We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Houda Golf and Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
$111
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skanes Serail(Monastir)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amir Palace(Monastir)
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$40
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Neptunia Beach(Monastir)(Great Value!)
$28
$26
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regency Hotel and Spa(Monastir)(Great Value!)
$33
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,038)
Filter reviews
3,038 results
Traveler rating
956
817
499
323
443
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
956
817
499
323
443
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 3,038 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

MAY...........Left it until now to do this because we had such a great time in May we knew we were going back,so..........Back In May when we arrived we had a bit of a hiccup on checking in but we were greeted with drinks to keep us happy while we waited by the pool for our keys.The place was nice and clean and the staff were very helpful. Our room was pretty basic but it was nice enough for the week.The animation team were fantastic even though the night time shows were a bit crap to say the least,never the less a brilliant team.We went to the two free meals on offer,the Tunisian one was just the same as the stuff in the restaurant but the Italian one was lovely. On the last Friday they put on a Tunisian themed day and it was brilliant. Loads of things to sample and some fantastic dancing from the animation crew. It really was a great end to the week. The food was ok for me even though i am a fussy eater, i always managed to find something that i could enjoy.On our last night our table was made up with flowers and things out of the napkins,very nice. A great holiday for us even though some of the reviews were a bit on the negative side,we decided to go back.
Beep,beep,beep beep beep....8 out of 10..

OCTOBER..........Got off the coach,boiling hot,the same again,had to wait for our key to the room,no welcome drink and the staff were not very helpful at all.Started to think we had got off at the wrong place. A different animation team who had no go in them at all compared to the others.Our shower hook was broke so i reported it straight away,it was the same when we left at the end of the week,Our room cleaner was just rude so she didn't get a tip,any one would think she's paying for the toilet paper her self the way she huffed and puffed when asked for some extra rolls.Didn't bother with the free meal in the Tunisian restaurant but did go for a stunning meal in the Italian one,very nice again. The choice of food to eat at the hotel reastaurant this time was diabolical.i did manage to survive but dear o dear,what a rubbish selection on every day. I gave up with breakfast after day two.Again i found some thing but not a scratch on Mays visit. Had to wait almost 15 minutes for a burger on the one day and this gave me to perfect opportunity to notice how dirty the walls were behind the grill area. On our last night our table was not made up like last time and there was no Tunisian themed day,shame. The bar staff were great as before and got another well deserved tip,Well done to the smiley guy who was doing a bit of bottle juggling. Better entertainment than the animation team i thought,.A very disappointing return to The Houda indeed. At least the weather did what it was supposed to and the sea was nice and warm.,
Beep,beep,beep beep beep (you'll understand if you ever go there)......5 out of 10

Room Tip: There are no elevators here so...............
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Travelled as a party of 3adults 1 2yr old.Thomson said they were happy to send us as they said the local rep said it was up to standard and that was that,so rather than losing £2,400 we decided to go.the flight transfer etc was great,no problems.reception area very clean and hotel was busy.went for lunch,great waiter,all the staff were great.you get a set table for lunch and dinner,which worked well because you knew you would definitely have some where to sit without fighting over a table.you choose out of two times to eat.which again worked well because its a big hotel and you wouldn't want everyone to swarm in at the same time.afterlunch,went for swim.pools big,clean but needs cleaning at the drinks area as drinks get spilt often and attract wasps(like anywhere would!) Some mornings we went down around 10am and there were plenty of beds but in the summer,this must be a nightmare.rooms was ok actually,needs more ventilation in bathroom as damp toilet floor smelt but a good clean could prob sort that.think we were lucky with our room by the sounds of things but could do with a lick of paint.halls,corridors and stairs very unclean.blood on one of walls there over 8days of our stay and I'd say a lot longer before then.told rep,was cleaned but only the stairs I told them about,they were all dirty,clean them all!food good I'd say,good variety.animation team amazing.really good.slides good but lifeguards not.too busy flirting (literally) and jumping in pool and using slides before they closed.errr you can't do your job if your on the slides.angered us a lot as a boy had drowned and died that week.very disrespectful so soon after.grrr! Water sports were fab and cheap,great laugh.sea dirty but warm.over all,the hotel has a lot of potential.needs rooms updating,a lot more attention paid to cleaning and an extra drink machine in food hall as its big and annoying if your on other side of the hall to the drinks! We never got hassled in hotel and if we said no,they just said " ok guys,maybe another day". So nice to be left alone in this kinda country,especially as I'm blonde.had a great time and none of us were ill!!!they love children,all the tunisians do.always want to cuddle and talk to them.we weren't alarmed by this,my daughter liked getting flowers every night.she's only 2 :) but we obviously kept her close at all times.hopefully but next season,this will be sorted..us British aren't fussy,just want it clean!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahjg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Myself, the hubby, 15 year old daughter, 9 year old daughter, 4 year old son and 16 month old son returned home yesterday after spending 2 weeks here booked with Thomas Cook. All I can say is please ignore all the bad reviews on this hotel!!! I would recommend this holiday to families and we can't wait to go back in 2015!! The animation team are wonderful with the kids, special thanks to Simo who spent alot of time with the children and Gigi who entertained them at the kids club. The only thing I would think about is the 2 day Sahara trip as we did this and although it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience, I wouldn't recommend it with very young children / babies due to the length of time spent travelling on the coach. If anyone wants anymore info, you are welcome to get in touch! Maria from bonnie Scotland :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria72Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Myself and 2 friends stayed in this hotel for one week and it was more than enough! Firstly, on arrival the Hotel Receptionist couldn't have been more not interested, if he tried. Apart from giving us our room key and vouchers for the restaurant, no other information was supplied.
Our room was okay-ish. The sheets & towels were clean but the floor was gritty and the bath was dirty with hair in it! We only had 2 towels but there were 3 of us sharing the room. We asked for more towels at reception and they were supplied however, for the next 3 days our towels were taken by the maid and not replaced!! We had to keep going to reception and asking for them.
The first 3 days the food wasn't bad but after that it deteriorated and the only thing that was any good was the salad bar.
Most of the staff are friendly and helpful but the other's are rude and ignorant. The Entertainment guys did a good job but the daily 'Water Splash', 'Water Aerobics', 'Silly dancing round the edge of the pool' and 'Zumba' was repetitive with the same annoying and very loud music and felt like you were at a holiday camp! Children loved it but, from talking to a lot of the adults, older people found it boring.
The entertainment was awful; bless the boys for trying but it was a shambles and was hilarious although I doubt that was their intentions!
The all-in-inclusive drinks are limited to 2 per person at a time, fair enough, but the plastic cups didn't hold much if you were having a beer or soft drink which meant endless queuing and trips to the bar. The Vodka & Gin were ok, no known labels, but I tried the Bacardi and it tasted like drain fluid!
The beach is small and cramped and, either side of the hotel part, is dirty and uninteresting. There were tiny jelly-fish which my friend got stung by on the first day, so that was our one and only trip down there.
BE WARNED: Sun loungers by the pool or the beach are quickly taken by 7:30 am with towels from guests stating their 'ownership'!!!
A trip to the Medina proved what we already thought - the shops are mostly full of crap for tourists, some leather goods were keenly priced if you could be bothered with the haggling. Plus, you are constantly hassled to go in each ones shop which becomes very tedious. You daren't make eye contact!
Sousse is very poor and it's dirty with rubble and litter everywhere.
We went on a Pirate ship excursion - £20 each and we got the smallest piece of chicken or fish with a small amount of chopped tomato's and onion and 2 bits of dry bread. NO drinks were included - not even water. A small bottle of beer worked out at £2.50 in English money! Right rip off. There was a bit of pathetic entertainment and the coastline offered nothing but the view of building sites.
On a positive note, the Hotel spa was very good value for money and we had a Turkish Bath, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Mud wrap and full body massage for £40 each.
All-in-all you get what you pay for and if you don't mind the endless pushing and shoving to get your food and drinks, the repetitive daily entertainment and VERY loud music then this hotel is right up your street! For me and my friends, it's an experience we wouldn't want to repeat.
One more thing - they don't accept Tunisian Dina in the Airport Duty Free!!! Have you ever heard of anything SO ridiculous???? Unbelievable........

Room Tip: Don't go to the Houda!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nessarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Me,my husband and young children have just returned for a week in houda golf. First of all people are writing bad reviews about the food. What to people expect in a 3* hotel? There was always plenty of choice and always chips for fussy people. The snack bar is good too which has pininis and pizza etc. Anamation team were fantastic for children. Rooms were basic but very clean. Staff were very helpful and pools were amazing. Hotel in on a gorgeous bach and a nice little bar near by for those who wana watch the football. Just dont read other review. I did and i didnt want to go but we had a great time. Remember everyone expects a tip tho. And when u get to tunisia in the airport. Theres long ques beacuse you have to fill in a visa form so be prepaired to wait x enjoy your holiday. Wel be going back again xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammysafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews