We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice Spa & Thalasso centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Medina Belisaire & Thalasso
Ranked #13 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really nice Spa & Thalasso centre”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I am a big fan of the thalasso centre in the hotel!

GENERAL
The hotel is not located directly at the beach. It is a walk of about 500 m. There are also not really shops in the neighborhood (ca. 700 m).

ROOMS
The rooms in the hotel are nicely decorated. However if you can, ask for a renovated room. There are rooms availble for families with a connecting door (two double rooms) or just one large room with 4 beds in it. Also rooms available especially adapted for disabled persons.

POOL
The hotel has a nice landscape swimming pool and one "quiet pool". There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool? When we visited the hotel there were still sunbeds available through the day.
If you want to go to the beach you have to take a 10 min walk via desolated streets. (not really a nice are in my opinion). The beach is also not that clean. (public beach)

FOOD/DRINKS
The buffet restaurant is decorated in Tunesian style, but I liked it. It is divided in to small areas (so the noice level is ok). The buffets are ok but not really extended. You have also a late breakfast (from 10 till 12)
Hotel also has a a la carte restaurant (asian cuisine), this is going to be renovated this year.
Dine around: during your stay in an Iberostar hotel you can go and dine in an other Iberostar hotel in the neighborhood. This is possible for 1 time per person per stay. You can make a reservation at the reception of the hotel. Participating hotels are: Averroes, Chich Khan, Belisaire & Solaria

Room Tip: - ask for a room with (quiet) pool view - as high as possible (max. 4 floors) - ask for a renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    465
    192
    72
    49
See reviews for
610
548
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is great for families and couples alike, they have 2 separate pools (family pool where all the games take place) (quite pool, mainly adults few kids but mainly nice and quite) we stayed mainly round the quite pool.

Food was incredible cant fault it, something for everyone, from pizza, pasta (which they make for you with your choice of sauce) chicken, beef, soups and a large choice of different fruit and veg, beautifully presented everyday

hotel clean, and staff really friendly and helpful

if you have never travelled to Tunisia one thing to know about is tipping. 1dinar=40p so every couple of round of drinks and a couple at meal times is greatly appreciated and they will look after you (saving you whichever table you'd like and regular topping up drinks ect)

the wifi you have to pay for £5 dinar=£2 per hour (thought id at that in because we used it a lot)

haggling is key in Tunisia, if you want something you have to haggling them down, if you work on the basis that for every 10 dinar is £4 you can work out how much things are. They do some great fake brands inc nike, diesel, ysl. I bought a great diesel leather handbag for £20 :)

the hotel offers trips for everyone, we visited the zoo, but be prepared its a poor country so no where near as good as English ones, but worth a visit

overall the hotel was great, as a couple but the animation team were great with the kids playing games all day

Room Tip: ask for a pool view in the quite pool area :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our second visit to Iberostar Belisaire and it was just as good as the first, if not better!
The room was comfortable, clean and fully air conditioned. There was a fault with the balcony lock but it was rectified immediately.
There were always sunbeds available throughout the day especially on the grass area.
The restaurant and bar staff always had a table and drinks ready for us. There were plenty of food choices every meal.
The entertainment staff absolutely brilliant and always enthusiastic. Our favourite activity was the archery which we participated in daily. A special thanks to Jimmy and Marwen for making our visit extra special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel more 2 - 3 star not 4. Food was average best thing was cakes and ice cream. Rooms clean but a few issues. Drinks a bit of a joke baby plastic cups. Harrassed as soon as you stepped out the hotel and beach was like a building site and dirty. Would not go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

me and my husband have just got back from this hotel we have had a nice time and enjoyed our holiday but no way is this hotel a four star and we did feel disappointed in quite a few things for example the phone did not work the fridge leaked we paid extra for a safety deposit box and it broke down twice the décor is tired some umbrellas round the pool were falling apart, however the saving grace was the fantastic staff who I cant praise enough they were very friendly and helpful and they made our holiday special .if you are prepared to turn a blind eye to quite a few things you will have a good time. I don't blame the hotel for the lack of standards I blame Thomas cook who are miss selling this hotel as a four star .

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the quiet pool , they have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We moved to the Belisaire from the Chich Khan after being extremely dissapointed dissapointed with that hotel. Immediately, we noticed a massive improvement...it was clean, the staff we excellent, and we were treated like royalty (I think the tipping may have helped though!) the entertainment team were wonderful, the rooms were nice, and the food wasn't bad either. We met some fantastic people there and really enjoyed our 2 week break, even our 16 year old son and his friend enjoyed themselves and didn't moan for the whole 2 weeks - bonus! I think some of the other guests who participated in the Archery were glad to see us leave though, as Mark won everyday. A special mention to the following staff members who made our stay a memorable one - Mahmoud, Drogba, Marwen and Riccardo aka Spike xxx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Travel date: 07 july > 21 July 2013 LGW
2 adults/ 3 children

PROS:
Rooms - large, spacious (a number interconnected) and cleaned every day with fresh linen and towels.
Main Swimming pool - gradual gradient for small childeren to be able to walk into with a max depth of only 1.4m, heated and a warm temperature all day (even 6am) and of descent size.
Indoor sea water pool - free for use till 3pm, warm and clean.
Staff - very freindly and when told about a problem will immeadiatley attempt to rectify issue.
Grounds - well maintained gardens and safely secure with guarded rear gate to allow kids to roam free.
Spa - excellent value for money, approx £43 for 2.5hr session on full body massage + scrub etc.
Animation team - content of shows are very poor but the team do an amazing job with what they have to work with and allways managed to gain almost 100% audiance participation. Great fun.
Kids club - well managed and kids enjoyed.
Themed restauraunt - well presented and clean with reasonable set menu.
Swimming pool activities - aqua areobics, water polo, surfboard walking etc. all greta fun fun with massive audiance participation - more great work by the animation team.

CONS:
Food - terrible selection, poor cuts of meat and badly cooked. Couple of nights only liver, rabbit or fish (still with heads attatched) to choose from. On the upside you wont get sick.
Beach's - looks great in brochure pictures but camels and horse rides for tourists prolific along entire stretch of beach for several miles. These animals poo freely along the sand and water while children swim in sea. The mess is every where and smells. the water and sand is also littered with tourist rubbish as there is no cleaning process in place. Avoid.
Drinks - spirits heavily diluted but red and rosie wines good.
Bars - all bars closed at 12am regardless. No drinks after this time. Ridiculous.
Gym - 3 old running machines, 1 EZ bar, 1 curl bar, 1 (non olympic) full length barbell and x4 10kg plates + x2 5kg plates, NO DUMBELLS or CABLE MACHINE and BEWARE the 2 collapsable benches (unstable and frequently fail).
General decor - old and outdated throughout hotel requiring urgent attention.
WIFI - have to pay £2 for 1hr.
Ironing - no irons in room, have to pay for individual garments to be ironed by hotel (if you trust them).
Safe - have to pay about a £1 a day to rent.
Tipping - have to tip to get good service but worth it.
Sunbeds - old and in poor condition,also not enough around pools, have to be up by 6am to get good postion. At times there were litterally not enough on site for volume of guests (complained and 2 days later approx 50 brand new yellow beds were aquired). Well done.
Restaurant - large but hot as seems to have no air conditioning, not praticulaly clean and birds freely fly in through the open windows.
Snack bar - terrible, only serve one source of food per part of day with no selection available. Pizza and pasta only with some chicken if lucky from 10-3pm. 3-5pm pancakes only.
Air conditioning - in rooms non consistent between apartments and of poor strength.

GENERAL:
The above is of personal opinion only and some people will not agree with the catergorisation of pro/con selected.
I have tried to be fair as the people of the hotel try there best to accomadate there guests with the tools at there disposal.
Even with all the cons listed above the truth be told my family had a fantastic holiday even if a little frustrated at times.
But to be honest I could not personally recommend this resort due to the flaws listed above,
but you do get what you pay for.
Morning flights, 14 nights, 2 interconnecting rooms and all inclusive drinks and food for 2 adults and 3 childeren for just under 4 grand you cant really complain.
3* at best.
Decide for yourself.

Personal gripe - had an 11hr delay on journey home with Thomson flight with plane issue and put up in the Yasmine hotel which was a complete horror. But thats another story.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmmlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
7.4 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#6 of 117 in Hammamet
1,985 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 117 in Hammamet
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#20 of 117 in Hammamet
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
9.2 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#23 of 117 in Hammamet
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Belisaire & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Belisaire & Thalasso

Property: Medina Belisaire & Thalasso
Address: BP 204 | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#10 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Belisaire & Thalasso 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel lies directly Hammamet - Yasmine (Tunisia) and just 200 m from the beautiful sandy beach. Family-friendly complex. Lively entertainment program. Just 5 km from two golf courses. Thalasso - therapy centre with different treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Medina Belisaire & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Belisaire Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Belisaire
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing