We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Medina Solaria & Thalasso
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chich Khan(Hammamet)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,159)
Filter reviews
2,159 results
Traveler rating
1,194
543
244
103
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,194
543
244
103
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamsea viewreception stafffantastic holidayspecial thankssaladvisited this hotelquad bikingchickenlunch and dinnerevening showssomething for everyonesolarismarinawaiterstunisiaentertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 2,159 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel (4/06/14) on a lads holiday, we were a group of 3, and considering this hotel is definitely more for family / couples - we still managed to have an amazing time.
on arrival - our service for checking in was fine and we were given a massive room. we had 2 king size beds, a sofa, and a very nice clean bathroom. our room was cleaned every day at the same time almost - so no complaints there.

the hotel itself has some stunning features, extremely high ceilings, huge pillars and beautiful design to it - you wont get bored looking at it. it has really nice circular pool right in the middle of the hotel in the courtyard which is for show/feature and cannot be used.. (you will see this in many of their pictures) so please don't go diving in!
the actual swimming pool is located by the entrance of the building - which is also very nice, big and even has a flume. there is a pool bar located next to it where you can get your drinks and the life guards office besides the bar, where you can get your sun beds. the pool area is very large and spacious with plenty of room for sunbeds and seating.

breakfast/lunch/dinner - fixed times for serving, so don't be late! overall I was more than impressed with the food, its very French but good! they always had a good variety and they mixed it up very well. a good range of fruit and dessert as well. however you cannot get tea or coffee during the lunch or evening meal at the restaurant. for this you need to go to the bar. but they have it during breakfast.
table service at the restaurant has to be the best I have ever seen!!!!!! and this is no exaggeration. we were always greeted at the table, and our glasses were never empty, plates were cleared very quickly and the waiters were very friendly.

they had a sheesha service, and smoking room which came in handy for those who smoke. I was a little surprised they wouldn't allow the sheesha to be smoked outside in the courtyard!?!?! considering most places say you need 2/3rds of the room to be ventilated to smoke sheesha. but never mind.
overall the staff were very friendly an polite whenever we asked for sheesha.

iv often heard many brits slate a hotel for 'poor service' where they dont speak very good English, which is bit unfair. but majority of the staff here spoke a very good level of english

there are plenty of sofas and seats to chill out on, all very nice and comfy. if the inside is full then there are plenty of tables and chairs outside in the courtyard.

ok now here are the bad points (not many) - I've heard a lot of people say its not a 5 star but still very good! im not sure what actually qualifies for a hotel to be of 5 star - and whether or not a poor internet wifi service and a lack of a few toiletry accessories in bathroom means its a 4star, but never less the Wifi was not very good at all. only worked on apple gadgets (iphones and ipads). if you can live without being on your phone/Facebook and instagram on your holiday then this wont bother you. but for many this is a challenge and like living in exile!
Our fridge was not working.. we told the reception and they didn't do anything about it, probably because we didn't make a fuss as we didn't need it. if we needed the fridge to work, they would have changed it. but either way it should be working. im sure our room was probably a one off.

the Animation team - my biggest area of criticism. the nature of their job is to be fun and engage and do activities with the guests. some members of this animation probably went beyond that. I had heard complaints from other guests (mainly women) about some of the male animation staff which might not be a surprise to many. being three lads on holiday, they asked us to take part in a football match, and we kindly accepted. it was the guests vs the animation team. we won!! and this didn't go down too well. either they are not used to losing or they are naturally overly competitive and hate losing, which defeats the object of being an animation team. I wont label all of them with the same brush - Jo and ines from the animation team were amazing to us... but there were a couple of others who refused to say hello to us after losing the football match or even acknowledge us. very unprofessional!

where they failed on, I can think of more points where they gained, so overall I think its a very good hotel providing good service, there was always someone around if you needed something. the bar was never empty without a barman, and the reception always had one or two people there - (ok fair enough the Wi-Fi wasn't working) but these are good signs of service, where you can always visibly see staff.

I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: ask for sea view room!!! its amazing.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sayem8783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Sayem,
Warmest greeting from The Medina Solaria & Thalasso.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We appreciate the compliments on the staff, accommodation, facilities and the level of service provided. It is also nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of our hotel.

However we are sorry we were not able to exceed your expectations on some aspects of your stay. We checked on wifi issue and welcome your suggestions to improvements so we can continue to offer as well balanced value for your money.

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us and looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again for another great enjoyment and memorable stay!
Yours Sincerely
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Just returned from a week all inclusive holiday at this hotel. Like the previous review, although it is ranked as 5 star, it doesn't have all the qualities of a 5 star hotel but that said, I couldn't really find fault with it. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were large and kept clean on a daily basis, the food was really nice, the pools and outside areas were relaxing and the animation team did their best to keep us entertained...! Personally I prefer the old town of Hammamet but would definitely consider returning to this hotel again. The only negative comment I would make is that the Spa isn't as good as it looks in the pictures and they do charge quite a lot for their services. We managed to barter them right down for a 2 hour spa experience so please bear this in mind. Also one last point, I popped into the Medical room to see the doctor and he charged me for his service so this was not part of the all inclusive package.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyHaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Ladyhaddon,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your recent holiday at the Medina Solaria & Thalaso. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and the amiability of our helpful staff, our "All inclusive Package" and the service provided.

However, we are sorry for any displeasure that caused by the thalassotherapy center which is rented. We will revert back to the tenant.
Also, we would like to inform you that the consultation of the doctor is not a part of the “All Inclusive” Package.
We are looking forward to have the pleasure welcoming you back for another great relaxing break.
Many thanks and Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management.
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel as it is ideally located near the beach (30 sec walk) and also all shops are within walking distance.either side of the hotel.
There is a leisure park near by both equipped catering for children and adults and the hotel check in includes entry to the theme park.
Food was very good for all times breakfast,lunch and dinner and all hotel staff very kind and helpful.
Entertainment was great fun which was provided by hotel staff and provides different kinds of music as well as river dance and activities involving guest participation.
Great hotel to stay in and very clean and rooms cleaned everyday. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buncy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Buncy,
First of all, we would like to thank your for choosing The "Medina Solaria & Thalasso" for your holiday at Yasmine Hammamet, for sharing a very pleasant review on TripAdvisor and highly recommending our property.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we achieved our standard of ensuring your holiday to be both enjoyable and memorable.
We really are looking forward to welcoming you back again among us.
Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Mixed emotions!! Me and a friend went to the medina solaria for a nice relaxing girls holiday,

Positives:
We had an absolutely amazing time!! The food was nice there was a good variety, When we first arrived the man in reception was very welcoming, the animation (entertainment) team were absolutely amazing they always got people up and dancing and having a good time playing mid day games and other activities. The old and new medina were both nice places, You get the usual of people trying to get you into their shops but it wasn't as bad as some people on here make out!

Negatives:
-We were entitled to a turkish bath as part of our all inclusive package which when we went to use we were told there was no free turkish bath so we were confused, eventually the man who we were talking to said okay there is a free one which we then went to use and he said you can come tomorrow between 1-2 so we went back at 1 and he said no you can't have the free one at this time, this was on the friday and we were going home on the Saturday so we couldn't use it!!.
- We both had a card key each to get into our hotel room, after the first week the key would no longer work for us to get into the room so we went to reception and got it redone it worked for about three days and then it wouldn't work again so we had to go back down and have it redone again, Then on the Friday the other card key wouldn't work! So we decided to just leave it and use the other key.
- Our air conditioning would not work we didn't have it working for a week! We went and complained and was told it can't be fix until the next week! So we waited to get it fixed and then we finally had the air con working! For 1 night. Then it didn't work again for the rest of the holiday!
- Lastly this is the one that really put a downer on the holiday. Me and my friend both had our purses with our English money in the safe for the whole two weeks and we only went in our purse to get money out to change into Dinar. On the last Tuesday of our holiday I had £60 in my purse and my friend had £75 in her purse and we didn't change anymore money after that, Then when we checked out of the hotel I decided to count my money just out of interest and found I only had £40 left so I had £20 stolen out of my purse, My friend then checked her purse and found that she only had £50 left so she had £25 stolen out of her purse! So we went and complained and then the lady on the reception who was VERY rude told us to take a seat and she will ring management who wasn't even in! We sat waiting for half an hour and she didn't come back so we went back up to the desk and the man on the desk said come back at 6.30 when management in and we told him that we were told to wait and he said no come back, So we did we came back at 6.30 and the manager wasn't even there!! It was the assistant manager who was no help at all, All he did was take some personal details and said he will get in contact when somebody has looked who has been in and out of the room and once he has found out he will send us the list, A LIST?! We didn't care about the list we wanted to know where £45 had gone! He was no help at all so basically we couldn't do anything!! We had paid for the safe we put 20 dinar deposit and then extra to pay for the safe (Im not sure how much). So if you do go to the Medina Solaria I strongly advise you NOT to get a safe and keep ALL of your personal belongings on you at all times because the hotel will not do anything if something gets stolen from their hotel!!

Apart from that we had a lovely two weeks from all the better staff members and the fun things to do.
I would like to return because of the fun parts but probably never will as I'm too worried about having to keep things at my side 24/7 because if not it gets stolen!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ami-Louisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Ami-Louise,

Thank You for sharing your recent experience at the Medina Solaria & Thalasso on TripAdivor. It is a pleasure to hear that you and your friend had such an amazing time with us and enjoyed your stay in our property.
We take our guest comments very seriously and we apologize for the problems you encountered with the room amenities and the responsible of the Turkish bath.
For the security or our clients, each of our rooms has a safety-box, the rental fee is 3,500 dt per day. The hotel cannot be held responsible for the loss of belongings values, money and jewellery not deposited in the safety-box.
We certainly value your comments and we regret any inconvenience that the situation may have caused you and be sure that we shared your comments with the hotel Manager for investigation ad monitoring.
We look forward to having you back again in our hotel for a great holiday!
Sincerely,
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I recently stayed at the Solaria Medina Thalasso hotel with two male friends. First things first, in my opinion this is not a 5 star hotel. I’ve stayed in many 5 star hotels in Egypt and Turkey and this hotel does not compare. However, overall it is a great hotel and has amazing features including the outside pool area and the chill out/smoking area beyond the atrium. It’s quite a grand hotel which has a nice Tunisian feel to it.

The rooms are massive and you won’t be disappointed by the size. Us three guys were offered a nice sea view room with two huge beds, I was pretty impressed with the quality of sleep considering our room was next to the restaurant and we were overlooking a busy road. The cleaner was brilliant, always left a nice swan towel and roses for us which was sweet.

The food was above average offering lots of variety, they love fish and turkey but the dishes were flavoured well and catered for all types of tastes. The table service wasn’t bad at all, there is one guy (can’t remember his name!) in particular who is fantastic and always made us feel welcome, considering we were the only group of lads staying at the hotel. The all-inclusive bar was good, we found they got a bit funny with us if we wanted to order another round of drinks as we had to ensure we finished the first round before ordering another. However, if your friendly enough they will be nice enough back.

The Wi-Fi is horrendous, it doesn’t work at all – mainly for Apple iPhone users! For some reason they hate Android!

The reception staff are fairly helpful and friendly, we asked for an iron which we obtained ourselves from the cleaner but we were allowed to keep it for the duration of our holiday. Back to why it isn’t a 5 star in my eyes is most 5 star hotels offer toiletries, a fridge that works, no plug sockets broken and hanging out of the wall, the Wi-fi should work and other little things. The hotel definitely has 5 star features but overall I wouldn’t rate it as 5, it’s more a 3 or 4 star (at the most).

The animation team are fantastic, apart from one or two who were aggressive, obnoxious and rude. The fact that we were three guys intimidated these two individuals and we quickly noticed how hostile they became towards us and any other group of guests we interacted with and even heard from other guests they had made very rude rumours about us which is totally unacceptable as we are paying guests at the hotel. Unfortunately we didn’t manage to find time to complain to the Manager as we wanted to enjoy the rest of the holiday but I hope the hotel reads this review and does something about it. Joe, Ines and Mourad were by far the best members of the animation team and really made us feel welcome.

We met some great people at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a pleasant stay in Hammamet Yasmine. If you are looking for a local nigh out to dance and drink the night away, I definitely recommend Piano bar, but just watch out for the horrible doorman, they try to make money off you for entry and then charge you more money when you leave! Great little club with top music.

There is so much more to say but my review is already long enough. If you decide to choose Solaria, then enjoy! 

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sea-view room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_SParmar_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Mr Sparmar,
Warmest greeting from The Medina Solaria & Thalasso.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We appreciate the compliments on the staff, accommodation, facilities and the level of service provided. It is also nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of our hotel.

However we are sorry we were not able to exceed your expectations on some aspects of your stay. We checked on wifi issue and welcome your suggestions to improvements so we can continue to offer as well balanced value for your money

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us and looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again for another great enjoyment and memorable stay!
Yours Sincerely
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews