We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff. Fantastic animation team”
Review of Amir Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amir Palace
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Although we have a few cloudy days the staff and animation team were outstanding.Ibra,Mohammed,chocolate bilie
Very helpful. Great shows and entertainment.
Food great. Looking forward to a few sunny days
A few special thankyou's
Mr soften the manager, fouzi, Abdullah, and the reception and cleaning staff.
Xx

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
There are newer reviews for Amir Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

had a wonderful month at this hotel, all the staff ranging from chambermaids through to management made sure that everything was what we hoped for.the animation team ie mohammed ibra and not forgetting billy couldn/t do enough getting people to join in with boules and darts,plus the cabaret at night also captain jimmy with his cheap and cheerful tours ,can/t thank everyone enough will definitly be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

the hotel staff were so helpful, BILLIE made our holiday, what a lovely guy, all the bar staff and waiters always made you feel very special. the food at times was samy and to be fare it was the first time for me to eat cauliflower for breakfast. lol but all in all a superb holiday hotel. FIRST CLASS. WELL DONE BILLIE ( RONALDO) JOHN AND JENNY XXXX

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent a month at the Amir Palace. The staff could not have been nicer, especially the restaurant staff and the animation team. Whilst the food perhaps at times is a little samey, there was always a Tunisian and English soup, pasta, pizza, marvellous salads and patisseries. The head chef was always checking everything and he assured me that everything was freshly bought and cooked that day. Tunisian specialities were cooked in the restaurant as needed on most days. I would give them a go as they are different and tasty. I was treated like royalty in the a la carte restaurant on one of their theme nights ( included in "all inclusive" on three nights a week ). We had some good laughs with the animation team, Billy, Mohammed and Ibra; they gave the job their all. Whilst there are not many facilities other than the beach around the hotel, there is a good bus service into Monastir and Sousse. The Metro into Sousse, Monastir and Mahdia is not far away so there are plenty of opportunities to get about.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank S546DWJulie_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

All the team at the hotel are amazing, they go out there way and the extra mile to make sure you have the best holiday you can imagine, Billie, Mohammed and especially Ibra and thank you to sofien the manger and chems. And Ali and jimmy for there trips

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at the Amir Palace at the end of February and would never consider returning. I don't usually write reviews but after reading all of the below reviews, I felt the need to warn people.

The hotel is large but is nowhere near a 5 star hotel. The lobby is beautiful, but as soon as you get into a lift or walk up the stairs it's dark and dreary. The maids were very friendly and left us rose petals on our bed but they do not clean. The floor in our toilet and bathroom wasn't cleaned or even swept during the whole week (there were hairs in the corners and behind the doors when we arrived). The television in the room is so dated. It's a huge bulky thing and our control didn't work. There were large stains all over the carpets and the bed linen was itchy and uncomfortable.

The food at the hotel was unbearable. It actually got to the point where we were skipping meals as we just couldn't face eating from the buffet anymore. The meat was disgusting and barley recognizable. We lived off of pasta and bread. I have a huge interest in food and always look forward to eating different food when I'm abroad but this was terrible. My partner and I actually didn't eat meat after our first encounter with it.

The hotel staff are friendly and the service was good, we had a couple of really nice and helpful waiters. I don't understand what the amazement is with the 'entertainment' team as all they do is hassle you into buying tombola tickets or bingo cards. They will eventually leave you alone after around 4 days of telling them you're not interested.

We booked 2 excursions with our rep Nabil. We thoroughly enjoyed both of them and would highly recommend them (we visited the animal park and the roman Colosseum). The animal park has lots of animals and the zookeepers actually let you in to feed the animals! We fed kangaroos, elephants, giraffes and zebras - An amazing day. It only takes just over an hour to get there and we had around 3 hours in the park itself before going to the restaurant on site for traditional Tunisian food.

Oh and another thing. If you take a walk down the beach a man will approach you saying he has a head scarf for you and start tying it around your head as a free gift. NOTHING IS FREE IN TUNISIA!! He did this to us on our first day so we were very naive. After letting him tie one on both of us he asked for money. My boyfriend gave him 7 dinar (generous considering we didn't ask for or want there). He told us this is not enough, it is nothing money and asked for notes!!! My boyfriend told him we don't have anymore money on us as we didn't bring it. He told my boyfriend to return his headscarf. The rudest man in the world. Do not give him the time of day!

Overall, the hotel is okay. It is definitely not 5 stars and I will never return to it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLLondon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Decided to come to Tunisia with my wife, it was a great decision coming to Amir Palace. Friendly people especially the hotel manager mister sofian he was all the time asking the gueste iff they are ok or they need help he always lessing for all the clients thank you one more time mister sofian .also the brilliant think in the hotel is the entertainment team Mohamed, Ibra and Bily. These guys are multi talented. They play various games, sing, dance and make people laugh. We spent more time with Mohamed. He is genuinely a good hearted person. He always has a smile on his face and never fails to make us laugh. He seems to be all around the place; having fun with the guests in the lobby, restaurant, disco etc.
Service in the restaurant is really good. The manager mister lotfi is very polite and friendly.
Love the shisha bar. It's really cosy.
Gym is all right although we didn't get that much time spend there.
There are a few shops inside the hotel where prices are very decent. Staff in the shops are really nice. Ziad from the jewellery shop is very friendly and funny person. I started going to that shop just to chill out almost every day.
I love everything about Amir palace and would definitely recommend it as a great place to stay in.also we thank the entertainment boss chems he was so funny with all guests also we would like to thank the room division mister kais he was all the time helpfully and look after all the guests.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sujat_chowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
5.5 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#15 of 43 in Monastir
504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#10 of 43 in Monastir
344 reviews
1.7 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#5 of 43 in Monastir
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Houda Golf and Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Club Tropicana & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amir Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amir Palace

Address: Route Touristique Skanes, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#8 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: $30 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amir Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amir Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amir Palace Hotel Monastir
Amir Palace Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing