We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves its 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We spent 2 nights in this hotel (me, my wife and my two children). The hotel infrastructure is very good. The stuff was very friendly (reception, restaurant, room service, swimming pool...). The hotel has a very nice modern design combined with some elements of traditional tunisian architecture. We had only breakfasts. The buffet was very rich with a huge choice.
Even the proximity to the airport wasn't really noticeable.
It was a very nice stay although the weather was rainy, but this is not something the hotel is to blame for.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayrem75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

We booked this hotel through Thompson as all-inclusive for 1 week, after looking at many hotels we settles on this as this looked like one of the best in Tunisia, with good reviews. First impressions were GREAT, the hotel is indeed 5 mins from the airport and we were offered welcome drinks on arrival. The hotel is very clean, modern deco and staff always great you with a smile, be it the cleaner, the porter boys or the bar staff. We were told our room had a limited sea view but to our pleasant surprise, we had a stunning pool view and could see most of the private beach and LOTS of sea! Although the airport is nearby, we never felt like the very few planes that flew over us were intruding, in fact while sunbathing it was nice to look up at then fly by!

The room was tidy and lovely deco with a fully stocked mini bar, as well as a complimentary bottle of water (replaced everyday). The hotel was very quite, around 120 guests in total, mainly French and mainly businessmen or couples, but that was what we were looking for - peace and quite. The pool area was clean and sceneric. There was never any problems getting a sun bed and there was always pool staff around to help with towels or to move the parosols/sundbeds for you. Bar staff were very friendly and quick to serve the drinks and take away empty glasses. All staff made an effort to get to know you and ask about your stay and how you were. Tipping will get you that much more extra service – the bedroom maids would leave lovely presentations with flowers and towels on our bed! Anything from 1 TND to 5 TND will be suffice. The food was varied, diverse and presented beautifully every day and there were lots to choose from each day! Homemade pizza, pasta dishes or omelettes made to your taste on the spot! Staff were quick to clear your plates and offer drink re-fills the minute your glass emptied. The desserts were divine (esp. the chocolate ice cream and mini mousses!)

As fully inclusive we had a choice of eating at the Beach bar and the A la Carte restaurant once per our stay there. – The food was absolutely scummy and the portions were humongous! The view of the beach from the Beach bar was beautiful as we sat under a parasol and enjoyed our seafood dishes. The beach itself is very clean and although the odd merchant will walk past with scarves and hats, they never came onto the actual private beach and hassled us.

In the evenings it was nice to wind down at the bar inside the hotel, where there were live saxophone players, French singers and pianists on alternative nights as entertainment. The pool area was lit up spectacularly every evening and it was nice to go for a walk around the gardens after dinner. It really is a chilled and relaxed hotel- day or night.

The new Thalasso spa and gym that has opened up (although still under going some work) was divine. I opted for an all over body coco butter massage and was treated like royalty from the minute I stepped into the reception area to when I came out the shower room. Prices were decent too- a whole body massage for 40 mins cost just around £32, while the gym if you are fully in-clusive will cost you around £12.50 per day and you can use it as many times as you wish and a 30 min session in the spa bath will cost you around £13.Well worth a try as the spa and gym itself is very modern and chic (there is also a great saloon there and some shops soon to be opened by the end of the year). There is also an indoor pool which was lovely and heated and aqua aerobics were done there every morning- great fun even if it’s just for a laugh with the pool staff whole make it thoroughly enjoyable as well as a good workout!!



The only down side we experienced was that there were A LOT of flies around the resort and that made sunbathing abit bothersome! We also ordered room service once and it took nearly an hour for a cup of tea and hot chocolate to arrive- and that was after we had to ring twice for it AND them sending fruit tea not English tea to our room. The receptionist was very apologetic and quickly rectified the confusion and offered the room service for free. Also the room walls can be quite thin as I awoken every morning by the sound of the shower going or the movement of footsteps or chairs next door. Also (and this part is not the fault of the hotel) there were a couple of days when the weather was quite windy and cold and that made using the pool a no-no. But as a result there was little to do to keep ourselves entertained apart from watching German or French dubbed versions of MTV programmes in our room. The hotel doesn’t have any shops except one small souvenir shop inside the hotel and there is little to do outside the hotel as it on a main road and any local shops are in Monastir or Sousse.

As for excursions, DO book the safari and Zulu night- AMAZING EXPERIENCE… you will thoroughly enjoy feeding the elephants, walking right above the lions and then enjoying a FIVE-course meal in a Zulu themed restaurant with energetic Zulu dancers, belly dancers and a fire-eater… great fun! Also the half-day trip to El Jem is well worth it for history lovers especially of gladiators and old roman architecture. The coliseum there is AMAZING and you can almost hear the cheers of the crowd as the gladiators fought the lions and tigers, truly amazing and chilling to go down in to the dungeons and see where the slaves and animals would have been kept! The journey to these places is also very picturesque with miles and miles of greenery and olive trees as far as the eye can see.


Thomson also offer a half day trip to the three local areas Monastir, Sousse and Port El Kantoui- this was kind of rushed and we barely had an hour in each area and there wasn’t enough time to look around and enjoy the place fully- I would recommend going to each place separately by taxi (around 10-20TND each trip) and having a look around. The sheer size of the old medina in Sousse and the bustling shops inside it are something to see, as is the Mausoleum in Monastir. Bit of advice - DO save your shopping for souvenirs for the larger shopping centres (Soula centre and Yasmine centre). These are government fixed priced shops and believe it or not, their prices are CHEAPER than the market stalls – we bought a fake Rolex in a Sousse market for 55 TND (£26) but in the Soula Centre it was only 10 TND (£4.70) and it was packed nicely! However, if you do chose to shop in the markets, ALWAYS haggle. They will always give you a ‘good price’ it seems but always aim to pay atleast 20% less than what they are asking.

All in all my husband and I had a great time there and will definitely return to this hotel, from what we saw from the exteriors, the pools and staff walking around, when there were multiple pick ups at neighbouring hotels for excursions, Thalassa was by far the cleanest, most modern and most picturesque!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunl0ver82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The staff are delightful.
The food is diverse and tasty.
I am impressed by the fact the entire outside is cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis.
The beach is clean and there are towels put out for you to use on each sunnbed both around the pool and on the beach.
We were untroubled by people trying to sell their goods - unlike at a hotel 200m along the road.
We cannot recommend this hotel strongly enough and can only assume any poor reviews are from in the past.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliff24_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

My friend and I came to the Royal Thalassa as a birthday treat with a very relaxing holiday in mind. The Thalassa did not disappoint....everything about it was amazing, the room with a beautiful sea view, the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms, food was fantastic with a different selection every lunch and evening meal for the week we were there and the staff were ever so friendly and spoke great english; especially Mohammed at the beach bar, the guys who looked after you on the private beach and the animation boys Timo and Anis who were always trying to get you involved in the water or beach sports. My friend also had to mention the spa....having had a wonderful massage after a day in the glorious sun......all in all a fantastic 5 star treat which we are hoping to do all over again next year!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

After booking this hotel through Portland Direct, I then read the reviews, most of which were negative and worrying.
However, now that Thalasso have got their management in place, the problems some other visitors experienced no longer exist.
Gorgeous hotel, spotlessly clean, luckily I got a great room with a pool and sea view. Air con was a godsend, minibar if needed, location very quiet as warned, but buses and taxis available all the time.
Tunisian staff mostly respectful, however, some of the younger guys a bit OTT, just needed a rebrief and they retreated.
Nobody hassled us around the pool to buy 'stuff' and they weren't allowed from the shore line onto the private beach, so no hassle at all, thankfully. Nice clean beach, large clean pool, towels and padded sunloungers plentiful.
Food selection was very good, labelling a bit hit and miss, but very friendly staff who tried their best to advise what was what.
Watch out for the final bill - they have a problem with charging for the mini bar whether you used it or not! Thomson rep warned us, and it happened as warned, but they soon removed it when you stood up for yourself.
Overall, very pleasantly surprised, and more than happy to go again with my husband when he's not working.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yeoviltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We have just come back from this hotel booked through Thomsons. The hotel was as stated in the brochure - "close to the airport".
I would criticise Thomsons as it took the rep 20 mins after everyone had boarded the bus for us to actually leave for the hotel, which is literally accross the road. If I were to go again I would book a taxi at the airport we would have got there much quicker - I would also get a taxi back so that we could have had our evening meal before we left.........Although we heard and saw planes during the day it never bothered us, in fact we quite often watched them....
The hotel is spottless and clean - there was constant cleaning of the seaweed on the beach which was unlike most of the other hotels both left and right of ours. The gardens and the inside of the hotel were always being cleaned, as was the pool. There was no problem getting sunbeds on the beach or by the pool. The pool and beach attendants roll up two towels (one on the beach beds! unless you have given them a tip!) This lets you know they are free for your occupancy. If the towels are laid out then someone has the bed.
The food was excellent, especially the home made bread/buns, deserts and pizas.
The only thing I would criticise is that they asked us to sign our names and room numbers every time we had a drink. However we were told this was because they were doing a stock take. It did slow the service down slightly though...
Although we stayed at the bar one night until 12:45am we did not have to pay for the drinks, even though the literature leads you to belive you have to. Maybe it was just our good luck!
There was no charge for the safety deposit box and we managed to keep our room for late check out. This cost 30dinar per person (about £30 in total and well worth i as we checked out at 6pm) so good value if you ask me.
Very quiet hotel so dont go here if you like nightlife - we wanted the peace and quiet.
The train was also just accross the road and we went into Sousse and Monastir less than £2 each return and more comfortable than the buses.
The spa has just opened albeit only some of it - you get there by going past the piano bar and the shop. It looks very ultra modern, would have loved to have seen it fully opened. Maybe next time.
Anyway I would highly recomend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamamyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Till September 1st this hotel was one of the Radisson hotels. And it's still seen everywhere - design, SPA, territory. The have invested a whole lot of money to make it the best SPA-hotel in Tunisia. I must acknowledge that their SPA is one of the best I've ever seen and their SPA-suites (Jacuzzi suites) are worth of 6 stars. However... I don't know why - but now it's not more a Radisson hotel. Now it belongs to an average local hotel chain Royal Thalassa which manages 3- and 4-star all-inclusive hotels. And now they're trying to prove that they are able to manage 5-star luxury SPA-hotel. And it's very ridiculous. People who used to make buffet dinners for hundreds of "all-inclusivers" can't make fine-dining restaurant - and thus here you have no chance to have a good dinner. People who used to serve 3-star hotel guests can't understand that it's impossible to serve an order for morning coffee for more that 1 hour.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibvaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monastir
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#3 of 43 in Monastir
2,331 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#20 of 43 in Monastir
1,197 reviews
9.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#15 of 43 in Monastir
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#9 of 43 in Monastir
1,308 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Thalassa Monastir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Thalassa Monastir

Address: Route Touristique Skanes - BP 75 | 5060 Monastir Rèp., Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monastir
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#4 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: $51 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Thalassa Monastir 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Thalassa Monastir is the perfect combination of luxury and wellness in a relaxed atmosphere.Situated on a magnificent beach, just a few minutes away from the international airport of Monastir, Royal Thalassa Monastir, the Tunisian Thalassa Hotels’ flagship, is considered as one of the most beautiful of the region.Ideally placed between the historical city of Monastir, known for its Ribat and its medina, and the town of Sousse famous for its night-animation and its cultural curiosities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Thalassa Monastir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Thalassa Monastir Hotel Monastir
Thalassa Hotel Monastir
Monastir Thalassa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing