We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Mahdia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Mahdia
London
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Sunny Mahdia”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just came back from a week's break with a girl friend. Got the holiday on an all inclusive package deal. Flew into Tunis airport which was a 3 hour transfer although the flight itself was only 2.5 hours which isn't bad at all. If we go back, we'd try to fly into the nearby airports.

First impressions:

The hotel is very big, decor is traditional but grand. The room we were in had a double bed and 2 singles. It could do with a bit of updating to be honest. The mattress and pillows weren't very comfortable but at least functional and air con too which is a bonus especially with the 35 degree heat! The hair dryer was pathetic so bring your own or expect to have damp hair throughout the holiday!

The food was pretty varied although I can imagine it being a little boring if you are there longer than a week. We loved the soups at dinner time, very tasty. The snack bar near the pool is a good alternative if you don't want a big meal at lunch as they serve drinks, pizzas, chips and kebab sandwiches until about 5pm. The ice cream hut is open pretty much all day which is great to keep cool throughout the day. The swim up pool bar is really cool with waterfalls and very well located although sometimes you may have to wait a few minutes to be served if you are on the other side of the bar.

The beach is just through the gates behind the pool. It's a long beach with lovely soft sand. Lots of hustle and bustle with lots of people offering water sports, paraglide trips and selling souvenirs at a pretty reasonable price. There are snack bars along the beach which looked like reasonable prices too.

The pool is very big with lots of shallow parts for relaxing in and for children. Lots of sunbeds; we had no problem finding somewhere to go.

The animation team works so hard every day entertaining guests. Starting from around 10am there are activities throughout the day such as water polo, darts, aqua gym, archery etc and they put on a show every evening too. The team are all very friendly, always chatting to guests and encouraging you to get involved. Although my friend and I were often glued to our sunbeds which I think they just gave up on asking us in the end!!

There's not much outside of the hotel unless you traveled 30-45 minutes out into the next big town Seus. The close by Mahdia town itself has a couple of bars/snack cafes and shops but nothing major. There are a few shops, supermarkets near the hotel though for picking up souvenirs.

We and another couple were the only English people at the hotel. The hotel was dominated by Germans for the week we were there. Although the animation team do speak good level of English so there's no problem there. You may struggle a little with the restaurant waiters although we got by.

The hotel has its own disco which opens at midnight after the all inclusive service ends. At weekends, it's very busy with people visiting from outside of the hotel; although during the week, it's much quieter as not many hotel guests go there. Perhaps the hotel could offer guests discounted drinks to encourage more people to go.

Overall it was a great relaxing holiday as that's what we were looking forward to. Lots of sun, friendly people. Very enjoyable! Thank you Mahdia Beach :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rubster5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    180
    106
    58
    73
See reviews for
214
142
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

2 weeks in Mahdia Beach. Hotel is OK I would rate it 2 stars. The Staff is awful, I took my wife on a day trip when returned our IPhone was stolen out of our room. The thief obviously had a key the staff did nothing. We went to the Police Nada. As the vacation went along we had sunglasses stolen, our friend had thier perfume used from thier room, and other items missing. The people are only friendly IF you give them money. If your planning a trip here have low expectations of the Staff and DON'T even Bring valuables. Several guests complained of stealing and the hotel does nothing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jc76jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahdia hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

It was really an excellent journey. It was a unique experience. Excellent room, food, animation and service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Diamant137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

location - the most beautiful loaction in tunisia, awesome white, soft sand and sky-blue sea. temperature of sea: 28°C, of air: 32°C, wind blows from ocean, so you don't feel the heat at all. especially, beach of this hotel is speciale cared to enjoy it more than the others.
rooms - pay a "bakshish"and you gonna get at least 4 rooms to choose. nice ones, hotel is after reconstruction.
service - very good, lots of different choises to drink, eat..
value - the best deal i've ever had, don't even think about that this is a wasting of money

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Robert_Nezbeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We just came from this hotel where we stayed in this hotel with three children (4,10, 13 years old).
The good points are -
The location of this hotel is on beautiful clean beach with enough beds and umbrellas. At 6.30 the good spots are already taken but even later you always find some to use. The sea is really clean, sometimes the waves can get bigger.
Its very close to the main pool which is really suitable for small children. The pool is quite clean even the workers usually start to clean it around 9 o clock when some people would like to already use it.
Food is nice, even there is not much selection for breakfast. You can eat lunch at the bar that is close to the beach, there is always good selection for children - every day pizza, pasta, french fries, salads and some BBQ meat. Dinners are in the main restaurant, the food is quite tasty and enough to select from.
The bad points are -
The rooms and the inside of the hotel is old and it doesnt function very well ( handle from the door, closing the door from the balcony)
The hotel staff does not clean enough...especially the pubilic restrooms. Even when they do clean, it appears that rooms and restrooms are dirtier than they are because of the need to refubish.
The beach towells are old and it is a hassle to get them on the first day. We did not get the towell cards like most hotels give, rather we had to made a request at the receprion and for five people got only 2 towells.
If this hotel got upgraded and had refurbishments made, it would be a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liptovsky Mikulas, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

LOCATION
LTI Mahdia Beach is approximately 1 hour from Monastir airport by bus. Travel agency (we used SATUR) has used new modern buses and minibuses. The hotel complex is in the city outskirts of Mahdia in the touristic zone. It takes 10 minutes to Mahdia centre by taxi (price from 3 TUD to 4 TUD). The hotel complex is situated on the very long beach among many other hotels, with a large beautiful garden.
GENERALY
The hotel is rated as four stars one and it really is. Some things are excellent (staff – except of individuals, food, cleanness of all the complex and pools), some average (furniture in room and bathroom). The hotel is a part of LTI German hotel network, therefore, most of guests are German, but there are also many French, Czechs and Slovaks, some Italians and Russians. For your pleasant stay, I recommend to read hotel´s instructions attentively. They occur in your room.
RECEPTION
It is located in a large lobby. The lobby is furnished in the Arabic style with comfortable armchairs and sofas. There is quiet and pleasant atmosphere. The receptionists are helpful, more of them pleasant and nice. The exchange office, Internet and Telephone is next to the reception. When you intend to send post cards, use the reception.
ROOM AND BATHROOM
We had a room downstairs with a terrace. The room has been in a quiet part of the hotel. It has been nice and clean (cleaning ladies have cleaned it every day, they have been responsible and precise). The furniture is older, the bathroom too. There is TV with German, French and Arabic channels, a fridge and a safe box. The safe deposit box is located in a cupboard in the hallway your room. The keys you get at the reception for a fee.
FOOD AND DRINKS
We were really satisfied with food and drinks through our stay. The main restaurant is huge and clean. You have large option of different kinds of meals. The food is served by buffet (Swedish) tables. There are a lot of fruit and vegetable salads. We are persuaded, everybody can choose the preferred. All the meals are really great. The waiters are polite, we have had positive experience with them. You can use a wine bar in the lobby and a bar next to a pool too. They are free of charge. More bartenders are nice and smiling. You can use a snack bar next to the pool and another located in the eastern part of the complex. They are also free of charge. Bottled water is available in the main restaurant, the snack bars and the bars. You take it to your room as much as you want.
POOLS
There is one pool inside and another large one with the bar outside. The bar offers cocktail drinks, beer and cola. Children can use both pools, they are cleaned every day in the morning. You can´t use them during evening and night because, they are disinfected. They are very nice. You can find a lot of sunshades and sun beds on the grass around the pools, so you have a lot of space. Beach towels are free of charge and you can replace them daily next to an entrance to the beach. Animators organise various water activities (water polo, water aerobic, ...). Music plays near the pool all day, but it was pleasant for us.
BEACH
You can get on the beach by a path, through the hotel´s garden. It takes 5 minutes from the reception. The beach is beautiful, water warm and clean. There are a lot of sunshades and sun beds on the beach, but I recommend you, to take them in early morning. They are free of charge. The beach is patrolled by hotel´s security guards. There are a lot of waste baskets on the beach, gardeners clean them every day, but there was waste sometime (cigarette ends, plastic bags, ...)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank landren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We got a great "last minute" deal from Germany to Tunisia, and we got what we paid for. This hotel does not rate it's 4-star rating. The room was dirty; the rugs had a lot of old sand from previous guests. We had to consistently ask the staff to clean our room; they only gave us soap if we asked for it, and only replaced our towels if we asked in person (towels left on the floor were, well, left on the floor). All 3 of our beds were worn out; the springs in the mattresses no longer had any life. The staff was also hit or miss: some were very friendly, others either indifferent or rude. The food was ok, but virtually the same meals were served everyday for every meal. The beach is very nice, but as we went in Feb, we did not swim. The outdoor pools were also closed, but the indoor pool was very warm. On the plus side, you are very close to some great historical locations like El Jem. Bottom line: 4-star lobby with 1-star rooms and 2-star food.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrbartwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahdia hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
#4 of 18 in Mahdia
803 reviews
1.1 mi away
PrimaSol El Mehdi
PrimaSol El Mehdi
#7 of 18 in Mahdia
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Mouradi Mahdia
El Mouradi Mahdia
#14 of 18 in Mahdia
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Club Thapsus Hotel
Club Thapsus Hotel
#9 of 18 in Mahdia
429 reviews
1.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso
0.9 mi away
Caribbean World Mahdia
Caribbean World Mahdia
#8 of 18 in Mahdia
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to lti Mahdia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Mahdia Beach Hotel

Property: lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
Address: Zone Touristique | BP 105, Mahdia 5100, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Mahdia Governorate > Mahdia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mahdia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — lti Mahdia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 474
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your lti Mahdia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Hotel Mahdia
Mahdia Beach
Lti Mahdia Beach
Lti Beach Mahdia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing