We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saphir Palace & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Safa(Hammamet)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dar Zakarya(Hammamet)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Majesty Golf Hotel(Yasmine Hammamet)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zodiac(Hammamet)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,158)
Filter reviews
1,158 results
Traveler rating
466
322
190
91
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
322
190
91
89
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 1,158 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in the early hours and were checked in and bags taken to our adjoining rooms overlooking the sea while we enjoyed a welcome drink. There were 4 adults and a 17 month old baby in our party on an all inclusive basis. The bathroom was amazing you could have a bath looking at the sea as there were shutters that opened, a huge walk in shower and separate loo - much better than some of the bathrooms in other hotels in Tunisia.The rooms were adjoining so that made it easier to look after the little one, well furnished with balconies overlooking the sea-idea for watching the sunset. The pool had a very shallow edge getting deeper to the middle and far end - ideal for paddling ! The males in our party also liked the swim up bar. The food was very good and the waiters and managers were very attentive- very well organised food prepared fresh each day with variety and choice for breakfast lunch and dinner The tables were well set out and nothing was too much trouble especially for the little one. There were several shady areas to sit and relax in and the beach was just across the road. While we were there the rally was on so we watched all the cars and bikes roar around the circuit just in front of us. My granddaughter was very excited to see the horses and carriages and we booked a ride for her ( and 2 adults) for 40 TD and they had a great time , sight seeing and enjoying the experience,the manager at reception booked it for us so we would know it was safe and reputable The Spa was also very good we had full body massages and steam baths, oil and mud scrubs and came out feeling totally relaxed.My only slight criticism was although there were 2 ramps one at the front of the hotel and one by the restaurant a couple more on the steps to the pool would make getting around with a pushchair easier ( also for wheelchair users) I have never wanted to return to the same hotel twice - but this is the exception I will be going to Saphir Palace again.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the sea capture the sun and sea breeze.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanaVal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time and effort you spent to share your feedback with TripAdvisor's readers on your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace hotel, we feel proud to read that given the good experience you had among us, you would consider a return visit to our hotel.

We are also grateful for your positive mention on your room, as we want to offer spotless and comfortable accommodations to our guests and ensure an excellent and relaxing rest during their holiday among us.

Moreover, the passion for gastronomy is one of the prime pillars of our company and we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurants where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Finally, we are glad to read that you felt well cared after during your stay and that you had a relaxing break in Tunisia.

We hope that you had a nice journey back home and would be enchanted to welcome you again in our hotel at your earliest convenience, ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to offer you another enjoyable holiday in our hotel.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed at the Palace 28 Oct - 2 Nov 2013 inclusive. It was reasonably good value for money, because it wasn't expensive, but it wasn't particularly good. Biggest problem was a lack of information - nothing at all in the room and nothing from reception unless you asked, sometimes several times. For example, we found out too late that you can only use the gym from 5.00 - 7.00pm and when you get there it's very poorly equipped and half of the machines they do have are broken. The bats for the ping pong table are broken and there are no balls in evidence. The tennis court (a kind of clay court with grit on top) had sandpit-style patches and there were no rackets or balls available at all, so most of the sport was BYO. Our daughter stayed in our room but was never provided with a towel and we had to nag to get her bed made up on our first night. The buffet food was generally quite good, by mass-catering buffet standards (although not the coffee at breakfast), and plentiful, but there was a mystique about the promised ability to dine in non-buffet Iberostar restaurants. We were half-board and were told we could do this once. Upon trying to make a booking we were told first of all that all the restaurants were closed for the weekend from Thursday - Sunday inclusive (really bizarre) and then that two were in fact open on the Thursday only, but we were not entitled to go because we were not full board, and then that maybe we could go, but they were both fully booked. In the end, we were allowed into the Saphir Palace's "Mediterranean" restaurant and it was two thirds empty. Wi-fi was also annoying as it was only in the main reception and did not extend to the bedrooms, the restaurant or the outside terrace. This is a bit twentieth century. Staff were average, not especially friendly, with a couple of exceptions. The pool is not heated and only for the hardy by the end of October. Having said all this, the room was quite nice with a balcony and a good sea view and TUNISIA NEEDS YOU. It is a friendly, easy country to travel by Middle Eastern standards, with good food, and it's generally fun and exceptional value for money. You can get by easily with a dose of franglais. They are struggling to get enough tourists through the door since the Arab Spring kicked off in Tunis in 2011. This means getting a taxi is easy and cheap and you are more than welcome wherever you go. We loved nearby Nabeul and visiting Dar Sebastian. It's also pleasant to have lunch amongst the boat masts and in the sun at Yasmine Hammamet marina. So the advice is go, but be realistic about what "five star" means when you are not paying five star prices.

Room Tip: Sea View. There is no traffic noise, so why not? No tea-making facilities in the room so BYO. Only basic TV - BBC world service and CNN for English-speakers, no sport. Beds good and bathrooms nice. All fairly spacious. No wifi in the rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazzer623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We lament reading that apparently you were not properly informed about the services in our hotel, however the restaurant and bars opening hours are displayed on the room key chains and a brochure is normally available in all rooms.

Our housekeeping staff provides towels in accordance with the number of guests in the room; however, in case of any service imperfection we invite you to immediately contact our reception so we can intervene immediately.

Related to the material for the ping pong and tennis activities, all the material is available by our reception.

We also regret the misunderstanding related to the Dine Around option and would like to take the opportunity to inform you that this option is available for All Inclusive guests only.

On the other hand, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your positive comments on our buffet restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to taste the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

We are also grateful for your positive mention on your room, as we want to offer spotless and comfortable accommodations to our guests and ensure an excellent and relaxing rest during their holiday in our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your visit, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is being written in retrospect after the experience of a close hotel later in the year.
We chose a different hotel because we dont like to stay in the same twice.
It was a family holiday consisting of six adults and two children aged 8 and 10 on an all inclusive basis.
It was a late flight and we arrived in the early hours of the morning.
Despite this there was a warm welcome and we were quickly allocated our adjoining rooms overlooking the sea.
The rooms were large with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage, nice balcony and a fantastic bathroom with a huge shower.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent with a well laid out restaurant and plenty of waiters to deal with any needs.
Excellent choice of both cooked and cold food.
The excellent food choice and service continued throughout our holiday for breakast, lunch and evening meal.
We had a family birthday whilst at the hotel and the head waiter went out of his way to ensure that everything was good for us with a decorated table and cake etc.
The hotel had a beach area across the road in front of the hotel with it own bar.
There were another two bars open.
One in the large reception if you wanted to chill and the pool bar.
The pool area was good, whilst not being huge was interesting in shape with shallow and deeper area.
The animation team were good without being intrusive.
Location ideal with the medina just around the back of the hotel and the huge marina about ten minutes walk away with its many restaurants.
I cannot praise the restaurant staff enough in the hotel, they were excellent from the managers to the waiters to the chefs, nothing was too much trouble.
I have only one criticism of this hotel and that is the air con in the reception and bar area which was excellent when switched on but that was ony 10% of our holiday.
The rest of the time despite many complaints even to the manager and rep.it was not switched on and this was July so very hot.
Despit this we all had a great holiday.

Room Tip: There is a main road in front of the hotel before the beach. Dont worry about any noise if you want a sea view because it is not very busy and no trouble with traffic noise on higher floors.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garro47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to share your holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace hotel, we are glad to read that overall you had an enjoyable holiday among us.

We took good note of your comment on the air conditioning and are really surprised to read that you found it insufficient as it was operational on a 24 hours basis from early June to the end of October and we have not experienced any breakdown throughout the summer, we can only assume that you may have found it low by our reception due to the constant opening of the hotel’s main door.

On the other hand, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the rooms we accommodated you in as they are designed to offer the maximum comfort to all our guests and we highly appreciate your praising comments on our gastronomy offer as in IBEROSTAR we are fully aware that meals are a very important aspect of our guests’ overall holiday experience and we strive to offer a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, we are proud to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out the genuine kindness and helpfulness of our staff, their great attitude and willingness to make every single guest to feel special and well cared after is one of our hotel’s main strength and we thank you for valuing this so highly in your review, we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once again, thank you for your praising comments, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Me and my hubby had a week at this hotel in oct it was first time in Tunisia must say it was very lush rooms big and very clean ,they were cleaned every day ,the pool was fab but cold, must say the staff were great to, the only thing I missed was my tea I wished I had my own kettle ,the food was ok I got bye ,but at times you did have to wait fore a drink at times we had eaten before we got a drink .would I go back yes with my own kettle lol ,I do miss two great friends we made edd @ Sarah x :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank adlin1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Adlin,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace; we always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

We read your comment on the service by our restaurant and apologize for the less than perfect experience; we passed on your review to our Maître for his information and can only assume that due to the high occupancy during half term break, our waiting staff may have been busier than in other times of the year, nevretheless we commit to improve on this aspect.

On the other hand, we thank you for your kind words towards our staff, their commitment to make our guests feel well cared after and welcome at all times is undoubtedly one of our hotel’s main assets.

Moreover, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the room we accommodated you in, since they are designed to offer maximum comfort to our guests and with our overall hotel’s facilities.

Once again, thank you for your time; it will be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Tunisia, and please do not hesitate contact our call center beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A clean stylish hotel , had a boutique feel about it, Some of the reception seating was getting very warn but if you looked closely it needs some TLC. The air con was turned off as it was their winter even though it was very sticky at night, Most of the staff could do with some customer care training, Some staff only gave a smile if they were tipped but saying that the reception staff were very friendly and helpful as were the animation team.
The food was very good as you could always fine something to eat.The waiters did every thing at their own pace and didn't seem in much of a hurry to serve you which was slightly frustrating. Our first week the salt and pepper pots were put on the table with nothing in them and you rarely got a paper napkin, in fact they seemed very disorganised.
The weather was good 30 deg most days
Hammamet itself is quite a run down resort , the walk ways usually had a lot of litter in them and were very uneven . If you have any walking difficulties this would not be the place for you. There is a constant smell of horse manure and urine coming from the road gullies which caused flies to breed.
Would I stay here again,,,, not in Hammamet but I would stay in a different resort.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the front of the hotel it will be much quieter
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Gary,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We took good note of your comments related to the restaurant and will pass them to the Maître in order to revise and improve on the points you mentioned and we invite you for any upcoming holiday planning to inform our management of anything you may need to fully enjoy your holidays among us.

We are also sorry to read your comments about part of our staff. In IBEROSTAR we strive to deliver an excellent and personalized service to all our guests, and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times, on the other hand we are glad to read that you felt well cared after by our reception team and could appreciate the kindness and friendliness of our animation staff.

Moreover, the passion for gastronomy is one of the prime pillars of our company and we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to taste the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.
Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out the beauty and cleanliness of our hotel and installations, as we want to offer enjoyable and spotless accommodations to all our guests.

Thank you again for your visit, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotels and resorts in the most beautiful destinations worldwide ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to offer you another enjoyable holiday with IBEROSTAR.

Kind Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews