We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly hotel”
Review of Marina Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Palace
Ranked #101 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

When I first read the reviews on here I felt nervous. I did not know what to expect. First impressions made me feel even more nervous, when we arrived we were given a room which was not over looking the pool like we had booked, however after a bit of grunting from the receptionist we were given the room we had booked.

The room was very big and clean with plenty of wardrope space, a large bath with shower fitting fresh sheets and a TV (which only had 1 english channel but who watches TV on holiday). We had a ground floor room which opened out onto a small terrace which had 2 chairs and a table. The room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were brought.

Another thing that I was nervous about was the food, people that have reviewed this hotel in the past have said theres not enough choice, they could not of been any more wrong.
The meals were buffet style. For breakfast you had a choice of cereals, fruits, toast, bread, eggs, beef sausage, crepes ands much more.
Evening meal usually concisded of a few meats, chicken, fish, beef and turkey. Then you had loads of things to go with it, veg, potatoes, rices, cous. The salads were well presented and tasted amazing. The you had the deserts which were gorgous.

The pool area was very clean with plenty of sun beds, the waiters came round at regular intervals and offered to get drinks and did NOT expect a tip unlike most places in Tunisia.

The poolside barbarque made excellent food at cheap prices, i recommend the grilled chicken which was amazing.

All the waiters and bar staff were extremly friendly and seemed keen to speak to you and learn more english.

I would recommend this hotel for anybody,

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    83
    72
    36
    69
See reviews for
89
96
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southport
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

nice hotel staff very helpfull super pool area rooms were of good size only down side not mutch to at night in hotel few bars near by but overall very quite

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc1964Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We got a good value package from Thomas Cook, around 250 each including flights and half board. This was a "shoulder season" trip ie. just before the main holiday season.
We had a room with a little balcony, pool view, it was nice. There were the odd tiny issues with the room that would be meat and drink to a "complainer", they had all been caused by obese and/or idiotic previous guests and were not a problem for us, and they were all found and fixed without us having to point them out. Apart from these the room was clean, and while not a design inspiration, fully functional with a good bathroom/shower and beds that didn't give me any more trouble with my back than I already have. Maybe too firm for some but I far prefer firm to the "collapsing" type. There was an air-con / heating switch in the room that we had no occasion to use. The hair dryer in the bathroom was a bit underpowered for my partner's liking, though. Maybe bring your own hair dryer if this is important to you.
The service at the hotel was superb. The staff are friendly and charming. Fellas, you might be reminded about being a gentleman to your partner with all the smartly turned-out and attentive waiters around. Rest assured, though, they stay well within the bounds of friendliness and decency and I say this with a smile : ) The hotel staff and Tunisians in general will be able to converse in English, but if you want to go beyond the basic necessities and niceties, some knowledge of French will come in useful.
Our only issues really were with inconsiderate guests, including the Flemish teenagers in the room above calling our room by mistake, smoking shisha and "romancing". The sound of the bubbles and yelps of "romance" really travels through the floor! You will also be able to tell how greedy someone is by how many spoonfuls of strawberries (over 2) they pile onto their plate at dinner.
This brings us to food. For the price we paid, we have no complaints whatever about the choice or quality of the food at breakfast and dinner. It was nice, often interesting and even delicious, and we enjoyed it! Try the local specialities like "ojji" and "brik" with an open mind, and and don't underestimate what they can do with turkey!
We had a half-board trip so for lunch you can choose the hotel or outside. If you're near the Marina, "le Canari" in the row of restaurants there is our favourite place, with a great range of ice-creams, shakes etc.
When the weather is good it's very easy to have a good time. Just relax by the pool, or go to the beach. Yasmine / Hammamet has most of the fairly standard resortish options like fun parks and _lots_ of shopping opportunities, especially for those interested in nick-nacks, toy camels (or "versions" of designer bags, if that's your, er, bag). The only drawbacks really are the hassle that you can get while out (especially women), and the petty crime that is bound to occur to a proportion of rich, waddling tourists in a very poor country. Both us and the couple we made friends with, were robbed. So worth being extremely vigilant and remembering that you will be an obvious target.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wosisface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

read previous reviews before we went on holiday and was aware of negative comments. Found the hotel decor freshly painted, room spacious, auxhillary, bar, catering, porter, reception, and bar staff extremely mannerly and respectful to customers...this is a hotel i would certainly have no hesitation in going back to.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desmonandviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2010

This place is in dire need of bringing into the 21st century. Visiting a good other hotels in the area all claiming to be 4 star, ours was indeed the worse. No nice comforts, bedding stained, holes in the sheets. Carpet in our bedroom nasty, nasty. Food was OK, nice salads, but the meat was of poor quality. Staff however friendly. Pool area was nice and well maintained, pool needs to be heated. Forget the spa, its like have a massage in hospital. Think we were the only couple that didn't smoke, dinning room is split, so you may have to enhale...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hammamet hotels

wisbech
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

great staff,nothing to much trouble,very friendly,bed linen changed twice a week,towels every day,very clean hotel.great hotel for everybody.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sibbo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Good hotel, good service, very good food, the rooms renovated. Reasonable rates, wonderfull spa and indoor swuiming pool. The hotel is located in the heart of yasmine hammamet wich is an integrated resort .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammamet
0.1 mi away
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
#41 of 117 in Hammamet
1,007 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
#45 of 117 in Hammamet
434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#28 of 117 in Hammamet
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden Yasmine Hotel & SPA
Eden Yasmine Hotel & SPA
#1 of 2 in Yasmine Hammamet
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Green Golf
Hotel Green Golf
#66 of 117 in Hammamet
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yasmine Beach Resort
Yasmine Beach Resort
#94 of 117 in Hammamet
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Palace

Property: Marina Palace
Address: Rue la Marina | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#64 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Palace Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing