We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medina Solaria & Thalasso
Ranked #16 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms, but airco did not work very well and beds were very hard.
Very good food, with friendly waiters, especially Adel Zommiti.
Nice pool, but not perfect clean
Not a 5 star hotel, more like 4 stars

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasper W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed in the Iberostar Solaria with my boyfriend this september, the location is poor with many run down hotels but good shop areas close by. the beach was a disapointment with black dried dirt covering the pathways and a lot of cammel faeces! hotel was good standard could not fault the service especially by our waiter Ahmed Mathlouthi who went out of his way to remember our drink orders and room number and always greeted us warmly. Pool was of good standard and nice and cold with the hot weather. I would recomend the hotel but not the location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hariplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I think the problem was failure to manage expectations; I booked with Thomas Cook on the phone and they sent me to the Iberostar website which declares the hotel to be 5 star which is most definitely is not. Except for.....its staff who are exceptional. They did all they could to manage our disappointment and went someway to rescuing us from a disaster. Online photos of the pool are misleading to point of downright lies and the constant 'Animation/entertainment' team make the possibility of relaxing at this hotel unimaginable.

However, I must stress, once again, just how good the staff were. Nothing was too much trouble and we were fortunate to have several very good waiters in the restaurant including one young man 'Hechmi' who asked us to go to Trip Advisor and mention him, which I'm happy to do.

The fault is not even with the hotel itself - though Iberostar could support their excellent team by investing money in maintaining and improving it's facilities - but with Thomas Cook who were neglectful in their management of our experience, deciding they's had the money, that was an end to it. It wasn't and I have written to both the Thomas Cook & Iberostar CEO's with clear feedback on what their respective brands feels like from a first hand experience.

Room Tip: Try to be near the pool that guests are NOT allowed to swim in. Apart from the night-time animation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdrienneLawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

my daughter and I visited this hotel in September 2013, the Tunisian people are very nice and friendly, the hotel definitely is not worth a 5 star rating, more like a 2 or 3 star. the hotel was ok, not as clean as I expect a 5 star hotel to be. the loud music outside our room was constant, absolutely awful. The food was disgusting, to the point I had to call out a doctor to the hotel, as my daughter was vomiting terrible, I then took the same thing a few days later, was dreadful being sick all the way home on the flight. The flies in the hotel, especially in the restaurant loads of them, all over the food. will definitely be our last visit to Tunisia, disgusting place.

Room Tip: just don't go to Tunisia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgena n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The trip itself was really good,the hotel has a nice pool area,lots of bars for refreshments and the rooms are nice with good air con and space. Wi-fi in the room itself would be a bonus. The tv channels are limited and the hall ways of the hotel can be very hot. The rooms are cleaned every day to a high standard. The restraint staff are always friendly and nothing is too much trouble especially Ahmed. A very friendly and cheery man bringing service with a smile. Not much to do around the area and food selection is limited fine if in a couple or small family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon060182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hi,
Just had to leave some information for those travelling in the next few weeks to the Solaria.
Like everything else in life, you cant please everyone, just back from hols and had a great time at this hotel, because we didn't expect much and was really surprised. The staff couldn't do enough and that includes everyone from the dining room especially Malek and Ronaldo of the animation team. Of course the people who moan moan moan all the time and i'm talking 24/7 put you right off. Well don't listen make your own mind up, and if you've been to an arabic country before I am sure you will love it. happy holiday

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marion h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one week early September,hotel is good, staff very friendly and attentive (especially food waiter Mohamed Tollowli), food OK though repetitive. I would class this as a 3-4 star hotel.
The hotel is very clean, in stark contrast to the resort itself which is absolutely filthy. The beach is awash with rubbish and the poor horses which pull leisure carriages around the resort fill the air with a terrible stench. Our first and last visit to Yasmine Hammamet, however friends tell me that other parts of Tunisia do not suffer the same uncleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 921geordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#12 of 119 in Hammamet
1,357 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
807 reviews
6.5 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
0.7 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#34 of 119 in Hammamet
447 reviews
6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Solaria & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Solaria & Thalasso

Address: Rue de la Medina | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $38 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Medina Solaria & Thalasso 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Medina Solaria & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Solaria Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Solaria
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing