We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A nice place for a break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Midoun
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
188 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A nice place for a break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has been renovated. The rooms are nice and cosy, with an elegant light grey painting. The swimming pool area is large, with a lovely design. The animation is overall les noisy than in other places around, though it can sometimes be a pain. The food is so-so, with the exception of the tasty Tunisian restaurant. The beach area is a bit disappointing and would need more care. The evening shows are so basic that they are sometimes almost hilarious. Themes are sometimes odd, with an evening with 4 Tunisian young guys trying to interpret Irish celtic dances: rather unexpected for Djerba :-) .
pOverall, a good place if your want to rest during a break.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank angelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    430
    118
    44
    5
See reviews for
451
351
66
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Describe the service you experienced
Me and my girlfriend went to Djerba Plaza last year. Looking back at the trip, we really had a pleasant stay and I want to review our stay.

The service of the hotel was very good, and the staff was friendly but there was some staff who I felt insulted by when i spoke in english to them. And that was the major problem at Djerba Plaza. Most of the staff did not speak english at all which we found very difficult. The staff was apart from that very good in German, French and Italian. These countries represented a big majority of the residents.

The food at the all inclusive wasn't as bad as I had been warned about before leaving, but it could be a little bit tasteless. Anyway, I didn't complain as I never went to bed hungry! One problem at the buffe was that the signs where in German and French and no one knew what it was in english...

The room we got was really nice and probably just a year old or so. We found a bottle of rose and a fruit basket waiting for us when we checked in. The beds where comfortable.
The cleaning was excellent and they didn't take the tips we left them some times.
Try not to get a ground-floor room with terrace towards the wall at the back of the hotel, it's not fun to watch...
CAUTION - Most of the rooms at the hotel where older and in arabic style. It's a matter of taste, if you want the older ones, but we looked at one to change, and didn't felt like we was at a four star hotel.

The hotel are situated at the coast, pretty far away from the closest village. This means that you need to get a taxi if your going to a store or a restaurant. This is acceptable due to the hotel has a big pool area which i have to say was excellent! A taxiride was really cheap and nothing to be afraid of!

So, what I liked best about Djerba Plaza was the modern rooms and the poolarea. The beach was also great but could be found in the whole mediteranian sea. In the all-inclusive, alcohol was included which was an extra plus. The service was overall very good.

The less good things... Where the languages spoken and that all signs and information was adjusted to german, french and italian. The location is a little bit of if you want to be able to just walk out and se something else without making a thing out of it.
The food could be a bit tasteless and the tunisian resturant was nice but we had been served some of it at the buffe. We didn't had the time to try the italian as it was open once a week, and nobody told us that or the fact that one have to book a table at check in to be sure about getting a table.

Pros
Clean hotel
The Poolarea was great
A private beach with a resturant (all inclusive)
The room we got was modern and clean!

Cons
The languages spoken
The location
The food wasn't bad, but lacked variation
Information about the a la carte - all inclusive

And for those with family and kids, the hotel seemed really good for kids as they organized volleyball, waterpolo and other activities. Not sure if they spoke English though...

Room Tip: Ask for the new ones (not sure about sea view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Been there last summer with wife and 2 kids (4&1). It is located 300-400m from the beach. Beach at the spot is very bad with sharp stones in the sea and sandy beach.
The swimming pool is excellent, together with kid's pool. Hotel has indoor pool. We wanted to use it one windy day, but entry was only permitted to spa guests, which would cost about 25TD (15EUR) per person, which was too expensive to pay.
Hotel is clean and the rooms are very nice with large LCD and large balcony.
Food choice is rather limited and repeating every day. Service in restaurants is very bad. Stuff has bad clothes and service speed is low. Once, my baby broken salt pot and waiter started to raise his voice at us and other time I turn down my order of drink because they brought it after 20 minutes and finished meal. Also, dinner was starting at 20.00h which caused kids to be very hungry (the are no shops around to buy anything). No kids meals.
Lunch was not included in rate and only restaurant you can eat is 100m from the hotel building (there are no other places to eat around) and is all open outside with parasols as only protection from the sunshine at 13.30. It was very hot there and the outside temperature was up to 30 only. Imagine how it is when it is 40+?
Kid's club is not good with only few toys to play with and animators paying more attention on available parents than the kids.
Swimming pool bar is open from 10.30 'till 18.00, so you can only imagine early drink.
Majority of guests are from Germany, France and Sweden and most of them retired and few with small kids, causing stuff speaking mostly German and French and very few English.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoneBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

We had a really pleasent stay at Djerba Plaza hotel this summer. Big hotel with a excellent facilities and a welcoming staff. Friendly atomsphere, nice food, very good service,
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that want to get out the most of their vacation.
We stayed for a week and we would love to go back another time, to the same hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
Thank Theartist_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersaurach, Germany
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Great location, nice beach, edible food, but smokers everywhere--the rooms, the lobby, even the restaurants. Pros--spa is very relaxing, great hairdresser, nice rates for money exchange, great tours available from the tour companies, exceptionally clean and quiet rooms, close to Djerba Explore, safe beach. Cons--typical heavy German food with no variety except for evening entrees, smokers everywhere, store clerks a little pushy, no shopping within walking distance. Only suitable for smokers.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jjdmcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

- Bathroom Temperature Regulator definitely out of service .... seems to be a central Problem as other guests suffered from the same issue
- Indoor Restaurant without conditioner at 38° !
- The lobby stops the conditioner from 1pm to the Sunset (saving policy ....)
- When internet is down it can take them 3 days before they fix it

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zarbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2007

Okay, let's get the basics out of the way first.

1. This is primarily a German & French speaking part of Tunisia. I wouldn't recommend going along without a decent grasp of one of these languages.

2. This hotel, and many others along the coast, look after you well, have good all-inclusive food & drink, but that's it. There are no bars, restaurants or shops within walking distance. You will need to jump into a taxi, even to visit the closest local shops.

3. Djerba Airport is horrible, and simply not equipped for it's current numbers of tourists. You get off the plane, and hit a one-hour queue to get through customs. By which time the next plane has arrived, and the process starts again.

The hotel is good, we paid 840 CHF each (about £350) for a week's all inclusive holiday.

The hotel is nice, but the rooms fall into the "basic" category, rather than something resembling 4-star. You get a "free mini-bar" which translates to a free bottle of Sprite, Coke, Water and Fanta each day. The "all-inclusive" option pretty much pays for everything - food, soft & alcoholic drinks by the pool and in the bars, and bottles of water. You will find it difficult to spend any money here !

The swimming pools are huge, the sunbeds are free and plentiful around the pool, but soon run out on the beach. It should be noted that the beach is about a 10 minute walk down a path. It's strange the hotel isn't directly on the sea front, as there's nothing but wasteland between the hotel and the beach.

Anyway, on the beach are more free hotel sunbeds (if you can get one) and a hotel bar, where you can enjoy more all-inclusive drinks and lunch, if you wish.


Onto the bad points.

We were there during Ramadam, which means the staff don't eat after sunrise, and before sunset. There are two side-effects to this: by 5pm, they are starving, and tend to ignore you more. Also, if you go along around sunset time (7.30pm-ish), then don't be surprised to find no one around at all for about half an hour.

Customer service throughout the hotel was very good, with one exception: the outdoor hotel snack bar, La Sirene, has the worst customer service I've seen. They would literally ignore you sometimes, even going as far as nodding to you (three times on one day) as you try to get their attention to be served, then they'd continue emptying ashtrays, chatting with the Germans, and ignoring you. Terrible service.

Evening entertainment was pretty dire, which, given the lack of alternative things to do nearby, was a shame.



So, in all, would I recommend this hotel ?

Well, if you want to relax, do nothing, and stay very close to a hotel at all times, by all means, by for it. Personally, I would prefer to go to a more established resort in Tunisia.

There are two markets worth visiting, in Houmt-Souk, 17Km away (about 7 CHF, £3 taxi away), and in Midoun, 5Km away (3 CHF, £2 away). If you don't like markets, well, enjoy the hotel, as that's all that's left.


My tips:

1. On all-inclusive, you are allowed one meal served from a menu, typically at the outdoor La Sirene restaurant. You have to book ahead, and it's worth giving a go.

2. Go on, splash out. Spend 10 CHF (about £4) on the taxi each way from the airport to the hotel. Particularly on the way back to the airport, it saves you arriving at the same time as 80 other people on the coach. Given how slow the airport services are, this will save a lot of time.

3. Also at the airport, after checking in your luggage, remember to spend any leftover Dinars BEFORE you go through the first security gate. Once you're through the first "passengers only" section, the only method of payment they accept is Euro's. You've been warned !

  • Liked — All inclusive covered everything, even wine & spirits
  • Disliked — Nothing else around, terrible service at La Sirene.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank UncleMikeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midoun
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#4 of 108 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
2.7 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 46 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#6 of 46 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
1.3 mi away
TUI Magic Life Penelope Beach
1.6 mi away
Fiesta Beach Club Djerba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: Zone Touristique, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Midoun
#3 Romantic Hotel in Midoun
#9 Family Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Djerba Plaza Hotel And Spa
Djerba Plaza Hotel Midoun
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing