We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would be gret before end of September”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Medina Solaria & Thalasso
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“would be gret before end of September”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have just spent 7 days here with my son in-law for the second year running, the hotel is superb the staff were very friendly and helpful,
the food is very repetitive almost the same menu every night all very nice but a change is very welcome, the bar staff were very friendly this hotel must have the best bar waiter in Tunisia, Hamza seems to glide over the ground and never stops, our glasses were never empty it all seemed effortless to him, another was only interested in picking up girls and boasting how many he had picked up, our wives were looking to book us here again for next year but gave up on that idea as there was no air conditioning, it came on from 9 pm till midnight, everyone that complained was told it gets switched off on the 25th of September, so dates determine when the air conditioner is on or off Not The Weather, it was 30% day and night every morning our beds were soaking wet, sitting in the foyer at night drinking our shirts were soaking wet, the waiters were sweating but that changed nothing the ones that determine if its on or off don't work there or it might have been different, with all that, we both enjoyed our stay mainly because of Hamza just watching him work so effortless was a treat,the pool area was nice and relaxing, or if a bit more energetic there were games organized by the annimation team, this hotel is kept very clean with a team of very friendly cleaning staff, the only problem was the heat, we visited other hotels and they all
had air con on, so now we are looking at one of them for next year.

"Green Chartreuse Liqueur"
Ricky. Coventry.

Room Tip: all rooms look inward in a circle, only a few look over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eagle44Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    517
    230
    94
    71
See reviews for
654
736
67
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Well I am 20 years old and I went on holiday with my mum who is 43. We both thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week holiday we took at the end of September. The food is exceptional!! Couldn't fault anything, they had so much variety and was always alternating! There is only one pool and we did think there was 3 when booking however it is a big pool and you always had a choice of loungers! Even when going down about 10 am there were still some loungers free! ..all the staff were helpful throughout our stay! We tipped on the 3rd day then the last as we tip to reward good service not to get good service ..the rooms were very clean and spacious. Would highly recommend this hotel! The only fault is you have to pay for wifi but its really cheap! It's about £2 for an hour and that lasted me 10 days! And another thing, our room was right near where they done the evening shows so couldn't get an early night as the show music was so loud but it finished about 11pm so didn't bother us too much.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view or pool view are quieter not over looking the amphitheatre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Jest returned on Sunday 8th October from a week stay at the Iberostar solaria. ( 2 Couples ) This was the first time I had done the all inclusive thing and pleasantly surprised . Flew with Thomas Cook. ( What a night mare ) . Was suppose to have flew at 6.00am on the 30th September and arrive at the hotel around 10am but didn`t end up getting to the hotel in the night time at 9.40pm. We was greeted by the reception staff, once we got off the coach they helped us with our suitcases. Got to reception and they looked after luggage while they took us straight to the restaurant for some food and a drink. After having some food we then checked in at reception and was then helped to our rooms with our cases. Staff are very pleasant and friendly. They do expect a tip for most things they do for you. The Maid service was excellent and our room were always clean and tidy . Really nice rooms. The pool area was lovely to relax and we always had sun beds.If you like to take parts in games during the day the animation team would put plenty of activities for you to do so. if you couldn't find any sun beds the life guards would always help you and find some for you. Very Helpful. The food was lovely but a bit repetitive at times. Not a lot there if your fussy like myself. I lived on pasta chips and pizza the whole week (lol). The animation team performed shows at night but these are poor. Despite how poor they were we went and watched them and couldn't stop laughing at the poorness of the show. This hotel has a private section of the beach as is really nice to relax in the sun and watch the world pass by. There is sea weed and on the beach but what can you expect when the merina is so close by. There is also the Medina jest a five minute walk from the hotel and is nice to walk around but when you hit the shops the shop owners are basically in front of you while your walking trying to get you in their shop . Jest say no or ignore them , It was easier to do that other wise you go into their shop they like you to buy something and they keep on and on at you. The Hotel is really nice and you feel very comfortable while your in there , I would Definitely recommend this jest for a relaxing holiday. There is not a lot to do in the night time other than go for a walk, watch the show in the hotel, have a few beers and then go back to hotel room. .To be honest we didn't really have a bad thing to say about it. Very Relaxing Holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just spent 10 nights 'All inclusive' at this hotel in mid september, we had not visited Tunsia before. The dining staff were lovely and very attentive. As the nights went on the waiting staff (particularly Adel) kept an eye out for you and we found that our table had often been decorated with flowers. Hotel guests are well catered for, a good selection of food available from morning till night. The hotel itself very comfortable, rooms cleaned everyday, beds and bathroom tidied. We found plenty to do in the surrounding area, the medina just a short walk away, a vibrant place to spend to the evening watching the world go by. The hotel does provide entertainment in the evening, also lounge areas to use. The hotels private beach and pool both with life guards, a bar and staff to organise sun beds. We found this hotel very good value for money and would recommend it and would stay here again. To be honest we didn't really have anything bad to say about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I spent a week here with my 10 year old son at the end of September. This was the first time I had done the all inclusive thing and pleasantly surprised :) Food was good quality although a little repetitive but the fresh pasta bar made up for that. Staff/waiters cant do enough to help you and ensure your drinks are full. The only 2 negatives are the fact the hotel charges for internet and the evening entertainment is pretty naff !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliantjpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is nice, but perhaps nothing to be too excited about. Compared to its price it is a very good value, however, there were several things that were not so great. The food is not that great, buffets are seldom very nice, except perhaps freshly prepared food, like the pasta, the omelets and the pancakes, however there was only a pasta stand the last night we were there. Apart from that the beds were separated instead of king size which you can expect if you are a couple traveling. Lastly, the indoor salt-water pool was always full of very loud children which made it much less enjoyable than it should have been as it was a very nice pool. Despite the issues of the hotel it is a very good value, and if you don't want to spend too much money on a nice hotel in Tunisia we would recommend this hotel, however if you have some more money to spend on a nicer hotel go for it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your visit and for dedicating your time and effort to write this review. We are glad to may learn from our guest´s experiences in order to take their visions into account and achieve maximum adaption to their needs.

Related to the bed we would like to inform you that we have a few double beds available, and therefore we suggest that for your next holiday with Iberostar, you contact the booked hotel to require special wishes like this one. When we know that this is important to you, we will do our utmost to plan the existing reservations accordingly to the particular preferences.

Regarding our culinary offer we took good note of your remarks although we would like to point out that in Iberostar our chefs’ work in accordance to the demanding quality standards established by the company on a global level, therefore we only contract competent professionals who work with products of prime quality and we attempt to seduce all palates.

Further, we are sorry to hear that at the precise moment of your visit the spectacular indoor pool wasn´t as quiet as you would have wished. We passed your commentary to our lifeguard who will main alert on the matter. Nevertheless, we would like to point out that in Iberostar we have several “Only Adults” establishments available and we would be delighted to may orientate you through our Iberostar call center or webpage, in case you decide to try out this exclusive brand.

To continue, we thank you for high lighting the fair relation we offer regarding value for money. We find it lovely to read you would recommend our hotel as you find it is a nice accommodation for a fair price.

Once more we want to say how worthy your opinion is to us and thank you again for sharing it on Tripadvisor. We look forward to serving you in the future and send you our best regards,

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Please note: we paid £700 pp for an all inclusive package and was hugely disappointed.

ALSO: Included in the photos are the 3 people that were friendly staff. They deserve credit since they actually were welcoming.



Bad things about the hotel:
- 1 member of reception staff was VERY RUDE, you will know its him by his FAKE SMILE that he badly puts on. He was pushy, rude to my sister and only when I stepped in did he apologise. He lied to us about making calls to taxi services and tried to usher us on when changing our money and simply wanting to check that it was right (when it is what is suggested by a notice at the reception desk).

- Bar and restaurant staff were also VERY pushy and expected tips from anyone who they served, also when asked to complete a customer service form they constantly hassled us, peering over out shoulder and asking us (cheekily) to put down their names for a good word.

- The food in the restaurant was bland and the same everyday with a few exceptions.

- There was a cockroach in the food hall (only a small one).

- When going out to the hotel's pool, you need to make sure you DO NOT ware slippers/flipflops as the water on the tiles on the outer ridge of the pool make it easy to slip.



Good things about the hotel:
- Looks amazing.
- Friendly room cleaner.
- Friendly Pool staff (that genuinely seem like that enjoy talking to you).
- Friendly and helpful waiter (named Hechmi, he was very nice to us).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to offer our apologies for not meeting your expectations and assure you that we always work to satisfy all our guest’s wishes and to make them all feel welcome and well attended. Please rest assured that it is our goal to fulfill each and every one of the Iberostar quality standards.

To continue, we deeply regret you didn´t always become the splendid service Iberostar is famous for. We passed your comments to the departments involved and we are revising the procedures to guarantee an excellent service from each and every staff member. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. This is why we can confirm that they aim to provide a personalized service, regardless of whether they are tipped or not. Please rest assured that we will do an extensive follow up to guarantee all practices are in accordance with the established protocols.

In Iberostar we understand that eating and drinking is an important part of the all over experience of our guests and we took good note of your remarks regarding our culinary offer. However, we would like to point out that in Iberostar our chefs’ work in accordance to the demanding quality standards established by the company on a global level, therefore we only contract competent professionals who work with products of prime quality and we attempt to please all palates by alternating our daily menus.

Please receive our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the insect in the restaurant. We do our utmost to prevent this and usually we can. Nevertheless sometimes due to the huge gardens, the green areas and the climatology there is a punctual invasion.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you for highlighting the beautifulness of the rooms. We find it most important to offer a comfortable and attractive accommodation whilst staying with us. It is also very nice to hear that you could enjoy the efforts of the room cleaner, the pool staff and Hechmi, we will congratulate them for contributing positively to your holiday.

We thank you again for taking the time and effort to write your opinion on your recent stay in Tripadvisor. Your review helps us to know how we can still improve the experience of our guests, and to us that is the ultimate goal.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
5.5 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
628 reviews
6.5 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 118 in Hammamet
2,043 reviews
6.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#20 of 118 in Hammamet
1,233 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#24 of 118 in Hammamet
1,564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Solaria & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Solaria & Thalasso

Property: Medina Solaria & Thalasso
Address: Rue de la Medina | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Medina Solaria & Thalasso 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medina Solaria & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Solaria Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Solaria
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing