We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in La Marsa
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have just returned from 3 days at the Golden Tulip in Carthage.
After one night i requested to change my room as I had no wifi. The staff quickly arranged this and I was almost instantly installed in a room with fairly good levels of wifi signal.
The rooms are reasonable, comfortable although the Disco over the road was a little loud, it did not disturb my sleep when the patio door was closed. The a/c was very efficient and TV carries the BBC news.
The restaurants were OK, not brilliant, although breakfast was disappointing. Not really up to standard.
The pool area is lovely and all in all it was a relaxing stay albeit business got in the way of relaxing.
It is a little remote but by cab only 20 minutes from the airport. Good levels of English spoken and obviously Arabic and French so communication is simple. The bar is open until about 2 am and most drinks are available. There is a cashpoint in the foyer.

Room Tip: If you need wifi ask for a room where they know the signal is strong. Public areas are well served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    127
    87
    26
    16
See reviews for
28
38
22
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings on Hudson
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I write the review only because the doormen deliberately set upon us a rip off taxi (by passing three other no doubt honest ones that were waiting at the hotel) that the charged us four times the normal taxi fare while masquerading as a yellow cab. Its meter that was at 16 dinar about 90 percent of the way to the airport accelerated like it was out of order and surpassed 40 dinars at the airport where the driver demanded 5O dinars (I paid 12 with a tip from the airport to the hotel four days ealier). So DO NOT TRUST the doormen. They are in cahoots with the rip off taxi driver who incredibly claimed he was a "hotel employee"!!

Internet could not download emails on Microsoft Outlook for most of the time. My colleague had a malfunction in the bathroom showerhead which was never fixed despite complaints. The restaurant by the pool had tables missing napkins and silver and the waiters were inattentive, having to be chased down for a cup of coffee or tea.

No spoons in the room to stir coffee or tea and no milk for either. When I told the restaurant they said please call room service!! Why bother to have coffee and tea available in the room with a kettle?

In four days at hotel in a pool side room I saw not one person use what looked like a very nice pool.

Calcutta restaurant is excellent. I had vegetable biryani with raita on the first night and it was great! Pool side restaurant buffe was so so.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahesh39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Marsa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I penned a review of the hotel two years ago and one thing has changed for the good. No outside music, so guests can fall asleep before 23.30.

There are so many things good about this hotel. Reception staff are good although English was poor with some (after all, it is their third language). The room was nice but the A/C a bit dodgy. It was always a little hot or cold - never perfectly comfortable.

Better vacuums are needed. I found glass on my room rug. I found six pieces in our meeting room carpet.

Room service was swift and food hot. I did have a problem with the restaurant. I found it difficult to get a pleasant lunch. Little vegetarian food is cooked but they do a huge salad bar, except that seven out the ten salads were drizzled with the flesh of a selection of turfy and surfy creatures. Absolute disaster. Lunch was cr@p.

I had to change the conditions of my stay to eat dinner outside the hotel to avoid the same nonsense in the evening.

I was running a course over five days. The supply of coffee and pastries and fruit for coffee breaks was excellent. Better communication was needed to know when this would appear though. The restaurant at lunch time opened anytime between 12.00 and 13.15. Appalling if you are running a course. I tackled the manager about this. First he make stupid excuses about being very busy then admitted, on the third day that they were short staffed. He said “ we are short of staff, blah, blah, blah, so we open later.” He actually said ‘blah blah blah’ to me. Never had that level of service and attention to detail before.

Overall, this is a good hotel. With better management, it could be a great hotel. It seems to be a balancing act, and they fall off regularly. Shame

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBodach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This aging hotel may have been very nice... once upon a time. It's now in a sad state of disrepair with sullen staff. But the entrance lobby is pretty nice with a large area and nice floors. I especially liked the enclosed glass rooms in the center of the lobby showcasing the olive trees. Cool idea.

Room was a little dirty, and needed a good make over. Pulled the shower nozzle right out of the wall by accident when I went to take a shower.

Couldn't get wireless signal in my room, so had to sit in lobby. Called reception to ask about this issue and guy on the phone had no interest in speaking with me about it.

Hotel itself is located in a decent spot on top of a hill and a short walk to a few nice areas overlooking the city and beaches bellow.

Ordered the pizza... and felt a little sick for the rest of the day.

Not recommended, there are better places in town with more flavor and value. Wont stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainFancyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Four weeks in April, two weeks in August, I'd hoped that the service may have improved in the bar and restaurants but no.....I still think they're mourning someone.
Ordered the filet steak in La Stalla restauarant, I could've re-souled my leather boot with it!
The staff knew it wasn't filet when i challenged them, no contest from them at all!
The only reason this is deemed to be five star is by the number of swimming pools it has,
the decor is shabby, the food is only three star at best, I cant remember many smiling happy staff during almost six weeks here. Its as if they had something better to do!
I certainly will not be returning to the Golden Tulip!

Room Tip: book at the Residence hotel three miles away, I've heard so many good things about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had to fly Tunis to support an IT issue. Got picked up by a taxi who got me here for 40 Tunis Dinar. It's the place of choice for business people and airline crew need to sleep over. This seems to best secured place in Tunis to stay over. The complex is huge, need 5 minute walk to my room on the same floor... As in my title, its outdated, not sharp, shower sucks. This hotel needs a makeover, that's for sure. Staff wasn't all that kind, but that could be the Ramadan. Then the good... the food. After the Ramadan they serve an Iftar buffet. Food to much to handle and such great taste I haven't got that much in my life. The other night I ordered room service hamburger. Again, only the Hilton burger could match this quality. Further the complex has several pools, tennis court as a good fitness studio. Need to stay in Tunis, not the worst place to stay.

Room Tip: Not sure, mine was not so good... see it before you take it I recon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koppd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripoli
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 days at the hotel unfortunately the hotel changed than how I used to know it before. Old furniture old tv poor room service and very rude staff unless they're tipped . Food isn't great except for the Indian restaurant which is excellent. Pool is good enough but not amazing. I would never stay there again and money value is not good .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aladinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Marsa
1.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
1.7 mi away
El Mouradi Gammarth
El Mouradi Gammarth
#4 of 12 in Gammarth
607 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Tunis
Ramada Plaza Tunis
#2 of 12 in Gammarth
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Regency Tunis Hotel
Regency Tunis Hotel
#4 of 6 in La Marsa
239 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carthage Thalasso
Carthage Thalasso
#3 of 12 in Gammarth
354 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Residence Tunis
The Residence Tunis
#1 of 12 in Gammarth
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis

Property: Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
Address: Avenue de la Promenade | BP 606, La Marsa 2078, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > La Marsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in La Marsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis hotel is located on Gammarth Bay, overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean, combining Business and Leisure.We have chosen this oasis of calm for the splendid views as well as nearby ancient sites.With its architectural style reflecting the meticulous standard, one would expect of a five-star deluxe hotel, while our employees are dedicated to your every need and expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis Hotel La Marsa
Golden Tulip La Marsa
La Marsa Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis Tunisia/La Marsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing