We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“el mouradi in mahdia”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of El Mouradi Mahdia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Mouradi Mahdia
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Mahdia
Wetherby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“el mouradi in mahdia”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

just back from a week at this hotel,, booked because it was 5 star somewhere we had'nt been.... will not be going back. booked all inclusive but lots of things were'nt included.. food was average, we got al a carte 3 nights in our deal, had to book and pick between 2 starters and 3 mains with only 1 choice of pudding ... carpet salesmen were in the hotel all the time mingling with the guests.... we had 3.5 hr transfers each way, got there at 2-15 in the morning... staff were ok but maintenance people slow... would say this is a 2 star hotel at best...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank rsc630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    172
    138
    74
    91
See reviews for
201
214
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here at the begining of September 2012. Transfer from Enfidha is approx 2 hours.
We arrived at about 930pm and was given our registration cards and told we could go to the BBQ restaurant and have something to eat and fill in the cards at our lesiure.

Once we got back to reception we were checked in smoothly by friendly staff and shown to our room which was lovely, clean and large. Being on the 5th floor we had fantastic views of the pool and beach.

Sun loungers on the beach are easy to get with plenty available, however, if you wanted a lounger in the shade, then you would have to get there very early. We saw people going down to the beach at 6am to put their towels down. The beach is a public beach which has a private section, you get the usual sellers walking up and down the beach but they are not allowed to approach you on the loungers, just a friendly "no thanks" works.
The beach bar was ok, although the queue was sometimes long.

Lunch and evening meal's can be taken either in the main restaurant or the pool restaurant (BBQ), there is limited choice in the pool restaurant but the main restaurant has alot more choice. The waiters were a little slow with clearing and preparing the table's for the next guest, but they did what they could and always with a friendly smile.

The evening entertainment was good, not the best around but it did exactly what it said on the tin "Entertained", this was in English with introductions made in several languages.
The childrens mini disco was first which started at 830 they played songs and had fun dances to go with them, they did play the same songs every night for the kids, but that was good as they got used to them and we noticed that they joined in more towards the end of the week.

The hotel offers a free shuttle bus into Mahdia town (which you have to book at least 24 hours before), Mahdia town is lovely with plenty so see, you do also get hassled alot in the Souk which I don't like.

Outside of the hotel there is not really that much to do, there is a bowling alley, crazy golf and also a botanical Zoo.

The pool's are very nice and clean. The sun loungers do tend to get taken quickly.

Overall, this is a nice hotel with good facilities, OK, the 5* rating is not what you would get in the UK, but then you are not paying £200 per person per night as you would in the UK (and that's for room only). I will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Libra68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in December 2011 and whilst I am sure it may be much better in the summer we didn't feel that the hotel was anything special.

Whilst the Reception area was large and spacious we felt that the Reception staff was not very welcoming. Having arrived at the hotel 2 hours after they expected, us due to delays it was past midnight and we had our 4 year old with us, the member of staff seemed very put out by our late arrival and informed us very matter of factly that there was no food available because we were late... Nice welcome.

We booked a family suite with separate living room etc but it was very dated and could do with modernising. The carpets in the corridors and room were old and musty.

The indoor swimming pool was like a old council run type leisure centre and certainly not appealing.

Apart from the freshly made pizza the buffet was just okay. The Breakfast was much better.

The beach was lovely and clean and the hotel grounds were clean too... The staff at the Bar downstairs below the Reception were lovely and very child friendly.

Perhaps in the peak season the hotel would be more welcoming but def not worth going over Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brezice, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I would rate this hotel with 3 stars. the hotel is not worth for this money.
We stayed in El mouradi Mahdia for 2 weeks in september. The hotel is big, beach is clean, if you wonna swim you need to go a little bit farther from the beach.
The food is not good. every second day is the same food (chicken,rabbit,beef). Just for breakfast is good food.
Some waiters are very rude. Especially one tall man (about 40years old) with short man. He lovesss German people. Yeah the hotel is full of German and Russians people. The people who works in recception are speaking bad english, they won't help you, they will just smile at you...
Rooms could be better. Just the day when we arrived was tottally clean room, other days not.
She forgot to gave us clean towels, and one day we have 5 towels, the next day just 3 towels. also she forgot to gave us a botlle of water.. Its no matter how many money will you leave her, the room still wont be clean..
Animation team is ok, nothing special.
well who ever wrote bad things about this hotel is a TRUE.
The best hotel of El Mouradi is PALM MARINA!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Leja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahdia hotels

Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I visited this hotel 29/09/2012 for a 7 night stay with my partner and my mother. The weather at this time of year was lovely but got told it wasn’t normally this hot. Every day was between 27and 30+ degrees.

Let me first start by saying we were 3 of approx. 10 brits at this hotel, it is more for the Germans, Russians etc. We were asked by the staff why we visited as normally Mahdia wasn’t a resort that brits visit.

After the lengthy transfer from the airport we arrived at the hotel. First impressions were good; it’s a very large hotel. We checked in and were shown to our room which was abit of a trek but there is lifts available.

The room was very spacious and clean. On arrival we have a fruit basket and a bottle of complimentary wine. We had a booked 2 standard double rooms which both had two single beds pushed together, seating area, large bathroom and separate toilet. Couldn’t fault the room at all, cleaned every day, fresh towels, bottles water. Also both rooms had nice large balconies.

Moving onto the pool area, there was plenty of sunbeds but most of them in the shade so you sometimes struggled to get beds in the sun. Had a few disagreements with Germans as they like to reserve sunbeds until late afternoon so we gently removed their towels after dinnertime and used only 2 of the 4 sunbeds they had reserved. There wasn’t a pool bar so you either had to walk up to the bar in the hotel but had to get dressed due to hotel policy or walk down to the bar on the beach which only served beer and soft drinks. Pool was large and clean as was the area around.

Beach was also lovely but again it was difficult to get sunbeds. The beach wasn’t private therefore you sometimes you got pestered by sellers. If you’re into your water sports you'll love the beach as there is plenty to do and the prices are very reasonable. The Jet Ski was £12 for 15 mins and parasailing was only £8.

All inclusive was ok but nothing special, as the hotel was mainly for Russians and Germans the English weren’t really catered for. Cauliflower and chicken for breakfast isn’t really my cup of tea. There was a buffet restaurant which served breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was an a la carte restaurant which served dinner but had to be pre-booked and there was only a choice of two starters and two mains. We visited this once and didn’t bother again as we had to pre order our meal in the afternoon but still had to wait over an hour to get our food. There was a BBQ restaurant near the pool which served lunch and dinner where we ate most of the time. Although it was BBQ we never had a BBQ, I'm presuming this was because it was out of season. The food was ok though.
The service at the bars was ok but there was never any rush to serve anyone so you could be waiting a while. Alot of the all-inclusive programme appeared to be not applicable to us because it was out of season. I am referring more to the snacks in the coffee bar. The lights were always off and no-one was about despite it being snack time. I once had to make a complaint at the reception to get the chef at the coffee bar to make us a sandwich after been told that it was only plain pizza was available.

The entertainment again was pretty poor but it always is in these types of resorts. It was mainly for Germans and Russians and they rarely spoke in English, but luckily for us we are an outgoing bunch therefore made our own entertainment :-)

We visited the spa for a Turkish bath and a massage. The Turkish bath was ok and the lady who worked there was lovely. My partner said the massage was not very good.

Overall I would rate this hotel as ok but wouldn’t recommend to English. I will however revisit Tunisia but to possibly sousse or hammemet.

If you would like to know any specifics about this hotel then feel free to get in touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smith_stle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was a nice chilled out holiday in a quite area. Good if you just want to stay at the resort and don't want to do much with All Inclusive. Hotel grounds were nice and big, with lovely staff, nice standard beach. Room was standard and bathroom clean. Could be better, maybe a bit cleaner and updated. Loved the 4pm pancake time with tea/coffee. Was a nice variety of food, didn't get bored on our 7 night stay. Overall, nice standard hotel.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank BibiAngel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenija
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This year me and my partner decided to visit Tunisia. It was my first travel to muslim country. I must say we had as great time. I love everything about this hotel. Hotel stuff were very nice, polite, they are so friendly. Room was nice, clean, everyday there was fresh towels, swans and roses made of them, botle of water was every day in the fridge. Waiters in the resturant were very polite and friendly, for just a little tip. Beach is clean, beautiful, sea is perfect, I dont have anything bad to say. We always found a place at the beach and the pool. Pool is big, clean.
Animators were so friendly, everyday one of them came to us and always asking how are you, have a nice time.
Food was great, we werent hungry, there is always something that you can find to eat.
It is true that they are no in the hury, but if you are on the holidays there is no need for rushing. Just enyoj and have a great time.
We had a great time and we will come again in this hotel and for more Tunisia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MariEdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahdia hotels
0.4 mi away
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
#6 of 18 in Mahdia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
#9 of 18 in Mahdia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Club Thapsus Hotel
Club Thapsus Hotel
#7 of 18 in Mahdia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
PrimaSol El Mehdi
PrimaSol El Mehdi
#5 of 18 in Mahdia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Nour Palace Resort
Nour Palace Resort
#4 of 18 in Mahdia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Mahdia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Mahdia

Property: El Mouradi Mahdia
Address: Nouvelle Zone Touristique, Mahdia 5011, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Mahdia Governorate > Mahdia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Mahdia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mahdia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mahdia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Mahdia 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the new tourism complex of Mahdia, alongside one of the most beautiful beaches in the Mediterranean. 30 mins. from Monastir airport. 60 kms. from Sousse and 205 kms. from the capital Tunis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mouradi Mahdia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Mahdia Hotel Mahdia
El Mouradi Hotel Mahdia
Mahdia El Mouradi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing