We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, But me and a friend had money stolen!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medina Solaria & Thalasso
Ranked #14 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Mixed emotions!! Me and a friend went to the medina solaria for a nice relaxing girls holiday,

Positives:
We had an absolutely amazing time!! The food was nice there was a good variety, When we first arrived the man in reception was very welcoming, the animation (entertainment) team were absolutely amazing they always got people up and dancing and having a good time playing mid day games and other activities. The old and new medina were both nice places, You get the usual of people trying to get you into their shops but it wasn't as bad as some people on here make out!

Negatives:
-We were entitled to a turkish bath as part of our all inclusive package which when we went to use we were told there was no free turkish bath so we were confused, eventually the man who we were talking to said okay there is a free one which we then went to use and he said you can come tomorrow between 1-2 so we went back at 1 and he said no you can't have the free one at this time, this was on the friday and we were going home on the Saturday so we couldn't use it!!.
- We both had a card key each to get into our hotel room, after the first week the key would no longer work for us to get into the room so we went to reception and got it redone it worked for about three days and then it wouldn't work again so we had to go back down and have it redone again, Then on the Friday the other card key wouldn't work! So we decided to just leave it and use the other key.
- Our air conditioning would not work we didn't have it working for a week! We went and complained and was told it can't be fix until the next week! So we waited to get it fixed and then we finally had the air con working! For 1 night. Then it didn't work again for the rest of the holiday!
- Lastly this is the one that really put a downer on the holiday. Me and my friend both had our purses with our English money in the safe for the whole two weeks and we only went in our purse to get money out to change into Dinar. On the last Tuesday of our holiday I had £60 in my purse and my friend had £75 in her purse and we didn't change anymore money after that, Then when we checked out of the hotel I decided to count my money just out of interest and found I only had £40 left so I had £20 stolen out of my purse, My friend then checked her purse and found that she only had £50 left so she had £25 stolen out of her purse! So we went and complained and then the lady on the reception who was VERY rude told us to take a seat and she will ring management who wasn't even in! We sat waiting for half an hour and she didn't come back so we went back up to the desk and the man on the desk said come back at 6.30 when management in and we told him that we were told to wait and he said no come back, So we did we came back at 6.30 and the manager wasn't even there!! It was the assistant manager who was no help at all, All he did was take some personal details and said he will get in contact when somebody has looked who has been in and out of the room and once he has found out he will send us the list, A LIST?! We didn't care about the list we wanted to know where £45 had gone! He was no help at all so basically we couldn't do anything!! We had paid for the safe we put 20 dinar deposit and then extra to pay for the safe (Im not sure how much). So if you do go to the Medina Solaria I strongly advise you NOT to get a safe and keep ALL of your personal belongings on you at all times because the hotel will not do anything if something gets stolen from their hotel!!

Apart from that we had a lovely two weeks from all the better staff members and the fun things to do.
I would like to return because of the fun parts but probably never will as I'm too worried about having to keep things at my side 24/7 because if not it gets stolen!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ami-Louisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Ami-Louise,

Thank You for sharing your recent experience at the Medina Solaria & Thalasso on TripAdivor. It is a pleasure to hear that you and your friend had such an amazing time with us and enjoyed your stay in our property.
We take our guest comments very seriously and we apologize for the problems you encountered with the room amenities and the responsible of the Turkish bath.
For the security or our clients, each of our rooms has a safety-box, the rental fee is 3,500 dt per day. The hotel cannot be held responsible for the loss of belongings values, money and jewellery not deposited in the safety-box.
We certainly value your comments and we regret any inconvenience that the situation may have caused you and be sure that we shared your comments with the hotel Manager for investigation ad monitoring.
We look forward to having you back again in our hotel for a great holiday!
Sincerely,
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

I recently stayed at the Solaria Medina Thalasso hotel with two male friends. First things first, in my opinion this is not a 5 star hotel. I’ve stayed in many 5 star hotels in Egypt and Turkey and this hotel does not compare. However, overall it is a great hotel and has amazing features including the outside pool area and the chill out/smoking area beyond the atrium. It’s quite a grand hotel which has a nice Tunisian feel to it.

The rooms are massive and you won’t be disappointed by the size. Us three guys were offered a nice sea view room with two huge beds, I was pretty impressed with the quality of sleep considering our room was next to the restaurant and we were overlooking a busy road. The cleaner was brilliant, always left a nice swan towel and roses for us which was sweet.

The food was above average offering lots of variety, they love fish and turkey but the dishes were flavoured well and catered for all types of tastes. The table service wasn’t bad at all, there is one guy (can’t remember his name!) in particular who is fantastic and always made us feel welcome, considering we were the only group of lads staying at the hotel. The all-inclusive bar was good, we found they got a bit funny with us if we wanted to order another round of drinks as we had to ensure we finished the first round before ordering another. However, if your friendly enough they will be nice enough back.

The Wi-Fi is horrendous, it doesn’t work at all – mainly for Apple iPhone users! For some reason they hate Android!

The reception staff are fairly helpful and friendly, we asked for an iron which we obtained ourselves from the cleaner but we were allowed to keep it for the duration of our holiday. Back to why it isn’t a 5 star in my eyes is most 5 star hotels offer toiletries, a fridge that works, no plug sockets broken and hanging out of the wall, the Wi-fi should work and other little things. The hotel definitely has 5 star features but overall I wouldn’t rate it as 5, it’s more a 3 or 4 star (at the most).

The animation team are fantastic, apart from one or two who were aggressive, obnoxious and rude. The fact that we were three guys intimidated these two individuals and we quickly noticed how hostile they became towards us and any other group of guests we interacted with and even heard from other guests they had made very rude rumours about us which is totally unacceptable as we are paying guests at the hotel. Unfortunately we didn’t manage to find time to complain to the Manager as we wanted to enjoy the rest of the holiday but I hope the hotel reads this review and does something about it. Joe, Ines and Mourad were by far the best members of the animation team and really made us feel welcome.

We met some great people at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a pleasant stay in Hammamet Yasmine. If you are looking for a local nigh out to dance and drink the night away, I definitely recommend Piano bar, but just watch out for the horrible doorman, they try to make money off you for entry and then charge you more money when you leave! Great little club with top music.

There is so much more to say but my review is already long enough. If you decide to choose Solaria, then enjoy! 

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_SParmar_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Mr Sparmar,
Warmest greeting from The Medina Solaria & Thalasso.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We appreciate the compliments on the staff, accommodation, facilities and the level of service provided. It is also nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of our hotel.

However we are sorry we were not able to exceed your expectations on some aspects of your stay. We checked on wifi issue and welcome your suggestions to improvements so we can continue to offer as well balanced value for your money

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us and looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again for another great enjoyment and memorable stay!
Yours Sincerely
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Came here for my daughter's 21st birthday. Hotel lovely but dated. The staff are generally well mannered. The waiters in the restaurant were really friendly and remembered your drink orders. We were fortunate to be looked after all week by a waiter called Zoummiti. He even set us a special table for our last night. The weather was very changeable and if you want a sunbed you have to be up at 8am at least to get one. Our rooms were clean and the maids were brill. Only downside was the food is very repetitive and a bit bland. Beware the rep tells you the Shezarra is a free night out - the food is free but all drinks are NOT and are very expensive.

Room Tip: You definitely need a sea view room. They are amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnJay34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear EnJay,

We thank you very much for selecting « Medina Solaria & Thalasso » for celebrating such a special event the 21st birthday of your pretty daughter. Our best wishes for her. May all her dreams and wishes come true!

We appreciate your compliments and the level of service provided. It is also nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of our hotel.
We certainly valued and noted your comments less good which enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions for improvement
We hope you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon again.
Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week with some friends. The hotel is very big and right across from the beach. The rooms have large beds and were really comfy even as I had a put up bed because they're were three of us in the room. The food is excellent and the wait staff are very nice. They even remember your drink orders. The animation team are fantastic but don't push you of you don't want to join in with the activities. The hotel is always clean and the maids leave rose petals in your room. The holiday was fantastic and I would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemmaL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Gemmal,

Thank you for posting your pleasant comment on TripAdvisor following your recent holiday at the Medina Solaria & Thalasso.
We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and the service provided. We are very happy to see you chose to come back to our hotel!
We are looking forward to have the pleasure welcoming you again for another great relaxing break.
Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great holiday, the food was great with a wide variety. The reception was helpful and the animation team were brilliant especially Kader and Joe! The hotel is in good location i loke the games in the pool and all the shows and i would defiantly come back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHilton90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear GHilton,

Thank you very much for the nice words you have written about our hotel, our services and our staff following your recent stay with us+.
Our main target is to satisfy our clients, so we are very happy to read from your review that we have succeeded!

We are looking forward to have the pleasure welcoming you back again for another great relaxing break.
Many thanks and Best Regards
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Awesome hotel, awesome staff!! Food is different every night!! Immaculatly clean!! Animation team rule!! Try and make u participate in everything but take no for an answer!! Come as a guest leave as a friend!! Staff go out there way to help you!! Highly recommended. Garenteed sun!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank bar1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a very pleasant review about our hotel following your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to learn how mush you enjoyed your holiday, the facilities & services provided and especially our hardworking staff.

Your review is a great motivation for us, so thank you very much for that.
We hope to see you again very soon for another great and memorable holiday.
Sincerely yours
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at solaria hotel for just a week and the hotel, the people and the food were really good. We were made to feel extremly welcome. I only found a couple of faults the hotel. This was the shop in the reception which was where we seemed to get pestered every time we walked past, and the other problem was that the cave in the pool was green and didnt look like it had ever been cleaned. Overall the holiday was amazing and the animation team were brillient and for the animation team alone i would go back. The staff at solaria were really nice and also happy to help, the food was rather repetitive but still really good food. My girlfriend and I have agreed we would go back. Thanks for a great holiday

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Arron0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Arron,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday at Yasmine Hammamet and for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

While we are pleased to read that you found our hotel greatly commendable , we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you mentioned on your review and shared them with the hotel management to review and make the necessary action.

We are looking forward to have the pleasure welcoming you back for another great relaxing break.
Sincerely
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#10 of 119 in Hammamet
1,315 reviews
6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
5.5 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
2,164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
1.2 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#31 of 119 in Hammamet
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Solaria & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Solaria & Thalasso

Address: Rue de la Medina | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hammamet
#10 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $39 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Medina Solaria & Thalasso 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Medina Solaria & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Solaria Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Solaria
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing