We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Medina”
Review of Hotel Diar Lemdina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Ranked #14 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have had a lovely time at this hotel but I have given it a 3 star rating/4 star! Firstly our room was 1249 a lovely 2 bedroom apartment, very spacious, very clean. Large double bedroom with a bathroom, looked very dated but worked fine. A twin bedroom, a large kitchen, a large lounge with a balcony and another bathroom. Our room overlooked the activity pool on one side and then the other overlooked the main stage where the evening entertainment was held. So if you wanted to be in bed before 23:30 no chance! It was extremely loud! The food was good, lots of choices, but only one restaurant which is up 3 flights of stairs and is very busy. No complaints about quality or quantity of food. Breakfast we did not have the offer of omelettes as others have said just crepes, hot buffet and normal continental buffet. In the afternoon they do crepes etc upstairs in the restaurant or by the pool bar. The pool bar offer drinks and then between 4-5 crepes. Cooked at the bar, with not enough plates and cutlery which they then wash under cold tap and dry on their trousers to give you, as well as offering the crepe using their fingers or the lifeguards fingers... not quite the standard you would expect. We avoided those! They offer orange, lemon and pineapple juice - all powdered type squash and varied in strength by the day, none of them nice and the same drinks at breakfast. The activity pool was busy - too busy for me and too noisy. Loud house music most of the day, club type loud music. Pool water polo which means that there are areas in the pool to avoid as you get whacked by the ball. Lots of pool games in the small pool so very hard to swim, lost count of the times I got hit by balls from teenager german boys who are not polite. I know I sound grumpy but it was not my scene - my teenager daughters thought it was great and didn't mind, they liked the music and splashing etc so judge for yourself!
The beach which is a 5 minute walk is lovely, fairly clean, a bar down there, help yourself to drinks from a freezer, only soft drinks. A bit disappointing, no waiter service, nasty plastic cups etc. Pizza and sandwiches for AI customers which vanished very quickly. Beach was nice, a fair amount of litter in the sea and along the beach which could have easily been cleared up.
We expect on AI holidays to have nice extras - no nice extra bits here, if you want ice cream snacks etc you have to go to the main restaurant - not very convenient. It is a good basic hotel and if you enjoy lively pool life then the activity pool was good. There is only one bar open at night which is in the lobby, not a fabulous place to sit. I think they assume you will go out.
The hotel is situated inside the medina that others have talked about. this is a fabulous area of shops and stalls, lots of restaurants and nightlife. It is buzzing and the atmosphere is great, the sellers of the market are entertaining and try anything to get you into their shop. they were all very good natured and we enjoyed our haggling and bought some nice Tunisian Original Designer bags and gifts. Lots of places to eat and drink and very entertaining. The theme park/waterpark are pitiful and I would not pay to go to, but it is free if you are AI. We went to the show that is free for AI again, pretty dull, I would not pay to go.
The airport Elfidha was good, just a warning they take Dinars in the food shops but all Duty Free prices are in Euros and they don't take Dinars.
For the price you pay for this hotel it is ok, not amazing,but basic.

Room Tip: Not 1249 if you want to sleep before 23:30
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfchic46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

We just returned this morning after spending 7 Sun filled,glorious days at The Residence Diar Lemdina. And guess what? We WILL be going back. What a fantastic place, all these comments about cold food (your not meant to eat HOT salad) We never had a cold meal. The variety was excellent and plenty of it. We were absolutely made up with our apartment, it was huge. 2x Large bedroom (1 en-suite), 2nd bathroom, large lounge and kitchen/diner. It was cleaned and beds/towels changed daily. The place was spotless. Great setting within the walled Medina, very quite, but full of life. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Great extras added by the hotel when you get there. Great for all ages. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. If you choose to listen to the moaners, you'll miss out. You make your own holiday, don't go looking for faults. You will love it !!!

Room Tip: Just book it and be pleasantly suprised
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rich2pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

just retuned after spending 10 days at this hotel. This hotel is advertised as 5 star but is only 4 star in reality its a 3 star. Food ok good variety never hot, better to eat out some lovely restaurants very cheap and you get it hot and its made fresh just what you should expect. The rooms are ok cleanliness could be better floors needs a good scrubbing but again your in africa and there standards are not like ours for example found one of bar staff washing cat in sink where he washes glasses what can i stay. The area is fantastic beach great, animation team were brilliant espicially if youve got children. Would i return a big fat definity NO NO NO. Can get better hotels and places for your money goodby tunisia and hello america.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great week away- hotel is good size, rooms great, and so much to do. Would definitely stay here again on AI basis. Food and drink on all inclusive some of the best variety I've ever had. Would recommend to others. The weekends seem to get very busy at the hotel, but it wasn't a problem. Location of the hotel within the medina complex is brilliant. The only down side for us was the inconsistent service- female staff on reception during the day were great, male staff in the evening (who checked us in and the cashier) were awful- very bad. Would refuse to serve us. I've lost count of how many times they said 'come back later'. Same could be said of the beach bar, bell boys and restaurant at times- just odd days when we encountered problems- like not letting us sit at certain tables (they had their favourites), telling us incorrect information, beach bar manager disliking AI guests, bell boys asking us for extra 'deposit' money when they knew we had paid.... But overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loserville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my husband, daughter and two small grandchildren at the beginning of July 2012. Our 2 bedroom apartment was fantastic, two large bedrooms (one ensuite) large kitchen and with a very stylish living room. Two swimming pools, pleny of sunbeds but if you an umbrella to shade you from the hot sun grab one early. Hotel offers a wide range of activites from water volleyball to archery. The staff cannot fo enough for you, nothing is too much trouble.
We visited a nearby waterpark and amusement park and had a wonderful time but if your children love animals hop into a taxi to visit the zoo which is about a 10 minute taxi ride, its well worth it.

Room Tip: If you want to retire early request a room / apartment away from the outdoor entertainment area - sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eileenbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed at the Diar Lemdina in May 2012 for 2 weeks, What a place!!!!, clean, rooms very spacious and the staff very friendly and helpful and we had a fantastic holiday.
The rooms are all well equipped, good location, right in the centre of the medina.
Meals at the hotel are very varied and well presented and even after 2 weeks we were not bored with the food, and that is a first!!
We enjoyed the holiday so much that we have booked again for next year, same hotel.
We did a few trips, the 2 day desert safari trip was very good but 2 early morning starts, 5am the first day and 4am call on the second, so unless you don't mind that it was well worth the money. Saw lots of Tunisia and the sunset desert camel ride was amazing.
We also did a day trip to Tunis, well worth the experience and also Carthage and Sidi Bou Said. These were more relaxing than the desert safari but just as interesting.
We can highly recommend Yasmin Hammamet, it is a very pleasant place to go for a holiday. The Tunisian people are very welcoming and friendly and at least they take "No" for an answer in the medinas and the shops, unlike some places we have been too.
If you are going to give Tunisia a go as a holiday destination you could do a great deal worse than going to this hotel and this resort.
I really hope that this review has helped you. Enjoy your holiday. We certainly did.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the smaller pool are quieter as you are away from the evening hotel entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lingeyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a week all inclusive second to last week in June and both loved it.

THE ONLY TWO downsides to the whole trip were our cards not working in the cash points out there (even called our banks in the UK and they couldn't explain why this was) and Tunis Air who delayed us two hours going out and two hours coming back with no information provided. In fact coming back everyone was on the plane sitting on the tarmac for 40 minutes before the staff even acknowledged the delay!! This is very common for this airline apparently so just be aware of this if booking your holiday with them.

We travelled from the airport on the transfer bus organised through our initial holiday booking. It took about an hour and thankfully the air con was brilliant. Once we arrived the bell boy was fantastic and had our cases off the bus before even we were and he lead the way into reception. A large, clean reception with bar at the far end and sofas and chairs all around. I must point out at this point that throughout our entire stay the staff were full of smiles, friendly, professional and only struggled with understanding me on one occasion.

Once we had checked in we changed some money over to dinars. It is best to change money over at the hotel AND MORE IMPORTANTLY when you are going home again make sure you have changed your dinars back at the hotel as there is no where to spend them at the airport and we had to queue for almost an hour to change ours as the first queue we joined only had Euros!

We were then led to our suite by the bell boy who chatted and joked with us. He then took us around the apartment, showing us how to work the air con and where everything was that we would need. We tipped him 2 dinars as we had been told that 1-2 dinars is the standard for good service.

To explain how the hotel looks I have included a photo of the layout. Basically if you think about old eastern cities which were surrounded by walls and gates that closed at night that is the idea for Diar Lemdina. The paths and apartments (not all of them) form the outer walls and inside this are the swimming pools, shops, bars, restaurants. The shops are brilliant fun to go into - give it a go! I especially recommend the wood seller who is about the third shop on the right as you come out from the back of the reception area. He sells everything from bowls to boards to games all hand carved out of olive wood and if I could have I would have bought loads more from him. My friend bought a gorgeous copper (looks like silver) tea set with glasses from an adorable "no hassle" seller as well who was two thirds of the way up on left hand side as you walk towards the main square section - great deal on hand etched copper.

As two young western women we were aware that we may get badgered by the locals but actually it was all harmless banter, Yasmine Hammamet is perfectly safe to go walking about in at night as well which was reassuring although be prepared to see camels where you wouldn't expect to.

The apartment was lovely - day beds in the lounge, decent sized kitchen (which we never used but everything seemed to be in working order), lovely bedrooms with good wardrobe and storage space, including dressing table in the main room. We also had a balcony that overlooked a little square which had sellers during the day. The cleaners were brilliant - flowers and "towel animals" every day.

The main restaurant was massive - spread over two rooms. For breakfasts there is everything from seasonal fruit (melon while we were there but the staff told us we had just missed strawberries!) to continental to cereal to yoghurt to pancakes to omelettes cooked to order to cooked meats...the list really does go on! Lunches and suppers were similar to each other - our favourite area was the salad bar - varied and delicious. Grilled meats/fish, freshly cooked pizzas, dedicated vegetarian section, lots of lovely tagines as I had expected which were delish. The puddings are epic as well though we tended to eat fresh fruit or ice cream as we had filled up on the main course!!! Good food, decent tasting wine and attentive waiters.

The pool areas are fab. Our favourite was the smaller of the two which is next to reception. There are waiters who will come round and take your drink orders and bring them out to you as well which was a lovely added bonus. We spent one day by the big pool - we were up on the higher tier under the olive trees and enjoyed watching people doing water aerobics, water volleyball etc. Try and get the wooden sun loungers as they were by the far the most comfortable. There is also a bar here too where you can get snacks and drinks. The "activities" area is near this pool too and the staff are lively, funny (one of the guys spoke with a Cockney accent when talking to us so we think he may have been taught words by some Londoners!!) We also spent a day on the private beach - about a 5-7 minute walk from the main reception and worth a visit. There are lots of sellers who will walk around the sun beds and offer you sarongs, bunches of bananas, dried fruits etc but they are no bother and will leave you alone if you politely say no. The bar offers free soft drinks and snacks to all inclusive guests but they do also serve booze. You can see the pirate ships (one the excursions) out on the water which really reminded me of the end scene in The Goonies!!! Lots of water sports you can try as well. The water looks very blue from your sun lounger but when you first walk in it has lots of what looks like bark or seaweed in the shallows which can be off putting. Once you get past this though it is a lovely swim and the sand is very soft (and very hot so beware!)

The shop Joy's (on the way too and from the beach) is one of the few "fixed price" stores and sells everything from postcards to food to clothes. Great place to shop and also gives you an idea on what are reasonable prices to pay for things if you want to haggle in the market stalls.

We took a day drip to three cities Kairouan, El Jem (the amphitheatre) and Souss. El Jem was by far our favourite - unlike the Colosseum in Rome we were able to go everywhere - including underground where they would keep the wild animals, gladiators and also people waiting for public execution. PHENOMENAL aerial views of a typical Tunisian city from the very top (keep looking for stairs there are so many!) as well as of the amphitheatre itself. Amazing. Definitely worth it and our tour guide Ooni was marvellous.

We did intend to go and visit the spa for treatments (SOOO CHEAP!) but ran out of time. We did however go and have a look around it and it was clean and well maintained. There is a gym there but is limited to only five or six pieces of kit - bike machine, cross trainer, treadmill, some weights - the basics but still useful and a good sized room if you wanted to do other training in there.

We dined at the 1001 nights restaurant free one evening (another all inclusive deal). Great idea - you're put on tables of 8-10 people and served food while the performers do a show about the history of Africa (snake charming, belly dancing, sultans et al). Lovely food although the rolls were fairly rock solid and ended with delicious mint tea. The dancers even come and dance ON your table at the end of the night which made us laugh (some very frantic clearing of plates by some of the men on our table haha!)

All in all this hotel lived up to its 4* rating for us. Very clean, attentive staff, good facilities and food. Highly recommend visiting here - we loved it.

Room Tip: Don't request pool view - people tend to chat around them late into the night and the sound echo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank blondiesurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
6.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
5.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
733 reviews
6.9 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#25 of 119 in Hammamet
1,691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#29 of 119 in Hammamet
781 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Menara
Hotel Menara
#54 of 119 in Hammamet
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diar Lemdina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diar Lemdina

Address: Rue de la Medina | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#16 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $38 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diar Lemdina 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Diar Lemdina Hotel" is situated in the heart of the Medina Mediterranea, the pearl of the new tourist resort of Yasmine Hammamet- 300m from the sea. To stay in the residences of Diar Lemdina Hotel remains a privilege which permit you to discover the intimacy of Medina with all the comfort of the 21st century and get involved in the events planned during the year. Diar Lemdina Hotel offers you the choice to lodge in one of three blocks "EL BOUSTEN", "ERRIADH" or "SIDI BOU SAID" in the middle of their gardens and their private swimming pools. The Hotel Diar Lemdina includes 190 suites and 40 double rooms . 190 suites are :12 junior suites, 59 are senior suites, 112 are Ambassador suites, and 7are Royal suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diar Lemdina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diar Lemdina Residences Hammamet
Diar Lemdina Residences Hotel Hammamet
Residence Diar Lemdina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing