We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basic hotel, terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Green Palm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Palm
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Midoun
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic hotel, terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Overall the quality of the food, service, and entertainment at the Green Palm Hotel was very much sub-par.

As part of our package purchased through Promovacances, our flight left from Paris at 5:30am, dropping us off in Djerba around 7:30am. Exhausted and eager to begin our vacation, we were welcomed by two very unfriendly receptionists who repeatedly told us that our room would be ready in about 15 minutes. Over two hours later, we were finally told that we would likely be unable to check in for another two hours. This level of competence seemed to be shared by most of the hotel staff, particularly the man promoting the spa in the lobby and the man promoting water sports (which can only be accessed by taking a 10 minute taxi ride).

While the room was acceptable, the entertainment appeared to severely lack in resources and the food (often recycled from previous days) is atrocious.

I will be sure to never return to this location.

Room Tip: Do not purchase diving packages and try to avoid booking your stay during Ramadan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    233
    86
    51
    21
See reviews for
173
221
33
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Spent a week in this hotel and although the place (almost brand new) did look good, the quality is far from what could be expected.
The place is quite noisy, canteen-like food, rooms are frustratingly small, the swimming pool was good I must admit but only from late in the afternoon when the water was finally clearing from the bunch of all-day-around-the-pool people.
Add to it the fact that the staff did never seem to have a clue about what quality service does mean (apart, mind you, from the wee shisha shop where this one guy working on his own was doing far better than the lot of his colleagues).
I did not have great expectations in the first place but, sadly, I found out that even low expectations could not really be matched.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel is two years old and says that it is a "green" hotel.
1) Room :
Not too big not too small, nice view on the swimming pool
Hard bed, very noisy. you can hear your neighbor making babies and people walking in the corridor

2) Lobby :
Big, cold and smells of cigarette smoke

3) Bar in lobby :
Prices are reasonable but the doses are the strict minimum.
They have very nice almonds served with the aperitif

4) Dinning room :
VERY noisy,
Do not leave the bottle of wine you have not finished to be kept, a nice bottle of red Magon disappeared.
Wine starting at 12 euro

5) Food
Very basic, not well presented, the cook has to return to school. Even some taxi men said they have heard that the food is no good.
We had lovely lunches outside the hotel at : la Cote de boeuf, Haroun, Zamouri, Le Poisson d'Or, so in the evening we ate most of the time a salad a couple of oranges and a few dates
Even the pizza where basic, worse than a frozen pizza !!
They serve a lot of offal, no steak !!!

6) Staff
Very friendly, shamed of the quality of the food
Charming director, but did not listen to the query of it's guest saying that he does not get enough money from the travel companies

Conclusion :
Before I booked this hotel I had read the reviews in here, it looks that either they have been made by people that are satisfied with canteen food or the reviews are made by the hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

really Green palm Hotel is Lovely stay . the staff is very friendly . food is good the rooms is clean by the way the photo of Green Hotel at Hotel wep was the real Hotel condition . special thanks to Polaris travel agency ( Mr. Hatem & Mrs,Patrisia ) they offered to us special price & great services . so in my mid now one idea to come back to Green palm in summer time ......

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khaledi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midoun
1.1 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 108 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 46 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 stars 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel
2.2 mi away
Joya Paradise
Joya Paradise
#9 of 46 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
Isis Hotel and Spa
Isis Hotel and Spa
#25 of 46 in Midoun
3.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Palm

Property: Green Palm
Address: Zone Touristique, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Midoun
#12 Spa Hotel in Midoun
#13 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Palm 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Green Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Palm Hotel Midoun
Green Palm Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing