We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 4 star”
Review of Hotel Dar El Olf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dar El Olf
Ranked #68 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not a 4 star”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had two hour wait in airport car park due to a obstructive rude driver from transfer company. On arrival at hotel, we were put in ground floor disabled room which had a strong smell of damp and sewers, refused to stay there and we were moved to another room until morning. After several room inspections we settled on connecting bedrooms which overlooked the car park. The room was clean and the maids worked hard, however there were wires hanging out of wall lamps. The hotel restaurant was quite dated in appearance, the food was uncovered most of the time and there were a lot of fly's landing on the food, not suited to English pallet, there were also electric cables trailing across the dining room floor, which could have caused an accident. To get a decent cup of coffee you had to pay for it as the all inclusive choice was like tar. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. I confirmed with transfer company the day before departure and was waiting as arranged to be picked up to transfer to airport, unfortunately, they didn't show up for us, we had to pay another 85 dinars to bet to airport and almost missed our flight. This is not a 4 star hotel and i would not return or recommend this to people. The main clientele was french.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    157
    73
    75
    114
See reviews for
162
146
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roosendaal, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Nice Hotel, nice dinner and animation, nice room. Very friendly people working there, especially the restaurant. There is a nice disco and bowling in the hotel. Near by the Medina and the beach. I had lots of fun. When I go back to Tunesie, I go for this hotel. I enjoyed it very much.

Grt Joske

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoskeVTECTerror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went back to this hotel when England were in the euros I have never seen staff chance so much all they cared about was the French English were totally ignored at the bar while the French got served first even if they were behind you i asked the staff all week if the English game would be on the telly to which I was told yes of course it would but come the day because the French game was on the same time it wouldn't now be on as the French wanted there game on after much discussion it was decided to show 20 minutes of each game which the English were ok with but every time the telly was turned over to English game the French booed even though we just watched when there team was on as we had the last 20 minutes this caused problems and the French complained to the staff that they wanted it so the staff turned it over even though it was our turn I would never go to this hotel ever again after being treated as second class if you want to be treated with a bit of respect don't go here I have complety changed my views of this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hammamet hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed on an ALL INCLUSIVE basis and I was a bit worried that we would loose out on the quality of food, but in fact the food was very good. It was a mix of continental and Tunisian food. The pizzas outside were a bit bland but the kids loved it anyway.
The pool was really good and you could find a recliner if you asked a member of staff they would endeavour to find one for you.
The beach was beautiful although the loungers were really old, in need of replacement and indeed the access is a bit chabby.
The rooms were really spacious and clean with a good size balcony and the bathroom was fine, could be renovated but still fine. The AC was really great, worked perfectly. If you have the choice ask for a room that does not look onto the pool as it can be very noisy (entertainment music can be very loud)
The staff was really nice and the Spa was great. We had a full body massage for 30 minutes, the most relaxing experience I had in a long time.
10 min from Hammamet (8 dinars= 4 euros) by taxi.
I would certainly recommend it

Room Tip: rooms giving on the pool are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartinez48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, gwynedd, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

me and my family had a really good holiday in the olf this summer every one was really friendly and always ready to help out . The animation and entertainment team where really good abdel was really good with the kids and always made them welcome and getting them to join in to the activitys i would go back to the hotel due to abdel and the animation team xxxx

Room Tip: ask for pool view room there the best A/C is better the lower floor you are on
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I don't understand bad opinions. I have no idea what people expect from holidays, but in my opinion this hotel has absolutly everything to be fully satisfied and comfortable when staying in Tunisia. I was there for a week with 7 more people and everyone was really suprised that everything was so perfect concerning the fact this hotel has "only" 4 stars and earlier we've been in 5 stars only. We agreed that at least the food is faaar better than in the 5 stars hotels we've been to. It's been a great variety of dishes, desserts, everything was simply delicious. Tables, plates, glasses etc. were always clean, waiters was really nice and helpful. Rooms were always cleaned up, quite big, we also have a great view of the pool and palm trees from the balcony. There were free drinks and beach chairs on the beach. There weren't many people so it was really quiet and peaceful place to rest. Generally speaking, this hotel is perfect, I can recommend it to everyone, and if I had a chance to come back to Tunisia I will certainly stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Olalla35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Sayed at this Hotel from 23rd June 2012 for 7 nights on an all inclusive deal. Arrived at Hotel early evening and had to fill in visa arrival card reception area was very dimly lit & this information had already been submitted at the airport when we arrived did not see any point in duplicating this information.. Checked in quickly and shown to awful room on the ground floor when high floor room requested.
Returned to reception was was re allocated aroom on the 2nd floor walked down very dimly lit corridoors . Room OK overlooked front of hotel plenty of wardrobe space and cupboards but only problem not notice until returning to room for the night had a family of birds in the roof space and was greated with feathers and bird mess dropping from air condining unit when we awoke next morning.
Next day back to reception and final room change still on the 2nd floor but now a lovely room must say reception were very helpful and no problem with changing rooms but did find this very stressful.
Food was ok but was very repetative not a lot of choice and when at the bar has to que for a long period in order to get served as this hotel had mainly French guests who always seemed to get served first.
There was plenty of sunbeds and they are all set in well kept gardens around the pool which was very clean and very welcome when we stayed as the weather was very hot every day.
Entertainment team worked hard but was very poor in the evening and the music around the pool at certain times was very loud.
This Hotel is not a 4 star by any means it does look very tired and seems to be stuck in the 70's and could do with a much needed update.
The Hotel was very clean and the staff were always polite and helpful. Hotel is very near to the beach which was not the best lots of rubbish and does have lots of local sellers who can be very annoying and do not take no for an answer.
Would not return to this Hotel if I visited Tunisa again.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook poool could be noisy as night time entainment/ music although this does finish a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolBrunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.3 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#27 of 118 in Hammamet
871 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Nesrine
Hotel Nesrine
#29 of 118 in Hammamet
575 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marina Palace
Marina Palace
#100 of 118 in Hammamet
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel El Fell
Hotel El Fell
#58 of 118 in Hammamet
270 reviews
1.4 mi away
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
#36 of 118 in Hammamet
1,024 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
#48 of 118 in Hammamet
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar El Olf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar El Olf

Property: Hotel Dar El Olf
Address: Zone Touristique | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar El Olf 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dar El Olf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Olf Hotel
El Olf Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing