We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Value and everything you need”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Royal Thalassa proved to be a good choice for a quick week in the sun, accommodation was of a good standard, food very good, staff very attentive, beach lovely, although felt the restaurant was better than the al la carte. if you are looking for a good place for a complete chill and good 4 star quality it hits the spot.
Having stayed all over Europe and the carribean all inclusive, the thalassa was a good 4 star and offers good value for money. we would definitely go again.

Room Tip: take a poolside or sea view room if you can, we had a top floor room and it was nice and quiet in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    335
    138
    72
    72
See reviews for
262
476
74
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worthing west sussex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

just got back from this hotel travelled 12th of june till 26th hotel is nice some parts are a little shaby but you are not on holiday to look at peeled paint .Food was overwhelming if you cannot find anything here then something is wrong not much to do in evening as it is on it own and only a few shops nearby sousse is the nearest .The people of tunsia are very friendly and the staff at the hotel always tried to help .If you go here you ill enjoy yourself

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayhap20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days last year. It was without a doubt the most luxurious and comfortable hotel we have ever stayed in!

The staff were so hsopitable and lovely and really made our stay.

The food was great, loads if variety and really delicious!

Overall this hotel was flawless!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmbernPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The beach at this hotel is pretty poor. It is not properly cleaned there are bricks, plastic bags cigarette butts and broken tiles littering the beach. 

But this is not the worst feature of this hotel that falls to the staff and lack of management.

The staff are unhelpful and most of the time rude. Although there is the odd one who makes the effort to make you enjoy your stay, on the whole they are clueless. 

If you have booked this hotel see if you can down grade your booking to another hotel in the area whatever the rating, they will be better than this place. If you are thinking of booking here don't be fooled by the 5 star rating.

Just incase anyone from the management reads this review I've compiled a list of things which happened in this poor excuse for a hotel which, do not happen in five stars hotels or most good 4 and 3 star hotels I've previously stayed in:

When having payed for a sea view room you are allocated one on arrival. You are not allocated a room with almost no view at all except for that of the main restaurant! 

If a guest complains about being allocated the wrong room you apologise you do not just grunt at them and give them a key to the room they should have been given in the first place!

Rooms should not be dirty this includes old stained furniture, rusty lamps and mould around the bath and shower curtain. This should be cleaned or replaced!

The air conditioning in the room should cool the room instead of just making noise and blowing out a trickle of warm air.

Toilet seats should not be cracked.

Bar staff should not ignore guests while they are having a chat for 5 minutes!

Bar staff should be polite and not scowl at guests just for asking for a drink!

A la carte restaurants should not just serve the same food which is available in the buffet with the only difference being that the staff put it on a plate for you and walk it through to a separate dining area!

When guests get up to get their main course from the buffet waiters should not clear their table and seat other guests leaving guests with a plate full of food and nowhere to eat. (This was common)

Beer and all other cold drinks should be served chilled not warm (putting them in a fridge may help instead of leaving them in direct sunlight).

When a guest orders a drink with their meal this should be served before the guest has finished their meal and without being asked for three times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tino02_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery Saint Mary, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I read reviews for the Royal Thassla before heading on holiday. They made feel very nervous and what the hell had I booked. So I arrived with low expectations.

On arrival we greeted by a reception staff and asked to take a seat where we were giving cold towels and a drink while we filled in the registration card. After that our all inclusive band was attached and our 'where you can eat and drink' sheets were handed out. Their Word Processor skills and English in places are not brilliant but you get idea. Eat at the main restaurant, BBQ restaurant is al carte so is the Mona restaurant. You can use these once each all booked at reception.

Usual check in time is 2pm it says on there website if your French is ok. So we were prepared with swimmers in hand luggage but as it happened there was an early morning check out so our room was ready. Tip here pay extra for the superior rooms as they are much larger. You share a balcony with the room next door but we never saw anyone also if you open the sliding doors it turns the air con off.
We found the air con exactly the right level. It doesn't make the room feel like the artic and not too noisy, it's a constant ambient. I have travelled a lot and have come across noisy, too hot, too cold, timed to different times each day never when you in the room types of air con.

This hotel is classed at 5* but it may have been in its hay day but could do with sprucing up. I have found 5* around the world to be different in every country. 5* in tunisia is very different to the richer middle east cities of Abu Dhabi and Dubai. But it's clean and tidy, there's a hint of what could be but needs money being spent. The pool is by far the best bit. It's huge and very refreshing. We didn't have an issue with sun beds. I'm an early riser so reserved our favourite sun beds at 06:30. We then went for breakfast. It's cooler in the morning so best time to be out. Most other residents didn't seem to get out til well past 08:30 and still plenty of sun beds. The rolled up towels are the unreserved beds.

The food is ok definately not 5* cuisine but there is plenty to chose from and changes each lunch/dinner. The grill stations were good.

Entertainment: there really isn't much. The occasional person with a musical instrument. But that the reason why we booked this hotel I didn't want to be pestered by the animation team and wanted to enjoy any relaxing evening with husband. We brought a pack of cards and bananagrams so sat at the pool bar playing games. We did tip our bar waiter which seemed to get us an upgrade from the local gin (which wasn't too bad) to Bombay!

Staff: the staff are polite but service is slow but who's in a rush. We did tip if we got a good service or they amused us (they ran out of large glasses in the restaurant so the waiter brought me two, it was funny at the time).

Beach: We didn't spend much time on the beach as it very hot down there. But it seemed nice enough. Yes there is a bit of flotsom and jetsom and seaweed but nothing like we get back in the uk. The beach bar next to the BBQ restaurant isn't part of your AI. We did use the BBQ Restaurant but didn't enjoy it. The food was lovely but the swarm of flies just got annoying.

There is an airport across the road but it didn't bother us. We live 20 miles from Exeter airport under the flight path and that's noiser.
Thomson: our rep Amber was excellent. She had an office in the hotel with an notice board informing when she was in the hotel, transfer times and any other ad hoc info that we might need. She is there for any problems you have.

We didn't go on any excursions as this was our week beside the pool escape from stressful jobs holiday but they looked good. Would probably gone on simply Sahara if we were staying longer than a week and temperatures werent reaching 40'C by the pool. It's a two day trip and is supposed to be amazing.

All in all this is a perfect hotel if you just want to relax.

Few things to note: don't allow the porters outside the airport to carry your bag, they want paying once your at the bus but a lot people hadn't changed their money. The safe in your room will fit a kindle but not an iPad. The door of your room needs a good shove to close to make sure the room is secure. Just double check before you leave.

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view so got upgraded to on of their suites. The room was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Totally disagree about the comment about the rude staff and the tipping. We never tipped until the last day we were there and we received brilliant service from all the staff that we met from the cleaner to the guys at the pool bar who remember what you drink and then deliver them to you they can't do enough for you.
As already mentioned there is little to do around the area outside the hotel we ventured in a taxi to Port El Kantaoui the taxi driver waited for us to return so we didn't have to worry about getting a ride back and only charged us 46 Dinar.
Treat staff as you would like to be treated yourself and you should be fine and have a brilliant time.

Room Tip: Room 228 gets the sun all afternoon and evening and overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisGiles128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

After reading the reviews on trip advisor i was very much looking forward to staying at this hotel and my first vist to tunisia, but when me and my boyfriend finally arrived in the airport we had a feeling the place wasn't going to be what we expected. The ques in the airport for passport control took over an hour which is the longest ive ever experienced after being to quite a few different airports. After this we still were looking to getting to the hotel and relaxing even after the hour transfer of views of just rubbish and random concret buildings on the way, but when we arrived my luggage had been lost i expected the hotel to be of some help but they told me they didn't know when the rep arrived and said there was nothing they could do. We also arrived at about half 10 in the morning and had to wait until half 2 for our room to be ready which ive also never experienced staying at various different hotels.

when we finally got to the room without my luggage we were impressed at the room as it was very nice and modern but when we opened our curtains to see our view we were bottom floor looking out onto the ourdoor eating area which meant we could not have our curtains open the whole time, we told the hotel who did nothing. one good thing is when the rep finally arrived she was amazing and found my luggage straight away after i spent hours on the phone to the thompsons helpline.

even after all this we were still looking foward to our stay and on the second day we were pleased with the food and weather but for the whole holiday we were unable to sit by the pool as we got up about 8 but there were always no spaces. The beach was nice but very over crowded and also had alot of rubbish on it there is also various water sports which you have to pay for which we were put under the impression were all inclusive. some of the bars are also not all inclusive and alot of the cocktails you have to pay for which i thought was unfair, you also had to sign for drinks from the bars which i thought was strange. The evening meals and lunch were always pleasent with a wide variety of food but you have to wait for a drink which took some time as there are alot of people there and not enough waiters, its also clear that although the staff were very nice they favoured older couples and people that had already been there before.

As for tunisia itself if i'm really honest of what i seen of the place its certainly not pretty with a lot of rubbish around unfinished buldings and lots of deralict land but the weather was nice and the people seemed friendly. my overall opinion of this hotel is that its nice but too overcrowded so i would hate to go in august or july when its peak season the staff are nice and friendly but the amount of people staying at the small hotel means they cannot provide 5 star service the actual hotel itself is kept very clean and nice to walk around but i would not tell people to stay at this hotel and would not go back myself. I think that you can get more value for money in nicer places such as eygpt, turkey and greece and would recommend going there for anyone instead of tunisia.

One last pointer for anyone flying with thopsoms and staying at this hotel is that you should be the first drop off from the airport as its part of the certain range of hotels we were the last which made our hotel rep very angry and complained to the rep on the coach with us.

Room Tip: not 152 which was our room where we could not have our curtains open at all due to the fact it backe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday10143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monastir
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#4 of 43 in Monastir
2,113 reviews
4.1 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#13 of 43 in Monastir
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#10 of 43 in Monastir
1,228 reviews
24.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso
9.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Thalassa Monastir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Thalassa Monastir

Property: Royal Thalassa Monastir
Address: Route Touristique Skanes - BP 75 | 5060 Monastir Rèp., Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monastir
#4 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Thalassa Monastir 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Thalassa Monastir is the perfect combination of luxury and wellness in a relaxed atmosphere.Situated on a magnificent beach, just a few minutes away from the international airport of Monastir, Royal Thalassa Monastir, the Tunisian Thalassa Hotels’ flagship, is considered as one of the most beautiful of the region.Ideally placed between the historical city of Monastir, known for its Ribat and its medina, and the town of Sousse famous for its night-animation and its cultural curiosities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Thalassa Monastir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Thalassa Monastir Hotel Monastir
Thalassa Hotel Monastir
Monastir Thalassa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing