We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent price service rapport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saphir Palace & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saphir Palace & Spa
Ranked #40 of 123 Hotels in Hammamet
Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent price service rapport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

An extremely friendly staff doing outstanding effort just to please their guests and to make their journey unforgettable. My trip to Tunisia for 22 days will be unfortunately marked by the wonderful stay I had in saphir hotel with a matchless sea view and outstanding services. Thx saphir staff and management. I will be back sooner

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadhim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    312
    185
    87
    82
See reviews for
294
485
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Family hols from 4 Aug-18 Aug 2013....Room 211...Definatly not a 5* more like a 3* at a push...maybe 5* to there standards as its not a well off country..!Read all reviews and was abit 50-50..when we arrived reception told us we were in a pool view room but we asked for sea veiw due to the noise we had heard off on reviews porter took us up to the room..only 2 single beds even though there was 3 of us....Then went down to be told it would be sumtime today even thought we told him we had been up since "am due to early flight, but he didnt seem to care...hotel was fairly clean. GOOD POINTS...pools great,Kamel the barman was great didnt expect anything,Lofti the waiter in the resturant was also great,BAD POINTS... most of the others waiters are only happy if you tip regular and are very miserable.Food was not that good not alot for kids, and it seamed to be the same all the time or mixed for the next day with other stuff...(not good)..was told by other people there that we would get bad stomachs..which we did but wasnt ill just squits for 12-24 hrs.Pool barman was hardly ever there or sleeping around the back,pool lifeguard didnt deal with a young child well who banged his head falling on the wet floor around pool.plug scockets hanging off the walls in main area sum didnt work in our room reception told but not sorted No health and safety what so ever as there was a electrical fire outside one night and animation staff paniced and didnt know what to do so a BRITISH fire fighter from swindon had to sort it...(well done Andy)...then they put the extingusher back up on the wall...FFS!. Large cracks in the structure (internal) covered but wood or trunking on all levels as you come out the lifts as you turn to go to the rooms both ends of the hotel Ripped settees and chairs..reception staff also could be bothered to change DN notes to coins for the games for our daughter that were there when they worked! .....outside you can get sum good bargins as they call them (REAL FAKES) lol £1 = 2.50 dn when we were there.The pirate ship excursion was a see how many you could get on a boat and DEFINATLY..! not for kids....ZOO trip is a farse and to expencive for what it is.... but the dolphins right next door was great cost 20 dn get a taxi there.We had had enough after 1 week let alone 2 weeks we were there for..This was our first time and most certainly our last we were told by people we know who have been about it but wanted to see for ourselves.even on the coach back most were moaning about the hotels not being up to standard plus how dirty it was there...I could go on for ages....lol sorry..Ps if on beach be aware of glass..Hope this helps you before you book...Happy hols

Room Tip: Pick a see view because of noise around the pool at night when the entertainment is on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Although we feel sorry to hear that your stay at our IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace hotel was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we thank you for the time and effort you spent sharing your personal impressions so we can take your comments into consideration in order to improve in our daily services and deliver great holidays experiences to all our guests, which ultimately is the goal of IBEROSTAR.
We lament hearing your disappointment on the delay you experienced to have the third bed delivered in your room, however as the previously booked room has been changed upon your request at time of check in, we couldn’t deliver it immediately as our housekeeping was still occupied with the cleaning of the rooms for the new arrivals but did as soon as they could.
The garden’s short circuit incident happened during the evening and was dealt with at first by a fireman then all the garden’s area lights were protected with waterproof material.
Moreover we would like to point out that after a thorough investigation on your comments the child that fell around the pool area was taken in charge by our professional lifeguard immediately and is totally fine as we speak.
On the other hand, we thank you for your nice words towards some members of our staff, we will definitely pass on your comments with our congratulations for the nice work, they will be delighted to know that they contributed so much to your wellbeing whilst staying among us and that you mentioned them so positively in your review.
Once again, thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to may accommodate you again on your next holidays in our hotels worldwide.
Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Saphir Palace for 11nights in late July and had a great holiday.
We arrived late at night to the hotel and were shown to our room which had great views of the pool and was very spacious with a huge bed. There was only one small plate of fruit and meat slices left for us and we were starving! So it would have been nice to have something a little more substantial but we managed.
We had had some reservations about traveling to Tunisia as we were taking our 22month old daughter with us but I have to say she loved the holiday. All the staff loved her and particularly the waiters in the resturant were very sweet with her, one of the head waiters even cut her food up for her one night in the al la carte resturant and they all called her princess all the time which i thought was very sweet. The only thing I would say if your taking little ones is that things like nappies and formula are not avalible in the shops. Only at the pharmacy and are expensive so take lots of your own.
Food- the restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating areas and we enjoyed the food. There was always lots to choose from but like any all inclusive it was sometimes repetitive but it was always hot and I always found something for my daughter to eat so no complaints.
Location- the hotel is located across the road from the beach and there is a private section on the beach for the hotel with its own bar where you can use your all inclusive band for drinks during the day which we thought was great. We only visited the beach the once as there was lots of jelly fish but we used the bar quite a lot during the day. At the back of the hotel there is a large kids adventure area, water park, 5d cinema, restaurants, lots of shops and a souk market. We visited this area quite a lot and really enjoyed it. To the left of the hotel is a harbour but there's really not much there (sounds better than it is) and to the right is really just more hotels and a few more shops and I'm sure we saw an English bar that way but we never went. All in all good location.
Rooms- great rooms, big walk in shower, nice bath, seperate toilet. Rubbish hair dryer though so ladies take your own!
The cleaners were great and came by to tidy up everyday.
Entertainment- now this is where I feel the hotel is let down slightly... I mean this with no disrespect to the animation team at all because they were all lovely guys who worked very hard but I do think the entertainment on an evening could be improved. The animation team are all male & I think It could be a nice idea to add a few females to the mix to add a different dynamic to the group? Just a thought...The evening entertainment was short and sweet. There was always really slow depressing music on before the entertainment started around 10pm. I think they would benefit from adding a regular mini disco for the kids in during this time slot. I do think there was supposed to be a mini disco on every night but it only actually happened on our last night which was a shame as our little girl loves to Dance and most nights she was just running around dancing on her own to the slow music. I also think the main entertainment needs to last longer, it started about 10pm and finished at 11pm...and there could be more variation to the programe. You can see that all the team can dance so why don't they put on their own weekly show? Also I didn't get the beach party as we were told you couldn't get all inclusive drinks from the beach bar after 10pm so why would anyone go across there? There seemed to be a lot going on during the day but we like to relax during the day so didn't get involved.
As I say no disrespect to the guys as they were all friendly & hard working I just think it could be improved.
Pool area- always clean, lovely big pool, small children's pool, pool bar was good, service sometimes a little slow but generally good. There is also a little play area near the pool but mostly for bigger kids no baby swings and the slide was always too hot to sit on but that's to be expected.
Resort- as I've mentioned before there was quite a bit going on not too far away from the hotel. There is defiantly not many bars to go to on an evening but lots of shops etc.. To look at. Tunisia is quite a culture shock at first but it grew on me. I found it quite hard to see the horses on the street so thin and the smell of camel & horse urine was quite strong but you kind of got used to it as you did with the locals asking you to go into their shops. It's just their way.
We went on one trip to the local Safari park and I would recommend that it was great and all the animals were in good condition.
All inclusive- finished at 12pm, could get anything you wanted really spirit wise. Obviously not branded but were good enough. Cocktails not so good. Wine was great and you could also get litre bottles of water which I really liked. I also liked that you could go to the other ibeostar hotels for a meal and the ones we visited were both very good.

As we were travelling with our toddler we needed a kettle to make her bottles. There are no kettles in the rooms but we were able to hire one from reception for £20. Bit pricey but we needed it and we appreciated the guy on reception getting this for us as I don't think it was something they had readily avalible.

We really did have a great holiday at this hotel and we would definatley recommend it and if we went back to Tunisia we would definatley stay there again.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misslje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went for 2 weeks from 12 of june to the 27 june we had the best time the room we had was amazing it was just right for us. The weather was amazing we never had a bad day tho sometimes at night it did get a bit cold. The food was good and had something for everybody and as i am a very picky eater it was a good thing. The bar both inside and out was really good it don have many drinks to choose but if you just ask them the make you a cocktail's they will. We also did some tours which was amazing we never knew what kind of things there was in Tunisia if you pick the hotel you will have to do some tours you learn so much. there are also other place you can go for the meals i went to the Mexican at chick khan. One thing i will say is take a hairdryer as the one in the rooms are not that good at all.

Room Tip: i would choose a sea view again
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed for one week between the 14th-21st july 2013.
Weather was absolutley fantastic, short transfer from airport to hotel.
Warm welcome and met with cocktails on arrival.
Room (304) was large and airy with seperate bathroom and walk in shower, balcony with excellent view of pool and gardens.
In the restaurant you could either eat indoors or outdoors, waiters are all very polite and friendly and we have great memories of Kareem and Lotfi who really looked after us and went the extra mile to ensure we were happy.
Although the bar could do with being larger, the staff managed excellently with special mentions to Ramzi and Kamel, Ramzi makes the best hot chocolate ever.
Pool was large and excellent, never a fight over sunbeds at any time of the day. The pool guy was fab and always there to bring over your mats for the beds and pop up your umbrella.
Have got to say the animations team were great and worked hard, but we weren't really interested in that side of the holiday. Evening entertainment could be improved.
The spa was good and the husband enjoyed a two day special with all sorts of massages and treatments and wasn't disappointed.
The beach was accross the road and was clean and always had plenty of sunbeds and has its own bar.
All in all it was a fantastic weeks holiday, it is not a 5* hotel but the staff make up for this.

Room Tip: Higher room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie1970_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is the best choice you can make when planning a vacation to Hammamet. Staff is exceptionally kind, reception is amazing, animation team is fantastic and restaurant is absolutely delightful. This hotel provides all luxurious amenities with a great price and has a private wonderful beach. Rooms are spotlessly clean and amazing Jews of the ocean. Words cannot describe how incredible of a vacation this hotel provided. Best vacation ever!

Robin Ghalleb
United States

Room Tip: Oceanfront room is the best choice because of its beautiful view and large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We took the opportunity to come here for a week as my 16 year old son finished his GCSEs early so we could beat the summer holiday price hikes. Even though we usually travel 5* AI and new this would be more like 4* by Asian/Caribbean standards, it was a really good choice for us. The hotel wasn't full so was a really pleasant place to be and room upgrades were easy to come by. The hotel foyer and lounge is fairly simple by modern standards but like the rest of the hotel is faultlessly clean. Reception staff are extremely helpful. The animation team are simply excellent, always friendly and cajoling but never pushy, and they remember your names from day 1. Pool guy is also great fun. Brilliant people.

There were no restaurants open when we were there but the buffet was good for most of the time, only becoming a bit dull by the last day or two, and if you like trying the whole variety of what's on offer you'll find it's mostly really tasty. Waiter service wasn't so great in truth but you get by. Tips didn't really make much of a difference in the restaurant but they certainly do everywhere else. The restaurant managers are really friendly and helpful though.

I didn't really fancy Tunisia but I'm really glad we went. We had lot's of good natured banter with street traders etc. and it's a lot more fun in that respect than Egypt. A highlight for us was a day trip to the ruins at Carthage, the town of Sidi Bou Said and right into the dark heart of the Medina in Tunis. (It's not a dark heart at all though, just traders trying to make a living and who WILL take no for an answer and not go on too much if you can't find a price you're both happy with. An absolute must!)

The beach is at the front of the hotel across a road that wasn't particularly busy so if you like to have that as an option this is one of the better hotels in Yasmine Hammamet as it's so close by. The beach itself is ok, with a few hawkers and it a bit of camel poo - nothing out of the ordinary for Tunisia I think. The sea is clean and safe.

In brief: excellent pool and poolside area in general, food very good imho, gym is only free for a couple of hours in the evening (but jogging along the seafront is safe), staff mostly very friendly (waiters and bar staff could improve), animations team make the stay great fun if you want that but don't hassle you if you don't (and there was no overly loud music by the pool to ruin the vibe). Tip people in Dinar, NOT Sterling. I changed some money for our maid, and had a lovely 10 minute conversation in French with her, but felt embarrassed that some British people feel it's ok to leave a few coppers behind on their last day. They should hang their heads in shame.

Lastly, the best thing for me about our stay at Saphir Palace, was the blend of nationalities there without any one nation dominating - we made friends with Russians, Portuguese, French, Germans, Arabs....and even British! I'd definitely recommend it as an unfussy hotel with a great location and a relaxing vibe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBElaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.9 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#31 of 123 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
6.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#17 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#37 of 123 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#18 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saphir Palace & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphir Palace & Spa

Property: Saphir Palace & Spa
Address: Boulevard 7 Novembre | Yasmine, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia (Formerly Iberostar Saphir Palace)
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Saphir Palace & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace Hotel offers 5-star hotel accommodations just steps from Yasmine-Hammamet Beach. Our hotel is a perfect spot for travellers in search of a peaceful, enchanting Tunisian holiday. During your stay, enjoy our tasteful and fully-equipped guestrooms, deluxe gastronomic selections, and entertainment options that will exceed your expectations. Enjoy an unforgettable Hammamet experience any time of the year - only at the IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Saphir Palace & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Saphir Palace Hotel Hammamet
Accor Saphir Palace Hammamet
Sofitel Hammamet
Hammamet Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing