We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Medina (mini-Marrakech)”
Review of Mahdia's Old Town

Mahdia's Old Town
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Mahdia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful and historic town on Tunisia’s east coast is well preserved in parts, carefully restored in others. The old quarter is dominated by the rebuilt Central Mosque.
Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Charming Medina (mini-Marrakech)”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Small enough but charming shopkeepers. Great place to buy jewellery and and pashmina scarves. Touris office at entrance.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hypericum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    185
    100
    33
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Proper town but annoying shopowners in the medina”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

After a seemingly interminable train journey from Monastir (105 mins but it stops everywhere) I found myself on the main street of Mahdia, not the old town. I really liked this: it was a bit dirty and dilapidated but the schools were just coming out, people were on the street and I felt very comfortable as if I was experiencing real Tunisian life. And nobody bothered me.

The entrance to the medina is through a dark gate and really spectacular but on emerging is spoilt by really rude shopkeepers. It may have been because there were very few tourists about. The stuff on sale was all tat, without the mixture of ordinary stuff you expect. I needed to buy some scissors and eventually found some in the new town. But then I had a pleasant half-hour sat on the sea wall, listening to the waves breaking, watching the local boys play football and absorbing the call to prayer, and I wished I had had time to walk round the peninsula.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnychips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mahdia town centre”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Beautiful old town fully recommend the train excursion with tour guide.only 2 hours long . Only problem is the rude shop keepers insulting tourists to try and get them into their shops . Lovely old buildings and busy markets and harbour

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mahdia town”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It is very quiet and peaceful little village with lots of little shops to visit. Lots of places to roam around and plenty of food outlets to grab some food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanHar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Beautiful untouristy spot. Don't miss Madhia's medina!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Beware of spontaneous "guides" coming to you, telling you that they saw you in your hotel in Madhia Tourisic Zone and that they work there! These guys are professional cheaters making "guiding" you around before forcing you to visit a boutique and buy expensive products! Just ignore them and go on your way : Madhia's Medina is easy to explore alone and on foot.

Don't miss the sea cemetery, the sea shores and the historical center in Madhia. Only 30 minutes away but amazing cheap train from Madhia Touristic Zone...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank incahueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahdia's Old Town also viewed

Mahdia, Mahdia Governorate
Mahdia, Mahdia Governorate
 
Mahdia, Mahdia Governorate
Mahdia, Mahdia Governorate
 

Been to Mahdia's Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing