. Lunch was a selection of cooked meats both poultry and meat and also different types of fish including swordfish (all cooked in different ways at each meal), potatoes, vegetables, there is usually a tunisian dish or two, salads of every kind, and always chips if you want them. Dinner was similar to lunch but there were always different dishes available. We always found something to eat, even with one of the fussiest eaters on the planet in our midst. You are assigned your own table and usually have the same waiter, we gave our waiter a larger tip on the first day, half way through our holiday and an even larger one on the last day, and we always gave him a smaller tip every day. These people work so hard and always try to please.

The bar staff were always very friendly and we didn't experience any other type of behaviour from them. In fact at one point when my husband asked for lemonade they asked him if he was sure he didn't want whiskey or vodka. They were always up for a laugh and a joke. Respect and manners always go a long way and if you treat someone in the way you expect to be treated yourself you usually can't go wrong. We always left a small tip.

The animation team were great. We are a family who like doing our own thing and don't usually join in with entertainment. This didn't phase the animation team at all and they were still really friendly and came and introduced themselves and chatted. They are a young team of people who should be very proud. They treat everyone with respect and give them space if they want it but still include them. I witnessed them sitting with older people, just giving them the time of day, playing games around the pool with all ages of people, doing their evening shows, the kids entertainement, and Momo in his cheerleader outfit, dancing around the pool with a mop was so funny on one of the cloudier days. It really brightened everyones day. The main entertainment stage is outdoors but they easily moved this inside when the rain started.

The hotel grounds are amazing. The three outdoor pools are stunning, we preferred the relaxation pool but the other two were just as good. There are plenty of sunbeds and we didn't need to get up at an ungodly time in the morning to reserve one. Yes you do tip the pool guys but they work so hard and a couple of dinar each day is nothing! I saw them around the pool at 6am and they were still there after dark. They keep the pool area tidy, picking up litter, that should be put in the bin anyway, they get your mats for the sunbeds and at the end of the day have to collect them all and pile up all the sunbeds. We usually went to the pool in the morning and the beach or water park in the afternoon or vise versa and always got sunbeds. The beach is great and we spent many an hour in the water park. Our party consisted of adults, young adults and teenagers and there was always something for all of us to do. There are two pool bars, a crepe bar next to the animation pool, the beach bar which also serves snacks and I believe you can have your lunch there, and there is the bar which is in the form of a boat on the water which is not all inclusive but looks lovely.

Inside there are a selection of bars, the piano bar was very relaxing and you could enjoy a nice quiet drink here, there is a nightclub in the hotel but we didn't partake in this. There is also a Tunisian style cafe which serves drinks and you can try smoking the chicha pipe. This was not all inclusive but very reasonable.

The only thing I found annoying about this place was ill-mannered guests. Some people were very rude both with staff and other guests. The staff are employed by the hotel to do a job and will have procedures to follow just like any other employment. They are not slaves although with the way some people spoke to them you would think they were.

What was really annoying (and no reflection on the hotel at all) was the way people treated the food, the servery was always in a mess, no matter how much the staff tried to clean it up, people would just take platefuls of food then dump it when they saw something else, children were allowed to help themselves to overflowing plates of food, allowed them to spill it everywhere then dump it at the servery and it was amazing how much food was actually left on the tables at the end of each meal. We also saw children helping themselves to platefuls of cakes which there was no way on earth they would have been able to eat, and one little girl had so much cake on her plate it was overflowing and then decided to try the rest using her fingers, poking and prodding them all! Another man who was holding a small child, bent over and allowed the child to help themselves to the cherries on top of another cake! Another couple decided to taste the soup, from the urns, but didn't just have one spoonful, they tried it two or three times, licking the spoon then putting it back in, DISGUSTING!! We nicknamed them "double dippers"! Do these people not have any manners at all. It was really quite embarrassing and I hope the Tunisian staff don't think we're all the same.

Anyway, don't hesitate about booking this hotel. It's great, just go with an open mind, and enjoy it!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and althoug you could see the sea I think if we were higher the view woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hamicroft69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
5.7 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.9 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#4 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#13 of 43 in Monastir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
2.1 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#11 of 43 in Monastir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#9 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort

Property: Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
Address: Route Touristique Dkhila, Monastir 5000, Tunisia (Formerly Sahara Beach Hotel)
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monastir
#6 Family Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1042
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Monastir and approx 12 km from Sousse (Skanes - Tunisia). Broad, fine sandy beach. 22.000 sq m of gardens. A childrens paradise. Short transfer. Plenty of action and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Beach Hotel Monastir
Iberostar Hotel Sahara Beach
Iberostar Hotel Monastir
Sahara Beach Hotel Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing