We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, service behind expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in La Marsa
Twin Peaks, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good hotel, service behind expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

The Golden Tulip is located 10min outside the city centre of Tunis with a very nice view on the bay.
The rooms are spacious and very clean. The hotel features a bar also serving alcohol and small plates as well as 2 restaurant (italian & Local). An Indian restaurant is nearby.

To mention are the 2 outdoor and 1 indoor pool as well as the excellent equipped gym featuring 5 running belts and state of the art work-out machines.

If possible book a Executive room on one of the executive floors. They are barely more expensive and offer besides free wireless-lan other amenities.

Only flaw is the service - unfortunately not above Tunisian standard, therefore expect waiting time at check-in or checkout because only out several people behind the counter are working

Do not confound with the Golden Tulip El Mechtel

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picknicker1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    124
    87
    26
    16
See reviews for
26
38
21
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

The Golden Tulip at Al Marsa Tunis is an ideal hotel business. Although located outside of the main business area, it is nice to escape to. Impressive lobby and friendly staff create a good first impression. The rooms are comfortable and everything in the room and bathroom worked. Nice pool.
Breakfast in the morning is a buffet and reasonably okay. Staff seemed rather lethargic in serving coffee etc.
Carpets in the hallways need replacing.
Overall good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadwarrior1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

Stayed there for 4 nights in May 2010 for a conference. Location is good for a conference but far from everything else.
On my 3rd day there, myself and 2 other colleagues had money stolen from our rooms. Security was not overly concerned as they did not even asked for written statement. Management later apologized for the "inconvenience". There is a safe in the room but was not expecting the maid to go through every pocket and every part of my luggage to find money. So if you do decide to stay please beware and lock absolutely everything.

On the plus side, the indian restaurant on the premises is excellent !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtrvlr711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Marsa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

This is my second stay with this hotel.This hotel has great customer service, clean and nice, and they do just about everything to please their customers. However, they don't enforce the non-smoking laws of Tunis and a lot of the clients light up their ciggarets just about anywhere - restauraunts, lobby, waiting areas, hallways - ignorant of others around them. This really makes me rate the hotel with one star as it is not respecting all its clients and their right to enjoy a smoke free environment. There needs to be designated areas for smoking. The establishment should respect all its customers equally, perhaps then and only then, it will earn a 5 star rating in my book.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank fre4evr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

Stayed here for business purposes. Moderate decorations for the hotel. Nice hotel to stay at. The room are clean and will have daily room service. Make sure to lock the glass window as it was open when i check in the room.

Pros:-
1)Good customer service.
2)Great American breakfast buffet.
3)Beautiful pool but was winter when i was here.
4)Comfortable bed
5)Have atm and also hotel money exchanger. Allow for cash advance usign Credit card but will charge additional 5%
6) Free wifi. Get to the "business centre" corner to get the pass code specifically for your room.

Cons:
1) Far from the town. Taxi will cost around TND15 to TND20 from airport to hotel. Easy to get taxi from hotel though cos the hotel will be able to get for you.
2) Nearest place to eat(Other than hotel restaurants) is about 5 min drive by taxi or about 20 min walk up hill and down hill several times.
3)For me, hotel laundry is a bit expensive

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadmus_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

My room was clean, well maintained and fully equipped. They do not , however, have any non-smoking rooms, as one would expect in a so-called 5 star hotel. With a corporate discount I was paying less than half the posted price, so it was great value.

The breakfast buffet (included in the price) was a big, tasty, spread with American, Continental and Tunisian style options. Room service was prompt.

The gym has up-to-date equipment -- better than my gym at home-- along with a lovely glass-roofed indoor pool done up like a roman bath. But the locker room isn't very nice, and you have to go outside to go back to your hotel room.

Location is an important consideration in choosing this hotel -- it's about a 30 minute cab ride (about $10) to the main part of Tunis, but only 5 or 10 minutes to La Marsa and Sidi Bou Said, the attractive seaside towns, and to the remnants of ancient Carthage. There is nowhere you can walk to - the hotel is quite isolated. On the other hand, it is much nicer than other options closer to Tunis.

The other issue is service -- it's courteous but not particularly friendly or solicitous. For example, I asked at the front desk if I had any messages and the staffer said " Messages ? For you ? Certainly not - why would you think you had a message ?" I went into the business centre to use the computer and the staffer shrieked " Not free! Not free! You have to pay !" Sometimes the doormen would just stand there watching guests open the big heavy doors. Restaurant and fitness centre service was satisfactory, though.

I think this 'tin ear' for customer service is more a characteristic of Tunis in general than of this hotel in particular.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spadina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

I couldn't believe there's such a excellent hotel in Tunis like this one!! The facilitities and the view is winderful, From the hotel, u cansee the mediteranean sea downward and also the pool is very nice (but now it's too cold to swim) The lobby is just like in heaven! Plus the service is also great :) keep good work!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ThouLalitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Marsa
1.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
1.7 mi away
El Mouradi Gammarth
El Mouradi Gammarth
#4 of 12 in Gammarth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
4.0 mi away
Regency Tunis Hotel
Regency Tunis Hotel
#4 of 6 in La Marsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Residence Tunis
The Residence Tunis
#1 of 12 in Gammarth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dar el Marsa
Dar el Marsa
#2 of 6 in La Marsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carthage Thalasso
Carthage Thalasso
#3 of 12 in Gammarth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis

Property: Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
Address: Avenue de la Promenade | BP 606, La Marsa 2078, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > La Marsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in La Marsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis hotel is located on Gammarth Bay, overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean, combining Business and Leisure.We have chosen this oasis of calm for the splendid views as well as nearby ancient sites.With its architectural style reflecting the meticulous standard, one would expect of a five-star deluxe hotel, while our employees are dedicated to your every need and expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis Hotel La Marsa
Golden Tulip La Marsa
La Marsa Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis Tunisia/La Marsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing