We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vincci Safira Palms
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveler rating
266
245
108
60
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
245
108
60
44
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 723 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were on holliday in this hotel and everything is great.
Everyone works hard to give you a great vacation.
To bad that some people have to talk bad about some annimators while this is not true. They are verry professional and don't drink. The show's are also verry nice and funny. For everyone who wants to go there. Don't be afraid, you will have a nice vacation. By the way, fun you have to make by yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank myriam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Negatives: 2 large cockroaches in 2 separate room on 2 different floors = a problem! The food in the dining room is all uncovered and for some unintelligible reason the dining room doors are left wide open, consequently the food & crockery have flies all over them!! On 2 occasions I saw a woman 'hygienist' taking thermometer readings where food had flies on it, I suggested that the doors be closed to the General Manager & the following morning they were but at lunchtime they were open again. Both my Mother & I had stomach upsets. The food choice was repetitive, poor quality (apart from the 36 hours the 'big' bosses were at the hotel), if you have an infant the choice is virtually nil & the highchairs are ancient, food is luke warm & greasy.
The mini disco is at 8.30pm? Even the entertainment team acknowledged that this was too late for smaller children & all the songs are in French. The pianist in the lobby area sings in French too.
The rooms are very dated & the wiring probably the worst I've ever seen, the towels have a yellowish tinge & are threadbare. The corridors are dingy, the carpet stained, again threadbare & in parts taped over.
A waiter (who's name we were unable to obtain) was very rude & obnoxious towards my Mother when she asked what time the restaurant closed one lunchtime. The information sheet said 2.30pm but the staff started to take the food away at 1.55!!!
Hardly anyone speaks English & even with the French I remembered from years ago I got the feeling we were 3rd class (steerage).
There is an area near the kids club which has turtles, ducks & pigeons which are all kept in appalling conditions, the water disgusting (if they have any) & the food mouldy. Hardly a sight for youngsters or anyone else that cares about animals.
There were a couple of waiters in the dining room who did try very hard to be accommodating (a decent tip works wonders) but the pool bar staff need a shake up & refused to serve me as I didn't have an All Inclusive band on, we hadn't be given bands when we arrived late Saturday night & had no trouble until the Monday afternoon when it was made crystal clear by the pool bar staff "no bands no drinks". Sorry our telepathy failed us!!!
The hotel does have an indoor pool which is probably , along with a new outdoor pool, is how this pig sty got its 4* status. The indoor pool however does not have a hand rail into it so if you aren't very mobile you will have problems with the steps.
The sunbeds are as old as the rooms & the carpets & other fixtures & fittings.
Now a note for Thomas Cook passengers: Nouvelair are on a par with Easyjet, except the latter speak English & accept that the English are paid in UK Sterling not Euro's. If you pay for drinks/duty free your change will be in Euro's & it's worked out £1 = 1 Euro. 1 cabin crew demanded we get off the plane to get to the bus on the Tarmac, not an easy task with a 2 year old who is fast asleep, a lady with mobility problems & 3 pieces of hand luggage. On the way home the buggy wasn't taken away until we'd gone down 5 flights of stairs (no lift option) on a bus & across the Tarmac.
The Thomas Cook representative Rachid...Who are you? I came twice to see you, well within the allotted time & you had gone! 12/12.30pm Tues & Thurs...gone by 12.20?? Also, we didn't attended the Welcome Meeting as we had not received information as to when it was. So the Sorry you didn't get chance to attend memo was pointless.
I'd like to wish the General Manager all the luck in the world at trying to turn this hotel around, he will certainly have his work cut out. The head barman told us 'he has tried to make many changes but the staff don't like it & we like to do things our way' well that's why I'd No Way, Never, Not on your life suggest this place to anyone.
I apologise if this review has been rather long winded but if you are considering this hotel then just go & have a lie down & take a deep breath & find somewhere else. Preferably where the British are welcome.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Annette10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Vincci Safira Palms, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing our IBEROSTAR Safira Palms hotel for your holiday. We regret profoundly the failure to meet your expectations, and we are grateful that you shared your experience, as this will guide us to adapt our services to achieve maximum customer satisfaction.

First of all, for IBEROSTAR thorough cleaning is an absolute must and we want to apologize for not fulfilling your expectations. We have protocols and procedures to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness. For future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our reception in case you find any shortage as to us it is of prime importance to offer total confidence in this area, we will be enchanted to adjust any situation which is not in accordance with our established standards; especially when traveling with young children we understand that this is an absolute must to be able to enjoy carefree of a well-deserved holiday.
Further we would like to point out that despite the fact that our hotel was built a few years ago, we do our utmost to take good care of it, maintaining all of the installations the best we can. Even so we took good note of your comments and we commit to revise if we can renovate some of the areas.

In addition, we are sorry to hear that you weren’t able to enjoy the efforts of our gastronomy team as we do our best to offer our guests the opportunity to enjoy the rich and traditional recipes from Tunisia in several of our restaurants which are run by chefs of great recognition who only use products of prime quality. Unfortunately, it is not uncommon that European tourists need a while of adaptation after the sudden change in their diet and water consume.

Moreover, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the exceptional difficulties with the cockroaches. However, we would like to inform you that we do have in place an established infestation treatment plan. Given the vast expanse of gardens which provides our guests with a huge internal open space and the climatology of Tunisia, the presence of insects is unavoidable. In the punctual event of localizing an infestation in a room, our housekeeping department undertakes an in-depth cleaning in conjunction with an adequate treatment to minimalize the inconvenience.

Finally, we understand that for you Tunisia might not be the best location for your dream holiday. Therefore we would like to point out that we have a wide range of hotels and destinations at disposal and for coming occasions, we would like to offer you a very personal booking guidance through our call center to make sure you book the kind of hotel that fulfills all your wishes and desires. We also invite you to visit our web page as it can orient you when planning your next holiday.
Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I travelled out to this property through the industry and to write a report at the end of my stay to share with UK travel agents.
From the minute we arrived at the airport in Djerba till the end of our stay, we had a great time.
We checked in at around 0100am and the hotel was dead to the world. We got taken to our room which was extremely large and spacious with fruit and water provided. Lovely balcony and view. Aircon included, bath and shower.
I do agree that the language barrier is quite difficult and mainly geared towards the French customers, but that doesn't mean its an issue! The service was amazing and all of the staff were friendly and smiling. The Manager Tarek was a very great asset to the team.
The pool area is lovely, clean and spacious.
The beach isn't the best so don't go there if you are a beach lover!

Food was a good variety each night. I am a rubbish eater so don't try new things but my partner ate like a King for the week. Food is similar to an Egyptian / Morrocan hotel. Service was great.

Entertainment was average. It was the start of the season and no body was interested in joining in the with the activities. The staff are all friendly.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you want a quiet poolside book reading holiday. There is nothing out of the resort at all! Very very quiet. Would recommend for couples and singles not families. Most people go back to their room around 11pm.
Good value and ideal for eating, drinking and tanning.

Room Tip: request a pool view room higher floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bbbubblehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I returned from this hotel on Saturday 18th of May after a week with my two daughters and infant granddaughter.We arrived at 1am by taxi reception staff friendly but poor English,shown to our family room which we paid Thomas Cook an extra £170 for my daughter sat on the bed to undress the baby and a very large cockroach was at the side of the bed ,called reception and they caught it and removed it.We had requested a ground floor but were on the second ,so the next morning we asked to be moved ,the room we were shown just had one double bed ,so we paid another £100 and were upgraded to a junior suite on the first floor with a nice view ,the other overlooked the kitchens .That night returned to the room and another large cockroach in the bathroom again which they removed after my daughter sprayed it .The food for the first couple of days was only aired unless they were cooking fresh ,we struggled to get the baby food because most was cooked in garlic she had chips and turkey roll and bread most days ,i asked five times for a banana and got melon ,no children's section ,eventually a manager got me a banana .The waiters spoke little or no English they fussed round the French and German on several occasions i had to approach them to serve us drinks ,we found two that were very nice and did look after us .The pool bar staff didn't even understand when asked for water and very rude served the french and ignored us .The inside bar staff did get better as the week went on but still very poor English.The entertainment team were the best ,friendly and did speak better English,the mini disco started at 8-30pm which is very late for small children and the room it's held in was dirty and all the music was in french.The Thomas cook rep visited twice each time we went to see him he had gone early .the hotel grounds are lovely but the corridor carpets are dirty and frayed >The hotel manager tried his best for us he was Spanish so did speak good English,this is a 300 roomed hotel with only a dozen British guests in ,not geared up for us Thomas Cook need to sort it out ,it was my third visit to Djerba will go back but never here till it is more British friendly .The shop in hotel priced everything in euro's and the Nouvelle air crew both ways unhelpful and rude ,all goods on plane priced in euro's ,after take off on the way home they let disabled folks and children sit in legroom exit seats and for landing ,there were bags on seats, blinds down ,their safety was appalling ,we had tried to buy these seat and was refused at check in because we had an infant .Plus this hotel is in the middle of nowhere so couldn't even walk out to shop .

Room Tip: upgrade to a junior suite.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Vincci Safira Palms, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we are glad for the time and effort you spent writing a review on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Safira Palms hotel as this will help us to improve our day by say services in order to ensure nice holiday experiences to all our guests.
We are sorry to hear that you didn’t feel well cared for by our waiters and bar staff as it is one of our most important features that they have a good contact to our guests. Therefore all of them are chosen according to a specific profile and are given appropriate training. This is why we can confirm that they aim to provide a personalized service, regardless of the origin of our guests, nevertheless we will pass on your comment to our head of departments in order to revise and improve on this specific matter.
Please receive our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the presence of some cockroaches in the room. We do our utmost to prevent this and usually can. Nevertheless sometimes due to the green areas and the climatology of Tunisia the eventual presence of insects is unavoidable. In the event of localizing an infestation in a room, our housekeeping department undertakes an in-depth cleaning in conjunction with an adequate treatment to minimalize the inconvenience and until the problem is not completely solved the room stays in quarantine.
On the other hand we are satisfied to read that our animation team did cheer up your holidays with us and that you felt well cared after by our friendly reception team.
Finally, for any upcoming holiday planning with IBEROSTAR, we suggest that you contact directly our call center where we can offer a personalized booking guidance to ensure that you make a reservation for a destination, hotel type and accommodation in accordance to your needs and wishes for us to deliver an excellent holiday experience for all the members of your family.
We hope that your stay was as pleasant as it could possibly be and to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotels worldwide.
Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

As a professional travel agent and group planner, I have the following remarks :
- it was obvious that the hotel was still in its opening weeks of the season. Not everything was up & running yet (only buffet restaurant open for example), not that smooth yet, staff were getting everything ready from winter (like the watersport equipment) etc.
- really liked the layout of the hotel. Although not enormous, it gives the impression of openess and space
- We knew in advance that the hotel is very isolated. Nothing around it.
- Location of the beach right in front of the hotel is a big plus. The beach is not the nicest, but still OK. Lot of rocks so not the best swimming place either, but we enjoyed it anyway. Beach chairs & parasols availble for free.
- Outside pools were quite nice but still very cold. The heated inside pool was a big plus.
- In general : staff were friendly
- In and around the hotel, people always approach you to sell tours, spa treatments, camel rides etc. but still in a polite and not-intrusive way, for us.
- Nice and numeous animation staff
- great miniclub team & good facility. Backyard playground outdated though.
- enough sports and other activities throughout the day
- food was ok (only buffet), but not enough variation
- Not all restaurant waiters were friendly. They were more friendly to the French and Tunisian people that joked around with them. Several times they didn't take away plates quickly enough.
- Not enough baby chairs in the restaurant
- Quite a lot of drinks were not included in the all-inclusive package
- all inclusive cocktails were not very good. Little alcohol to save costs.
- We had a family room which was nice and spacious. Limited TV channels at the TV. No flatscreen TV. We stayed at the central building.
- Due to the atrium-style lobby there was a lot of noise at night (shows etc.), which was a drawback for the kids to sleep.
- opening times of services like the poolbar, the towel place etc. were a bit too limited. Could be earlier than 10 AM, and later than 5 pm.
- Travelling with 2 young kids (2 & 4), it would have been better to have the minidisco at 7h30 or 8h00 pm, instead of 8h30

In general we had a good time with the kids playing at the beach, around the icecold outdoor swimming pools or at the indoor swimming pool, and enjoying the warm weather - which was the purpose!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Vincci Safira Palms, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to express our gratitude for selecting our IBEROSTAR Safira Palms hotel for your family holiday’s as well as for the time you spent writing a detailed review on your stay as through it we can know where to improve in our daily services in order to deliver unforgettable vacation memories to all our guests.
We are sorry to read that you found that not all waiters were friendly with you but more with Tunisian and French customers, we can only imagine that it may be due to a language barrier making them feel more confident speaking French than English, nevertheless we will pass on your comment to our Maître in order to revise and improve on this point, on the other hand we are glad to see that you highlighted the friendliness of our staff in general meaning that they all do their best to make our guests feel welcome and well cared after regardless of their nationality.
Further we took good note of your comment related to the baby chairs and will do our utmost to arrange more of them by the restaurant.
We are glad to hear that you felt comfortable in the room we accommodated you in and that all in all you and your family had a good time whilst staying among us.
Once again, many thanks for your comments that we will take into consideration to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and hope to may serve you again in the near future in our hotels worldwide.
Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews