We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A health and safety nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Houda Golf and Beach Club
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A health and safety nightmare”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Just returned, the worst hotel ive ever stayed in. We had to change rooms as our first room overlooked a smelly sesspit! (photos to follow). Second room better located but very very basic, not the rooms shown in the brochures! Corridors dirty, and tiled areas often left wet and damgerous. Cleaners used dirty buckets of water to cpean floors and we saw snsck bar staff cleaning work surfaces with dirty cloths. The pool is lovely but the surrounding gardens are watered to the point of being swamped therefore attracting swarms of flies. The food was awful and it was a free for all queue, more like feeding time at the zoo especially when the chips arrived! Layout of restaurant poor, toaster one side of restaurant/ butter the other! You couldnt choose when you wanted to eat, you had to pick a sitting time in arrival and stick to it, and use the same table each time. Therefore if the people before you wernt finished you just had to wait. The bar was awful, couldnt only get 2 drinks at time served in small plastic cups, and the queues were horrendous. Supposed to be all inclusive but you had to pay for ice creams. Poor selection if drinks, only one type of cocktail available each day which was only served in happy hour in the lobby, again long queues. The beach was kept clean but the water was dirty grey. A sewage pipe was next to the hotel taking smelly waste out to see. The hotel is quite near an industrial port and so the view out to see was of tankers and large containers. Not the beach shown in the brochure.No safety barriers around the deep cess pit situated near the kids mini golf, no life guards on duty at the pool; in fact no regard for safety at all. People drunk in the pool at night, no one battedcqn eyelid! Im shocked thomson and thomas cook have this hotel in there books really. On a positive note the evening shows were quite good, thats it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lori555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    795
    484
    313
    413
See reviews for
1,448
516
65
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went on holiay on the 7th of Augast and all I can say it was ok the staff were good but the maids did not make the beds very well the reception staff were not very helpful but animation team were great the most helpful were joe and Olga they were great I am 9 years old and the pool and water slides were awesome the restaurant and the food were horrible if u live on chips its ok but long ques for chips but takes the staff a long time for them to refill the trays and the restaurant was not very clean and lots of flies and bring your nat bite spray along there is a lot of nats and do the para sending great fun and get ur sunbeds the night before because it will be full up in the morning I would go there again but don't think my mum and dad would'nt!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidayola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My mother and I recently spend a week at Houda Golf and Beach Club after spotting a real deal online. Definitely great value.
The rooms show some signs of not being brand new anymore, but everything including the AC worked To our surprise it was always possible to get a sunbed at the beach.
The buffet at the restaurant was varied and especially the Tunisian dish of the day is worth a try, our waiter Manssouri was attentive and recognized the small signs his tables gives, fx how I eat my tomato salad with a little bit of salt, so when he saw us in the restaurant he made sure to place salt at the table.
There's plenty to do at the hotel, but we spend most of our time at the beach.
There are taxies placed right outside the gates, but it's just as easy to take the local bus. Get in from the rear where you pay and get off at the front.

All in all a great vacation and we might very well be back in the future

Room Tip: Email before you arrive and ask for a quiet room if you don't want to hear the entertainment tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frk-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel was basic but clean. Rooms cleaned everyday with clean sheets and towels. Had to change rooms as there was a strange smell and the air con wasn't working, had to wait 2 days but then moved. Room much better, air con working, no smell and clean. Staff work flat out and can't do enough for you. Mohammed (aka Aston from JLS), Naggy, and the ice cream man (aka stutter) were fantastic always smiling and friendly. Getting a sun bed was a nightmare as some were putting towels out at 10 pm!! Food ok although got a little repetitive, be aware other foreigners (not british) don't know the meaning of the word 'cue' and some foreigners (not British) picked food up with there hands!?! The hotel is value for money kids loved the water slides and the animation team were great. Treat yourself to a spa massage it was well worth the money.
Yes this hotel isn't the best but it was adequate for what we wanted, if people are picky then they will find faults but you get what you pay for. We will definately visit Tunisia again - family from Sunderland.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clairaduck79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Well, having read quite a few positive reviews before departing i was hopeful for a good holiday. The good points, the weather was excellent throughout the two week stay, the hotel itself was basic but clean. That's here it ends, the first day i woke for breakfast at approx 08.00 went to get a sunbed, all gone, it soon became apparent that if you did not put your towel on a sunbed before going to bed you would not get one, tried this a couple of times but towels got thrown into the hedge or pool and on one occasion had some of them stolen. The food soon became repetitive and when something different came along you had to contend with the foreigners grabbing it with their hands, it was like some people hadn't eaten for a week or even seen food. Would definitely never go back there again. The rooms are never cleaned properly, and some of the staff should learn to smile at times.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank kevpat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Only problem with taking a week break anywhere the first week of August is it’s always going to be busy and the Houda Golf & Beach was BUSY that week this year as we have just returned. But what can you expect at an all-inclusive hotel complex in the price bracket of the Houda, a complex with a mini water park included which my 12 year old grandson specified as a minimum requirement of any hotel he would stay at.
All in all not a bad weeks holiday, the weather was red hot and I saw many suffering from ‘lobsteritis’ a technical them used to describe the bright red skin on pale north Europeans after one or two days in Tunisia!
On the whole and taking into account the sheer volume of people the hotel had to cope with, the food was acceptable, plenty of choice both lunch and dinner but at this time of year be prepared to queue for the more British type of items such as Pizza’s, chicken nuggets, Panini’s and of course the stable food of many Brits – Chips.
Similarly, don’t blame the staff if you have to wait 5 minutes or so to get a drink, they are working flat out in that heat! There is only one main outside bar at night which moves indoors after 10.00 pm, there is a small bar called the Coco Bar serving outside but it is very small, only room for one staff and its open only at the busiest of times.
The main pool area has its own bar and food snack bar between 11.00 am and 5.00 pm. The queues for Panini’s, pizzas and chips can be long in blistering heat but you’re only standing there the poor staff are busy working cooking food in that heat. The main bar is open during the day as well. Soft drinks in both pool areas are ‘self-service’ but don’t be surprised to see some children of all nationalities abusing the drinks dispensers. Some guests were complaining that alcohol was not served around in the water park area but I can totally understand the hotels concern of mixing alcohol and water slides. Health & Safety is treated in quite a relaxed manner in many countries outside of the UK and Tunisia is no exception, so think first as no one else will be thinking for you.
Donna Rooney the Thomson rep is a treasure, she works really hard to insure her guests are well looked after, solving their concerns and problems but as usual you will always get some that cannot except that this is not Britain and things are sometimes done differently in foreign countries and end up ‘having a go’ at poor Donna when it’s not her fault and it’s something not in her control. We seem to be turning into a nation of complainers looking for compensation. If you don’t like things that are none British, stay in Britain, there’s lots of hotels and resorts that would love to provide you a traditional British holiday.
Rooms are small and basic with little (none I our room) draw space and cupboards but are kept clean with regular sheet and towel changes if and when required, leave your towels in the bath as most hotels across the world ask you to do and you’ll find the maid has provide fresh ones the next time she services your room, normally daily. Don't expect you air con to cool your room even when it works its so inefficient it makes no difference. All rooms have locking wooden shutters so leave balcony doors open and lock these, helps through the night.
What they get right.
General level of cleanliness is good including public areas and rooms. This is a hotel that was built quite a number of years ago and can appear a little ‘dated’ but that is reflected in the price paid. But the staff work hard to keep up a good standard even though guests don’t make their life easy by leaving litter wherever. Surely it’s no effort once you’ve finish your pool snack to stand up and take your paper plate to the nearest bin rather than under your pool lounger!
The local beer is excellent, served in hard plastic beakers around the pool and terrace areas unfortunately also in the restaurant but when I asked why the Head Waiter explained that many guests were taking glasses out of the restaurants and sitting around the pool. Inside you will normally be served in a half pint handle glass and wine/spirits again in plastic during the day outside but glass inside at night. The all-inclusive is for local wines and spirits, the wine is about acceptable but the spirits are unusual, difficult to tell the difference between the gin, vodka or white rum, not to worry if you like them all. Measures are by hand and the staff are very heavy handed so if you don’t like you spirits too strong ask them for a small size otherwise its half a glass.
Food is plentiful and various, my advice, don’t take great plate lots, try a small amount of something you’re not sure of, if you don’t like it try something else, your waiter will not worry if he has to clear one or one dozen plates from your table.
Thing that could be done to make the Houda better.
At the height of the school holidays this as well as many other hotels across Europe are bursting at the seams with holiday makers with children. I would say that outside of the 6 main school holiday weeks the Houda has a massive amount of pool loungers but during these weeks every single one is in demand. Most holiday hotels I’ve stayed in often have simple basic rules over the reserving by placing towels on pool furniture, such as – not before a specific time of morning, etc. At the Houda whilst we were there we found no rules. The normal practice was that pool loungers were started to be reserved at 10 pm! Yes it true. One our first full morning I was up early around 6.00 am, the sun was shining so I thought I’d go and find a couple of loungers and sit out until the rest of the family got up. To my surprise I struggled to find any loungers at all, there were 100’s with towels of all shapes and sizes over them, no people, but I did manage a couple at the far end of the garden. I thought to myself that v=everyone must get up before 5.00 am here. We first notices the practice of night time reservations that evening, we then realised what was going on, so we went to Reception and asked what the rules were, our reply ‘What rules’ and yes it was fine to reserve your loungers at 10.00 pm at night, so we did every night afterwards and never had a problem. I did feel guilty most days as I saw new arrivals, wondering around the pool area in vain hope of finding an unreserved lounger, even though many were never used until well into the middle of the afternoon. We did find out that some guests reserved pool loungers in both pool areas doubling the number of loungers than needed, a bit unfair but when there are no rules this can happen.
The whole problem of reserving pool loungers could easily be solved and made fair by an 8.00 am rule – no pool lounger can be reserved by towels alone before 8.00 am they can be reserved if guest or guests are using them before this time, towels will be removed by hotel staff and stored …… etc.
The staff at the Houda work extremely hard to insure guests are looked after well and helped make our holiday the success that it was.

Room Tip: At the height of summer get a first or second floor room and leave the balcony doors open and the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenstarsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just come back from a week in this hotel. The block that my 12 year old son and I were put in was basic but clean and comfortable with no complaints. My partner and her children flew out the week before and quite frankly their rooms were disgusting to the point of I'd rather stay in Steptoe's house. Unclean, badly maintained. Under beds had not been swept for over two weeks, sheets not changed, broken glass and stake old cereal under bed, electrical socket hanging off wall, toilet door handle broken, windows filthy and broken bed, bag of dirty towels shoved under bed etc etc and that's just the good points. These points were brought to the managements attention but no action was taken. On the plus side, downstairs and the area around the pools was spot on and the queuing systems at the bars are well organised to avoid long delays and all the staff including animation were brilliant. Don't like the fact though that the only place ice-cream can be had without paying 2 dinar was at lunch time in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Make sure you try and get rooms in the '200' block. This is supervised by a different cleani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richiep1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
7.6 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
3.8 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
4.2 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#11 of 43 in Monastir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#13 of 43 in Monastir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
1.8 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#9 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.2 mi away
Skanes Family Resort
Skanes Family Resort
#1 of 43 in Monastir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houda Golf and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houda Golf and Beach Club

Property: Houda Golf and Beach Club
Address: Dkhila | BP 35 Zone Touristique Dkhila Skanes, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monastir
#5 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Houda Golf and Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 516
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Houda Golf and Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houda Golf And Beach Club Hotel Monastir
Houda Hotel And Beach
Houda Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing