We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel & Facilities”
Review of Hotel Diar Lemdina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Ranked #10 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2009

What a two week stay, rooms are massive, hotel staff very friendly, eveywhere is exceptionally clean and it was such a brilliant two weeks holiday. Would definitely recommend it to anyone, young or old. Private beach is only across the road, 5 minute walk. Restaurants are all great, except on, its a fast foot restaurant (forgot the name) but they sell something called a Big Mac - we were all sick after. The best rstaurant is the one near the elephant statues run by a french lady and her italian husband, the steaks were out of this world and it is so cheap to out in Tunisia. Even on this complex, 6 of us had fillet steaks, beers, cokes, 2 bottles wine, prawn cocktail starters (i know, so english!), and 3 puddings, whole bill came to just under £50 FOR THE LOT. Weather was also lovely. Supermarket is a bit of a walk off site but get a cab for £1 (not worth the walk in the heat for a quid) or go the main road, and go left, follow it all the way to a roundabout and the supermarket is across the road. Any questions, i dont mind answering for you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCChap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 10 days in September 2009 in Hammamet ALL INCLUSIVE, hotel was lovely although some reviews said it was 5* and they actually rated themselves as a 4*. Apparently every year they get assessed as to what the next years rating is going to be.

The food was quite good (buffet style), an all inclusive holiday wherever you go is repetitive so don't let reviews put you off. The food was definately rated a 3*. In the afternoon they do lovely pizza's but when you go in to the restaurant it looks closed, make sure you walk right in and find a waiter. As always if you tip well the service will be good in these type of Countries. THERE IS NO POOL BAR but the bar is just inside the main door.

We did not enjoy Hammament at all because it is a purposely built area for tourists. All hotels and that was it. Nothing to do whatsoever and with no entertainment in the evening in the hotel made it harder (and everyone was complaining not just us). If you like the beach and pool and to do nothing all holiday then this is the place for you.

The beach is about a 10 minute walk, there are no toilets and you have to pay for your drinks at the bar on the beach not part of all inclusive.

We don't like sitting by the pool and beach all day long so we actually walked inland and found the real Tunisia culture where they all lived and got friendly with a few families. They invited us back for dinner etc on other days.

We did a 2 day 1 night Sahara Trip which was amazing and only cost £80 each and it took in 80% of Tunisia's country. The hotel was in Douz but was only 3*. Went to El Jem (Roman Coliseum), Matmata (where Star Wars was filmed), Douz - the edge of the Sahara (camel riding), Jeep ride over the Sand Dunes, Sunrise at the Salt Lakes of Chott El Djerid, Walked through the gorgeous gorge of Tamaza, The Oasis, Gafsa and Le Grande Mosque at Kaironuan, the holiest city in Africa. Take lots of change for tipping.

A trip to Tunis wasn't much to be desired, The Capital and another Medina shopping.

SUMMARY
We did have a good time because we ended up doing a lot of trips although defeating the object of all inclusive lol. Wouldn't go back to Hammamet again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We flew into Tunis Carthage Airport at about 5pm, we did not pre-book our transfer so we had to get a cab to our hotel. This was an eye opener. We were approached by a random guy offering to take us for 200 Dinars (approx £100). We told him we ouwld find someone else ourselves, he loitered around us gradually bringing his fare down to 70 Dinars (approx £35) which was more reasonable and acceptable. Our ride to the hotel took us about 45 minutes. The countryside is nice, the mountains are lovely...they have many olive, orange and grapes vines in the countryside. These are their main crops.

Anyway, got to the hotel apartments, we checked in very quickly and were allocated a room that was accessable up one flight of stairs, not good!! Having two small children this was not fun lugging them and the pushchair up the stairs. We spoke to the concierge and was told not to worry, due to the hotel being very busy because of an international medical conference, we were requested to spend the first night in the room then the following day we would be given a more adequate room, and guess what, they upgraded us to a bigger suite at no extra cost. FAB!!! Thanks Olfa, she is great, very efficient and knows everything.

The food is good. Breakfast is great, fresh bread and rolls, any type of egg made to your standards, pancakes galore, lovely tunisian dishes, fresh pastries, fruits, yogurts cereals, jams and hot beverages. Lunch and dinner were good. We were Half Board but, this was sufficient for us. Dinner was amazing, fresh;y cooked pastas and pizzas in front of your eyes, fresh meats grilled on the hot plates, fresh naans baked for you, two soups per day, literally 30 dishes cooked new everyday and fresh potato chips, hmmmmm Put it this way, even the fussiest of people, including my husband ;o) would not go hungry. The deserts are plenty, four different ice cream flavours, 3 types of fruit per day, about 20 different cakes and mini pastries...what more could you ask for!?

The hotel is more like mini apartments surrounding the famous medina. I would say there are about 500 altogether, maybe more. Its a huge complex. The rooms ae spacious, clean and have everything you need, a tv, hairdryer, air con, fridge, microwave, cooker, all cutlery you will need from plates, cups, glasses, pots and pans, cutlery, wine bottle opener, knives, chopping boards etc etc. You get mineral water bottles from the cleaners...they replenish the toiletries daily and the towels. Very good cleaners I must add.

The medina was like a battle field, ha ha ha but, its understandable...these guys only ave tourists to make a living. They start are ridiculous prices like 5 times the price then evetually make their way down to a more realistic offer. We found a shop near Carthage Land which was a fixed price shop, go there, its more organised and the stuff is good.

The beach was amazing, so tranquil and clean, very soft sand as well...you get sellers here as well but, a firm no thanks is all thats needed for them to move on. You can go the Carthage Land, this is like a mini theme park. Great for a day out. If you buy the full ticket which is 22 Dinars (£11 approx) you get to go into the Carthage Land, the Barbarross, which is a slow water ride showing you the history of Tunisia, the Odyssy light show, again a 15 minute video shown in a theatre about the History of Tunisia, which was nice...then you get free entry to the 1001 nights which is their version of a cheap Madame Tussauds, hahahahahaha, nice again....you also get to go into Ali Baba Land which is for the kids....great again. A climbing frame heaven for the kids. Must see them all.

You can do all water sports o nt he beach, its not that expensive either. I paraglided for £15, bargain...you can jet ski, banana boat, donut, etc etc....

You could go to Hammemet but, its much older than Yasmine...loads of little medina and old markets, loads of restaurants but, all you get in Tunisia is pizzas, pastas, kebabs, chips, mezze, french bread and all meats. There are many pubs and resturants around to eat in. We found Yasmine much nicer.

Finally there is a bouncy castle land....there are about 15 different castle for kids to play on, there is a trampoline also, a pony ride, a place to eat too...you can buy a booklet of tickets for 20 Dinars (approx £10) but you get 25 tickets...great value. Most castles ranged from a ticket to 3 tickets to ride on...we were 10 days and with two children we still had 6 left.

I forgot to give the spa ladies a shout out....very good treatments and they don't cost the earth...go for it!

We would go back, maybe only for 5 -7 days though. We had a great family holiday and spent quality time together. We booked out hotel and flights separately. We saved over £500 this way...Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Stayed at the Diar Lemdina for a week. Being vegetarians and on a Half Board basis, we werent catered for as we had expected. Staff did not speak English well and they expected tips for every meal that you went for at the restaurant. If no tip was offered, then they wouldn't treat you well.

Lemdina have their own section of the beach 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. The beach is beautiful and would suggest anyone going to Tunisia to go around June / July as the tides come in towards the sand in later months. The weather was awesome and the staff at the restaurant by the beach were very friendly. You do feel that if they treat you well then they do deserve a tip.

In Summary
Beach: Thumbs Up
Hotel: Thumbs Down
Hotel Staff: Thumbs Down
Hotel Pool: Thumbs Down
Bar Staff at the Beach: Thumbs Up.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masterp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

On arriving at the hotel our 4 year old daughter said "Are we staying at a castle?" The hotel from the outside was impressive.
We were greeted with cool refreshments and taken to our room quickly.
The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. It had a small kitchnette with most things you would need for self catering, however no tea towel.
There was a separate bedroom and 2 bathrooms. 2 sofa beds were in the lounge. You could get another kind of room on 2 levels for the same rate but with 2 small children our room suited us perfectly.
The hotel is conveniently situated in the Medina. There is a small supermarket nearby where you can get basics, but we found a larger supermarket which is a 5 min ride in a taxi that costs 2 dinars where you can get basically anything you need.
The beach is a 5 minute walk and is well worth a visit. The sands are lovely, clean and the sea warm.
Carthage Land is worth a visit, its no Alton Towers but the kids really enjoyed it. There's also an indoor play area - Ali Babba which is great to get the kids out of the heat of the day.
A visit to the local Medina is a must, but be prepared for the locals! We found that if you went into their shop then after that they left you alone.
The thing that made our holiday was the staff in the hotel. They could not do enough for us and the children. Nothing was too much trouble. By the end of the first week our 2 were running up to them for a cuddle. We felt that we had made friends therer. We enjoyed our holiday so much we are going to book at the same place next year!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Just came back from a week holiday (4th September) with my boyfriend and the blues has kicked in already.
A little about us- We both come from London and are in our late 20s.

We were very pleased with our apartment. It was very spacious and clean, considering the price we paid, we couldn’t have asked for more. (well little issues - the fridge stopped working when you took the key out to go out, the electricity stopped, we needed a broom as I kept dropping glass, tut tut)

The staff, especially the maids were friendly, greeting you with a genuine smile each morning. The hotel staff were also attentive, as were the staff at reception.

Be prepared to take some extra money to put aside for tipping, 1-2 dinars is fine.

The breakfast was very good- We just booked bed and breakfast, there was a wide selection to choose from such as fruits, savoury and sweets, all very tasty. As I don’t eat pork, I didn’t have to worry about what I was eating.

They brought a cake up to our apartment for my boyfriends birthday which was totally unexpected, it was a wonderful surprise.

Each morning the maids decorated our beds with petals and made hearts and birds out of bath towels, it put a huge smile on our face and added to the romance.

The medina wasn’t that bad, we politely resisted there advances and continued walking. Try not to get into conversation too much, or you’ll be dragged into a shop, unless you like to haggle, which I don’t.

We found that it was cheaper to book excursions at the Marina, rather than through our holiday rep or the hotel (our hotel rep Lyndsey had great knowledge about Tunisia).
We booked excursion everyday, so we were pretty busy. The Sahara trip was 170 dinas (about £85) it was extremely tiring as it involved lots of stops, but you got to learn so much about the history of Tunisia (wear trainers). The quad bike was my faviourite, my boyfriend went snorkelling but whilst I soaked up the sun rays. There were however, no fish, just old ruins, a ship wreck.

The pirate boat ride was very entertaining, but another couple we spoke to had a bad experience, but they however stayed in Sousse. Our ship was called the Yasmine, and the main entertainer was hilarious.

TIPS: get some coins, for tipping, as it is expected in my experience, and helps to avoid awkward situations.
Get to know the currency well as some will try to swindle you, with the cents and dinars.
Haggle – the horse and cart, should be negotiated, we foolishly paid 35 dinars whilst another couple paid 10dinars

The English pub, the Vue (I think is called) was good for a night out, they also had karaoke, Freestlye restaurant was a good place to eat,

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J81_J82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We had a last minute family holiday in August, 3 adults and 2 children. The accommodation was spacious, light, and nicely furnished. All rooms are around the pool which was never too busy. The kitchen is a fridge, microwave which grills slowly and 2 rings, but okay if you plan to eat out most of the time. You may need to ask for more plates, glasses etc as some rooms were low on supplies.

The staff were friendly and attentive and although tipping is expected 1 dinar is a good tip (less then 50p). The rooms are cleaned daily, we tipped the maid each day and possibly as a result she put flowers in our room and decorated the beds which the kids loved.

HENNA TATTOOS - DON'T DO IT! Our daughters wanted tattoos, proper Henna is a vegatable dye should be brown/orange and last just 3 days. The tattoos our children were given contain a chemical dye which is illegal in the UK for use on skin and has caused a severe painful reaction, requiring hospital treatment. They may now be over sensitive to a common dye in cosmetic products for the rest of their lives. Don't even bother with a test as it can take up to 3 weeks to react so you have no guarantee that it is safe. The person who did our children was based in the Medina opposite the bouncy castles, he showed us a certificate from the hospital saying it was safe and said that he had been their 4 years with no complaints - when I went back to show him what had happened to my daughter he was "less then helpful" and this was before my other child started to react. Don't be taken in by their salemanship it really is not worth risking it.

Don't be put off by the Medina, you don't need to walk through it to leave your hotel there is an entrance through reception so you can walk around the outside rather than through the middle. Even if you do want to walk through but don't want to be dragged into shops, just wear sunglasses, don't give eye contact, hold on to your children, keep walking and don't answer their questions. It isn't scarey - just treat it as a game.

The beach is lovely, gently shelving soft sand - lovely for children and there are bannana boats, paragliding etc.

Restaurants are cheap £5-£15 each including drinks but the quality is variable. The floating one at the Marina is reccommended.

Food shopping is limited to local foods, there is a very small supermarket in the Medina and a small one near Marina which is cheaper.

Taxis are cheap and plentiful and should be metered, but they don't seem to bother. It should cost about 1.5 dinar to the Marina so get a price first.

Changing money - the exchange rate is fixed by the government so it is easiest to change money at reception. You cannot take dinars into or out of Tunisia so will have to change any leftover money back into sterling at the airport, they will charge 3% commission but watch what they give you back in sterling as they gave my husband 40% less than they should have and even after complaining he was still £8 out of pocket. My advice would be try not have anything left over at the end of the holiday.

Hope you found this helpful and have a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellerabc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
6.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
5.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#26 of 119 in Hammamet
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
2,164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#31 of 119 in Hammamet
789 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Menara
Hotel Menara
#50 of 119 in Hammamet
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diar Lemdina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diar Lemdina

Address: Rue de la Medina | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $33 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diar Lemdina 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Diar Lemdina Hotel" is situated in the heart of the Medina Mediterranea, the pearl of the new tourist resort of Yasmine Hammamet- 300m from the sea. To stay in the residences of Diar Lemdina Hotel remains a privilege which permit you to discover the intimacy of Medina with all the comfort of the 21st century and get involved in the events planned during the year. Diar Lemdina Hotel offers you the choice to lodge in one of three blocks "EL BOUSTEN", "ERRIADH" or "SIDI BOU SAID" in the middle of their gardens and their private swimming pools. The Hotel Diar Lemdina includes 190 suites and 40 double rooms . 190 suites are :12 junior suites, 59 are senior suites, 112 are Ambassador suites, and 7are Royal suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Diar Lemdina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diar Lemdina Residences Hammamet
Diar Lemdina Residences Hotel Hammamet
Residence Diar Lemdina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing