We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sahara Beach Hotel Tunisia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sahara Beach Hotel Tunisia”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

OK, the basics.
1/ Don't take any dinars, the hotel changes sterling no problem.
2/ Get plenty of 1/2 and 1 dinar coins, the sunbed mattress guys expect a tip (you'll need a mattress). We tipped 1 Dinar for 3 mattresses daily and they seemed happy..Also, don't waste time looking for them, they'll find you.
3/ We tipped the waiter 10 dinars at the end of our 1 week stay, he seemed happy and was worth it as you get the same table/waiter for the duration and they are good.
4/ Don't bother tipping the bar staff as they give short measures and were miserable on the whole.
5/ If you like a beer, ask for a large one, you'll get a pint tankard of beer.
6/ The snack bar on the beach is very nice for lunch and is included in the all inclusive...Ice cream at lunch as well.
7/ At the end of your stay get rid of your dinars as you cannot take any past passport control, nice of the rep to tell us on the coach back to the airport.

All in all, not a bad place for the cash, we paid 1100 for 3 of us all inclusive for 1 week in june via Thomas cook. If i'd paid any more I would not be so satisfied. Rooms are small but ok, food is reasonable and the pools are nice, the water park is also ok and open 10-12 and 3-5. You don't need to be up at 5am to put your towels down, there always seemed to be free sunbeds whilst we were there. In summary, as I've said earlier, rated as very good for what we paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dickielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    1,487
    704
    311
    309
See reviews for
1,983
907
61
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Lets start at the beginning.... On arrival the staff were waiting for us with a refreshing orange juice drink which was mostly appreciated as we arrived at the hotel at 4am. Quickly shown to our rooms and yes they are basic but lets be honest you only sleep in there!
The restaurant is lovely and clean and you are seated at the same table daily so you build a good rappour with the waiter (Mohammed) who was amazing.. He was always smiling and more then happy to help in any way. He even brought in bananas for my pregnant daughter which was muchly appreciated! Food was ok but if your a fussy eater then it may be a bit difficult, We found the best place for food at lunch time was the beach bar.
As for the shops on the way to the restaurant, The bag shop is friendly but quality is not the best, As for Treasure Cove (The Jewellery Shop) They are amazing.. The service is excellent and personal, The quality is second to none and nothing is to much to ask. He is a genuine gentleman and he is the reason i would go back (Only to say hi and purchase some more amazing jewels).The gift shop opposite the jewellery shop is also good and sell cans of proper coke and leys crisps (walkers) which is great if u are fussy.
The shops up the walkway next to the alacarte restaurant are rude and pushy so avoid there if you can!
The kids club is excellent except the times are set and not flexi.
The Nights are boring.. In bed by 10.30 every night as nothing to do and the one bar that had entertainment was over crowded and roasting hot! If there was more and varied entertainment then i would return but due to the lack of it i wouldnt!!
We did enjoy the holiday greatly so dont take this as a negative just making you aware of how we felt!
On a whole Very Good and Staff Are AWESOME...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsbqt, Quality Manager at Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed your stay, as well as the services and facilities of our Resort.
Thank you very much for having shared your experience with us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Me and my girlfrind travlled from Manchester to the Sahara Beach Hotel in (Tunisia)) for a week all inclusive. We was both a bit worried about what to expect once we had arrived, having read the bad reviews before we went. However once we arrived we realised we had nothing whatsoever to worry about. We have both travelled abroad before to many other different places all over the world but by far this was the greatest holiday we have ever spent together. We got a great deal with regards to priice for this holiday. The hotel is beautiful and has a lot to offer everyone. We had a lovely room, the only problem we found with the room it was to high up for us. The staff are excellent and work very hard and always try to please you. The food and deserts were really nice and there is a lot of choice. My girlfriend loved the pancakes with chocolate sauce. The gardens and the beach are really beautiful. We had a great holiday and we are already missing been there. We are returning in November 2013. Cant wait :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WaynenJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just returned from weeks holiday at Sahara Beach Hotel (this is our 2nd visit) and we were still as amazed as the 1st time ( 8 years ago) !!

The hotel staff are very attentive and helpful - always smiling and asking how you were

Hotel is immaculate - cleaners do a great job.- always smiling - even when cleaning!!

Restaurant food - always a huge selection to choose from - cakes are AMAZING!!!

Had own waiter for all meal times - very polite and friendly - he has exchanged Facebook details to keep in contact with

Food was hot, and replaced quickly when been standing - made to your liking - ie. omelettes, pizzas etc.

Great selection of bars and places to eat - something for everyone - no queues then, but just started to pick up when we were leaving, so maybe hectic in peak season. Cocktail bar had great selection of cocktails and all other bars too.

Animation Team - fantastic - all shows were great - we've seen Michael Jackson and Grease shows before, but that did not stop us watching again. They all put a lot of effort in what they do - well done! We did not go with children this time, but could imagine they would have an excellent time.

As for tips and hassle from staff - what can I say? - Yes we did tip the staff (barman, room-maid, sunbed man) but did they not deserve it? What's a dinar (42p) here-and-there - they gratefully receive the tips, but do not hassle you to get them, but they do bend-over-backwards to help you when they do. No hassle from shop-owners to get you to buy. We bought lovely spin ring from the jewellers - excellent value for money and lovely friendly shop-owner. On-site photographer and health-and-beauty staff didn't bother you either - if you needed them, you knew where they were

Water Park was great - went on slide to "test it out" for children for next time

We will be returning to Sahara Beach Hotel, very soon I hope, as it was a fantastic holiday and we were treat really well. All other all inclusive holidays we've been on over the past few years (Turkey in particular) treat you like - You've paid in advance for food, drink etc. there's nothing left for us to do, but Sahara Beach Hotel have a very different attitude - they want you to come back and will do anything and everything to make that happen.

Thank you to all at Sahara Beach Hotel for making our stay memorable! Well Done! - You deserve an extra star - we've stayed in higher-rated hotels and paid more money - but for less service, facilities etc. - keep up the good work - good luck!

I only rated location as average, because outside of complex there IS a lot of hassle with shop-owners etc. for tips, begging etc. but we've been before, so didn't venture out this time. We had been on camel caravan and medina trips before, so did not go on excursions. However, we did go to Sousse festival, which was very busy - we were there 10 minutes before we headed back to hotel - we had a feeling that you were constantly watching your bags etc. and that put us off - we could not relax and have proper look around.

Room Tip: We had room 4115 directly facing the pools, beach and sea - what an amazing view - we were told this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toonfan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Me and my sisters and nephew (24, 22,, 28 & 8) stayed at Sahara Beach for 2 weeks. We had an absolutely amazing holiday and are looking to book again for next year already!! I'll sort of bullet point things and review that way....

check in - absolutely horrific lol...we had an early flight so we were all tired and arriving at the hotel after a long transfer was a nightmare and very confusing. when you arrive the hotel staff porters will take your cases and leave them just outside the hotels entrance. Then you have to go into the entertainments room to get your band and then collect your information booklet. Then you take your passports to the reception and see if your room is ready or not. Fortunately ours was ready so no problems there but god help you if you have to wait! Then you get your keys and go to the room and wait for the porter to bring you your cases (this is where you need to tip - english or dinar). Then you collect your passports an hour later. Its a long process but when you're done you can just wipe the slate clean and carry on with what should be an amazing holiday!

The Pools - Really nice and very clean! We always stayed by the animation pool as there was always something happening plus they had music playing around this pool but if you prefer peace and quiet then i would go to one of the other pools. They do the club dances and pool games around the animation pool and its all great fun!

Waterpark - Again like many other reviews we were hoping the water park would be ready but my nephew was very happy with the mini water park they already had. Work for the new water park seems to be taking a very long time so don't expect anything in the next month maybe more. But looks great!!!

Restaurant - Lovely!! I enjoyed everything really apart from breakfast. There was hardly anything for breakfast but plenty of cereals etc you can make toast but apart from that there is nothing exciting! Lunch and dinner though was lovely. You can get a chef to make your own pasta with whatever you want in it, pizzas, pancakes, there is chicken, turkey, chips of course and so much more. They also have a kids section where there is usually chips, chicken nuggets or burgers, sausages etc, We thought the food was fantastic and our waiter Shakes made everything even better!! He was just brilliant!! We tipped him every evening meal just 1 dinar and he was very happy with this. Then at the end of the holiday we gave him pretty much everything we had left. He works so hard as do all the staff!! He knew what drinks we wanted and sometimes had it already on the table before we got there! Excellent service!!
We did try the a la carte restaurant and it was nice but they rush you as it is a free meal with one free drink in there just once during your stay. I hadn't finished my starter and they brought me my main...wont go back there.

Entertainment - Daytime was excellent!! I have no idea when the animation team sleep cos i know most of them go out every single night!!! They work so so hard and all deserve medals! I could not rave about them enough! They made our holiday!! Theres constantly something happening like darts, pool game, ping pong, bowls, archery, football, zumba, aqua aerobics, stretching, water polo, kids go karting, kids t shirt painting, honestly so much!! They also do the dances around the pool about a million times a day but we absolutely loved it and joined in on a few occasions!!
The night time entertainment wasn't the best. But i commend them on their hard work because they rehearse every single day but the shows did not do these talented people any justice. Although the Lion king, magic light show and michael jackson shows we're brilliant. Plus the best couples (audience participation show) was just hilarious!! Must watch!! Chico and Sabir are fantastic dancers and i could watch them all day. If you like Michael Jackson then you need to watch Sabir in the Michael Jackson show. He blew my mind! Oh and Kalif is hilarious and a great personality in the team!! Oh and mini disco is just the best! Kids will love it!! If you don't like this then there is the piano bar which we went to many nights for last drinks and the staff are again just lovely!

check out - i hate being negative especially about here but it was an early flight, there were 7 buses and a lot of people leaving our hotel at the same time. It took about an hour to sort everybody out onto coaches and it was a nightmare!!

Overall we had a great holiday, the animation really look after everyone in the hotel and they are great with kids!! Theres a great holiday atmosphere and plenty for anyone of any age to do!! Tips - Book private taxi or something and save yourself time and stress.
-you only need to tip the guy who brings your matresses around the pool (1 dinar) and your waiter in the restaurant once a day, maybe in the evening like us (1 dinar). and your maid at the end of your stay, they're very friendly!
- breakfast is open from 5am if you have an early flight!

Hope you enjoy the holiday as much as we did! We made friends here with so many of the staff. Everybody is so friendly and can't do enough to help you, and not for a tip just because they want to make your holiday the best! All in all - the BEST all inclusive i have ever been in and what a pleasant first trip to Tunisia!! See you all next year!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaskirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just come back from a weeks holiday. This holiday was a great relaxing week. I went with my husband, our 2 1/2 year old daughter and my sister.
We had a family room with the interconnecting doors. The rooms are compact and basic. No tv (so what!!!!) or seating area. The beds were comfy. The decor is a bit dated but not offensive. The room was cleaned daily. It would have been nice if it was a bit bigger but to be honest we didn't spend much time in the rooms. The maid we had was lovely and made a daily effort to make a fuss over our little girl.
The food was actually better than I expected. We tended to have freshly made omelettes for breakfast by the lovely chef.
We ate at the beach bar for lunch the pizzas are fab. The variety was slightly repetative.
we were then back in the restaurant for tea. I'm a vegetarian and I found plenty to eat. Plenty of salads and pasta available. The puddings are brill. Also quite a bit of traditional food which we liked but then kids food also available daily.
The pools are cold but quite impressive.
The water park was a good laugh.
The beach is lovely. Definitely the best bit of beach in the area.
My sister and I went on two horse rides on the beach. Definitely recommend it. The staff we superb and the horses were skinny but very well behaved. We even tailor made our second ride as we wanted a good canter down the beach. Loads cheaper than the uk and a great experience.
The kids disco is hard work. Loads of kids and not much room and songs all in every language but English but my little girl loved every second of it.
Didn't really participate much with the animation team but from
What we did see they were all very nice and certainly worked hard all day.
I would not wish to come Back here in peak season purely because the amount of people would mean queues for everything.
The staff were all lovely and we tipped daily the maids, waiters, sunbed man etc.
Wifi in rooms and reception but slow and a bit hit and miss. Had no phone connection at all.
A good value for money holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandadonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

we stayed here as a family of 5..myself/partner & 3children,12,10 & 3. In june last year 2012.

Lovely hotel, lovely grounds! And clean!! the kids loved the slides, even the little one! They equally enjoyed the games room. we had some pics taken by the photographer onsite..be prepared to pay for them all ..as youll have trouble choosing!!

The food was of a good standard, plenty to choose from..even the picky eaters. Rooms were clean and our room was an interconnecting with lovely views.

The beach.. not the greatest ive been too, as the sea was pretty murky :( but ok for a change of scenery.

The youngest went to the kids club, throughyly enjoyed the chocolate party! she was the cleanest leaving too ;)

there are local markets..we went to one & a gentelman with us had his wallet pick pocketed, would not reccomend going here!!!!! it was most def for locals. i found it quite imtimadating to be honest. However we went to one that was in the old castle gorounds ( i think) fab!! i brought a lovely leather bag..that still get comments today. Also we noticed there werent many bins out of the hotel??

One thing i didnt like is the hotel is out the way.. nothing really within walking distance, but loads going on to keep you busy..good selection of entertainment.

The adult slushes are lush..but was not always frozen. The bach bar (the Boat) is lovely.. but not included in the AI.

i did pick up a bug on the last night..(and i know afew others had tummy issues) mine was quite sever which wasnt nice & ended up on a drip in the airport before flying..the only reason im telling you this is i was accomadated on the transfer from the hotel to the airport.. & the service & care from the hospital staff at the airport was very quick & effeciant, & they patched me up enough to fly me home! Many other hospitals/countries could well have kept me there as a way of making abit more money.

Overall.. a lovely clean hotel with very good faciliities, in a not so desirable location.

Personally i wouldnt go back to the hotel but only because of the location! we like to be able to wander after tea, bit of shopping etc, maybe a drink in another bar. & we couldnt do this here with transport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0.3 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#13 of 43 in Monastir
1,147 reviews
5.7 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#10 of 43 in Monastir
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#4 of 43 in Monastir
2,113 reviews
2.1 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#9 of 43 in Monastir
1,227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort

Property: Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
Address: Route Touristique Dkhila, Monastir 5000, Tunisia (Formerly Sahara Beach Hotel)
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monastir
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#6 Family Hotel in Monastir
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1042
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Monastir and approx 12 km from Sousse (Skanes - Tunisia). Broad, fine sandy beach. 22.000 sq m of gardens. A childrens paradise. Short transfer. Plenty of action and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Beach Hotel Monastir
Iberostar Hotel Sahara Beach
Iberostar Hotel Monastir
Sahara Beach Hotel Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing