We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come back - No problems here”
Review of The Sindbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sindbad
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We are coming regularly to this splendid place for a week of Golf and decided to forget any politics but to enjoy- and enjoying we did. The hotel had undergone some renovation in 2010 and it is better than ever now. Large rooms, quality furnishings, decent breakfasts and not to forget the superb 'a la carte' Restaurant.. Unfortunately not many visitors, but Tunisia is safe and welcoming and it would be a shame if more people stay away.
Golf is excellent

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsilence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for The Sindbad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 693 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2011

This hotel doesn't look much from the outside as the main entrance is situated on the very busy main road into Hammamet town. However once through the gates, this is a very relaxing and peaceful hotel and there is no noise from traffic whatsoever. This is an older hotel but well appointed and situated within walking distance into the town and there is a wonderful infinity pool leading right onto the beach. Our room was large and had a seperate sitting room with another flat screen TV as well as one in the bedroom. The bathroom was also large and had two showers, one overbath and one cubicle. The room was kept spotless and the bed made up beautifully with flower petals and sweets. The best thing about this hotel was the food. We have stayed many times in Tunisia and have always had a problem with the quality of the food, however the food was of good quality and varied, some evenings it was menu food served to us and others it was buffet. All the staff were extremely polite and helpful. You will find more modern and expensive hotels down in the port, Hammamet Jasmin, but that is just a short taxi ride away and the taxi's are very cheap and plentiful. This will be my hotel of choice from now on.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PITSKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I go on an annual Ryder Cup Golf Trip to Tunisia. We have stayed in a few places but the Sinbad is, as my mate Tina would say, "simply the best".

The food at breakfast is excellent and if you get bored of the evening food there is always Camp Freddie's Grand Father in town.

Dont bother with Portugal or Spain. Tunisia and the Sinbad is where its all at.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuwBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

I, my wife, my brother and his spouse chose the Sindbad because of the reviews; we went between 20/11 to 27/11/2010. The room was nice with aircon and fridge but no tea/coffee service. Minor issue of the room was the fridge had frozen and bottle burst, got the fridge replaced ASAP so thumbs up on this.

The old town was close and really worth visiting to eat and stroll around. few minutes from the hotel are restaurents and a shop where you can buy essentials like milk, biscuits, snacks etc.

We mainly went on trips and came back to use the indoor pool which was well maintained. Only downside was the attitude of some staff, some were nice and some were not. The best staff was our waiter Hafedh Hakem, give me a day and he will treat you like guests and even make the odd joke with you. When he was not around for 2 days, the other waiters were terrible, they got our food wrong and were not very welcoming; have a smile for goodness sake.

Apart from some staff, thumbs up to the Sindbad!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeYip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed there over new years. Very nice hotel, friendly staff, lovely rooms and good food.
Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 188590Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed at the Sindbad for 4 days as part of our trip to Tunisia. We did everything on our own (not part of any package) and I selected this hotel for the final few days to just relax and recover after our very busy trip.
It was perfect! It is true that the hotel is a little outdated (but in this area most of them are); however, the service was absolutely fantastic, from our check in, to the delivery of a complementary fruit basket to our room, to dinner and the spa where we had the hamman experience (just my husband and I which was really great!). The rooms we had (ground floor) had all a small patio with table and chairs leading to a path to the beach.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to spend a few days relaxing and enjoying excellent service.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuriousTraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I found the Sindbad excellent. I did not come to the hotel as part of package, but simply dropped in for short stay.
Unlike some of other "zone touristique" resort hotels I visited while touring Tunisia, I found the Sindbad management very welcoming to an independent traveller. The accomodation exceeded my expectations, the hotel is relaxed and stylish, everything ran very smoothly, and from my experience there was none of the careless or grasping attitude I heard complaints about at other tourist hotels. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
Thank Dann58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
1.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#4 of 118 in Hammamet
707 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
3.5 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#32 of 118 in Hammamet
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,127 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
5.1 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
#20 of 118 in Hammamet
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sindbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sindbad

Address: Avenue des Nations Unies, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#21 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#26 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $86 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sindbad 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magnificent lush garden surrounded by palm trees and exotic plants you will find The Sindbad, a charming hotel. Guest accommodation is in Moorish-styled bungalows with all comfort and amenities necessary to ensure a relaxing holiday. The 145 rooms and 9 suites have been entirely refurbished and are decorated in a contemporary style with an oriental touch. Be seduced by our exceptional service and our refined cuisine, offering flavours from around the world at any one of our four restaurants. For your well being and relaxation, the hotel offers a choice of three swimming pools, one fitness room, a spa centre, yoga courses and in close proximity a horse riding centre. The Sindbad is a part owner of one of Tunisia's most beautiful golf courses, Citrus Golf. Guests at our hotel benefit from a free shuttle bus and reduced green fee rates. Enjoy the charm, tranquility and pleasure of The Sindbad with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sindbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sindbad
Sindbad Hotel Hammamet
Sindbad Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing