We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, but not good to buy”
Review of Medina of Hammamet

Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely, but not good to buy”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The buildings itself are nice, but the sellers are very insistent. It's ok to tell them just "Non, merci", but be prepared to listen "Sabotage!" as an answer. This is funny, because there is a shop with fixed prices nearby. Also it's better to avoid caffees there if don't want to pay ten dinars for just a glass of juice :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sviatoslav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    689
    523
    162
    157
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
crawley down
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“a lovely place but the sellers can be fairly aggressive.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

beautiful, but the all male sellers are hard work. if someone stops you and says they work in your hotel, i would like to show you the medina on my day off because you are wonderful, politly decline. they just want to sell stuff, their job i know, but its hard to get away then hehe.,

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank johnboycrawleydown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“have patience”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

it would be a lot nicer if it didn't have the constant pestering. Also would be good to have something different as all the market stalls sold them but generally clean and tidy

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Penny20Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nightmare!!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

my daughter (14 years) was terrified, constantly being hassled and my husband was offered many camels for her! It was funny for the first 10 minutes only!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank hols2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frei
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't push!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We would very much like to look and take our time, and PLEASE give us a fixed price when we ask!
Dealers giving fantacy prices and then lower them to a fraction of the original price is just too stupid.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 6523Trond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Hammamet also viewed

Hammamet, Nabeul Governorate
Hammamet, Nabeul Governorate
 
Hammamet, Nabeul Governorate
Hammamet, Nabeul Governorate
 

Been to Medina of Hammamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing