We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs”
Review of Hotel Dar El Olf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dar El Olf
Ranked #110 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Let me start with the positives. Staff work so hard, especially the entertainment team, though sometimes they can be a bit pushy trying to get you to join in.
The maids always did our room lovely with bed art.
These are literally the only positives.
Food is horrid and repetitive. You shouldnt have to go out for meals when you have paid all inclusive.
No cocktails at all and the bar closes at 11pm every night. Want a drink after that, tough.
Breakfast is a joke. Consists of coissonts, pain au chocolate and boiled eggs. What you don't eat at dinner, dont worry you can have it again for evening meal. No snacks at all. Ever.
All in all a terrible hotel. All the nice staff need to move to a better hotel where they will be more appreciated.
Please if you read this whilst considering staying here, book else where

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank becksb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 541 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

From the moment we first arrived we were made to feel very very welcome and were never made to feel like "just another guest"
From the reception staff, bar and restaurant staff to the AMAZING ANIMATION TEAM lead by Amin who all work amazingly hard for the amount of stick they get from some nationalities......yet always managed to have a smile on there faces and a spring in their step!!
The only bad point is that yes the hotel could do with a facelift but that is the only negative I've personally got and would love to return one day!!!!
MISS YOU AMIN AND ALL YOU GUYS!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Warren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

On arrival at the hotel we were not given the room we requested but it was sorted very quickly. The hotel staff from the chambermaids to the management waiters included are all very friendly and helpful. The Animation team led by Amin were amazing. They organised a whole range of activities from water aerobics to darts and lots of dance lessons all with the utmost enthusiasm, you find you have to join in. The only let down in the hotel was the food as it was quite repetative but did improve the second week.The all inclusive leaves a bit to be desired if you are expecting food throughout the day,English tea would be a plus. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This has to be by far the worst hotel i have stayed at in the whole of Tunisia.
I am not a moaning Brit, French and German guests were also complaining

The positives..Nice Reception area, and the room size was good.
1 really nice and polite Waiter
Best Bit,,,Booking out,

The Negatives.. Where do i start?

The room wasnt cleaned once during our stay,
when we asked for it to be done the Maid argued that she had already done it that morning, when we told her she was wrong, she finally admitted she "thought" she had cleaned it

The worst food i have tasted in my life,,,i was sick twice,
Undercooked Meat and fish,
Disgusting Salads

Waiting 30 minutes in a que for a mushy pizza that we couldn't eat and watery spaghetti, inedible vegetables on offer for lunch and then what wasn't eaten was produced for Dinner.
One night ice cream bowls were out and when i asked for ice cream i was told they wasn't any,
When i said i saw a man just walk past with ice cream, the server came back and said if i wanted ice cream it would cost me 5dinar per scoop.
My Tunisian husband spoke to the Manager( who didn't speak English), who told him the chef was going to put ice cream on the menu ,,but changed his mind,
Plenty of sponge cakes,,with different toppings,,
Only fruits available was Water melon.
,

No Kids club,( informed by other guests)

Exceptionally limited Hotel Parking,,( You have to park on road outside hotel)

Got scalded in the Shower,( the water changed from hot to cold throughout the shower no matter what you set it at)

Saw one waiter empty a used glass of water, from one guest and take it to the bar and got it refilled with beer for another guest.

Wish we had stayed Next Door at the Mechmoun Cyclamen, a 3 star hotel with a 5 star service

Room Tip: Front of hotel rooms were good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LanaLondon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I do not understand reviews from English people. If you go abroad, obviously the culture will be different than watching football match, drinking beers and eating fish& chips! You do not have to find only English to socialise with it is ridiculous! Go to St Ives if you are not happy!The staff was so kind, welcoming and helpful people. It helped us knowing more about Tunisian people and being a bit far away from countinously rainy UK!
The hotel was nice for the price we paid as well as the food. The beach was a bit windy but we stayed round the pool. I suggest you to go there from June, the weather will be warmer. Try excursions with quad and camels and stay away from English pubs and taste couscous, makroudh, some other mediterranean food and go to Sidi Bousaid in Tunis. It is amazing.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selosh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

As we were the only two English people there, we were a little bit lonely!No need to worry though as we were very well looked after. the majority were French or Tunisian but they played English music round the pool, and for the disco at night.The food was not to my taste, but the desserts were to die for! Rooms were very clean and spacious, and the hotel decor was lovely.All in all we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: rooms around pool are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjoynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hey everyone im here righting another precise and snappy review.

Right the Hotel El olf which has many names such as el olf las palmas and the dar el olf all of which are stated on numerous websites. I found these all at the front of the hotel accompanied by a 4* rating. The rating is exaggerated I would say it is a 3* by looks by an english standard but that is where everything ends. Located at the wrong end of hammamet the hotel makes you get a taxi or a walk/jog to wherever you desire to go. The entertainment is very cheesy so cheesy that you best find the grater. The drinks were watered down but just ask them to top it up with more drink. These were fine the problem was the food which consisted of 6 dishes to choose from. An unknown meat rice pasta etc. Nothing for english except for pizza and spag bog which you have to wait for. The spag bog ques were short but the pizza ques unless you was there first forget it or be prepared for 20 mins of waiting in line. These two stations were the only edible food available. If you love desert your in for a treat loads of that to choose from and salad. I would recommend the hotel to sort out the entertainment team make it more enjoyable for families, couples and individuals and fix the food being served and you would qualify to have that 4* rating and have a 5 star trip advisor rating.

P.S if you want pictures I have a few on my memory card so when I find it I will upload them on here.

Any questions feel free to ask and don't forget to mark me as helpful.

London, England Reviewer.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the big balcony on the second floor. There isnt a view but the room overall is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshleyLegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
8.6 mi away
Hotel El Fell
Hotel El Fell
#108 of 119 in Hammamet
281 reviews
5.4 mi away
Residence Hammamet
Residence Hammamet
#109 of 119 in Hammamet
101 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Nesrine
Hotel Nesrine
#27 of 119 in Hammamet
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Machmoum
Hotel Machmoum
#98 of 119 in Hammamet
268 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kinza Hotel
Kinza Hotel
#79 of 119 in Hammamet
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#26 of 119 in Hammamet
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar El Olf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar El Olf

Address: Zone Touristique | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#68 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $27 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar El Olf 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dar El Olf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Olf Hotel
El Olf Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing