We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel....but it could be a lot better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Marsa
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel....but it could be a lot better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth for 4 nights as a family. We had two connecting rooms that were way too small for our liking (although nicely decorated, they are small similar to a lot of french hotels) and were also over priced. The bathroom was nice and modern, however the lighting in the mirror was horrible. We also had almost no wifi signal in the bedroom and had to sit outside of the bedroom in the hallway to use the wireless internet.

The hotel has nice facilities- gym, spa, pool andrestaurants etc etc. However, the beach was mediocre and quiet dirty.

The restaurants at the hotel were good, however, the selection was rather limited and the service was not great (the staff did not speak much english). There are not many good restaurant choices right outside of the hotel, and given that we were in Tunisia during Ramadan a lot of restaurants were closed.

Location wise, the hotel is nearby to important attractions like Sidi Bou Said and Carthage, and is about 30 min from downtown Tunis and the main souk. The airport is also about 20 min from the hotel.

Overall we had a good stay at this hotel, and from the other options I saw online it was probably the best option in the Tunis area. Although it was rather overpriced and not fully up to our standards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergiotheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First and foremost allow us to thank you for having chosen “Movenpick Gammarth” as a venue to spend a few days for your holiday.

While we note with pleasure that you seemed to enjoy your overall stay, we do apologize unreservedly for the undue inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced during your last visit.
The comments you highlighted are certainly a cause of concern on our part and we have been addressing them with the respective department heads. It provided us with the opportunity to improve our services by re-training the concerned staff which ultimately makes us a better hotel.

We hope that there will soon be another occasion for you to return to Gammarth and to The Movenpick Gammarth.

Looking forward to that pleasure I remain,

Yours sincerely,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    229
    89
    32
    29
See reviews for
91
130
34
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a little corner of paradise in Tunisia. I have staid at the Moevenpick several times, the location is lovely, the hotel very elegant, the service impeccable. Once you step in through the beautiful entrance facing the sea, you forget about everything!

Room Tip: Take the sea front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Movenpick Gammarth .
We are pleased to read you enjoyed our facilities as well as your accommodation. We invest, indeed, a lot of our energy in offering the best to our guests.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

With our best regards.

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spend there a nice Beach Vacation Week at this Moevenpick Hotel and can recommend this good middle Class Hotel to others. When we made booking, we did not expect anything special, but during the time in the Hotel, we really saw, that they doing there a very friendly Service to the Guests. also the Food - Breakfast Buffet and Dinner - was fresh and nice decorated. Swimmingpool was very clean there. We had a Standard Room and we found that it was in a good average and top clean

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FantasyBlueStar20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are thankful for your positive comment . Everyday we dedicate ourselves to deliver our guests the higher standards of service. We are happy that we achieved to offer you this "excellent" level of service. The team was grateful to your positive feedback.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

With my best regards,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed in a large room to accommodate meetings but it was not the room pictured. As a result the staff comped a meeting room. Very efficient manager. Room was nicely appointed. Lobby area was very nice. Views of the sea from the room, lobby, and restaurant. Security seemed par but not above par.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe0189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Movenpick Gammarth .
We are pleased to read you enjoyed our facilities as well as your accommodation. We invest, indeed, a lot of our energy in offering the best to our guests.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

With my best regards,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
230 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff at the Movenpick Gammarth are excellent! Especially at the breakfast buffet. I belive his name is Amin, which is the kindest young man you could imagine. Everyone greets you when you enter and leave. The gentleman at the valet told me he's been at the resort for 30 years and still smiles every day.
I will most definitely return to the Movenpick when I come back to Tunis monthly.
I'd recommend asking for a poolside or beachside bungalow, but the rooms are all good and very well appointed. Clean, modern, and we'll kept, with complimentary bottles of water.
Best tip: you MUST try the strawberry juice at the breakfast buffet- that will make you come back!

Room Tip: Bring your own alarm clock. And, you MUST try the strawberry juice at the breakfast buffet. Out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EaterX E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are thankful for your positive comment . Everyday we dedicate ourselves to deliver our guests the higher standards of service. We are happy that we achieved to offer you this "excellent" level of service. The team was grateful to your positive feedback.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

With my best regards,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Right on the beach with it's own private patch of sand and sea. The rooms open onto a beautiful garden and then to the pool and then the sea. Nice facilities, spa. Convenient but secluded. Well protected. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: The further away from the reception area and the closer to the spa the quieter the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luz2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are pleased to read we fulfilled your expectations during your last stay with us.
The team was grateful to your positive feedback related to their friendly and professional level of service as it is always rewarding to hear a positive comment.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay and to offer you our undivided attention.

With my best regards,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

although when we finally got into the hotel it was ok... but the first thing we saw was the guards at the gate shouting and fighting with someone which was quite scary... then It was like trying to break into the pentagon getting passed the front gate. As independent travellers we wanted to take a look around and get prices and information from reception... however... without a CHAMBRE number the guard on the gate was having none of it! We finally gave up and went to another hotel ''Carthage Thalasso'' a little further along the coast which was lovely.

Room Tip: Dont have any, couldn't get in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_bellandbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

It was with great frustration that we discovered the extent of your disappointment after your recent visit to us . This frustration is heightened by the fact that your review sits alongside other negative critiques that you have made and that Movenpick Gammarth was not able to make the difference in your eyes.
We would of course be delighted to have the opportunity to contact you in an attempt to convince you that this not only was a series of most unfortunate setbacks but also that this regrettable incident does not reflect the levels of hospitality and service Movenpick Gammarth aspires to.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to make amends, and ask that you please be kind enough to contact us at your convenience.

Yours sincerely,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Marsa
3.4 mi away
The Residence Tunis
The Residence Tunis
#1 of 13 in Gammarth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Villa Bleue
La Villa Bleue
#1 of 4 in Sidi Bou Said
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar el Marsa
Dar el Marsa
#2 of 7 in La Marsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
El Mouradi Gammarth
El Mouradi Gammarth
#4 of 13 in Gammarth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
5.0 mi away
Regency Tunis Hotel
Regency Tunis Hotel
#4 of 7 in La Marsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis

Property: Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
Address: Avenue Taieb Mhiri BP 36, La Marsa 2078, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > La Marsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Marsa
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Marsa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Marsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis Tunisia/La Marsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing