We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first time @ Amir Palace”
Review of Amir Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amir Palace
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“first time @ Amir Palace”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really great hotel, I found service first class. My wife and I were treated like family and will definately be back. Rooms were cleaned daily also fresh towels every day (maid was brilliant).
Only downside was a certain race of people acted like pigs at the trough and took all the meats and didn't eat it but rather wasted it by leaving plate loads at their tables and were very rude to the staff, who i must say accepted the abuse with a smile and politeness.
The animation team were excellent, and kept the poolside lively and entertaining.
But please remember when in Tunisia you are on Tunisian time 5 mins is roughly half an hour :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    219
    151
    96
    168
See reviews for
253
332
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budaörs, Pest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great hotel and service, we love this place that is why it was our 3rd holiday in this hotel, but the first with our baby. The room was clean and in very good condition, the food was fantastic, the waiters were very friendly. The beach and the pool was very nice and clean.

The animation team was enthusiastic we liked all of the guys, especially Mohamed, but others were always cheerful as well.

It's a great place for a family holiday and for a couple as well!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mihályi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleat, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

amir palace was fantastic, we had a very warm welcome from all the staff oblighing and helpful.the room was clean and in very good condition and everything in the room worked.a free deposit boxwas installed in room and room was secure. the resturant was spotless and not a fly to be seen. food was excellent with lots of choices at all meals.waiter sevice was first class and noth ing to much trouble.entertainment very good throughout day and evening,animation staff were great and always cheerful espcially FIFI, CHOCO,and RONALDO,who kept us laughing all day long . the only fault i found was the inside bar which was far to small. pool and beach were good and very clean. visited 20/09/13 to 02/10 13

Room Tip: never heard complaint about any room so take what you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnke800nq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel was a disgrace, after being moved to this hotel after our original hotel canceled us we was told we was going to the best! We'll far from it, we arrived and given a room key we went up to our room and the handy man fixing our shower was in there singing to him self he left after doing half a job and leaving muddy foot prints all over the bath, we then noticed the shower wasn't fixed anyway! Lipstick on the bedding and our balcony didn't lock and my bed was broke when the handyman came back to fix he told us that no1 could get in cus we was high up so don't worry about the lock and the bed he wobbled and said it will be ok and the shower he fiddled with again yet still not working the bath was rusty. we had a mattress out side our door and the carpet was moldy and discoloured it was just disgusting I complained and was given 2 room keys to view other rooms I walked into the first room and there were people in there one in the shower who was not best pleased! Are room we stayed in was still not the best but getting fed up we stayed in there it had a cracked toliet seat and our door played up so it took a few wipes of our card before we could get in we then went down for dinner were we asked for drinks we had finished our meals and still no drink, started pudding and they then brought our drinks over we spoke to another holiday maker who said if your want anything in this hotel you have to tip, the next day we asked for our drinks tipped and sure enough we got drinks, to me personally on all inclusive holiday you shouldn't have to do this every day!! It was a disappointment and would never go back to this hotel again

Room Tip: Don't go here ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monastir hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Myself (Rebecca) and my boyfriend (Gary) chose tunisia for our first holiday together we went on the 14th sept for 2 weeks all inclusive and it was a fab holiday we got there in the early hours of the morning and wer greeted at the hotel by reception who were very nice and spoke good English they told us we could go get some food it was mainly salad that was left from dinner but it was nice and very fresh, our room wasn't the best the balcony doors were broken so wouldn't shut properly however the next morning we went to reception and asked for a different room also with a sea view and it. Wasn't a. Problem the 2nd room was lovely, the staff said that the local Tunisians book the nice rooms at the weekends for a short stay then come Monday the good rooms become available,

FOOD
The food is typical Tunisian style food it's 5* to them but not to us, the meat is mainly cooked casserole style but the fish prawns and salad is to die for we tipped our weight or well (2/3 dinar per night) so he kept us the same table every night and decorated it with flowers and fancy swans made out of napkins ect

TRIPS
Ali baba arranges the trips he is a good man and doesn't rip u off the camel safari isn't worth going on because you can ride camels on the beach, on the camel trip no one wants to ride the camels on the way back so they pile you on to a cart pulled by one small donkey and by the end the donkey looks ready to collapsing

The boat trip is good and the food is good too

I went on the 2hour horse ride on the beach we had a good gallop and you can go deep in the sea swimming with the horses it's truly amazing

STAFF
If you tip the sun bed man then he keeps beds for you every day in the spot you like and if you also tip the beach bed man he does the same, it's worth tipping the bar men that come around with drinks because they look out for you coming and saves you queuing at the bad for age

ANIMATION TEAM
They were great they worked really hard to make sure everyone no matter what who or what age you are had a great holiday our favourites were Mohamed, Amin, Ramos and chocco they are you nd fun and full of energy they are all up for a laugh they had us on stage almost every night playing fun games, there showes were amazing they are all very talented people, the Michael Jackson show is worth a watch I've seen a lot of MJ impersonators and Amin is the very best iv seen

P.S any price the Tunisians give you half it then go up from there they know you are going to haggle with them so the double there price

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccahazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a week stay at amir palace. When we arrived I was abit skeptical about the look of the hotel. We got inside and the reception staff were so rude. It smelt and wasn't very clean. Our rooms weren't the greatest and I would not say this is a 5 star hotel, our room got cleaned twice during the whole week. The toilet stank of urine and at the back of the hotel there's a huge chunk missing from the hotel. The photos make this place look amazing but it's not. The waiting staff are the nicest people aswell as the animation team, they made our holiday great. The food is terrible. The beach and gardens are lovely and that was the best bit about the hotel. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Very poor and overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed here 14-29th September 2013 with my boyfriend.

When we arrived at the hotel the man on the reception didnt seem to have our booking but told us he will sort it and not to worry... Within 15 minutes we were shown to our room. 1st impressions of the room wasnt great. The 2 keys didnt work to our room so we had to wait 10 minutes to get into the room. When we did get into the room it over looked the car park, the furniture was very dark and it smelt really bad too! We went down to reception and told him the room was horrible and we paid for a garden view. He agreed to show us another room so we looked and it was better but the view still wansnt all that. After going back a second time and tipping him £20 our third room was much better and we could see the sea and the pool from there. The only downside to the room was that the entertainment was outside and even with the TV on and the doors shut you could still hear everything!.. We stayed in room 452.

The hotel is very clean and the staff were always busy maintaining the hotel and the grounds. We tipped our cleaner 10DT which is like £4 and she was very grateful and for the whole holiday made sure we had clean towels and bedsheets!

The food and drink out there is the only down side to the holiday really. The soft drinks were mostly flat as they were filled up from a machine in to a bottle and the lids left off and you also had to sign for every drink that you had. You are allowed 4 drinks per person too but this includes most alcohol and cocktails. The food is okay but is alot of the same stuff. For breakfast you have crossiants, cakes, toast, cereal, fried eggs, boiled eggs, cheese, salami and salad. Lunch is a variety of salad, break rolls, chicken, fish, vegetables and chips and dinner is the same as lunch but sometimes they cooked pizzas fresh which were nice. In the pool bar you coulg get lunch like pizza, cheeseburgers, paninis and crepes but you have to pay for these and your drinks you will have to pay for too.
There are 3 different restaurants which you can eat in for 3 times a week... You have the Al Carte one which we went to but I didnt eat anyting.. Was salad then soup and bread then chicken liver kebabs with rice and vegatables then a cake... After this expereince we never tried the Spanish or the Italian as we heard the food not too great either... But if your open to new foods then deffo try them!

The pool area was very nice but you have to get out there early to get sunbeds... We got down there one morning at 9:30 and there wasnt any left!... There are a few boek beds but the sunbed man may give you 2 mattress to put on them so its not so bad. They have a baby pool and an adult pool where many daily activites take place like aqua gym, water polo and a few others.
The beach area is also nice but the same with getting there early to get the sunbeds. The sea most days was very clear but there was alot of seaweed and also jellyfish, My boyfriend got stung by one, it was only small but still worrying if you have small children playing in the sea! The private beach area is kept very clean with no rubbish. If you do want a drink whilst you are on the beach you can either walk to the pool bar or the waiters come on to the beach so ask them and maybe tip them so they will always ask when they see you down there.

In the reception area is a desk where you can book excursions with Ali Baba... We booked the pirate ship which was 80DT about £35 for 2 people.. And was really good with lovely food too.. We also saw dolphins. This trip was half a day and you get picked up at 8:30 and return around 2. We also did the quad bikes which was a lot of fun and was about £32 for 2 people. This last 2 hours frpm 2-4. The quads were hard to steer at first but you get used to it... You all follow each other so you are all safe and dont get lost. Half way a man will take your photo then at the end they ask for 6DT from you. They also charge 3DT for a head scarf if you want one!
The last thing we did from the water sports guys on the beach was banan boats and this was about £4 each... They wont go fast if you dont want them too... at the end he asked if we wanted to get chucked off so we did but was near the shore so you could stand which was good!

Outside the hotel there wasnt much to do.. We went to a Mexican retuarant down the road opposite the Shel garage and was really nice and very cheap too! We also went to a retsaurant by Monastir harbour called The Captain but the menu was all in French so I stuck with a pizza! Other than that there wansnt much outside the hotel, We went to some shops for souviners but they only sold fake bags, shoes and watches!

There are 3 shops in the hotel which you can pretty much get anything from! There is also a gym, spa and indoor pool but we didnt expereince any of these but im told that the indoor pool is nice! You can also access free wi-fi from inside the lobby but sometimes its really hard to connect to when there are lots of people around. There are also phones in reception you can use to phone home and stuff which isnt too expensive either. There is a currency exchange desk which is open 24 hours a day which is very helpful.

The hotel for our first week was full of Polish, Russian, German and Czech people who are VERY rude!...The push in when you queue for a drink and also food too! When the food hall opens they all run to get there first! Even when you hold the door open for someone they dont even acknowledge you which is very annoying so best just to keep yourself to yourself!

Lastly, the animation team are AMAZING!...They really did made our holiday and we were really sad to leave them when we came home! They do everything they can to make sure you have a good time! You have MoMo and FiFi who look after the kids club and mini disco... Choco and Amin to the water polo and water gym, Ibra does the yoga in the mornings and the music most evenings, Ramos organises the beach party and Bilel does the Volleyball. In the evening they do the mini disco around 9:30 then either bingo/tombola which is only a few dinar per ticket... Then they have shows that they put on... It is different every day and its worth watching! Some days they get the audience involved with little competitions and stuff. I took part in the strong man show which involved me standing on a mans head whilst he had his face in spikes!!!! They also on a Wednesday night have their 'men in make up' show which is good. At 11 everynight there is a disco in there 'miami disco' which we never went to but its meant to be okay just full of Tunisian men!! We will deffo keep in touch with all the amination team there!!

All in all a lovely hotel, 5* in Tunisia but maybe a 3* in the UK.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view as it is really worth the beautiful views to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
5.5 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
1.8 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#11 of 43 in Monastir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#4 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
5.8 mi away
Delphin El Habib
Delphin El Habib
#14 of 43 in Monastir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#9 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amir Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amir Palace

Property: Amir Palace
Address: Route Touristique Skanes, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#9 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amir Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amir Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amir Palace Hotel Monastir
Amir Palace Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing