We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Ranked #29 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Just came back from Tunisia and I have to say that this hotel is the best from all others I stayed in Tunisia. It's a walking distance from the beach, however far away from the center of Hammamet town. Very helpful staff (however, strictly stuck by the hotel rules), polite, make you feel confortable. Rich buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Theano_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 781 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

This hotel is sold as a 5 star hotel, it isn't. It may be a Tunisian 5 star hotel, but compared to the Movenpick in Gammarth near Tunis, it really isn't anywhere near the standard you'de expect. Personally I didn't mind too much as I was staying for work and hardly in the hotel, but if I had paid for a holiday expecting a 5 star hotel, I'd have been very disappointed.

The greeting at the lobby was a little slow but a little of that may have been the language barrier. The lobby itself is very nice and just needs a little polish to make it really special.The rooms are basic, well at least my room was, and the bed was rock hard. However I did sleep really well whilst I was there, much to my surprise. My room was on the side of the hotel next to the waste ground and I could just about see the beach. The main problem with my room was that in the waste ground were some dogs, one of which whimpered constantly. Also my patio door didn't lock properly, which mean maintainence were up in my room trying to fix it, when all I wanted to do was sleep. They did fix it, but it took a while and I wasn't 100% happy with it, especially as the maid would frequently leave the patio door open.

The room was very clean though and that counts for a lot.

What else didn't I like.... I didn't like the fact that the halls are incredibly noisy and the walls are relatively thin and I could hear kids running up and down the corridor all the time. The resturant can get incredibly busy too. The gym shut at 1830, which meant by the time I arrived back at the hotel it was too late for me to use the facilities, and the one night I did get in there, they only switched one light on for me, and they came to shut the windows (no aircon)a good 30 minutes before they shut without even acknowledging the fact that I was there until I asked them to leave them open until I'd finished in 15 minutes. It felt as if me being in the gym after 1800 was a massive inconveniance.

The food was pretty good, and the a la carte Moroccan restaurant was excellent, and definitely worth paying for. However breakfast starts at 7am, and if it starts at 7am I do expect the omlette chef to be there and ready and 7 am, he was maybe three out of seven days, mostly rocking up at around 725, which when you're due to leave at 0730 wasn't helpful.

But staff were on the whole polite and helpful, and the hotel was very clean, if not great.

Room Tip: As far away as possible from the entertainment room, which was very noisy until late most nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun_seeking_ginner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This was my first trip to Africa and it was amazing. The hotel was beautiful, the public areas were stunning and it was very close to the private beach. Our room could have been bigger, however the restaurants both onsite and in the town were good (as long as you avoid the touristy ones).

The moorish coffee shop at the hotel, where they also serve liquers and shisha pipes was brilliant for relaxing in the evenings. Even in November it was really hot and nice that most of the tourists had left, very peaceful.

Definitely get out of the tourist areas though, the sahara desert is beautiful and you see the real Tunisia once you leave the designated tourist areas. The people are wonderful, just beware of salesmen in the medinas trying to flog you things when you first arrive - they will target you when you first get there as they'll see your skin is pale and jot yet tanned!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rozzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Beautiful hotel, staff very helpful, excellent services, the Spa is really wonderful...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geraldine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel has a very good spa and massages services, the hammam is very nice and the pools are great. My room is a very large room, the bathroom is very nice and the Morrocco restaurant is fantastic! all falicities for meetings are also great, the break are very goods, and the staff is very helpfull

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmplolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Before going to alhambra hotel, in Tunisia i checked the reviews on different websites to have an idea about the hotel and i have to say that i was surprised to see that the hotel is far better than discribed ! The lounge is wonderfull, the rooms are spacy and very clean the thallasso is very luxious and with a variety of different massages that can keep you busy for the whole hollidays. My two sons had a really good time (8 and 10years old) with the indoor pool and the wonderfull beach(a little bit cold for the season, we can t swim) but which is only 5 minutes by walk or with a free shuttle,. The food was good with a different menu every evening and the hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful.
I really recommand this hotel and we plan to return for the summer

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthoine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Rooms are spacious and clean, food was good. But this can't be a 5 stars hotel, tv is an old average one, WiFi will work only in lobby, with variations of signal quality! It might work in the room for sometime, then suddenly it doesn't, and they won't fix it no matter how many times you complain. Organisation and technical facilities in the hotel are just around 3 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluemagnifier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#14 of 119 in Hammamet
1,283 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#52 of 119 in Hammamet
450 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#26 of 119 in Hammamet
889 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saphir Palace & Spa
Saphir Palace & Spa
#46 of 119 in Hammamet
1,153 reviews
7.6 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Thalasso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Thalasso Hotel

Address: Bp 66 | Yasmine, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $46 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alhambra Thalasso Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the famous Alhambra Palace in Granada, and evoking memories of a Moorish and Andalusian era, the elegant and superbly designed Alhambra Thalasso Hotel 5*, member of the prestigious chain Warwick International Hotels, ideally located in the resort of Yasmine Hammamet, is an architectural masterpiece in its own right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alhambra Thalasso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Thalasso Hammamet
Hotel Alhambra Thalasso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing