We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sell By date”
Review of Houda Skanes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Houda Skanes
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Hotel is large, built some years ago and it certainly shows ! Public areas are clean and well maintained but as one travels to ones basic room, one can begin to see the cracks and lack of upkeep. Our room was basic, floor tiles were on the move, balcony balustrade was rotten, mattress would have been better suited to a camel ! Food and service excellent, staff really try to be attentive, however, on the down side, one is advised of the dress code for dinner, but one would think you were still by the pool or the beach. Why have a dress code if not enforced ??? Lets the hard work of the staff down.

Once in the complex, that's it, there is nothing outside of the hotel, unless one wants a tour of the local power station ! There have been restaurant's and such around but they appear to be all closed now so one has to travel to find anything.

Overall ?? Twenty years ago it would have been the place to be, now ? Sadly, those halcyon days have long gone for this hotel - unless your not particularly fussy. DONT take the cat, as you will not be able to swing it around in the rooms !! Very small.

Overall ? Has bee

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 427 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

3 star hotel with 5 star treatmemt. Excellent customer service with very friendly and helpful staff. We travelled as a couple with Thomson and their rep (Donna) was amazing. We have no faults to report. Fresh food provided 3 times per day so cannot fault them.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank englishmuslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

me and my husband aged 55 had a great time at the houda in skanes, we met a lot of nice people there, all the staff were really good, i loved the food as i am a bit picky but i did not starve, the rooms were cleaned every day, but best of all was the entertainment it went on all day and they did shows on a night time, after the show we went to the disco and did not leave till 2.30 or 3 am, everyone that was there seemed to have a great time we would love to go back, everyone in the hotel worked very hard to make your holiday a good one we could not have picked a better holiday
everyone was entertained from the very young to people of our age and thanks to all the entertainment team and to imed ben for making our holiday great xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went on holiday in August 2013 with my wife and two daughters aged 11 & 8.
The hotel is generally ok - value for money - kids loved the pools and slides and the tunisian and italian restaurants were good.
However 3 main reasons I'd never go again:
- room is too small for 4 people (probably designed for 2), felt bit old but agree you shouldnt be spending much time in there.
- restaurant is a joke with too many people and not enough serving areas. After a few days it feels like the same things are being served up and not everything looks appetitising. That leads most folk to go just for the pizzas or chips rather than what should be good food for that night.
- flies - my god they are everywhere and we were all ill at some point during the holiday which I can only put down to the flies. What else could it be when we've travelled abroad every year and never sufferred like we did there.

Its ok for the money, but I'd rather go up or down the coast where they are no flies or stick to other countries.

Its a bit of a shame as they are so close to making this hotel a great resort.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Barry216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

These guys were amazing, momo, Tito, Rio, I personally thought Simo was a great rep and he took great care of his guests, we were there for ten days and each day Simo was on top form doing his job brilliantly. Good luck to him in the future he is a wonderful person.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllieAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I decided to take myself & my two kids aged 10 & 8 away for a two week break in the sun wich would'nt cost the earth,so i booked the Houda as it looked wonderful in the brochure.The hotel was just as it looked in the photo's & i was'nt dissapointed with the location,right on the beach,great pools & the slides are fantastic,my two must have worn them out the amount of times we went down them!
You are allocated a table when you first arrive in the restaraunt & you stay at that table for your meals apart from breakfast where you can sit where you like,the queues for food was okay,only things like pancakes or ommlette's took time as they were being prepared as you wait,the thing is that some people think that queing is beneath them & try to push in but if you're anything like me, a polite tap on the shoulder usually did the trick but these rude people are'nt adverse to pushing infront of children,so just beware as my son got pushed right back which in my opinion is very sad for an adult to behave in such a way.
Entertainment is not the best by any means but it's a family hotel & they do have a different show every night aswell as a kids club & activities during the day by the main pool,the music can be loud there so if you prefer it a bit quiter stay around the slides it's far quieter.
This unfortunatly is my biggest complaint about the Houda,the evening entertainment is held around the pool where the slides are & people bring wine & beer glasses over there to watch the show.As you can imagine sometimes you get accidents or not as the case may be & smashing glass seems to be a national passtimes for some holiday makers.On several occasions i had to pick glass up from around the pool even after the cleaning team had been in in the morning,this was met with frank indifference from staff who just sort of shrugged it off.
I mean if someone threw a glass in the water or it got knocked in there you would'nt know until it was too late,which i found very disturbing.
Unfortunatly on our last day a small British boy slipped into the pool unnoticed & sadly lost his life,the lack of lifegaurds & the slow response from the emergency services really beggered belief,we will never know if this was a factor in wether he could have survived or not & my deepest sympathy lie with the family.So just be aware that the safety around the pool areas are poor at best,some of the so called life gaurds were sleeping at the top of the slides,which i found shocking.
Overall though it's a good place to go for a trip,the bar down the road has the football on & the food is reasonable if you want a change from the hotel,just remember that it's Africa & some things are'nt the same as mainland Europe & aviod the shellfish if you don't want a really upset tummy!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony as i did'nt have one which meant i could'nt really relax on my own whaen m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My boyfriend and i where excited for our first holiday away together, I'm 21 and he is 22. You would only remotely like this hotel if you where a child or middle aged woman because that seems to be the only people the staff bothered to be nice to. I feel bad for saying that because there where a handful of really nice staff but the rest looked unhappy to be there, where pushy when trying to get you to buy stuff and rude when you where being served your all inclusive drinks. The animation team only really spoke to young, single girls who where there without boyfriends or older, desperate woman,

The hotel was more geared towards the French also as the staff speak it as a second language they seemed to be having much more fun than we did anyway. The activities around the pool where annoying and they must have played 'Gangnam style' about 10 times a day from big, booming speakers. They also allowed people in to walk around the pool and try to sell you rubbish that you do not want, very annoying.

I had to get up around 7am everyday to secure decent, unbroken sunbeds for the day which wasn't a problem as i couldn't sleep the whole week we where away. I'm usually a deep sleeper but the beds where absolutely horrendous and noise of other peoples doors slamming all through the night was unacceptable, We where also awoken several times a night with the sounds of people shouting, arguing and slamming doors through the corridors. Staff never got involved or addressed this.

Food - The bread was the only decent quality item they had to offer so i ate bread for every single meal, we even tried to avoid the restaurant as much as we could because it was DISGUSTING, flies everywhere, gross food and literally 100's of people scrambling for plates of chips, there was no decent que system so you could be waiting up to 20 mins for a freshly made omelette which was horrible. The flies where gross but i could live with that as it wasn't the hotels fault. We named the restaurant 'the free for all' because it was horrible, rude people knocking you out the way for the sake of chips.

At dinner the staff where only helpful if you where tipping them, we would walk in for our dinner and preferential treatment to select guests was obvious. They would have fancy table decorations and drinks waiting on them on arrival, christ knows how much they where tipping for that!

The night time entertainment was beyond rubbish and i did not feel safe leaving the hotel so we had to put up with it, some nights i could feel myself having panic attacks because i felt i was stuck there looking at the same walls every night and fighting for seats, wifi is rubbish too so dont bother with laptops or tablets if you're going,

Overall I'm disappointed with thomsons selling me this hotel, i was so excited and it was a TOTAL letdown, Please don't go,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#14 of 43 in Monastir
1,194 reviews
0 mi away
Delphin El Habib
Delphin El Habib
#13 of 43 in Monastir
957 reviews
0 mi away
Monastir Center Hotel
Monastir Center Hotel
#42 of 43 in Monastir
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
510 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,266 reviews
0 mi away
Houda Golf and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houda Skanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houda Skanes

Address: Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: $126 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Houda Skanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houda Skanes Hotel Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing