We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good, considering!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in La Marsa
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pretty good, considering!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a one night business trip. Friendly service in the restaurants, quick and courteous check-in. Bedroom was 4* plus, clean, new or recently refurbished. Lobby was spacious, modern, plenty of marble, attentive service;
What pleased me most was that hotel is sold as 4-5 star and that is what i got (you know how it goes sometimes).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DickieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are thankful for your positive comment . Everyday we dedicate ourselves to deliver our guests the higher standards of service. We are happy that we achieved to offer you this "excellent" level of service. The team was grateful to your positive feedback.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

With my best regards,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    259
    99
    37
    31
See reviews for
107
149
40
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I took my family here and to the Sinbad hotel in Hammamet. Very different experiences despite similar budgets. Where the Sinbad looks a bit dated, the Movenpick has benefited from a makeover.

However there was a big disconnect between the quality of the hotel and the level of service. If this is a Swiss hotel, it must be the Swiss Germans who ran training as the staff seems hell bent on a rules based approach. No one seems to know the adage of the customer is always right. Silly things like refusing to serve food on the terrace (only drinks). The Sinbad has a better beach and much friendlier staff. If on holiday I would (and shall) go there instead.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First and foremost allow us to thank you for having chosen “Movenpick Gammarth” as a venue to spend a few days for your holiday.
While we note with pleasure that you seemed to enjoy your overall stay, we do apologize unreservedly for the undue inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced during your last visit.
The comments you highlighted are certainly a cause of concern on our part and we have been addressing them with the respective department heads. It provided us with the opportunity to improve our services by re-training the concerned staff which ultimately makes us a better hotel.

We hope that there will soon be another occasion for you to return to Gammarth and to The Movenpick Gammarth.
Looking forward to that pleasure I remain,

Yours sincerely,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is now a Mövenpick!
 
Rooms: very nice and quiet with free wifi which worked really well - short download times and could even be used at the pool.
 
Pool and beach clean with towels, umbrellas and chairs provided free of charge
 
Restaurants: good quality food, liked the Moroccan restaurant. At breakfast I only missed natural yoghurt. The price for the breakfast was reasonable (around 12 Euro).
 
Spa was closed during my visit - but prices for the treatment looked expensive.

Hallways were not air-conditioned which was a. bit uncomfortable in August.
 
VIP tranfer from the airport: far too expensive for the service offered, especially as we were 3 persons and all had to pay the full price (TD 115 - 59 Euro).
 
 

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Gundwane95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are thankful for your positive comment . Everyday we dedicate ourselves to deliver our guests the higher standards of service. We are happy that we achieved to offer you this "excellent" level of service. The team was grateful to your positive feedback.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

With my best regards,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It has a great location, great view, good facilities and acceptable service. It is my second stay and never had a problem. The service is not bad at all comparing to the local service standards but it should be better comparing to the price. As the conclusion, I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muhtarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire et nous sommes enchantés d’apprendre que vous avez apprécié votre séjour à Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis . Je tenais à vous remercier d’avoir pris le temps de nous transmettre vos impressions.
Dans l’attente du plaisir de vous accueillir prochainement , je vous prie d’agréer, mes sincères salutations.

Cordialement .

Mr Wissem Arfa
Directeur Commercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

what a fuss for nothing! Such a beautiful location and a nice place but with low quality commodities...even the reception's air conditionning is out of order. I was there two weeks ago for a professional dinner at their restaurant by the pool, the food was satisfying, but the service was of course so slow that I thought we'd better go pick up the meals by ourselves. I don't think that the expensive prices were worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elijah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest ,
We were deeply disappointed to have taken note that our restaurant did not live up to your expectations during your recent stay.
We do profusely apologise for any shortfall in service that you experienced. By no means are the points you highlighted in your comments acceptable.
Your constructive criticism provides us with the opportunity to improve our services by re-training the concerned staff to be more aware of their actions and of any perceptions that may be forthcoming which ultimately make us a better hotel and while we cannot offer any excuse for the undue inconvenience that this has caused you, we do seek your kind indulgence on this very atypical occasion.

We certainly hope that this experience has not marred your overall perception of our hotel and certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide the inherent quality of food and beverage that is synonymous with our hotel.

We look forward to being of service again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Mr Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Overall my experience was very positive. My room was spacious and well appointed. It was very clean and it seems that all of the rooms have a beautiful view. Here are all the negatives but keep reading: My room was far too warm. Most days it was 80 degrees and the coolest it ever got was 77.5. Far too warm to sleep comfortably especially considering the heavy bedding. My coworkers experienced the same. Most of the time the common areas were also very warm. It was unfortunate that the pool closed at 1900 so I never got to enjoy it. The food was good but very, very expensive by local standards. It was also difficult to obtain service in the bar and restaurant. I never knew if it was because I tried to get their attention or didn't try to get their attention. It was extremely difficult to get the front desk to answer the phone after hours. One night I was unable to get a wakeup call because they never answered. But all things considered, the view, the beach, the breeze, the decor, the location, the ambience, were excellent and I did get the opinion that the staff were very friendly and did try to accommodate. This is my second hotel stay in Tunisia (I stayed at the Regency in January, also nice but very remote) and I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelers003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for nearly two weeks and the setting and hotel facilities are good. One piece of practical advice is that taxi meters vary - some go much faster than others. We found that you don't get a fast meter if you indicate the price you are expecting before you set off. Local recommended restaurants include Le Cap, which was very good in all respects.

On to the hotel, the service is not just terrible, but unsafe and dishonest.

The stay started badly, hotel taxi at the airport 20 mins late, and clearly disappointed not to be tipped. On arrival we were provided with a twin room (not double), which smelt faintly of drains.

More importantly, the balcony was accessible from the outside and the lock on the balcony door did not work. Normally this is not the end of the world but with a 1 year old sleeping in the room you really want to know the room is secure.

These issues did not give the hotel staff much concern, and nothing was done that evening. The next day we did insist on moving and were presented with a smaller room. The balcony had no railings and a 5ft drop. Not really suitable for a 1yr old either!

We went back to a room next door to our original. No smell and a door that locked. Just had to put up with the twin beds.

The next 12 days were very enjoyable. Service is hit and miss, but some of the staff really went out of their way to look after us and our young son. The ruins are interesting, La Marsa is within walking distance and the restaurants highly rated on Tripadvisor are generally very good. Taxis are good value as long as you do not have one with a quicker meter. Sidi bou Said is also beautiful to wander around, have lunch or dinner. Our 12 days were very enjoyable and there is enough to keep you interested.

Back to the hotel, upon checkout came the real demonstration of bad service. A large bill accrued over the 12 days contained a few errors. £20 worth of nuts from the minibar on the night of our arrival for example (my wife is allergic to nuts).

These were all removed except one. Removing 4 beers purchased at the pool bar seemed to require the bar manager to attend. Why I, my wife and a 1yr old would want to buy 4 beers at once is beyond me, so this was obviously an error. In addition, there was of course no signed slip to be found with the rest of the pile.

When the bar manager did eventually arrive there was much debate. The two staff then went away and returned with a slip for the beers, apparently "from the safe". They then switched to arabic to discuss my wife's dishonesty, unaware that she understood.

Most concerning of all was of course that the slip did not have my signature, but a copy. The beers were then removed, but this episode had taken almost an hour.

I have since highlighted all of these points, plus the names of the excellent staff, to Moevenpick HQ. Unfortunately I have merely received an email response from the hotel director who was forwarded my note for comment, which did not even recognise the praise for some staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brindlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First and foremost allow us to thank you for having chosen Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis as a venue to spend a few days for your holiday.

While we note with pleasure that you seemed to enjoy your overall stay, we do apologize unreservedly for the undue inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced during your last visit.
The comments you highlighted are certainly a cause of concern on our part and we have been addressing them with the respective department heads. It provided us with the opportunity to improve our services by re-training the concerned staff which ultimately makes us a better hotel.

We hope that there will soon be another occasion for you to return to Gammarth and to Movenpick Gammarth .

Looking forward to that pleasure I remain,

Yours sincerely,

Mr Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Marsa
3.4 mi away
The Residence Tunis
The Residence Tunis
#1 of 12 in Gammarth
637 reviews
9.5 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 54 in Tunis
325 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 54 in Tunis
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dar el Marsa
Dar el Marsa
#2 of 6 in La Marsa
142 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Villa Bleue
La Villa Bleue
#1 of 4 in Sidi Bou Said
166 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Tunis
Ramada Plaza Tunis
#2 of 12 in Gammarth
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis

Property: Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
Address: Avenue Taieb Mhiri BP 36, La Marsa 2078, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > La Marsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in La Marsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis Tunisia/La Marsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing