We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mahdia
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel has everything going for it. Wonderful location and generally friendly and helpful staff. The pool set up is attractive and very convenient, as is the beach. Excellent beach attendants who ran up and down all day carrying everybody's sun bed and mattress. Beach bar served soft drinks and beer and was again conveniently positioned.

Weather was fabulous, although it was a bit windy - it went from a gentle breeze to a full blown gale throughout the week, but apart from one day when we felt battered by the end of it, it was refreshing and much cooler on the beach than by the pool.

Our room was right on the end of the hotel with a good sea view. It was clean and had a nice sized bathroom with a separate loo - a small sink in the loo would have been a better idea though and the shower temperature fluctuated between piping hot and freezing cold which was a bit of a pain. Also the hair dryer nozzle kept flying off and although we reported it three times, no one came to fix it. Otherwise no complaints on the room - it was spacious and clean.

The food was plentiful and there was a good variety, but the quality was hit and miss - more often miss than hit unfortunately. Fish/meat was bland and either overlooked or raw -We were sick to death of eating salad by the end of the week. Good omelettes at breakfast cooked fresh although we did have to wait a while.

There was only one bar inside and so it got very busy at night and we had to wait ages for a drink. There was a waiter in the main lobby area and he got us drinks sometimes...recommend you tip early on and then you get great service.

5star? (Tunisian rating) - no way unless they do something about the food. All in all, we had a brilliant time and for its location alone, we would return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must really. Our room was right on the end of the hotel and was nice and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcm9763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    542
    230
    72
    41
See reviews for
725
788
59
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tienen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was my second time I'm Tunisia. Second time with iberostar. Very nice staf. Nice room, good food. Just a good hotel! And the animation team make your holiday good! Gymnastic , Aerobic , Zumba , Aqua gym . Zizou, kaboura ,dj ., Sam , jonny ........... Restaurant and bar service good , and really I was a bit shocked because I find the same manger of saphir palace and he still remember me and like always friendly with all the guests . It was a great time with all the people there because we feel like we are with our family and will come back soon .

Room Tip: I had sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamaracokelaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction on your holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour hotel; it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and felt at home, this is always our goal.

Our staff strives to welcome each guest with the IBEROSTAR spirit and assist in any way possible to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay. Thank you for referencing so many of our team members by name, as we are now able to reach out to them individually and let them know how they made such a positive impact on your stay.

It is also very enjoyable to read you felt comfortable in the room we accommodated you in; our goal is to provide comfortable and spotless accommodations in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

Once more, thank you for your visit and heartwarming review; we look forward to welcoming g you back at your earliest convenience.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEORSTAR Royal El Mansour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Firstly if your travelling to Tunisia from Scotland ,Scottish bank notes aren't accepted as a currency for exchanging for Dinars ,luckily the Thomas Cook rep sorted this out and helped as indeed throughout our stay ...Transfer around 2 hours from Enfidha airport but its an eyeopener to life outside the hotels ,check in great ,you sit and relax and staff take your passport and give you a room ,rooms are great spacious ,clean ,bathroom the same ,only downside is a fixed shower screen so if you have limited mobility may be a problem ,Off to the pool ,and reports of sun-beds being easily available a bit naughty around 75 % of the beds are reserved by 7-30 am , especially around pool a lot of grassy areas in the hotel areas which would maybe be better used for sunbeds as in high season this could be a problem ,pool clean tho cold ,as we travelled end of May some facilities of the grounds not opened ,beach clean but wouldn't fancy going into the sea .Dining room overall good quality food ,well prepared ,probably a bit small for size of hotel and can get rather hectic at times ,theres a themed night restaurant ,Italian and Tunisian food would recommend Italian night excellent .Bar area again rather small ,branded drinks not included in the All Inclusive option ,service not great but one or two Dinars goes a long way .not really many downsides to this hotel ,WI -FI not great but does the job English language TV channels only 4 ,2 news channels surely Iberostar could do better here, Free safe in room and buffet breakfast for 4-45 am nice touches ,overall great stay ,would return definately

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you very much for taking part of your time to share your impressions and personal experiences on your holiday at our IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour hotel; we are very pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable holiday experience among us.

Moreover, we thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our accommodations as well as the quality of our gastronomy; our expert team of chefs strives to surprise our guests with high quality culinary delights both local and international, so as be able to savor many different flavors at every single meal and make it one of the best added values to their holiday at our hotel.

Last but not least, we would like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share you kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them.

Thank you again for your valuable time; it will be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Tunisia and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberbargoed, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Returned today after 2 weeks, we visited in May 2013, and enjoyed the experience so much we paid a return visit .

We were not disappointed we had a wonderful time.
The service and attention from the staff was 100% , from the the wonderful character who controlled the beach who always greeted everyone with a friendly warm greeting

Special thank you to the Head Water Ben Doune for his courtesy and professionalism (he even remembered our names from last year) Safouan in charge of the snack bar, Hedi our main waiter.
In particular in the bar Houcine and Wassim.
When we had occasion to visit the Reception we were mainly looked after by Nessrine with her wonderful customer service skills and friendly approach.

The room and the sea view was lovely .

On the downside the very poor hair dryer in the bathroom, and the position of the electric sockets around the room . The bar would benefit by a raised area to allow the evening entertainment to be viewed by more people not just those at the back of the room.
I also agree with other comments of the restaurant looking more like a canteen , the lighting is very harsh, and needs something done to soften it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I just spent a lovely weekend at the Iberostar Royal El Mansour in Mahdia and was quite pleased with my experience. My room was quite spacious, very clean, nicely appointed and had a wonderful view of the pool area and the sea. The buffet was quite good which was a pleasant surprise and most of the choices available to guests were cooked while you waited. The only issue I had with the hotel is that the air-conditioning system is not activated until June 1st and if you happen to be there in May, you may find the ambient temperature a little too hot to sleep comfortably in. The spa is one of the best I have been to in Tunisia, and indeed in many other countries in the world, and I highly recommend treating oneself to a swim in the spa pool followed by a gommage and massage. You will thank me :)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The scenic view is well worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheerim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

If you read a negative review about this hotel; ignore it. just ignore it.
there are so many positive things about this hotel that made the holiday enjoyable.
- The food is very good quality; with a massive range to choose from.
- Room was very spacious, view was gorgeous, very clean
- Pool is definitely the best part, it is massive, nice and cool, really really clear, never busy which means you have lots and lots of room!
- Staff are nice and have a range of international languages and will make effort talking to you
- Hotel in general was stunning, very clean
- Beach right outside, and is lovely
- Lots of range of activities and trips
- Thomas cook rep was very nice (shout out to you Philip)
Overall such an amazing holiday, definitely recommend it

Room Tip: Go for beach view, it is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindley
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here at the begining of May for one week,and overall we were very impressed with it.
The hotel and room were spotlessly clean, and even though we were a bit disappointed to be given a room facing the road, this didnt effect our overall enjoyment of our holiday.
Listing the facilities and experiences..............
Check In was a bit chaotic, because when we arrived so did about 50 other guests, and trying to process so many people at one time meant that there was a delay in being shown to your room.
Reception was very good except for the young woman in charge of the currency exchange etc.
We went one day at 14.31 to be told that the "Bank" closed at 14.30, and we would have to return one hour later to exchange our currency. (Jobsworth in the extream)
Restaurant was your typical All Inlusive Buffet.
Decent food, but sometimes wasnt as hot as you would have wanted it.
Waiters and Staff were very good, but in the hotel bar remember to tip the bartenders or they will ignore you. I gave the waiter 5 Dinar (less than £2) each day and they couldnt do enough for us.
I dont remember the name of the waiter around the pool (probably Mohammed) but he was fantastic. Everytime he walked past us he would look at me, smile, and say "Beer for the Boss"
Animation team .....................................
WOW...............
How hard do these people work ????
Even when they didnt really have anything to do they would mingle with the guests and try to start up a converation.
Night time entertainment was your typical hotel shows (Karaoke and dancing shows) but it was good enough.
You will get a bit of hassle on the beach,but nothing compared to many other places you will go to on holiday.
Only downside of this hotel for us was the fact that due to its location there isnt really anywhere to just have a quite walk to, but dont let that put you off.
Did we enjoy it ??????
Yes.
Would we go back ????
Yes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davroduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us at the IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour hotel and are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your satisfaction here on Tripadvisor; it is wonderful to hear we were able to meet your expectations of an enjoyable holiday experience under the sun of Tunisia.

It is also very enjoyable to read you felt comfortable in the room we accommodated you in; our goal is to provide comfortable and spotless accommodations in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours, however we encourage you for future occasions to contact our call center from where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and help you choose the room type that best meets your holiday needs and wishes, as you can see on our website, our rooms and prices vary depending on their location and view.

We are also very grateful for your nice comments towards our animation staff, their enthusiasm is contagious and they strive to offer a wide variety of leisure and sport activities throughout the day as well as entertaining evening shows to make our guests' stay a memorable one.; we are glad to read they had such a positive impact on your overall holiday experience.

Thank you again for your visit and valuable time; it will be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Tunisia and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahdia
2.1 mi away
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
#4 of 18 in Mahdia
795 reviews
1.6 mi away
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
#10 of 18 in Mahdia
522 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Mouradi Mahdia
El Mouradi Mahdia
#14 of 18 in Mahdia
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PrimaSol El Mehdi
PrimaSol El Mehdi
#7 of 18 in Mahdia
631 reviews
24.0 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 44 in Monastir
1,188 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vincci El Mansour
Vincci El Mansour
#3 of 18 in Mahdia
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso

Property: IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso
Address: Route de la Corniche, Mahdia 5100, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Mahdia Governorate > Mahdia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mahdia
#1 Spa Hotel in Mahdia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mahdia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mahdia
#3 Family Hotel in Mahdia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso 5*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore every inch of the IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso hotel and discover the treasures of Tunisia. Admire the turquoise waters of the Mediterranean from your sea front room. Dive into the sapphire waters of the pools. Witness the spectacular sunset and its fusion of gold and coral as you stroll around the gardens of this five star resort, and take home a treasure trove of unforgettable memories of your time in Mahdia. A hotel worth discovering. You’ll find this unique hotel just 37 miles away from Monastir international airport. Its 447 rooms are located right by the shores of the Mediterranean, surrounded by the best Tunisian beaches and a lush landscape that makes for a delightful stroll. ÁGet ready for new sensations. At the SPA Sensations, you can enjoy a traditional hammam to purify your mind and body, alleviate stress with a massage or take care of your skin with beauty and well-being treatments. A culinary mixture of civilisations. Visit the Principal Restaurant and sample the flavours of a thousand stories in its delicious selection of dishes; from traditional couscous and famed Maghreb sweets, to recipes from the finest world cuisines. Experience thrilling adventures, taking part in all kinds of sports, both within this Tunisian hotel complex and in the surrounding area. You can take advantage of this opportunity to explore the Mediterranean sea floor, have fun in the swimming pool or get in shape in the fitness suite, among other activities. Seize the night in Mahdia. Experience unforgettable moments at the nightclub in this sea front hotel and get up in the morning feeling great and ready to go to the shopping centre or sign up for any of the daily activities on offer. The kids can also discover a whole new world in spaces designed especially for them. A team of lively activity leaders will take care of your little ones, ensuring that each moment is full of fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Royal El Mansour Hotel Mahdia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing