We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salmonella for myself and 2 children”
Review of Hotel Manar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Manar
Ranked #1 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed here May/June. My 2 year old Daughter became very ill on day 9 of an 11 night stay. As soon as we landed home both my 12 year old Son and I were also struck down - climbed straight into bed from the airport with the worst fever, sickness and diarrhoea I've ever experienced. Straight to the doctors the next morning as 2yr old was passing blood. 2 days later, Salmonella was confirmed. Fortunately, my children have both made full recoveries but I am still suffering with bowel problems, daily nausea, cannot eat just anything like I used to. Have been taking tablets since June and had a Colonoscopy last month.
The food was not cooked or covered properly. PLEASE ASK FOR YOUR EGGS TO BE SUPER COOKED!! Stay away from the cut your own bread from the loaf...so many hands touching it, disgusting :( Oh and the BBQ too.
It's a shame this is letting the rest of the resort down as it wasn't too bad (have been to much nicer Holiday Villages), although the rooms were quite old and weary. Beach was by far the best thing about the holiday.
By the way, don't do the Pirate excursion...comlete rip off and they made some bull excuse about not being able to dock near it. Waste of money and very boring.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nursesoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 2,131 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

Fantastic holiday in a brilliant hotel with lovely staff. Hotel clean and well kept. Staff can't do enough for you. Rooms spacious but beware no balconies in Manar 1. Food lovely and varied-again very attentive staff. Loads of fun things for all the family to do. Kids clubs fab and staff out of this world-both our 10 and 6 year old girls loved them all. Daytime and Night-time entertainment was first class with Jennie,James,Hannah,Nat.Charlie,Jay. Don't expect lavish shows but good family entertainment with The Team making all feel involved.
Another brilliant holiday at another great First choice holiday Village

Room Tip: Manar 2 has balconies. we were on top floor facing activity pool and it was great. Not disturbed at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks from 20th Oct.-3rd Nov. and have to say it was really nice.
First expectations were ok but we have been spoilt with recent trips to Domincan Repbublic and Mexico but found it very pleasant.
We had a room for 3 but managed to sleep 4.... 2 adults and 2 children, 13yrs and 9yrs and it was ideal for just sleeping in and getting a quick power nap before you went out in the evening. After all, yer on holiday, you don't wanna be sleeping much!!!
The food was beautiful and catered for everyone and anything, if you couldn't find anything to eat then your not from this planet!
It was themed nights every night and they had a big bbq just outside the restaurant that you could take food back in and eat.
In the mornings, every breakfast was catered for with aerial displays of eggs,omelettes and pancakes.
They only served bacon/pork once a week as its against their religion to eat it.
The chips were the best we've ever tasted anywhere in the world...Literally!!!!
Because we were there the last 2 weeks of holiday season, the hotel was on wind down so there was not a lot to do in the evenings, but there was live music, entertainment for the kids, bingo and other small bits he hotel provided.
There was a large range of cocktails and spirits 2 different types of lager and even non-alcoholic cocktails for the kids which hey could go up to the bar to get.
ALL the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them and one in particulat NAS'. he is a young guy around yrs old and a bar waitor who was just a really good laugh with a really good sense of humour, and spoke quite good English.
Would love to go back next year to see him again!!!
The beach was nice with lots to do from all types of water-sports, again staff would find your sun-loungers for you and wouldn't expect a tip at all, we were polite and tipped them but not the earth so to speak.
You get sellers on the beach which can be over whelming sometimes if your not prepared but after you say no thanks a few times they leave you alone but are not forceful in anyway. you can have fun with them bartering over things if you wish to buy.
The pool area is awesome with different slides to ride or just chill on a sun lounger.
Temperatures were between 25c and 28c which for oct-nov we thought was lovely.
Over all we had a very enjoyable experience, the kids loved it and we would not bat an eyelid to go back, hoping to do so in a couple of years, and hope they (keep the same bar staff as this is a MUST) especially NAS' NAS' NAS' :-D
Thanks very much to you all and hopefully see you again
Chris the Mr Tobacco as they called me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Couple 23 & 24 stayed here for a week 20th - 27th October had a brilliant deal with this holiday through first choice but WOW did this exceed expectations given what we paid for the holiday!
Hotel was lovely lots to do lots to see and staff are extremely friendly and hardworking and a lot better than those in Egypt and Turkey.
Room was huge with double balcony spacious bedroom and living room which would easily of been big enough for two children in need of modernisation but the whole hotel is undergoing a full make over over winter this year.
Food was lovely with lots of different choices and lots of show cooking of fresh omlettes, eggs and pancakes in the morning, at dinner and tea was different types of meat and fish but generally the food choice was fab so many salad, potato, veg, bread cakes and fruit selection you will never go hungry. Ice cream was also available all day at the snack bar and again in the restaurant at tea times an until close at 9:30 which is a lot better than other all inclusive hotels we have been to.
Large in house Entertainment Team which are all English and we Extremely friendly during our stay especially Billy the football coach and Charley the entertainer!!
Water slides we fun would recommend the hotel invest in more rubber rings for the slides as two isn't many, and maybe a few more slides ;]
Beach is literally a few steps away it is so relaxing there are plenty of sunbeds with parasols and the guard comes and brushes any sand off the beds which we founds brill, the hotel owns a section of the beach with a bar which is part of the all inclusive and do lovely milkshakes and all other drinks and also baps and have tables and chairs too. Another good point about the beach is that the guard will keep all local sellers away so you can sunbath in peace.
All in all would recommend this hotel without a doubt and after the make over it will no doubt be AMAZING for 2014.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TIffers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Myself & partner had 10 days holiday on October. Don't get me wrong the staff, hotel and food were all good, staff very attentive if you tip them...but this is definitely not a holiday unless you have kids!!!!
During the day there is a few things going on around the activity pool with extremely loud music.
The private beach is the best and very impressive.
The slides are entertaining if you like that sort of thing, If you fancy a walk out of the hotel, forget it... there is no where to go , and the few shops that are out there are very limited.
The evening entertainment is poor.. it is sitting around watching kids throw there selves all over the lounge floor.
There is a sports bar, which does have a little entertainment, but you have to pay for the drinks.
Talking of drinks, I have never been on an all inclusive holiday where you could drink alcohol all day and not get drunk, as the drinks have hardly any alcohol percentage in them.
I was not also over impressed with the reps from first choice, I found them a little immature considering they had to deal with adults sometimes
overall, if you want a sun holiday, with kids and are not bothered about going out and about, don't mind no evening entertainment and happy to drink so called alcohol (soft drinks) then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duchess1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

One of the best holidays we've ever had, great for families , loads for kids and the grown ups to do, the first choice entertainment team were excellent , esp billy , who bless him had his back waxed for charity, kids club s were excellent also , we sayed in manar 1 n themed rooms were amazing, food was lovely, beach was lovely, staff were lovely , Cudnt fault a thing, were going bk June nxt year for 2 weeks this time n taking more family with us, would deffo recommend this hotel , drinks n cocktails amazing too:)) wouldn't go anywhere else but holiday village now x

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have just come back from a wonderful stay at this hotel. We stayed half term week so from 27th October - 3rd November 2013. I stayed with my husband and two boys aged 8 and 1.
The rooms were fantastic, we had a superior family suite with two bathrooms, bedrooms and a lovely lounge and balcony. I was a bit worried going to Tunisia with my youngest as you hear a lot of stories about cleanliness etc but honestly i couldn't have been more wrong. I have never been to such a clean hotel. The staff were constantly cleaning all day and evening. My little one is a crawler and none of his clothes had a bit of dirt on them for crawling around the inside of the hotel.
It was just amazing place with a great selection of food and the staff worked tirelessly to ensure you had a great time.

Brilliant points for those of you with young children:

Blackout curtains in all rooms
A children buffet which wasn't piping hot so your little one could eat straight away
Highchairs
Bottle warmer, sterilizer and microwave in the main dining hall, all very clean
Baby inflatable seats provided by the hotel all around the pool for you to use with your little one
Brilliant creche - first choice staff, in particular Alastair and Sam were fantastic with my youngest.
Cot in room was brilliant, proper wooden cot with mattress.

As for my 8 year old, well we didn't really see him! He adored the kids club and for a child that is quite quiet he got really involved and made lots of friends, this is all part of the price you pay but the creche is extra.

It was our first family holiday away and it was just excellent.

Only two very, very minor points i would add would be that the pool was freezing!! I may be a wimp but it was far too cold for me but my children loved it and plus there is a warmer inside one! And the tea in the mornings could be a little warmer, the water was a bit luke warm but like i say very minor points!

I will most definitely be booking a holiday village next year, it is absolutely the way forward for a hassle free family holiday with a package that thinks of everything for your children.

Room Tip: I would ask to stay in Manar 2 if you have a family, it is a lot quieter over this side and you face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
3.2 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
804 reviews
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
2,180 reviews
6 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#8 of 119 in Hammamet
6,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#11 of 119 in Hammamet
1,353 reviews
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
9.4 mi away
Tui Magic Life Africana
Tui Magic Life Africana
#20 of 119 in Hammamet
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manar

Address: Route Touristique Mrezga, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: $100 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Manar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Manar Hotel Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing