We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveler rating
399
237
87
33
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
237
87
33
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool half board separate shower main restaurant hotel guests omelette decorated with flowers an excellent hotel local beer pancakes relaxing holiday beach is lovely visited this hotel beach bar great fun hotel grounds cleaned daily
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 785 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

i stayed at Sindbad for 3 nights. coming driving from Djerba. the welcoming on the reception was normal nothing unigue, the the delivered us to our room on the ground flour once. luggage porters was not that pretty dressed or that delegate speaker. the room was having a smell that is usually found when some place has not been ventilated for long time. room tiles was not that type of shining looking that you can say it is so clean. but the room balcony view was really wonderful. i mad my decision and asked the receptionist for changing my room, he received my request with very welcoming mode the and asked me to accompany him to check some more two available rooms. i selected one other room which was much better and pretty nice smelly and very much clean. WC was really good decorated clean and tidy.
checking the available satellite channels i recognized that there is no available kids channel which make me upset as my 2 years kid is creasy about cartoons.
during my stay we had walk on the beach early morning it was very very enjoyable and great view on the beach with this very clean sand. the out door pool view with the white bar is just like those paints made by professionals.
foodin this hotel is a story that you can tell, tasty, tasty, tasty...
indoor pool cleanness and hygienist was not that 5 star maintained, water was not clear in the pool i don't no why ?
WC at indoor pool compartment was dirty and smelly..
if you came driving to this hotel you will face the problem of the very small parking area and the parking is even on the main rood out side the hotel main gate, and in some times you will not even fined a place where to park due to stuffed parking i believe with the hotel staff cars / motorcycles...!
this hotel has very nice maintained gardens you can enjoy quick walk around.
laundry services was more than perfect.

Room tip: if in summer choose room on ground floor, you can access the beach even from your balcony.. winter go to first floor where i stayed at room 213 but the balcony dose not looks the sea side
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sea_smell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Located adjacent to the beach of the Hammamet Gulf, this hotel has only 2 levels with many different blocks of rooms and nice gardens creating a feeling of being in a Tunisian cottage. The indoor heated pool is a plus when you are travelling in winter time. The buffet breakfast has a variety of food. Last night dinner started with a buffet entree followed by an a la carte main and dessert, very delicious. The room is also excellent, enough room for two and tastefully decorated. Every day, there is always something nice left on our bed (see picture). The staff is friendly, helpful and fluent in English, French, German and Arabic of course. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We (a gay male couple) have stayed in this hotel many, many times over the past 15 years or so and always recommend it to friends as a little gem in the town of Hammamet. The hotel has seen many improvements over the past four years with the opening of the new infinity pool and "white bar" (very Ibiza in essence), a Spa (facial treatments, full body treatments, massages, Hammam, pampering etc.. all at a price but still good value compared with blighty!)We always stay bed & breakfast and then choose one of their restaurants to eat in (the new Thai one is especially nice) also a couple of the local places are nice for a change of scenery, though if you go half board you do get some really nice meals put on (and some not so nice ones very, very occasionally). The staff are lovely; friendly, polite and always eager to please and as we sometimes stay twice in a year we're always remembered and treated as old friends.
Exceptionally good value, the hotel is mostly made up of rows of one story bungalows so privacy isn't a problem. Remember it's Tunisian 5 star.. NOT European but once you've got that under your hat you're well away.
Three swimming pools AND a private beach with sensational views of the bay with the Medina at one end and Yasmine Beach resort at the other.
We were there in April and September this year and though since the Arab spring has definitely changed the atmosphere OUTSIDE the hotel (where as in years gone by pretty much everyone smiled or said hello/Saalam now half of them look right through you which is a little unnerving but everyone else seems happy to welcome you to their town).
We escaped a serious injury in September when plasterwork fell from the massive domed ceiling, injuring a German woman and missing me by two feet ! but that really isn't something to worry about as I'm sure it won't happen again.
I'm happy to answer any questions anyone has about this hotel so please do!

Room tip: Best value if there are friends (say two couples) is to get a two bedroom bungalow rather than one each; we did that this time (we were travelling with our best mate who is single) and saved £££
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jonathan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent the last two days of our cultural tour here and it was a lovely way to finish our trip. The hotel is close enough to the old town/medina to be able to walk in, access to the private beach was good and the service was efficient. The room was good, as was the fact that there was free Wifi and it had an enclosed balcony. The bathroom facilities were excellent and there was an excellent buffet breakfast with freshly cooked food available. One small niggle was that we had dinner in a separate room with no choice of menu on offer - we are used to better treatment! We would be more than happy to stay again, as long as we had the buffet meals.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for a week and had a brilliant time. There are three separate pools, one indoor and two outdoor. The outdoor pool up by reception was deserted nearly every day we stayed there so it was lovely to go for a swim with no one around. The outdoor pool down by the beach was often busy, but for good reason - it's really pretty and has a view out over the beach.

The room was very clean and furnished Tunisian style. The little terrace with table and chairs was a nice touch and we ate breakfast out here amongst lunch gardens a couple of times. The aircon was very quiet so we could keep it on while we slept (very important in the heat of September!).

We tried all the restaurants and the Thai was surprisingly good, even though there never seemed to be anybody in there. The pool bar played loud dance music during the day which spoiled the atmosphere a bit, but the little hut-type beach bar/restaurant was a great find. Staff were attentive and friendly, not to mention the view across the sea (perfect for a sunset beer). The only negative dining experience we had was the beach-side service on a Saturday. It took about an hour and a half for our food to appear after we'd ordered it. It could just have been because it was Saturday though.

A part of the beach is sectioned off specifically for the Sindbad Hotel, which is the cleanest and nicest part of the beach. We did the 20 minute walk along the rest of the beach to the main town, and everywhere else was littered with rubbish, old fires and used nappies. It was interesting to see the little beach hut bars that cropped up along the shore though and there were some lovely bars on the beach near the Medina.

It's true that there's not much to do directly outside the hotel, but there are day tours available, which I would recommend booking through the hotel as you basically just get a driver and you can make your own itinerary if you like. The town of Hammamet itself has a nice Medina, good restaurants and little Tunisian-style shisha cafés and it's only a 5 minute taxi ride or 20 minute walk away. Remember, this is a resort town, not Tunis.

I would also recommend going for a spa treatment - the hammam scrub was an experience in itself!

All in all we had a very nice stay at the Sindbad and I think it was by far the best value hotel in the Hammamet region.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzycatpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews