We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Mouradi El Menzah
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Brynmawr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hotel”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

the staff were freindly,the dinning area was like going into a war zone never seen anything like it, staff were being shouted at by the manager infront of customers,no toaster food cold, bar service slow, the rooms were clean and tidy carpets in the hallways were frayed and old buttons to lifts showing live wirers .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    184
    130
    82
    82
See reviews for
194
215
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
172 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is just 30min drive from the airport, directly opposite the beach, 2mins from the new Medina, 10min walk to the marina and a 10min taxi ride from main centre....so a great location.

The hotel is a 4 star and is attached to a 5 star sister property. During the welcome talk we were told that we can use everything but the buffet in the 5* hotel....the bar area was much nicer, so worth knowing.

Food wasn't amazing but you could eat and drink almost 24hours a day.... Serving chips, burgers and pizza as well as lots of traditional food. There are also themed restaurant nights. If you really hate the food it isn't too expensive to eat out. Personally we enjoyed the food and tried lots of new things.

The sun loungers drove me mad. I was at the pool from 8am and had no problem finding a lounger but so many were reserved by guests tipping the pool guys. Fine but lots of the loungers were never used or not used for many hours. It was unfair and anyone arriving after 9am struggled....they should really control this, I haven't seen it this bad at any other hotel.

The sales people who are allowed around the pool are really annoying, the hotel should stop them not allow them.

The room was basic and clean, the room was made up every day. Lots of smokers so a slight smell of smoke everywhere. Ask for a pool facing room, people with sea facing rooms complained about noise. Air con didn't work in room.

Some staff really lovely...some not so friendly unless you tip.

Entertainment was fine for children and funny for the wrong reasons for adults.

Would recommend for as cheap cheerful pleasant hotel in a good location. Not small and friendly though.

Room Tip: Pool facing is quite. Also five star rooms seemed to generate lots of complaints. Stay in cheaper fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellyb123red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We returned home 21/7/13…And agree with a lot of what others have written. We had gone with quite low expectations, and a positive out look. For a rest in the sun, it was lovely. The rooms have seen better days, but the cleaners work hard, and we all got a holiday together with very little raised voices.

The Tattoo man, needs warning about ….. he is very engaging, initially, but very expensive, and the henna is only 7 Dina a bottle in the hotel shop and he charged us 60 dina after initially saying 160 Dina for a tattoo, which because its black, attracted the sun, and burnt my husband under the henna area, even thou he applied sun block.

We were all inclusive, and there was always something that you could eat, in the dining room. Having looked at the trip advisor restaurant guide we should have eaten at the Golden fish, it sounds good. 2 out of the 4 of us have and tummy trouble, and Ive had to be off work today, as I am still feeling unwell. Great for weight loss, but not good.

We arrived late after 10pm and had 2 rooms for a family with 2 children. The children's room was ok, but ours had no towels, the lights on the walls were off centre, with low energy bulbs sticking out of the top of the shades, but it was ok for the night and they said that we could change the next day. True to there word, we changed to a family room, which was a large room with a sea view, which was nice, and not as tired as our last room.

Money talks, and the staff are all on poor wages 250 Dina a month for some staff….so tips will boost their earning. But we only reward good service.

The hassle with having to say" No thank you"... To the hawkers on the beach, who were not bad compared to the hassle walking past the shops and The Medina's. Hammermet, was the worst. The very disappointing thing with The medina's was the fact that they all sell the same stuff….. we did find a lovely shop for material things in the back turnings of Hammermet Medina called maison de Sara fixed prices, and an artist , Espace 33 - which was nice to see and different.

To sum up, No we won't be going back, but it was a breakaway to do nothing in a warm place, and the children were happy with the pools, and lounging about, so it did the job.

Room Tip: We found the sea view better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova gorica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

the only positive experience was the weighters and the cleaning lady. the room is average, but the bathroom is all rusty and old. wi-fi is working in the rooms free of charge. maybe is because is ramadan, but still, i think that the fist worry of employes is guest is pleased, but we were not. when you chek in you mast pay a deposit for a towel (if you dont have it yours) of 5€ for one. one day ours were stolen in the pool while we were swiming. the pool guard didnt do anything, in the recetion nither...i had to wait one day to get new ones, no one at least say sorry, thats the minimum i was expected. the pool, if you dont arrive early in the morning 7:30, 8th, you wont even get a spot to lay on, on the beach is the same ( to many pepole and not enaff facilities) . the food is more or less every day the same, not really a lot of choise. the hotel in the evening is quiet, animation is poor too. i would not recomented it, anf i'm sure that i won't go again.

Room Tip: just give 10€ in passport. it helps :-)
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank martinalovercic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hammamet hotels

manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to sum up this hotel. The rooms are well kept and cleaned daily, the staff are lovely but the food is a huge let down. I've been to Tunisia before and know what to expect but it was awfull!!! The hotel is full of eastern Europeans who are quite rude, you have to be up at 6 to get a sun bed!!! Therein something to eat 24 hours a day but as i said before you have to watch what you eat!!! There are 3 outdoor big pools and 3 children's pools that were all kept clean. We also used the beach and found this to be lovely and clean. Is there anything majorly wrong with this hotel? no. We had a lovely relaxing holiday. Would i go back to this hotel again? No. I'd rather spend the extra and go somewhere else

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennielouManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just spent a week here on a relaxing girls only holiday in the sun! To get the negatives out of the way first the complex does need a little updating but is absolute excellent value for money - suspect prices would sky rocket if they did update.

Curtains would be my recommendation - two easy wins would be nets or separate curtain in the rooms (currently you either have open and not private or closed and dark!) and also a change to a shower screen rather than a curtain would definately make the shower a more pleasant experience. Rooms were comfortable (top floor quiet and air con worked well) but basic.

We reckon if you invest in a smile and a joke with staff here you will get back triple what you give. The staff were absolutely wonderful, a lost lap top was dealt with efficiently and empathically by reception staff even security staff helped by searching through CCTV footage to confirm I arrived laptopless (confirming I had left it on the transfer bus) which helped with my anxiety levels until it was returned safe and sound. Maids cleaned the rooms to perfection and my clean freak companion had no complaints at all, bar and waitering staff were friendly, fun and helpful - even the pool attendants and Alexandra the henna artist brightened our day with banter and indulged our attempts at speaking Arabic. We were determined to have a restful and relaxing break and the staff at El Mouradi el Menzah ensured that's exactly what we did!

So food; as reported in previous reviews, buffet plentiful and a really good range (even for my vegetarian friend for whom the chef made extra effort and made a bespoke side dish). The al la carte restaurants (we ate in the Turkish, Italian and Tunisian) were a bit of a let down. The lack of choice was an issue and though no entire meal was returnable, we did leave a lot of food and I think if it wasn't for the change of venue we wouldn't have bothered.

To sum up; the management at El Mouradi are certainly doing something right - recruitment, this meant the tiny criticisms paled into insignificance (though we are both seasoned travellers with high standards). The fact that the service was so exceptional, even during Ramadan meant I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to friends - with the proviso that they would be willing to offer a small tip and a big smile!

Room Tip: You do need to be near reception to have wifi in your room, top floor was quiet, we had pool view bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We found a good deal on Groupon and booked our first holiday to Tunisia. 7 nights all inclusive. We flew to Tunis from Heathrow on Saturday evening (1 hour delay) and after landing were met by the Just Sunshine rep who chaperoned the new arrivals to the coach. After about an hour we checked in at the hotel and were shown to our rooms. We considered ourselves most fortunate having the rooms together on the fourth floor with terrific sea views. The rooms themselves were sufficiently spacious, the beds and towels were changed daily and the maid left a 1.5L bottle of water each day. The next morning we made our way to breakfast and whilst there was a wide choice, the food seemed more focused on Eastern European and local tastes - not really a problem for us as they had egg and crepe stations. The pool area was packed and we had a bit of a wait trying to get loungers but after a while the pool guy sorted us out. We had been told by friends that to get good service it is best to tip the staff as their wages were very low. In the evening we showered and went down to dinner (we didn't have the lunch on offer though most of the other guests would) and found the selection to be quite reasonable and were looked after by the waiters (who we also tipped). That routine was pretty much the same for the rest of our stay however I will list some of the highs and lows that we experienced...

Positives...

Reception staff
Rooms
Most of the other staff
Just Sunshine reps - Marina and Sue
The optional Italian evening dinner at the sister hotel
Weather
Pedalos and sea kayaks are included in all inclusive deal

Negatives...

There are 2 small lifts that serve the whole hotel and more often than not 1 of them was broken.
Beer around the pool was nice but served in small flimsy white plastic cups that would only be half filled.
The food became a bit tedious so definitely sign up for one of the 3 specialist evenings (Italian, Tunisian or Turkish) for a break.
The Spa/Gym is not included in the all inclusive deal

BEWARE!

If you step outside the hotel (even if you use the hotel's private beach area) you will be hassled by local shopkeepers/hawkers trying to sell you stuff.

Around the pool area there are hotel authorised concession agents who will hassle you to sign up for outings such as quad bikes, pirate ship sailings etc. Some take the first no as an answer, others not so!

The worst offender is the henna tattoo guy - I have reported our experience we had with him to Just Sunshine - lets just say we were overcharged and leave it at that!!!

Final advice - Overall a nice break although marred by 1 or 2 experiences. The majority of the other guests were Eastern Europeans so if you're British and like to meet new people there are limitations. The culture of tipping the staff seems almost overriding, but if you accept it from the start you will receive better service!

Room Tip: We got lucky but definitely request 4th floor seaview if you are able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.0 mi away
El Mouradi Hammamet
El Mouradi Hammamet
#60 of 117 in Hammamet
852 reviews
7.9 mi away
El Mouradi Beach
El Mouradi Beach
#81 of 117 in Hammamet
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yasmine Beach Resort
Yasmine Beach Resort
#98 of 117 in Hammamet
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saphir Palace & Spa
Saphir Palace & Spa
#44 of 117 in Hammamet
1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mehari Hammamet
Hotel Mehari Hammamet
#38 of 117 in Hammamet
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#19 of 117 in Hammamet
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi El Menzah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi El Menzah

Property: El Mouradi El Menzah
Address: Zone Touristique Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi El Menzah 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mouradi El Menzah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi El Menzah Hotel Hammamet
El Mouradi Menzah Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing