We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our worst holiday ever”
Review of Vincci El Mansour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vincci El Mansour
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Mahdia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I want to keep this brief as I am trying to forget it.
Location is quite shocking, there is nothing around and if you are like me and my husband getting out and about by ourselves is an important part of our holiday, absolutely nowhere to go. Yes we could have purchased a coach trip to visit a few places but sitting on a coach is not my idea of fun. Oh forgot about the little zoo just up the road from the hotel, but that is all!!!

Hotel building is lovely and kept very clean as are the rooms, no problem here. The maids work very hard. The beds are very hard though.

Down hill after this, food repetitive and not interesting at all and worse I found a crawly thing in my salad one day, not even an apology. Didn't eat the bread because people would hold the bread with their dirty sticky hands instead of using the cloths provided to cut off what they needed, disgusting.

Couldn't get a sunbed round the pool until I would say after 4.pm. Beds were reserved from 3.am onwards and we were told "if you can't beat them join them" by our rep Cheryl. I think all the beds were full by about 6.30. There is a big sign saying no beds reserved before 7.am.
Everyday we had to head for the beach and there was quite a strong cold wind which made it a little unpleasant even though the sun was quite hot.

The beach café hadn't opened while we were there.

Strange that around the pool you saw the same people everyday on the same sunbeds in the same place every single day.

I think there were more Germans, Russians and French and believe me the English were not really catered for, lets say we stand back just a bit too much. I was pushed and elbowed around so many times it was no joke.

Mahdia itself is somewhat a dump, nothing nice to see at all, outside the hotel is also a dump, what a shame that a Riu Hotel is situated in such a position.

On the 4th day we asked if we could change our flight to come home early. It would have cost us almost as much as we had paid for 1 weeks all inclusive each. We decided to stick it out, our holiday was for 14 days. LOL

Most boring holiday.

On a good note we met a very like minded couple, on the last week and each evening had a couple of drinks with them while we watched the show by the pool. Otherwise we would have gone insane. I say watched the show, not really but you can't blame the entertainment team they worked from morning until night doing everything, and you can't be good at everything.

I was going to keep this brief, sorry I could go on much more but the memories aren't happy ones so that's it..........DON'T GO. unless you are going to put your towel down before 6 am every day and never leave the pool side only to eat for your entire holiday. Going to eat chips or greasy potatoes everyday, oh and good if you smoke, as the bar in the Hotel was for smokers so none smokers sat in the reception area. Waiters hard to get hold of as they appeared very under staffed. Like I say not much fun.

Hope you find this helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Need-a-break-lets-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 713 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ignore the negative reviews, this place is amazing, all staff across the board were very friendly, helpful and tips were not expected at all times. Animation guys do their best and are very friendly and helpful, some of them speak 5 different languages! and work a very long day and mostly 7 days a wk so give them some slack eh? and they are not pushy. Hello to Diego, Maher, Wawa, Eamon and David. Management are happy to deal with any problems and Mr Mohammed was fantastic. Very clean, food good, pool lovely. The Tunisians have a lovely sense of humour and we found you just needed to be firm when venturing outside, we visited Mahdia market for the experience and loved mixing with the locals. What can I say about Cheryl-Thomson rep? Simply AMAZING. (Fountain not working cos leaking)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Lelly16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

had seven nights at the hotel rio el mansour the hotel was great the staff could not do enough for you we stayed in room 115 and the maid was great leaving fresh flowers each day the hotel was spotless a special thanks to messia our waiter who went the extra mile will stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Staying 11-25th June, great Riu Hotel, nice room, great sea view, friendly staff, great spa just what you expect from the Riu experience.Not sure why all tje fountains are not working though lol. Food also as expected,

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank YorkshireCouple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here from 8th June-16th June and loved our time here.

As people have already said it is quite a drive from the Airport (Enfidha) to Mahdia, and the journey isn't the most pleasant on the eye. Madhia is quite out of the way on its own on the coast, and there isnt a great deal to do in the surrounding area. But from the moment you arrive at Riu El Mansour you will forget that very quickly. We were greeted with a nice welcome cocktail, no queues for check in as we were asked to fill out our arrival forms in a pleasant seating area while the on duty reception manager gave us a quick run down of the hotel restaurant times and facilities, all very quick and efficient. Bags were delivered to our room by a porter, a little tip is expected for the porters, but a few Dinar is more than adequate.

Room - large & spacious, with separate bathroom/toilet and cupboards with dressing area.
2 large singles to make a double bed. Aircon worked ok and had a fridge and safe, fridge we didn't use, safe we did, key from reception when you get your room key.

Restaurants - The main area for breakfast lunch and dinner is a self service, with plenty of choice of food, never went hungry! Breakfast and lunch are seating anywhere, dinner is allocated seating for the week, and you pick either an early or late sitting. the waiters were great and attentive with drinks ready for you at the dinner service. Tunisian night was in a separate smaller restaurant and was table service, very good.

Pool / Beach - Large pool that was very clean, plenty of sunbeds and space behind in a large terraced area with more loungers. There is a pool bar/restaurant here if you wanted to have lunch here during the day. beach had plenty of sunbeds as well, and the pool/beach guys were more than happy to help you find your perfect spot!

Entertainment - the animation guys were really good, not too pushy, but were always happy to have a chat and be friendly. plenty of things to do during the day if you are so inclined. Volleyball, water aerobics, boccia, archery, table tennis, water polo etc etc. Evening entertainment was in an open air area with the pool bar. Main bar was comfy and had a nice terrace looking out over the hotel pool area to the sea. Wifi in the reception, bar and coffee area. Football was on a huge screen in the conference room which was converted for the world cup.

It is a closed currency, so take GBP with you to the airport and change money when you need to. We changed a bit up at the airport and then some more at hotel later on in the week. You cant use TDN in the airport apart from the restaurant on your way back home.

Another good stay for us at a Riu hotel and all in all a great holiday, for 6 days we didn't see a single cloud! Weather reports say it is 30-32, you can add 5 onto that easily!
All the staff were great, from the reception to the waiters to the pool guys everyone was very friendly. Really good to see the hotel manager walking round all day every day, making sure everything was running smoothly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved every minute of our time here!

We stayed from the 1st June Til 8th June. It is approx a 2 hour transfer from the airport but if you are prepared for this it is well worth the wait. Check in was quick and easy and the welcome cocktail was gratefully received.

The rooms are large and clean and have a balcony area. My only grumble was twin beds!

The food is good quality with a varied choice. There is also the option to eat at the pool bar during lunch which we really enjoyed.

What made this hotel were the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the entertainment staff in particular were fantastic. Many thanks to WaWa, Aymen, Madou, David and the gang for making our stay so enjoyable.

It was my Dad's 50th birthday whilst we were there and the staff went out of their way to make it a special day (throwing him in the pool, and singing happy birthday being a particular highlight for me!) he was also presented with a cake and fresh flowers in the evening.

We went on the camel caravan tour organised by the Thomson rep and loved it! Also would recommend paragliding on the beach this was 45dinar. We also went to the 'waterpark' which really is just another hotel 1 hot and a half away with some slides. For 100 dinar I didn't think it was worth the money.

All in all I loved our time at the Riu El Mansour I would recommend both the resort and Tunisia to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here 1st June till 8th June, and wow we loved every minute of it.Got there waiters came straight to the bus and took our cases,we were met by a selection of cocktails as we booked in.We were in 312 which is on the same floor as reception, the hotel is very impressive, you get a card each to give to reception and they give you towels for the loungers, return them and get cards back.It was my husbands 50th while we were there "Billy from Scotland" for anyone who was there. The animation team made his day fab,they are fantastic and not pushy, plenty to do if you want. Would recommend the Camel outing as the rep said, it was fab, belly dancing,bread making,music etc, the water park is just another hotel with slides!!!! But the staff at this hotel are superb, we cant praise them enough, The Animation team are fantastic,Waa Waa, Hyiem, David, Mahou,sorry if spelt wrong!!! Long transfer but well worth it. You cant take currency in with you and to buy it at the airport it is cash only no cards. We had the time of our lives, would go back tomorrow, oh the hotel manager also fab, there all the time and very helpfull, we have only praise for this place. If you leave the hotel and turn left about a 15min walk, nice little shops with named brands at bargain prices. Could go on forever praising this hotel, the surrounding areas are very bleak, but the hotel, staff, and service can not be faulted. Want to go back again Now!! If you can moan about this place, you need to stop going on holiday and get a life!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is level with reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank shona057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahdia hotels
0.9 mi away
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
0.3 mi away
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
#16 of 17 in Mahdia
555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Topkapi Beach Mahdia
Topkapi Beach Mahdia
#6 of 17 in Mahdia
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Club Thapsus Hotel
Club Thapsus Hotel
#9 of 17 in Mahdia
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Mahdia
El Mouradi Mahdia
#13 of 17 in Mahdia
619 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Royal El Mansour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci El Mansour

Address: Tourist Road, Mahdia 5111, Tunisia (Formerly El Mansour Hotel)
Location: Tunisia > Mahdia Governorate > Mahdia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mahdia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mahdia
#3 Spa Hotel in Mahdia
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mahdia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mahdia
Price Range: $59 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mahdia. 4-Storey main building and bungalows. Andalusian-Arabic style. Partially renovated in winter 2006/7. Located on the beach. Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach. 3.5 Km from downtown Mahdia. 1 Km from various shops. 50 Km from Monastir airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and bedfinder AG so you can book your Vincci El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu El Mansour Hotel
Riu El Mansour Mahdia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing