We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Facility and Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tulip Carthage Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Tulip Carthage Residence
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in La Marsa
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
242 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice Facility and Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spend a month and a half last summer at this facility. we were by the pool, it was such a convenience, room service was very good. need a little of updating in the inside. Free Wifi is such a convenience, and the Cable as well. Every morning they will do the Cleaning and provide you with towels and all the necessities, with some tips they will do a marvelous job!
You can call anytime to order from the Restaurant, even in the Month of Ramadan, we had orders and everything was available on the menu.
P.S. Its hard to find a restaurant open in Ramadan, especially after the 2011 revolution.
most of all very safe Hotel and Residence, good for westerners and convenient

Room Tip: you can ask to change room if there is noise or any other disturbance, they will provide you with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nmbt211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
6
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was good value for money -- a one-bedroom apartment for the same price as a hotel room, with free wifi and a kitchenette (not that there was any kitchen equipment or plates/cutlery available, but I imagine they will supply it if you ask).The bed was very comfortable. The TV had some English language channels. Our rate included breakfast, served in the hotel opposite. It was a good buffet, with eggs cooked to order and tunisian flat bread and crepes. There were also delicious pastries.

The main pool was very large, with good deep areas for swimming. The only negative experience was the debris from the previous day's occupants (glasses, plates, towels etc) which weren't cleaned away until nearly midday. And the toilets by the pool area were filthy, with no paper available.

Overall, however, it was a nice hotel in a good, although remote, location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
181 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We found the apartment comfortable and enjoyed using the fitness center and the pools. Breakfast was included in the price. The cooking equipment is minimal but we made do. I recommend this as an option as you can eat in or go out to a restaurant and you have a sitting room. As for taxis, you can walk down the hill and insist they use the taxi meter. I feel it is overall, a good bargain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jam6768_290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I spent one month in a self-catering apartment (1 bedroom, a living room, plus kitchenette) which is part of the 5-star Golden Tulip hotel complex, near the small town of Gammarth (Carthage-Tunis area). The prices in the apartments are much lower than in the hotel, and as you have access to the same facilities (swimming pools, both indoor and outdoor, restaurants, sauna, etc.) this can be a very practical choice. The kitchenette has a small refrigerator, and a 2-burner built-in electric cook-top which has seen better days. The kitchen has the bare minimum in furnishings, not even a cutting board or kitchen knife, also no cooking spoons or can opener/bottle opener/corkscrew, two pots without lids, and no way to drain salad or pasta. Two tiny coffee cups (suitable for espresso but less so for regular coffee) were provided, and an old but workable coffeemaker, as well as two plates, two forks, two soup spoons but no teaspoon. In the end I found the kitchen just a notch above camping and found myself often using my Swiss Army knife. The hotel restaurants are excellent but very expensive, so for an extended stay the option to prepare one's own meals (even if rudimentary) is very useful. A microwave would have been handy, however.

The furniture was attractive wicker though the cushions were thin and hard, and lighting in the apartment was very dim; on request the front office provided a floor lamp which helped a little. The bathroom was well-equipped with a heated towel rack and good water pressure. The apartment also had heating which I did not need but would come in handy during the colder part of the year. The cleaning staff were friendly and efficient, and this service is included in the price.

The location is something to be aware of: the site on the top of a hill overlooking the bay is beautiful, and the hotel and apartments are set within a larger gated community which is attracting many well-off Tunisians as well (and some wealthy displaced Libyans who haven't yet decided whether to return post-Gaddafi). But there is nothing within walking distance, and the taxi drivers waiting just outside the gate take a predatory attitude toward the hotel's clients, typically not wanting to use the meter but demanding a (high) set price per trip. I considered renting a car, which would have provided a great deal more mobility. There is also a lot of construction going-on, as in other upscale parts of Tunis, and this means noise and dust during working hours.

Overall I found this a reasonable set of trade-offs for a one-month stay, but if I were to return I would either rent a car or look for someplace closer to other restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Facilities - 5 star (shared with 5 Star - Golden Tulip Hotel)
Service - 4 star
Apartment - 4 star
Equipments - A bit old (in the apartment, esp kitchen)

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank intansue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Marsa
1.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
2.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
0.1 mi away
Dar el Marsa
Dar el Marsa
#2 of 7 in La Marsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Villa Bleue
La Villa Bleue
#1 of 4 in Sidi Bou Said
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dar Said
Hotel Dar Said
#2 of 4 in Sidi Bou Said
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.6 mi away
El Mouradi Gammarth
El Mouradi Gammarth
#4 of 13 in Gammarth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Carthage Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Carthage Residence

Property: Golden Tulip Carthage Residence
Address: Avenue de la Promenade | Les Côtes de Carthage, La Marsa 2078, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > La Marsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Marsa
#5 Spa Hotel in La Marsa
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Marsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Carthage Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulip Inn Residence Carthage boasts 13 apartments and 123 studios, all equipped with a small kitchenette, air-conditioning, bathroom, satellite television, terrace, High Speed Internet connection. Also at your disposal are laundry service and 24hours room service. Tulip Inn Residence Carthage offers daily cleaning service, in - and outdoor swimming pool, entertainment centre with bowling alley, fitness, sauna, hammam and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Tulip Carthage Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Carthage Residence Tunisia/La Marsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing