We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blown away!”
Review of Vincci Marillia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vincci Marillia
Ranked #20 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have stayed at many hotels in different parts of the world but the Riu Marillia was amazing! I stayed here for 2 weeks during July 2013 with 4 other family members. Weather was beautiful, the pool...my god it was massive! Food was the best bit, the choice of the buffet was incredible, even though the menu repeats every week you don't notice because there is so much to chose from, even for the fussy eaters like me! Rooms were fantastic. We had booked 2 rooms and the only downside was that they were at complete opposite ends of the hotel but we perfectly cleaned everyday. All plumbing was good and comfy beds. We had a newly renovated room which was very big for 3 people but the other room was an old one. Don't get me wrong it was still perfect but a little dated. The animation team do their job so well to keep everyone entertained and the evening shows are amateur but very funny. Cocktails are lovely, nothing watered down and all staff friendly. One tip, don't do excursions via your rep. If you want to go somewhere ask at reception for a taxi and agree on a price. We done this twice, once to the zoo and once to many parts of carthage. He stayed at waited for us both times and was cheaper than excursions. Beach was wonderful, did get a little bit of rudeness from hasslers who wouldn't leave us alone but that's Tunisia! One day there was quite a lot of rubbish washed up on the beach so we told reception who immediately got management so we could express our concerns...the next day it was spotless again! We was served by the most loveliest man everyday for breakfast and dinner, near the end of the holiday he would have our drinks waiting for us on the table bless him, wish I could remember his name!

All in all a delightful stay at this hotel, definitely worth the money and would love to return one day :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We returned last week ,had a lovely relaxing time .Room lovely and clean we had 320 great sea view.Staff friendly .Food ok we could always find something to eat . There were work going on in the pools but they will make great area for swimming in the future .We would return in the future if priced right we got a bargain .

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel has the makings of a really nice hotel but lacks atmosphere. My room was adequate, nice balcony with sea view. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The food was dreadful and it did not improve even at weekends when the locals came to stay. Three pools, well so I was lead to believe plus an indoor pool. Two of the outside pools were empty and tapped off the third was so dirty and the tepid indoor pool had no changing facilities. If you use the Spa facilities barter you can get them at half the prices quoted see Tarik. Fifi the Animation guy was amazing, he and his team really made the place. You can get Wifi in rooms near to reception. Evening entertainment starts at 9.30 if you wish to see a guy lying on a bed of nails.Two English TV channels, BBC World News and a repeating film channel. The hotel is currently as of 19th Feb 2014 undergoing renervation works so chose a westerly facing room as work starts at 7am.

Room Tip: Westerly facing and on !st floors as lifts often break down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had 10 days at this hotel it is very clean and all the staff were polite and helpful. I found the food to rich and not always hot but you had a good selection and you could always find something to eat. The drinks I didn't like at all and if I went again I would take duty free.They could do with putting kettles in the room . We found the rooms very noisy you could hear everything from next door.All in all we had a good time,I wouldn't go back but would tell others to give it a go.

Room Tip: If you want a nice cup of coffee take your own kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joycewalesengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Arrived 2nd Feb at 20.00. We were taken through for food while the rooms were allocated. I was in 325 which had a view of buildings and a little sea view (good sunrise though). Beds very comfy but the best thing about the room was the shower (very very strong).
Food was excellent and catered for all types, Waiters very polite and make you welcome every visit.
Bar areas good but make sure you ask for a double as it is not that strong.
Pool was out of order still but you would be brave to use it at this time of year. I popped in to the sea a few times and came out with 2 peanuts and a walnut in my shorts (freezing).
Animation team tried their hardest and did get a bit long faced if you did not want to join in the daytime fun. Do not expect Broadway for the night time entertainment but it is enjoyable.
There are locals at the weekend and they do tend to take a lot of food to their tables and not eat it, they can also be a tad ignorant.
The outside locals do harass at times and some will say that they work in the hotel and they will show you around. Do not entertain them. I encounter the hotel Chef (not) and as he said he was my Chef I replied that his food was rubbish and I could teach him how to cook. He looked a tad confused and walked away.
Any problems that you have are sorted straight away.
I went by myself and met some great people (1 special one). So do not be afraid to travel solo
Overall the Hotel is excellent and I am planning to go back in April of this year followed by Feb next year.
DO NOT buy from the Hotel shop. It is not run by the hotel and he will tell you anything to get you to buy his stuff (cheaper outside).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank william k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We went here as very last minute deal ,,, our welcome was fantastic , we had missed evening meal buy try kept a sitting for us they welcomed us genuinely .. Had read mixed reviews but nothing prepared us for what we experienced ,,, great from start to finish ,,, food was authentic and great selection , did hear coupled saying food not up to standard but in all honesty we had no ides what they were thinking , it's a foreign country so if you don't went to eat food they have Stay at Home .. They were great with our daughter . The animation team couldn't do more , bit tongue in cheek but good fun. Pool was out of use but they still had indoor pool which was fine , would have been good to know this before but guessing maintainence has to be done sometime,,, outside locals are pests but against all instincts either ignore them or just plain no is suffice to chase them

Room Tip: Ask for pool/ sea view pay the extra always have Tunisian coins(tips)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank heather e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

WOW, I did not expect this, what an excellent hotel. Smack on the beach, beautiful hotel. The room (394) was lovely. The staff here are wonderful warm friendly people and if you try a few words of Arabic they will love you. On arrival we were given drinks and seated in the bar where the reception manager gave the introduction and sorted out check in. The view from the room was marvellous and we saw camels on the beach. Beware of the fruit sellers though. Our tour guide was Adie, excellent chap very helpful and quick to assist. I cannot fault this place , great value comfortable and extremely nice people.

Room Tip: choose the sea view rooms as high as poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.5 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#26 of 119 in Hammamet
896 reviews
7.1 mi away
SENTIDO Aziza Beach Golf & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#10 of 119 in Hammamet
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Saphir Palace & Spa
Saphir Palace & Spa
#44 of 119 in Hammamet
1,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
7.4 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Marillia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Marillia

Address: Zone Touristique | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Marillia)
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#15 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#20 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $34 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Marillia 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vincci Marillia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marillia Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing