We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite RIU standard”
Review of Vincci Marillia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vincci Marillia
Ranked #22 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not quite RIU standard”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

After staying in RIU hotels a few times we were a bit disappointed with the Marillia. The pools are fantastic as are the rooms. The piano bar was not open and on the evenings we had bad weather, there was not enough room in the lobby bar for everyone. If you wanted to see the evening entertainment, which was not great, again there were not enough seats outside. Therefore, you had to sit on sunbeds!! Did not expect this at a four star hotel. Although we had a very good holiday, i would not rush back to this RIU.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisahelen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    444
    162
    93
    59
See reviews for
405
522
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake District, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the marillia for 1 week from 28th July in group of 6 girls. Hotel lovely, food fantastic (garlic prawns!), beach fabulous. Entertainment questionable! My only gripe with the hotel is the over friendliness and inappropriateness (bordering sleezy/creepy) of some of the entertainment, waiting and bar staff, personally I think riu should nip this in the bud - I don't particularly want to hear what the guy filling the breakfast bread basket would like to do to me!!! I have stayed at rius in the canaries, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, jamaica, cuba, morroco and Spain and travelled allover the world, staff are friendly sometimes cheeky and have a good crack/banter, this was on another level, bordering uncomfortable.

We travelled with Thomson, neil was our rep. Personally i thought the guy was fine, knowledgeable, approachable, had a bit of a laugh but wasnt too over the top or Iin your face, answered any questions I had so I don't understand the negative comments about him, for me he did his job.

We did 2 trips - capital sights and legends of tunisia. Thoroughly recommend both to really see the country but it is HOT! Take water/refreshing wipes/cool sprays/water. The legends trip was hottest as lunch was in an outdoor restaurant so no respite from the heat. Lunches aren't up to much on either trip so smuggling some nibbles from breakfast is a good idea as they are all day trips :).

Ventured into jasmine Hammamet for a mooch round the shops one afternoon, felt totally safe, some hassle from shop keepers but a firm and convincing no deals with most of them.

A note on the airport - duty free was pricey for perfume and high end make up, more expensive than Debenhams so buy from uk duty free if possible.

Not sure if I feel the need to go back, and lovely as the hotel was I wasn't sad to leave - for me there was something not right. However I would like to experience the overnight sahara camp out so never say never! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chutneypickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hello I feel it best to break my review down into sections..

Cleanliness:
I would like to start off by saying that this hotel is one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in, the staff are very attentive and insure the place is spotless.
Hotel room's are kept to a very high standard and the cleaning staff we found very good and safe, there have been reports that some staff have removed items and money from peoples rooms! We never experienced anything going missing from our room's we had two rooms for the duration of our stay, we comfortably left change and small amounts of cash in the room and it was never touched unless we left some with the room attendants card, where it was clear it had been left as a tip..

Food:
Well i don't know where to start, the food is great with plenty of selection and all presented to a very high standard..
Breakfast: Caters for everyone, from Toast, Pastries, Egg's Fried/Hard & Soft Boiled/Omelet or even Scrambled, Fruit, Cereal.
Lunch: Again caters for all tastes and ages, there is a lot of fish and egg dishes but there are also most meats on offer and a whole host of Salads.
Afternoon: There is a Crepe counter where they serve some amazing crepe's and cakes!
Evening Meals: On your first night you are allocated a table and Waiter (Ours was called Ali and he was a great guy who always decorated our table with flowers and great napkin arrangements), again the food selection is amazing catering once again for all tastes. They also have an Asian (Chinese) restaurant that you are required to book, Thomson rep said your only allowed once a week but the Hotel are very flexible and if they have room you can dine there as many times as you like!

We had our two children with us and they found plenty to eat that they both liked, there is something for every child no matter how fussy they may be.. The sweets are amazing with some great flavored ice creams..

Bar's:
There are two main bars presently open in the hotel, the outside bar and the lobby bar.. The staff at both of these are amazing and very helpful.. You are always greeted with a smile and happy to help my only gripe would be people are allowed to smoke at both and we found on a number of occasions that we where surrounded by smokers, as non smokers and our children's health in mind we really feel there should be some dedicated no smoking areas available!

Entertainment:
Wow, the Animation team here are amazing, these guy's start work at 8:00 and continue right through to 21:00 and always come and chat and say hello.. The team is run by Fifi, who incidentally remembers everyone's name and can talk in 5 different languages! he is followed up by Sam, Momo, Besam to name but a few (Your All Great!!).. there is loads going on throughout the day and enough to keep everyone amused.. So if your into Aqua Gym, Aqua Aerobics Water Sports and Volley Ball; Football, Darts, Archery, Bolls, netball your going to be happy!!

Thomson Rep,
Right there have been a few complaints on here about Neil and in fairness i would say that most are legitimate, Neil seems a very self indulgent person and if you want to sit down and talk about how great he is then your going to get on like a house on fire! We booked a 2 day excursion called the Sahara experience and Neil didn't ask once if we enjoyed it.. All I can say is Thompson get another rep before he ruins this hotels reputation!

Overall,
For the money this is a very nice hotel, yes there are little bits here and there that may require a little attention but they are working on these small little things that really do not have any baring on the hotel at all..

We would like to thank all the staff at the Hotel Riu Marrilia for making our staff very nice!!

We would highly recommend that when you first arrive give everyone a tip, the Bar staff, Your Waiter, Pool Staff and they will all be sure to look after you during your stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just back from a stay here and it was very evident that this hotel has just re opened as a Riu hotel. Having stayed at a few in other countries you could see they are trying to pull this hotel up to their usual standards & the hotel is lovely to look at, rooms nice, food ok, pools great. Then you come to the staff , reception staff need a crash course in customer service, on arrival we were handed an envelope & left to look for our room. If you phone home from payphones , they connect you & you pay once the call is over, i timed myself & was charged vastly different amounts by whoever was on, so ask to see a print out. My main reason for writing this review was to warn people about the key card system, you get 1 card , only problem is when you leave the room all power goes off & i mean all, including mini fridge & air con . My husband has been recuperating after a serious illness & decided to stay in one night , so off the family went, with myself taking the key card so as not to disturb him on my return. After an hour we came across my husband in the lobby very distressed and almost passing out . He had got into bed only to quickly realise that the aircon did not come on & in a very short time he was lashing sweat & very scared that he would pass out, so had to then get dressed in the pitch black & come to find us. Upon telling this story at reception i got no reaction and was told there were no more key cards!!, 1 per room !.I think this is shocking and dangerous . This really put a damper on our families holiday. Apart from the animation team who are very good all other staff need to smile . Anyone who has been to egypt on holiday , dont expect the same level of attention, care & happiness here. In time i hope the marilias teething problems get sorted as it could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauline mcc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

First visit to Tunisia and will definitely go back! Absolutely loved the markets, the weather and the short flight!

This hotel was exactly as described in the brochure, on the beach, very clean and excellent all inclusive facilities.

Food and drink was brilliant, so much choice available for main meals. Food prepared in front of you and excellent food hygiene.

Entertainment was very good, activities everyday from aqua aerobics, archery, French boules, water polo, beach volley ball and kids disco.

Indoor pool was closed and there didn't appear to be much going on with the nightclub but I didn't investigate much.

Gave up with the hotel early wake up calls, they just didn't seem to get it.....wrong rooms, wrong times it wrong days!

Hotel pool towel service was great.

Kids club was ok, a long way off any kids clubs that are run in the UK. Sam was lovely but he was very inexperienced with kids clubs and entertaining a mixture of age groups.

Pools are fantastic. Gym is ok, there was a treadmill, a cross trainer and a bike, all relatively new. Free weights and weights machines are way out of date, the probably date back to the 80's! The bar alone was too heavy for me to pick up! All this aside, there is no air conditioning in the gym, make sure you keep the doors open.

Maid service was good but on the last day they enter your room regardless of any do not disturb signs and they will take any tips you have left for them. I can only guess that its a first come first served basis as one maid makes the beds and another washes the floors.

Not much to do outside of the hotel, not many trips to do but there's plenty going on in the hotel and water sports available locally from the beach.

Evening entertainment was ok, its not brilliant but they work hard at what they do. Some shows are better than others and I am sure the quality will improve with time.

Definitely recommend this hotel and Tunisia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 385Shayne385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthenshire Wales
Level Contributor
168 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from two weeks here today........oh so sad wish we were still there!

Arrival at the hotel was efficient despite our room not being ready , however it was only around 1030 a.m.!

our room was ready by 1230 by which time we had explored a little and had some lunch.

the room was as expected as we had upgraded to a junior suite , and it was massive room for 3 families !

we had a massive bed didnt measure it but lying in the middle and i could not reach either end , the storage and wardrobes were plentiful with 3 double robes and a huge dressing table with ample draws.

we had 2 massive flat screen t.v.'s in the room and 2 huge sofas along with a balcony to hold a party on. the room was maintained impeccably for the duration by THAYRAM ,with flowers and towel art on most days.

the hotel was quite big and fortunately our room was tucked away in a quiet corner which gave us peace and some exercise in getting around.

the whole place was spotless and all of the staff were most pleasant from Gardner to bar staff ,

much has been written about Fiffi and the entire animation team and i can concur it is absolutely spot on.Fiffi has a remarkable memory in remembering everyone's names and beleive me being welsh we do not have easy names to pronounce let alone remember , but he did.......Fiffi if you get to read this best wishes to you all there from Eifion & Belinda.

Also a special mention to Neil our rep , mixed reviews read prior to our meeting him but i can honestly tell you he is a great guy.... thanks to you also Neil, we ad some great times in your company.

The pools here are very large one an olympic swimming number , and only a few steps to a beautiful beach , which had some interesting characters visit diaLY , CAMELS ,HORSES, fruit and scarfe sellers did not have any problems with them.

from the beach you could go up on a parachute behind a speed boat for only @£8 or go on a jet ski or a large rubber couch for 4 ! did not try any but they were well utilised.

the food was ok we did not starve but on occasions we did not have meat in our diet's
this said it was all presented beautifully and the entire restaurant staff were amazing , special thanks to Chaban who excelled in looking after us on table 7. The beauty of the restaurant is that you have your table for the duration and we chose the earlier dinner sitting of 6.30 - 8.00 pm , this was a very quiet time to dine , and the later shift appeared to be far busier and chaotic!

The only complaint that i have as a non smoker is the bar area's were not segregated for smokers and non smokers , to be honest this is a real pet hate of mine and the people that smoked prefously at the lunch out side buffet aggravated me big time however this is the hotel's fault for not organising it better for all concerned.


out side of the hotel it was easy and safe to walk to yasminne hammamett marina around a 40 min brisk walk ,

if any one is planning on going here don't hesitate you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ew6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful it's so clean and everyone is so nice they all work so hard the animation team are amazing and funny they work so hard to make the shows good and the days good the animation team I got to not the most was Sam, mario and moomo they was the ones I talk to the most there amazing dancers and you can have a laugh with them but there all amazing and the bar staff are really kind and really good the one I got to no the most was marchisio Dali he is so kind and so nice he is the one i talked to I think the hotel has been made better its nice hotel the staff are nice they make it feel like home the cleaning ladies make sure that your room is perfect and clean there so nice to talk to the food was really nice so was the waiters there so helpful there have a Chinese restaurant we went there 2 times the food is really nice different the rep Neal is very helpful he will help you with anything we went to the shops and he made sure that they was good the shops in the hotel are better but the shops outside the hotel are cheaper but the shops outside the stuff is not as good as the stuff in the shops in the hotel also the rep is very helpful we needed somewhere to sit and because there was no room Neal helped us find somewhere he is really amazing really nice to talk the best rep we have ever had but everyone in the hotel are very friendly and very helpful it is one of the best holidays I have ever been on I would go back there it's great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amzzy-girl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
7.4 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#6 of 117 in Hammamet
1,984 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#28 of 117 in Hammamet
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#19 of 117 in Hammamet
1,214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#30 of 117 in Hammamet
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Medina Belisaire & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Marillia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Marillia

Property: Vincci Marillia
Address: Zone Touristique | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Marillia)
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#17 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#22 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Marillia 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincci Marillia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marillia Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing