We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmare!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medina of Hammamet

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nightmare!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

my daughter (14 years) was terrified, constantly being hassled and my husband was offered many camels for her! It was funny for the first 10 minutes only!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank hols2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    669
    516
    159
    155
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frei
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't push!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We would very much like to look and take our time, and PLEASE give us a fixed price when we ask!
Dealers giving fantacy prices and then lower them to a fraction of the original price is just too stupid.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 6523Trond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“cheaper than aldi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The medina was a great day out - and we ended up spending loads of money on some great bargains. Some of the locals are completley lovely, however some are just really pushy. The majority of shops sell all the same stuff, mainly leather bags and shoes and also pottery. Once you've bought some stuff though, make sure you are given it, as we bought a teaset, and the tray it sat on and the lid of the coffee pot were missing when we opened the bag we were handed. There are tortoises and cats everywhere, and the general experience is just increadible. I would recommend going later on in the day though as this is when the shop owners aren't as pushy. When you're at the old medina there's some lovely cafes where you can get real, traditional Tunisian food. Whilst there you'll get loads of people telling you they're the waiter or chef from your hotel, but if you ignore them and continue walking they'll just leave you alone, and just pretend you've been there before and know what you're doing, it's really not that hard to get around.
Also whilst we were on holiday we went on the pirate ship. It looked completley amazing, and no sooner had we left the dock than the entertainment had begun, and it was great! We were sold the trip being told we would stop for a swim, it was all you could eat, and there would almost certainly be dolphins we could see. Once we'd been on the trip for about an hour we were given some food, which was actually lovely, so we were really looking foward to the rest of the boat ride. The rest consisted of more entertainment, yet we never saw any animals and we weren't even given the option of getting off the boat to use the snorkeling equipment that we were told would be provided. By the time we got off the boat none of us were very pleased with it. However that soon changed by the time we got off the noddy train because our taxi forgot to pick us up. The train ride was a great experience for both adults and children, and gave us a chance to properly see the area which we were travelling through.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura-zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Medina of Hammamet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We decided to jump in a taxi to the medina rather than go with a tour operator as it was a fraction of the price. It was fantastic. Great way to shop, as long as you politely say No, then you wont be hassled too much. When approached by the guys telling you that they are your waiter from the hotel, if you reply with "Oh good, was looking for you, you owe me 10 dinars", they soon make themselves scarce. We found a lovely tunisian restaurant/cafe to eat called "Maison Arabe", the food was fantastic, people were so lovely and you couldn't beat it for value for money. Definately worth a visit. Definately recommend theojja merguez. Beautiful food!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank louisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We found it difficult just to peruse.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is an awesome place, the building is immense and the architecture inside is worth a look, but the sellers are a real pain in the [--]. Stand still and they are at you, ignore and walk away they follow you, say no and they'll try to block you or guide you in to their shop - let me be clear they never grabbed, touched or pushed us but when there was two of them they really tried to get in your way and guide you into the shop, standing with their arms out and even worked together at times. It was a very quiet day, we were the only two we saw in the medina and stuck out a bit so we may just have been bad timing.

We found it a real shame as we probably would have liked to do a bit more but it was truly ridiculous, it was beyond pushy selling and uncomfortable especially when they follow you round a couple of corners. If you know a local or someone to guide you then that may be worth a try, even though we expected 'grief' this put us off and had us watching over our shoulder all the way back to the hotel, real shame.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Hammamet also viewed

Hammamet, Nabeul Governorate
Hammamet, Nabeul Governorate
 
Hammamet, Nabeul Governorate
Hammamet, Nabeul Governorate
 

Been to Medina of Hammamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing