We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let`s be fair- entertainment doesn`t coincide with the hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Medina Solaria & Thalasso
Ranked #12 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Let`s be fair- entertainment doesn`t coincide with the hotel!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I`ve stayed in this hotel in april. Everything concerning facilities of the hotel from the first day of my stay till the end was just brilliant, but unfortunatelly I can`t say the same about entertainment. My wife and I usually don`t take active part in all entertainment activities when ever we travel, because we don`t have chance to travel very often, that`s why we try to enjoy the moment and relax, but this entertainment team is worthy to mention, especially their boss. He acts really rude and annoying and does not realise this and our gentle hint was not understood. Concerning other staff- here I agree with the comments below, if you refuse- they don`t insist and leave you in peace. Concerning night entertainment program- in my opinion it`s very poor and standard- like in all 4 * hotels of Egypt where we had chance to stay since 2000- Lord of the dance (not really successful), etc. So most evenings we spent outside of the hotel.
In the end I suggested to the Hotel Manager to pay attention to this weak point in this great place, and if he wants to have his guests satisfied (even those who don`t need any entertainment at all).
So now it`s clear that I gave this hotel 4 points from 5 (Location, Service, Accomodation, Food and Impression) just to be fair, because the fifth one, Impression, is not satisfying and that`s very important to me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TB473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent experience at the Medina Solaria & Thalasso.
While we are pleased to read you found our hotel highly commendable especially its accommodation, location, service and food, we would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectation related to the behaviour of our entertainment team and we are sad to hear that you and your wife felt uncomfortable with them. We lay high importance to the quietness of our guests and work accordingly to apply the quality standard of 5 stars hotel. We will do our utmost to assure that any situation that does not meet excellence will be immediately corrected.

We hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as you expected, so you could give us 5 points to your next stay and we really look for it!

Our very best to both of you.
Sincerely yours
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    513
    228
    93
    70
See reviews for
634
727
67
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My family and I came here for a relaxing holiday and found that it was a brilliant place to stay. The staff were very friendly and even gave us a better room with a sea view when we first arrived. In the restaurant our waiter, Hatem, provided an excellent service and decorated our usual table on our last night with flowers. Cannot fault anything they offered and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseEG247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Chère Louise,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and posting your pleasant comment on TripAdvisor and recommending “The Medina Solaria & Thalasso” . We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided.

We will certainly congratulate our staff especially Hatem. Your gratifying words are a real source of motivation to them and they will stimulate them to continue attentive to the compliance of our concerning quality standards.

We are looking forward to have the pleasure welcoming you back for another great relaxing break.
Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Me and my partner have recently returned from a week in Solaria and let me start by saying this hotel is amazing i do not have one bad word to say about it!
On arrival we were greater with cocktails and got to sit and relax while reception staff checked us in we were then shown to our room which was absolutely fantastic! Really clean and so spacious, our balcony overlooked a neighbouring hotels pool and the sea which was lovely.
The food in the buffet restaurant was always piping hot and changed day to day which was a refreshing change to other all inclusive hotels I've been to! We also ate at the italian restaurant which was included in the all inclusive package where we were provided a 5 course sit down meal! there are also a Moroccan and Mediterranean restaurant included but unfortunately we didn't get the chance to try the out as we ran out of days!
The staff at the hotel from the receptionists, waiters pool staff and the animation team were always so friendly! Anything you asked for was brought immediately with a smile. During the day and the evening the animation team provided games and entertainment, always good fun and had everyone laughing!
We visited the capital of Tunis, Nabeul market, cidi bousid and the roman baths i highly recommend every single one of these trips. I can not wait to return to this hotel in the near future and get the chance to explore some more and go on the trips we didn't get time to do!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Jessica,

First of all, we would like to thank you so much for your choice to our hotel “Medina Solaria & Thalasso” for your holidays in Yasmine Hammamet.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your valuable review of your recent experience at our property and we are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and our services. We really appreciate your positive description.

We also thank you for letting us know that our culinary offers could largely satisfy you especially the new concept called “Dine Around” which is part of the All Inclusive package. Guests have the opportunity to dine in different theme restaurants in our three hotels within Yasmine Hammamet once per stay:
Mediterranean Dinner at Belisaire Hotel
Italian Dinner at Solaria Hotel
Moroccan Dinner at Diar Lemdina Hotel
Sheherazade Show Restaurant : at Medina.
Thank you for sharing your wonderful photos.
We hope you had a pleasant back return and look forward to warmly welcoming you back to our hotel.
Sincerely
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickmannon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Very pleasant stay for our honeymoon and great value for money. Apart from his day of, we had the same waiter Ahmed mathlouthi for the whole week. He was lovely and very attentive. Poolside, the lifeguard could not do enough for you, he takes great pride in keeping the poolside safe and a happy place. He is a great credit to the hotel and I hope this is passed onto him! The animation team keep the place going and the atmosphere alive. All these people make the hotel somewhere we want to come back to.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Joanne,

We thank you so much for selecting our hotel « The Medina Solaria & Thalasso » for your honeymoon and we would like to convey our congratulations and best wishes.
We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your honeymoon so much in our hotel and thank you very much for the nice words you have written about our hotel, services and staff.

Our main goal is to satisfy our clients, so we are very happy to read from your review that we have succeeded!

We hope we may welcome you again each year among us to celebrate this memorable event among us.
A big hug to both of you
Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We have just returned from our holiday with Thomas Cook at this hotel! All I can say is wow! We couldn't fault the hotel at all. The staff were all so friendly, giving you a very relaxing holiday. The cleanliness was high, the food & service in the restaurant were fantastic. This is a great place to take a holiday if you are partially sighted/blind or disabled as the access was very good, there are several lifts and wide doorways. It's so near to the beach too. It is rated as a four star hotel by Thomas Cook, but we would definitely give it five stars. I took our Autistic son here & he loved it as the layout and decor is very autistic friendly! We hope to return soon to visit our waiter Hatem as it was a fantastic week, we only wished we had booked for longer as there was so much to fit in! We highly recommend booking here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, as they are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear michelle,

We would like to thank you for your stay in our hotel “Medina Solaria & Thalasso” and for your friendly comment. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the facilities in our Hotel and it is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Comments like yours keeps motivating us to keep improving our service, so our guest can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your motivating words.
We are looking forward to have the pleasure welcoming you back for another great relaxing break.

Yours sincerely
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I returned this morning from the medina Solaria & Thalasso in Yasmine Hammamet, Tunisia and I can honestly say I had an amazing stay. Upon Arrival they had non alcoholic cocktails waiting to serve us, then shortly got shown to our room but when getting into the room the balcony door wouldn't lock but went down it the reception and was sorted out with no issues, apart from that the room was clean, the beds we're comfy, had spacious room. The maid done a great job and always made the room spotless and made things out of towels for us with flowers. I went on the horse and cart outside the hotel, the buggy bikes along the seafront and the wheel came off I wouldn't recommend them and I also went on a land of bedouins trip was advertised by Thomas cook and at only £35pa and was well worth the money it was a half day trip and you go out into the hills in a 4x4 and stop of at a few places which consisted of stopping in a local town situated in the hills which has amazing views and the locals always make you feel welcome then it was a town in the mountains which we no longer lived in which was amazing if you like the old stone building and great views also then the last stop was the bedouin tents which was an eye opener to see how people live without running water and electric but they do and they welcomed all 5 4x4's of people they have never met with food and a local drink, overall the trip was amazing and would highly recommend.The photographer in the hotel is amazing at his job, went out for an hour with him (which is free of charge) and had a photoshoot and was so pleased with them. The waiters and Bar staff was amazing never let your glass get empty and was always smiling and joking anytime of the day, would like to give hechmi a special mention every time we went for lunch/dinner he was always making us laugh and always smiling. I only stayed at this hotel for a week but the food was never repetitive, but amazing!!!! The entertainment team do lots of activity throughout the day and shows at night, by far the best entertainment team ever, they make time to talk to everybody and have a laugh with them. The rep gave us very detailed information about everything and was brilliant, but would have rather had a rep based in our hotel. The pool is very clean and the pool man would see you and bring a sun bed straight over to you! Overall I would recommend this hotel it's fab, clean inside and out, great food, great entertainment, AMAZING staff and would like to return again soon :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0rdan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear JOrdan,

We are grateful for your stay with us and for your appreciation of our services, facilities and hospitality. We would like to thank you for recommending the “Medina Solaria & Thalasso” to the readers.

Tunisia is a country of many wonderful and varied sites. With its different cities and big towns, you could see roman monuments, coliseums and theatres of Roman occupation. You could visit its north and south, the oasis, the vast expanse Sahara and discover the Berber house, mountain in the suburb of each town. All is of an original and extraordinary beauty! So many thanks for sharing on TripAdvisor your both relaxing and memorable experience.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for another great stay.

Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This is going to be a long review but PLEASE stick with it!! Stayed here for 9 nights with my boyfriend (18th-27th April) after booking a late deal with Thomas Cook. From the point of booking we have nothing but positive words to say about our holiday.

Firstly, IGNORE poor reviews. They are clearly written by moronic little Britain type individuals with little sense of adventure who are obviously not well suited to holidays in Arabic nations. This is a third world country and you will get people practically begging you to buy their goods, but this is all part of the fun!!! Polite no and a smile usually works!

The hotel - WONDERFUL! Definitely deserves it's five stars! Welcome drinks on arrival, beautifully clean, amazing service. All inclusive buffet was excellent! Huge variety every night and always fresh! Waiters were top notch, always saved your favourite table and held chairs for you, remembered drink preferences, kept you topped up and always happy and smiley!! Special mention to Ahmed Mathlouthi, who was a firm favourite and had us laughing every evening!!

The pool area is stunning, clean and fun!! Stays sunny all day. Waiters bring you drinks when they see you have run out, the pool guy was brilliant, making sure everything was kept tidy and moving sun loungers to wherever you wanted!!

The beach - clear blue sea, clean, beach bar for hotel guests, life guard puts sun loungers anywhere you like and is a real friendly face. There is seaweed but it didn't bother us or look ugly. NOTE - the beach is NOT covered in camel excrement. It is seaweed. It is just how the seaweed looks, it's in balls :)

The entertainment/animation team were BRILLIANT!! So funny, original, happy, keen to know everyone!! Great choice of activities throughout the day and the evening entertainment is hilarious!! Kader, Karim, Mourad, Joe and all the other Members of the animation team are fab!!!

We had a massage in the spa downstairs. Beautiful spa, and very relaxing massage!

Yasmine hammamet is very tourist focused and is purpose built. If you prefer something a little more authentic it's. Really good base to get out on excursions or taxis/buses are very cheap to other areas!!

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anybody! The staff are all amazing, very hard working
and we didn't want to leave!!! If you have booked here have a wonderful time and make the most of it!! We were shocked to find out the averAge salary of hotel workers in tunisia is a maximum of 600 dinars a month. For long days,
permanent smiles and FIVE STAR service it's astonishing how they maintain such high standards for such poor pay. Many a tip was given ;-) thank you Medina Solaria xxxx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lottie235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are grateful for your stay with us and for your detailed appreciation of our services, facilities and hospitality. We would like to thank you for recommending Medina Solaria & Thalasso to the readers, and will be glad to welcome you again.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we achieved our standard of ensuring your holiday to be both relaxing and memorable.
Once again, We would like to thank you for the time spent to write to us and sharing photos.
We really are looking forward to welcoming you back again to your second home in Yasmine Hammamet
Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
5.5 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
593 reviews
6.5 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
1,981 reviews
6.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#20 of 117 in Hammamet
1,214 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#23 of 117 in Hammamet
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Solaria & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Solaria & Thalasso

Property: Medina Solaria & Thalasso
Address: Rue de la Medina | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Medina Solaria & Thalasso 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Medina Solaria & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Solaria Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Solaria
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing